• Home
  • Eastwood Body Solder Kit Basic with DVD
Eastwood Body Solder Kit Basic with DVD is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 5.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good experience My order actually arrived a few days ahead of the estimated delivery date, so that was a good start right there. I paid attention to the customer reviews and ordered the extra body solder 10 pack and was I glad I did ! It worked just like the DVD demonstration, though I've only tried a horizontal surface so far, I can see vertical surfaces will take better flame control and more practice. Great service and product--I'll be back!
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I heeded the other reviews and ordered with extra body solder. Leading is so much easier than I anticipated. I filled everything from rust divits to rust holes...and I mean holes! (I did have to use stainless steel sheetmetal plates to hold the solder in the holes until it cooled). I will never use plastic body filler again. Great results from a first time user. DVD is useful too.
Date published: 2010-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product this is a great kit for someone that has a small amount of leading to do. I agree that it should have included more solder, but I was able to get my project completed. This was the first time I used lead solder, and the kit included everything I needed. The next time I'll just have to order extra solder.
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Kit This is a nice start for someone that wants to use solder instaed of plastic filler. However, there was not enough solder to complete the sail panel seams for two quarter panels, but enough tinning butter and tallow to last a lifetime. the kit would have been perfect if it came with more solder and a little less butter and tallow.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly easy I bought this kit to properly repair the joint between the roof and pillars of my restoration project. After watching the video and taking care to follow the step-by-step instructions, it was a simple task that looks fantastic. I do wish the kit came with more solder and some bronze wool.
Date published: 2014-12-29
  • 2015-03-02T11:19CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_5
  • loc_en_US, sid_11165, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

I as wondering if I could use lead to fill in pin holes on a motorcycle gas tank. I made a gas tank from scratch welded it all together and found a bunch of pin holes keep filling in with weld but they keep appeari was wondering if this kit would help me

Asked by: Skinn
You could use this or i would also recommend a metal to metal filler. USC all metal or the lab metal to fill in and smooth the tank.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-18

Can I have my cars body dipped in galvanize without losing the lead work or creating some other problem because of dissimilar metals or should the lead work be performed after if at all. 

Asked by: JCsBUG
You should do all body work after you've completed whatever surface treatment you plan on doing. When you're ready to do your lead work, grind the metal clean and then start with fresh bare metal and then top coat as normal.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2014-11-29

Working on dented dirt bike tank. Can I powder coat over the top of the lead or will it melt while the paint is flowing out?

Asked by: redtunnel
  • 2015-03-02T11:23CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_en_US, sid_11165, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood Body Solder Kit Basic with DVD

Item #11165 Brand: Eastwood

Lead-based solder for better adhesion,
longer durability, than plastic fillers

Details

Eastwood's Basic Body Solder Kit helps you complete small leading jobs with better adhesion, strength and durability than plastic fillers 30/70 lead-based body solder is slightly easier to work with than our lead-free solder, and provides better adhesion, strength and overall durability than plastic fillers. Includes 2 lbs. of solder for small solder jobs.
  • Spreadable (plastic) range is 361-489 degreesF
  • Includes tools and accessories
  • "How-to" DVD included

More info...

About Eastwood Body Solder Kit Basic with DVD

Conventional lead-based solders have been the choice of restorers and customizers for over 80 years. Our 30/70 lead solder works well on horizontal and vertical surfaces, and its low melting temperature makes the 30/70 lead solder slightly easier to work with than our lead-free solder. Body lead solder's tensile strength is 6,140 psi. Instructional DVD included helps you do a professional soldering job.


Contents

2 lbs. of Body Lead Solder
1 Flat Paddle
1 Half-Round Paddle
1 File Holder
1 English Body File (flat)
1-lb. Tallow
1-lb. Tinning Butter
5 Acid Brushes
Instructional DVD Video


Safety

Level by filing; never sand lead-based body solder.


Customers also viewed: