• Home
  • Epoxy Primer Black w/Catalyst One Gallon Kit
Eastwood Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Kit Black 2 Gallons is rated 4.6923 out of 5 by 13.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product! I sprayed this on my 1959 Chrysler Windsor and it came out great. It is thick in the can and must be well mixed. I sprayed with a 1.7 tip and then after 2 days it sanded well, Top coat of Eastwood's boulevard black and a contrasting gold color and people can't believe I painted it in my garage.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIghly recommended I needed to seal the bodywork on my Factory Five from the elements. This was my first time painting anything car-sized, and I actually used a $10 cheapy spray gun - it worked just fine. One point of note, the 1 gal can that the eopxy primer comes in is very thin - I asked the paint desk at Lowes to shake it, and the can crumpled as they tightened it in the machine (creasing the can and leaking paint..). I'd give it a 5 star quality rating if the can wasn't so thin!
Date published: 2011-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended I just finished painting my modified 66 mustang. I used all the Eastwood products: Black Epoxy primer--sprayed well and sanded great. Then covered everything in a thick coat of Urethane Primer--again, sprayed well and sanded great. Blocked sanded the car and shot the Blvd Black with chop top silver stripes. The paint laid down well. Because I painted stripes on the car, I finished off with Eastwood's clear. I did get orange peel in the finish but it wet sanded out easy using 1500 paper and buffed to a outstanding shine with little effort. All my friends are impressed with the results and couldn't believe I painted the car in my shop. NOTE: I tried painting one day when it was raining out and I had some fish eye. Being so, I waited for a nice day and no more fish eye--I found the key is not to paint when the humidity is 90-100 percent.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Product! Fast sanding. This is by far the best primer i have used. It will build fast and lay smooth. It sands quick and doesn't clog the paper. 5 Stars! Thanks Eastwood!
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff reduced it with urethane reducer and used it as a sealer for a black paint job.laid down nice,covered it with ppg black/concept clear worked great
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good paint, very thick It is impossible to spray this without thinning it substantially. It is like glue. The can does not say, but Lacquer thinner is what you need
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall a good primer Great price for an epoxy primer. Wet sands great but even after 4 days in a heated shop it did not dry sand without plugging up sand paper.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Very pleased with how well this sprayed (used 1.8mm tip). Coverage was very good. Block sanded well. I will purchase this product again.
Date published: 2013-11-04
  • 2015-03-01T09:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_51128ZP, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

How soon can I apply the final top coat. Also must all areas be sanded? Thinking about spraying fire wall without sanding so I can mount my cab.

Asked by: Pepper
You can top coat after 30-60 minutes, and up to 5 days without sanding. Here is the product sheet with more information on the primer. http://www.eastwood.com/images/pdf/50242INST.pdf
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2015-01-29
  • 2015-03-01T09:00CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_51128ZP, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Epoxy Primer Black w/Catalyst One Gallon Kit

Item #51128ZP

1:1 mixing gets you an easy-to-apply, long-lasting show-car finish
Not for sale or use in California. Eastwood Paints are formulated to meet National Rule VOC regulations, check with your local and state guidelines as some areas may have stricter regulations than others.

Details

Black Epoxy 1:1 Primer/Sealer with 1:1 Catalyst gives you an easy-to-spray, long-lasting, show-car finish Your project vehicle deserves a finish that adheres beautifully, resists rust, dries fast and has superior color hold. Get it when you use this Black Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Kit.
  • Use on steel, aluminum, fiberglass, fillers and finishes
  • May be sanded after 2-3 days
  • Mix 1:1 with catalyst included
  • DTM - Direct To Metal application for a strong bond
  • Reduce up to 20% to use as a sealer

More info...

About Epoxy Primer Black w/Catalyst One Gallon Kit

Eastwood's Black Epoxy Primer is an easy-to-use, 2-component primer/sealer that adheres beautifully, resists rust, dries fast and has superior color hold. May be applied over steel, aluminum, fiberglass, body fillers and existing finishes. Has no lead, chromate and isocyanides. Unlike most epoxy primers, Eastwood's Black Epoxy Primer is easy to sand 2-3 days after application. Mix 1:1 with catalyst included.


Contents

50246 ZP 50245 ZP


Accessories

50040ZP Master Paint Kit
50041ZP Deluxe Paint Kit


Safety

Always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection.