• Home
  • Eastwood Master Blaster Dual Abrasive Soda Blaster
Eastwood Master Blaster Dual Abrasive Soda Blaster is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not great When its working- it works fairly well. I had several blockages, I needed to run an industrial dessicant to get it running smooth and moisture free. Switching from abrasive media to soda is nice and smooth, The clamps and valves are poor quality, I expected better from Eastwood. It is slightly over priced. If I had to do it over again I would try my luck with some Habor Freight equipment- but I have been dissappointed there before. I am satified but expected more. The face shield/hood they supply is garbage- thin, flimsy, poor protection. If you value your eyes buy one of better quality. I rarely post reviews, but this needed to said. DM
Date published: 2011-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfortunately it is difficult to use. Since I started using this blaster I have had constant problems with getting media to come out on a regular basis. It works for a few seconds and then I have to keep shaking the unit to get more. Then other times there is so much media coming through that the hose is to full and it just pours out on the ground. Had to replace one valve already and I believe another is bad as well and I have only use the unit twice since I bought it in May. Very discouraging. I have been using Black Beauty and soda to strip paint off an old hand water pump. Never though it would be an all day job.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dual Blaster Piece of junk. The location of the feed valve is terrible and poor quality, you need 3 arms to use as the sand does not flow. I initially wrote Eastwood on some design recommendations and never heard back. I now have my blaster on a roller cart which elevates the tank so I can work the feed valves, I purchased a concrete vibrator and fixed to my stand to give a steady vibration to help the sand flow. If I had to do again -- I would not have purchased this product -- overall extreme poor quality in components and construction.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from wasted alot of time and $ I read the reviews. I watched the videos, My compressor is 125lbs/15 CFM. I have never been able to get the Dual Blaster to work consistantly more than 10 seconds. Too many variables which are constantly changing: Throttle valve, media valve, available air pressure - as pressure goes down in your tank, the valves need to be constantly adjusted. Ambiant air humidity is also a big problem. I finally took my sheet metal to a pro - He chuckled when I told him I had tried to use Eastwood's blaster, Said I was one of many.
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile I bought this to strip an entire 63 Falcon. There is definitely a learning curve but if you're patient and keep experimenting with the media valve and throttle valve you'll be blasting for hours with no trouble. I love mine so far! I've stripped both front fenders (inside and out) both doors (inside and out), and am now working on the hood and deck lid. I use black beauty in the abrasive side with no trouble so far! Do yourself a favor and buy a sifter (it fits the top of a 5 gallon bucket perfectly) and a good hood. I'm curious how long the valves will last after reading the reviews but I realize they won't last forever flowing abrasive through them but hopefully they will last awhile. I also put a tie wrap on the dead man valve (loosely so that it can be slid off and on) because holding the handle down gets tiring.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for the majority of home garages I purchased this about 2 years ago and have used it for various projects. The specs state it requires 10 cfm at 90 psi. My compressor will put out over 12 cfm and go up to 150 psi however it really doesn't have the air behind it to make this blaster work well. It will do OK for small projects but don't expect to use it on a car restoration especially on rust or more than 1 coat of paint. Avoid it unless you can get a lot more air through it than what Eastwood states.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the dual soda blaster Recieved my soda blaster in the box with a broken brass T. Unable to use it right away, Had to go to Home Depot and spend another $30 to re plum my fittings to get it work. Also a couple hours of my time. several blockages even with the approved media. Works ok when it works, If I knew then what I know now I wouldn't have bought it.
Date published: 2011-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from keep looking i really tried to make this thing work the lines were hooked up wrong from the factory. after re-routing them, it still was an issue. you need three arms and three legs to make it work. keep shaking it, it'll blow some media. so, with one hand hold the gun, with the other shake the canisters. good luck
Date published: 2012-05-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_11737, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood

can you use water in one tank and glass bead in the other to water blast?

Asked by: armyman01
We do not recommend putting water in these tanks.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-12-08

Is a 8' x 1/2" hose included with the dual blaster, or is that the maximum length hose that can be used? 

Asked by: tonycvfd1
The 8 foot hose is included with the blaster. The use of a longer hose will increase the CFM consumption of this unit.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-12-08

What size supply hose is required for the dual blaster

Asked by: tonycvfd1
8 ft. x 1/2" id...
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2016-12-08

How do I know what abrasive to use on layer's of paint or just cleaning up Rusty parts. Is there a manual to give an idea of what to use on different jobs

Asked by: Microbrew
We have a list that may help you with your selection. http://www.eastwood.com/media-blast-equipment-selection-chart-eastwood
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-12-08

ground glass can be used and sodium bicarbonate one in each tank? I want to clean wood thanks

Asked by: alberto c
This product is designed to have one blast media in each tank. So yes you can run ground glass in one tank and Soda blast media in the other tank. This will allow you to choose which media to use with the flip of valve.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-12-08

For using a dual blaster on a vehicle restoration, what would be the average amount of each media (soda for the body, coarser for the frame, etc) needed to strip everything down to the bare metal? Want to make sure to have enough on hand before starting.

Asked by: Bugsy
It was listed 8 to 12 fifty lbs bags
Answered by: Bad Bradd
Date published: 2016-12-08

is that possible to work with soda in two tanks - like micro soda in 1st tank and heavy duty soda in 2nd ? or its like soda and grit only ?

Asked by: mark29
The dual blasters dual tanks were designed to use soda in one tank and abrasive media in the other tank. Using soda in both tanks will clog the unit.
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2016-12-08

what does it mean : 60 grit or finer media. Ive juts bought Eastwood Master Blaster-Dual Blaster but Im from Europe and I dont get what does that measure means - can U tell me what kind of media is recomended to the other tank ?

Asked by: petePA
60 grit is how coarse a media is. Lower the number the more aggressive the media is. All media (aluminum oxide, silicone carbide, soda, walnut shells, glass bead, etc) is labeled with how coarse the grit is. 1 tank is for media and the other is designed for soda.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2016-12-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_11737, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood Master Blaster Dual Abrasive Soda Blaster

Item #11737 Brand: Eastwood

Switch "on the fly" between soda and abrasive media...or combine!

Details

Eastwood "Master Blaster" Dual Blaster lets you switch "on-the-fly" between soda and abrasive media, or a combination of both!

  • Exclusive Mixing Valve
    - offers “on-the-fly” control of each media.
  • Quickly blast away years of paint and corrosion
    - on auto parts, fiberglass boats, outdoor furniture, metal railings/doors or virtually any object you want to clean and refinish.
  • Quick change valve
    - allows operator to go from blasting rust to paint removal.
  • Utilize bicarbonate soda for paint removal
    - on plastic, fiberglass, wood, chrome, stainless steel and any other soft metal with out damage.
  • Utilize aggressive media
    - for heavy rust and paint removal cast iron, steel, etc.
  • Quality construction
    - heavy gauge, fully welded and powder coated tanks and frame.
  • A “must have tool”
    - for any maintenance shop where rust is a problem and paint removal is necessary such as fabrication shops, weld shops, trailer repair, automotive repair and restoration, heavy equipment repair, small engine maintenance facilities, etc.

The dual tanks each hold 100 lbs of media and operate on as little as 10 cfm at 120 psi. This unit now offers the professional and do-it-yourselfers the ability to use soda and aggressive media in one unit, with on-the-fly controls to switch between each media or a blend of both.

Click Here to see the winners of the Rename the Dual Blaster Contest!

More info...

About Eastwood Master Blaster Dual Abrasive Soda Blaster

Use soda blast supplies to remove coatings on delicate substrates such as fiberglass, chrome or stainless...then easily switch on-the-fly to harsher abrasives such as crushed glass, glass bead or aluminum oxide to blast through heavy scale, rust or multiple coatings. It's a must-have tool for restoration and maintenance shops where rust and paint removal are issues on multiple surfaces such as fiberglass, steel, aluminum, etc. Each of the fully welded, powder-coated tanks holds 100 lbs. of abrasive media (75 lbs. of soda), and works on as little as 10 cfm at 90 psi. 10-ft.-long, heavy-wall blast hose. Imported.


Contents

Unit weighs 80 lbs., and includes extra nozzles and moisture filter.


Instructions

Click here for product instructions


70/100 Glass Bead 100/170 Glass Bead 10/40 Ground Glass 40/70 Ground Glass 60 Grit Silicone Carbide 60 Grit Aluminum Oxide 90 Grit Aluminum Oxide 12/20 Walnut Shells


Safety

WARNING: Pressure blasters and blast cabinets emit abrasive particles under high pressure. Adequate respiratory, eye, and body protection must be utilized at all times during product operation. Inhalation of silica-based media particles have been known to cause cancer and other deadly diseases and must be avoided. Always wear NIOSH-approved respiratory protection when operating the equipment.


Warranty

1-year mfr's. warranty against defects.


FAQs

(Q) What size of compressor is required?
(A) Minimum 10-cfm, 90-psi compressor.

(Q) Which nozzles can I use with the Master Blaster?
(A) Use any of these nozzles: 51556 (2.0mm), 12111 (2.5mm), 12112 (3.0mm), or 51557 (5.0mm)


Accessories & Consumables

Replacement Parts

51556 2.0mm nozzle (requires minimum 6-cfm 60-psi compressor)
11917 Moisture Trap
11914 Outer and Inner Valve
11902 3-Way Manifold
11897 First Air Pipe
11900 Second Air Pipe
11861 Seal Ring

Accessories

Deluxe Blasting Hood
Ground Glass, 40-70 Grit
Glass Bead, 100-170 Grit
Glass Bead, 70-100
Aluminum Oxide 60 Grit
Aluminum Oxide 90 Grit
Automotive M Soda Media
Automotive XL Soda Media
Rust Removal XL Soda with Aluminum Oxide
After Blast, 1 Gallon


Customer Reviews

Questions & Answers

Customers also viewed: