• Home
  • 2K Ceramic Chassis Black Gloss Qt
2K Ceramic Chassis Black Gloss Qt is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 5.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product; challenging to use Chet Baker's review is spot on. I cheated and used a little more than 10% reducer on my second batch which made flow and gloss finish much better. Coverage is not all that great which makes you cringe when thinking about the cost. The hardest part was stirring in the ceramic before starting - I literally broke two paint stir sticks and it takes at least 15 minutes of vigorous stirring. There must be a better way. These are the challenges. On the bright side, the finish is excellent and hard as powder coating. As you would expect, that makes clean-up another challenge. I'm buying it again - end result worth it.
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All in all a great product!!! I usually don't write reviews but i had to write one for this great product. I bought this product to paint my 79 Chevy K10 long bed frame. I was unsure about this product. But it was definitely worth the money. I was able to paint the whole frame, 2 coats with just one quart. Mixing was simple and it sprayed on perfectly. After allowing to dry this product looks amazing, highly glossy. I've also noticed that the coating seems relatively thick and durable. Overall GREAT product! Good job guys at Eastwood.
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product, not so good instructions This is a good product and looks great; however, for a first timer (like me) the directions on the can leave a bit to be desired. If you follow the direction you will be told to use a 4:1 mix of coating to activator and a 1.3 - 1.7 tip on your gun. In step two it says that you MAY reduce this by 10% to improve ease of application. Believe me it MUST be reduced 10% to keep a 1.5 tip from clogging and in order to cover an entire chassis with the recommended two medium coats. If you don't reduce this product you will be hard pressed to cover an average chassis once; not to mention stopping every few feet to clean the gun. In addition the finish on the unreduced mixture is dull, where as a reduced mixture is highly glossy and drys that way too. Also clean up is up to you and not very easy. Don't get it on your hands.
Date published: 2009-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product, will use again Nice product. Easy to spray (reduced with urethane reducer) and lays down nicely, even with my cheap gun and inexperienced technique. Only problem is that the ceramic solids settle to the bottom of the can and take a crowbar to dislodge and mix up. 5 minutes on a paint shaker was not nearly enough. I will ask Eastwood to shake the can if I purchase any more.
Date published: 2009-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough as nails I have used 2K ceramic twice now. the results are always great and the wear resistance is superior. This stuff is tough as nails.
Date published: 2010-03-19
  • 2015-03-27T09:55CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_5
  • loc_en_US, sid_50429ZP, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

Contents One catalyzed quart of Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black covers about 50 square feet in 2 coats. "Contents" says "catalyzed"; why would I need the 21854Z Activator?

Asked by: MandPGuy
This product is a two component paint which requires the activator to cure. The "Contents" information is stating that the catalyzed quart (quart of paint plus activator) will cover approximately 50 sq ft in 2 coats. Contents One catalyzed quart of Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black covers about 50 square feet in 2 coats.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2015-02-18
  • 2015-03-27T10:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_50429ZP, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

2K Ceramic Chassis Black Gloss Qt

Item #50429ZP Brand: Eastwood

Our most durable, chemical-resistant, easiest-to-spray, chassis black

Details

Now there's a catalyzed urethane form of our popular Chassis Black with a difference. This is our most durable, chemical resistant, and easiest to spray, chassis Black yet! And since it's formulated with ceramic, it offers even better abrasion resistance! Easy 4:1 mix with the 21854Z Activator 8 oz. & spray with a 1.3 or larger nozzle spraygun. Covers about 50 sq. ft. in 2 coats. Withstands peaks up to 300 degrees F. For greatest durability apply over our 50242ZP Epoxy Primer. For professional use only. Contains isocynates. Proper respiratory protection Must Be Used.

More info...

About 2K Ceramic Chassis Black Gloss Qt

Now there's a catalyzed urethane form of our popular Chassis Black with a difference. This is our most durable, chemical resistant, and easiest to spray, chassis Black yet! And since it's formulated with ceramic, it offers even better abrasion resistance! Easy 4:1 mix with the 21854Z Activator 8 oz. & spray with a 1.3 or larger nozzle spraygun. Covers about 50 sq. ft. in 2 coats. Withstands peaks up to 300 degrees F. For greatest durability apply over our 50242ZP Epoxy Primer. For professional use only. Contains isocynates. Proper respiratory protection Must Be Used.


Contents

One catalyzed quart of Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black covers about 50 square feet in 2 coats.


Accessories

The 21854Z Activator 8 oz. is sufficient to catalyze one quart of Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black.


FAQ’s

Can Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black be applied directly over other finishes? Generally Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black can be applied over most thoroughly cured (cannot be indented with a thumbnail) finishes. Scuff first with 320 -600 grit and test a small area before coating the entire area. If lifting occurs, remove the lifting paint, sand the surrounding area, and seal the surface by priming first with 50242ZP Epoxy Primer mixed with 50243ZP Epoxy Primer Catalyst. NOTE: Eastwood Epoxy Primer can be reduced up to 20% with 50104ZP Universal Zero VOC Urethane Reducer Qt. to use strictly as a sealer.


Safety

This product is designed for use by trained professionals. Read & understand all warnings and directions before use. Do Not Use Without Sufficient Ventilation. Users must wear an appropriate, properly fitted NIOSH-approved activated charcoal cartridge respirator if a forced fresh-air system is not available. Do not use this product, or be exposed to spray mist/vapors if you have respiratory problems, are pregnant or nursing. Keep Out Of Reach Of Children And Pets. This System comprises multiple components. Once mixed, this system will have the hazards of all components.


Warranty

Made in the USA.


Application

Eastwood Ceramic Chassis Black is easily applied with your HVLP gun with a 1.3mm or larger nozzle. Provides complete hiding in 2 coats. Allow 10 minutes between coats. Refer to product label for more complete application directions and safety information. Can be applied directly over our 50242ZP Epoxy Primer after 60 minutes to 5 days without scuffing.


Customers also viewed: