• Home
  • Eastwood 100-lb. Soda Blaster
Eastwood 100-lb. Soda Blaster is rated 3.2778 out of 5 by 18.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't make it perform as advertised I recently bought the 100lb soda blaster after I bought a 60 gal compressor that puts out 11.5 cfm at 90lbs. Well within Eastwoods guidelines. Started with medium soda but the results were so slow that it would take me days to finish stripping my old coke machine. Easily became stuck even though I'm using two water filters. Went to XL soda and results were even worse. Time to call the Eastwood technical line. Message they would call back within 48 hours. Over a week later I'm still waiting for that call. Bottom line I'm not sure what the problem is. I use 1/2 in hose (50') with standard fittings. Glad it has wheels so I can roll it out of the way! Surely this unit has to perform better of they wouldn't sell so many. Go figure. Waiting for expert to call. Call me maybe....
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good price, bad product First off, this unit does not come assembled and "ready to use" as they say in the description. It comes to you as an abrasive blaster and a soda blaster conversion kit. It was only a bit disappointing since I was expecting a nice purpose-built device. You have to install the soda kit onto the unit, which is fine by me. Except! Except the fittings are glued in with a very strong adhesive. It takes some serious work to get things installed and working. The unit seems fine, build quality seems ok. I haven't been terribly impressed with the performance yet, but I've not fiddled with it enough to say it is bad. It does the job, and it's cheap - that's about the best I can say.
Date published: 2011-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good but not great I started using the blaster as a sand blaster to clean my car frame, and found that with 2.0 to 2.5 media, the hose would spring a leak about an inch from the bottom of the blaster. This has happened 4 times in the same area. I continue recycling the media into the machine. The last leak happened 18 inches from the nozzle. I don't have enough hose left to continue with it. I am looking to replace the hose without spending a load of cash. Also, I have replaced the nozzle because of the tip wear. It has gotten a little crazy.
Date published: 2010-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice job I thought I could get by with my older smaller compressor but had marginal results at best with the soda blaster. I upgraded to 10.5 cfm @ 90lbs and the blaster works excellent. Don't fool yourself thinking you won't need a dessicant filter as well. It is a necessary item to prevent clumping and clogging. Now everything works great. I too replaced all the clamps. Doesn't Eastwood read these reviews?
Date published: 2010-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Be Prepared to buy a line water dehydrator and a larger compressor This thing does not work as advertised. Yes it will shoot the media in short bursts at 10cfm and 90 psi until you drop below that almost immediately after you blast. The you won't have enough pressure to do any good. Also, you need to buy a $260 dessicant filter system to dehydrate your line. Your total outlay for just the blasting equipment is over $525 and you'll need a $2,000 compressor. This product is a joke for a hobbyist or small shop. I'm sticking mine in the garage until my next bonus check. Thanks for the large paperweight Eastman.
Date published: 2011-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this product! The blaster works very well. The largest complaints I have about it are the hose clamps (as previously mentioned) and the packaging. When I first got it, I had to call customer service to make sure they didn't screw me out of $100 and send me a pressure blaster instead. Before calling, make sure to open it and make sure the conversion kit is included. I gave the price 4 stars because $100 seems a little steep for a valve, ceramic oriface and hose. Other than that, kudos to Eastwood for coming up with this product! It cuts through the old lead based paint on my fender in two passes and leaves the metal clean and smooth.
Date published: 2009-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MIXED I had trouble right out of the chute with the small ceramic orfice not letting enough material into the air stream. After inserting a slightly larger size now the blaster does work but is very slow going. It takes a while to complete a panel but the results are terrific. I used it around a plastic rear window and aluminum trim to remove old paint and it did so with out damaging the trim or window. I agree with the bad clamps and hassle to disassemble for cleaning. Could be better quality clamps.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy Purchased soda blaster after reading some ads about it. I was ready to start a restoration project and thought this was the way to go to strip the old paint.. After reading the reviews, i automatically switched out the cheap hose clamps for better ones, to avoid any problems...I've got a IR 13hp 80gal compressor. Output is 175psi. Blaster can only handle 100psi or less psi of air, so saftey valve kept blowing. Setting the compessor to 90psi the blaster did little ,if anything ,to the metal i was blasting. Don't waste your money with this!!!!
Date published: 2010-12-11
  • 2015-05-26T18:52CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_50095, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

Does it matter if my compressor is a single or dual stage pump.

Asked by: GreggK
No it doesn't. As long as it meets the requirement of 10 CFM at 90 PSI
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-05-21

Will soda blasting remove multiple layers of paint? I have a 68 El Camino with about 4 layers of paint. Also, what is needed to convert this unit to abrasive blasting? 

Asked by: BillAZ68
The unit comes with both a media and soda valve. All you will need to do is swap the bottom valve out. The soda will SLOWLY strip layers of paint. I would recommend using a fine media like glass bead to speed up the process and save you money.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-05-13

Are there any longer leads available for this blaster?

Asked by: Drcula
Unfortunetly we do not have any longer leads for the units.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-04-08

I'm looking to rent a compressor to use with this blaster however, the ones I have found available are 8 CFM and 60 CFM compressors. Will 8 CFM be enough for this unit? I am unsure if the 60 CFM unit can be reduced and if not, is 60 CFM too high?

Asked by: NelsonP
60CFM will be fine to use, basically the CFM is to compress the tank to allow the psi to push the media through. You are only going to regulate the PSI for the unit
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-21

Is the pressure adjustable?

Asked by: joanbat
The unit has a pressure gauge, but you regulate the air pressure coming into the machine from your air source.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-09-26
  • 2015-05-26T18:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_5
  • loc_en_US, sid_50095, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood 100-lb. Soda Blaster

Item #50095 Brand: Eastwood

2-in-1 blaster works with as little as 10 cfm at 90 psi
Heavy Item - Special shipping charges may apply.

Details

.

100-lb.-capacity Soda/Abrasive Blaster removes paint and rust safely...strips without chemicals
This 2-in-1 soda blaster and abrasive blaster is the smart choice when you need to remove paint and rust without harming sheet metal, glass, or chrome...converts in minutes to abrasives when your project needs more aggressive blasting.
  • 100-lb.-capacity hopper lets you blast longer between refills
  • Requires as little as 10 cfm at 90 psi
  • 8' blast hose with deadman valve gives you optimal control
  • All-steel, welded, top-loading hopper and pressure gauge
  • Unbeatable price for soda blasting equipment with this capacity!

More info...

About Eastwood 100-lb. Soda Blaster

Soda blasting equipment removes paint without harming sheet metal, glass, or chrome, and while expensive commercial soda blasters use high air volume, this affordable Eastwood soda blaster requires just 10 cfm at 90 psi. This soda blaster provides a big 100-lb. capacity at an affordable price... includes a generous 8' blast hose with deadman valve; all-steel welded, top-loading hopper; pressure gauge. Rolls easily to job site on two wheels. Readily converts between soda and aggressive abrasive blasting with included parts. Imported. Patent pending.

More Uses for Bicarbonate Soda (Baking Soda) Blasters:
You can also use bicarbonate soda blast media (NOT household baking soda) to remove graffiti and grime from brick, concrete, limestone, granite and other surfaces. Other uses included cleaning of delicate substrates; architectural and industrial cleaning; paint stripping; corrosion removal. Use to remove mold and mildew stains from pools, cement, brick, tile, granite, sound stucco, siding and more. Safely strip paint from aircraft aluminum, trucks, motorcycles. Bicarbonate soda also allows heavy-duty removal of oils and grease from engines and floors.

Final product imported.

Click Here to learn more about soda blasting.


Contents

100-lb.-capacity soda blaster comes complete, except for your compressor and air-fitting coupler to match your air lines. Simple bolt-together assembly will have you blasting in about 45 minutes. Four nozzles. Approximately 36" high with handles, and about 24" in diameter, so it will easily store in the corner of your shop or garage.


Accessories

Accessories

11806 Automotive (Medium) Bicarbonate Soda Media
11807 Automotive (XL) Bicarbonate Soda Media
50494 Rust Remover Bicarbonate Soda with 20% Aluminum Oxide
12111 Replacement 2.5mm-I.D. Nozzles, 3-pack
50417 Galvanized Abrasive Media Funnel Strainer
50097 Soda-Blasting Protection Kit


FAQs

(Q) Why use bicarbonate soda media?
(A) Soda will not harm glass, plastics, fiberglass or chrome surfaces. It's used to remove paint coatings from the vehicle surface without etching the surface or warping the metal like more aggressive media would. It's the best way to strip fiberglass Corvettes, boats or aftermarket hoods. Also used to remove paint from urethane and SMC-type bumper fascias.

(Q) Can this unit be used with more aggressive media?
(A) Yes, this unit can be converted to blast standard abrasive medias such as crushed glass, aluminum oxide, etc. by using the abrasive kit included.


Safety

Bicarbonate soda blasting is much safer than traditional abrasives, and more gentle to the metal or substrate you're blasting. However, you must still protect yourself from the dust and, more importantly, the particles of paint, corrosion or scale that become airborne during the blasting operation.

Use a properly fitted dust mask or respirator, safety glass or safety shield, plus heavy gloves, long pants and a long-sleeve shirt to protect exposed skin. Use our 50097 Soda-Blasting Protection Kit for complete protection.

Do not aim the nozzle anywhere other than the substrate you are blasting.

Make sure you disconnect the air line and allow the tank to bleed pressure before opening the fill cap.

Check the condition of the nozzle after every hour of blasting and replace once wear is visible or the blast stream becomes ineffective.

Before each use, inspect the tank for any signs of corrosion. Make sure the rubber hoses are not dry-rotted, cracked, split or show any other signs of wear or abrasion from use or storage. Do not use the unit until damage components are repaired. Call Eastwood at 800-544-5118 for replacement components.

Make sure the deadman valve is operating properly by depressing the valve lever and releasing; it must close over the nozzle under its own spring pressure. If not, do not use the deadman valve until the spring or obstruction is repaired.

Only use fresh Eastwood-brand Bicarbonate Soda Media to assure trouble-free blasting and quick paint removal.


Warranty

1-year mfr's. warranty against defects.

All replacement parts available through Eastwood.

Designed, engineered and tested to Eastwood's specifications.

Final product imported.


Instructions

Click here for Abrasive Blaster instructions

Click here for Soda Blast Retrofit Kit instructions


Customers also viewed: