• Home
  • Eastwood Thermo-Coustic Sound Deadener Material
Eastwood Thermo-Coustic Sound Deadener Material is rated 4.2656 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy, melted?! I bought a box a few years ago and never installed it, a few months ago I bought a second box and was getting ready to cover the underdash, floorpan, and side panels in in, but when I opened the first box, I found that all the black had oozed out and filled the sides of the box. Now I am reluctant to install any of it. This had been sitting in my garage for a while. I did put a couple of sheet on the inside door skins a few years ago, I probably need to look in my doors and check to see how it looks. I also put a small amount of it under the dash to kill a rattle, now i just noticed there were two small black drips on my red carpet, after takling a close look at it, it appears to be this black sticky stuff, obviously it dripped down to my carpet. I have not trouble with all the other eastwood products in the past, so this casts a serious question of the quality.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally un acceptable I have bought many products from Eastwood over several years. I must say this is the only product That has been completely unacceptable. I installed it on a transmission tunnel and even before driving the car the black rubber had run down the sides and pooled on the floor. In my case the garage is below grade and does not get above 70 degrees even in the summer. I used about for sheets and what is left in the box has also oozed out along the edges. After reading several other positive reviews it sounds like there may have been some bad batches
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from For Cold Climates Only This product runs and drips in temperatures over 90 degrees. A gooey mess sealed my doors shut, ruined the rubber seals on my doors, and ruined all four door speakers. The cost of two boxes of this stuff pales in comparison to the time and cost of cleaning up the mess it caused when it melted and ran all over everything, not to mention 4 high-end aftermarket speakers that were ruined. If you live in a climate that ever gets over 90 degrees, do not buy this product. You will be sorry.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Product My lot of this product exhibited the same problem mentioned in other negative reviews. It was purchased 2 years ago but with unanticipated project delays was not used until now. The "butyl rubber" was running and dripping out of the box. It had to be refrigerated to keep it from dripping. I only applied it under the rear seat, and I am unsure as to whether or not to scrap the rest. $250 down the drain? Less than 70 degrees in AZ? What am I in for?
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT BUY!!!! Not for climates about 70. DO NOT BUY this product!! I can not stress enough how disappointed I am with this product. After 3 weeks of sitting in the garage I went out today to work on my project car. I found pools of tar all over the inside where edges of material where. I found the side had fallen down and left drips all down the sides. I moved the car outside to get a better look and found little pools of tar under the car everywhere. DO NOT Buy this product if you live in a warm climate. It has been in the 90's here for the last two weeks but my garage is shaded and has been in the 80's. I am so glad this happen before I had put the carpet in the car. Now I think I am going to remove all the material and start over. I just wasted a day and $149. DO NOT Buy, I can not stress this enough. Bad product. The pictures are worth a million words, so I will let them do the talking.
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome price fantastic product shipping can use some help I recieved my order and the box was in perfect shape. I opened the box and was saddened to see you ship the product FOLDED in the box.this stretched the product right in the middle where you folded it. Why not cut the product to 15" x 18" and stack it 18 layers instead of 9 layers of (18" x 30" and folded)? You could ship it in the same box at the same shipping cost and the customer would be happy. Handling 18' x 30" pieces can be very tricky with also peeling the adhesive cover off too. Pieces 15" x 18" are much easier to handle and lay without air bubbles too. Thanks for a great product. Donald
Date published: 2011-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Thermo-Coustic This stuff oozes in 80 degree heat in an enclosed garage. It dripped off side panel applications and oozed into all the crevices and panel seams in my '30 two door sedan. A huge mess to clean up and remove. This product is not worthy of being sold by Eastwood.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Product Just installed on the floorboards and firewall in my 71 Charger with headers. Sound wise a big difference. As far as heat reduction, so-so. The driver's side firewall by my gas pedal gets to 180º during summer driving with the headers a few inches away from the firewall. With the Eastwood product it was reduced to 140º. The video only shows 20 seconds of heat on the metal. In the real world your driving your car for a longer period and with the constant heat from the headers (if your car has them)you probably won't see the same results as the video.
Date published: 2010-11-02
  • 2015-03-31T10:18CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_12117, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

Once installed, can it be removed easily? I accidentally put it on the inside roof area of a Fiberglas street rod and then read where you don't recommend that application for it. I am assuming because the heat will make it breakdown? 

Asked by: Mauler34rod
Possible break down but just more of a precaution, which we do not recommend it on the ceiling. Removal can be done with either pulling to peel the product off and cleaning the residue with the pre painting prep 10041Z as a solvent to loosen and dissolve
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-02-02

Several of the reviews mention that the product melted and either pooled or dripped out of the car. Has this product since then been improved to address this problem?

Asked by: Mike45
I bought this product in the fall of 2014.  Both boxes melted.  We put one box in the car and then next morning the black tar was running down the firewall into the floorboard.  It melted in about 85 degree heat.  
Answered by: DougL
Date published: 2015-01-30

What should the room temp be when applying this product? I plan on pulling the interior out of my car this winter in an unheated garage.

Asked by: GoldRush 66
Application temperature isn't precisely specified, but you'll have the best luck applying it in warmer temperatures so that the adhesive will be slightly softer.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-01-20

Hi I stripped the carpet and carpet padding out of the back of my 1998 Suburban(water leak barn doors). Can I put this onto the bare painted metal(surprisingly not rusted)-then put the carpet and padding on top of it?

Asked by: phoebeisis
NickC-Thanks. We sorta car camp at rest stops in the suburban when we take long road trips-New Orleans-Flagstaff-wife ,retread greyhound,me. The deadening +extra heat barrier would help-sometimes we idle it-to use ac-while sleeping It is the world's best road trip vehicle-owner proof too
Answered by: phoebeisis
Date published: 2014-09-26

Before I replace my headliner, could I install Eastwood's Thermo-Coustic Sound Deadener Material on the inside of the roof?  If not, is there another Eastwood product that you would recommend to install on the inside of the roof?

Asked by: Fritz
ThermoCoustic is not recommended for overhead applications. A product that you could use is Boom Mat dampening material. http://www.eastwood.com/dei-thermal-acoustic-interior-kit-050500.html
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-09-16

I would like to put this product behind the vertical portion of my rear seat. Can I paint over the sticky side with Eastwood's trunk paint? I can put it on after I paint my trunk, but painting it with trunk paint would look better I think.

Asked by: MarkP
Hello, This product cant be painted over on the sticky side.We also recommend that the product not be used on a vertical surface unless all seams are taped tightly with our http://www.eastwood.com/insulation-tape-2-x-30-ft.html
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2014-09-15
  • 2015-03-31T11:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_en_US, sid_12117, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood Thermo-Coustic Sound Deadener Material

Item #12117 Brand: Eastwood

Sound deadener kit at about HALF the cost of competitive products!
Heavy Item - Special shipping charges may apply.

Details

Banish road noise, floor pan vibration and exhaust heat from your classic machine! Our Thermo-Coustic Barrier creates the ultimate in acoustic and thermal protection for your muscle car, street rod, boat or RV. Easily install under carpets, inside doors, around speaker boxes, and enjoy your ride in any environment.
  • Butyl rubber membrane is ideal for sound deadening road and driveline noise
  • High-performance aluminum facing reduces engine and exhaust heat
  • Conforms easily to interior and door panels
  • Maximum service temp, 140F. Not to be applied to overhead areas such as roof, hood or trunk lid
  • Kit covers approximately 33.75 sq. ft.

More info...

About Eastwood Thermo-Coustic Sound Deadener Material

Eastwood’s Thermo-Coustic Insulation is perfect to highly reduce road noise and engine heat to make your ride more comfortable! The Thermo-Coustic Barrier conforms easily to interior and door panels, with a hi-tack adhesive that lets you install them securely. Each of the 9 sheets are crafted with a .060"-thick layer of sound-deadening butyl rubber material, bonded to a high-performance, heat-reducing aluminum facing, for an overall thickness of 0.063".

Along with a significant reduction in road noise and driveline vibration, these Thermo-Coustic Barrier sheets help keep heat from penetrating your vehicle’s interior. Tests showed performance equivalent to that of the more-expensive major brand, so why pay more? Compare the performance and price to Dynamat liners and see for yourself.

Kit includes 33.75 sq. ft. of material, enough to insulate the most critical portions of your car’s interior and door panels. For more complete coverage, order two kits (particularly if you've removed the factory sound-deadening material during restoration). Imported.


Contents

9 sheets per kit. Each sheet is 30" long, 18" wide, 0.063" thick.


FAQs

(Q) How much area does a complete kit cover?
(A) One complete kit (9 sheets) covers approximately 33.75 sq. ft.Thermocoustic weighs 0.75 lbs/sq ft.


Safety

Always wear gloves when you're cutting this material.


Warranty

1-year mfr's. warranty against defects.


Accessories & Consumables

Accessories

Eastwood Thermo-coustic Sound Deadener, 5 Square-Feet Kit

Eastwood Carpet and General Purpose Adhesive

Hand Roller Applicator

Flexible Sealer and Sound Deadener

Insul-Tape, 30 Feet


Customers also viewed: