• Home
  • Eastwood Chassis Black Paint Satin Aerosol 14 oz
Eastwood Chassis Black Paint Satin Aerosol 14 oz is rated 4.5556 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Paint - if you can use it all (nozzle problems) I've used this stuff for over 12 years. I did my '68 Camaro in 2001 and it still looks great and is tough as nails. Lots of material in spray, nice flow, great coverage. I still use it for my projects. My only issue is if I don't use the whole can the same day, when using a partial can a few days or weeks later the tip clogs so easily I rarely finish using the entire can. I can't tell you how many 1/2 used cans end up in the trash. I know how to 'flush' a nozzle and I don't have this issue with other brands. Eastwood needs a high quality delivery system to match the high quality paint.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product The finish of this product is as good as factory finishes. I spray it over a good coat of primer and I haven't had any problems with scratching as others have. My only complaint is the drying time is very long. I too have had 2 of eight cans plug up but I found that the product needs to be shook for a long time before using and frequently during use. I have used it on all my 64 T-bird front suspension and will use it on the rear suspension also. On rusted parts I use Rust Encapsulator first then Chassis black for the top coat for a very tough finished product.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable easy to use paiint I've used this paint in years past on other restorations. The rattle cans lay down a nice smooth finish with a fan spray nozzle that looks right on most chassis parts and frames. I've not had any trouble with clogging either. It dries reasonably quickly and is very durable after it completely dries. It's convenient in that you don't have to crank up the compressor and dirty up the spray gun for small jobs. I used 5 and a half cans on a Corvette frame, but will probably use another couple of cans on miscellaneous pieces. To me, this paint is more than adequate for use on a collector car that's driven and enjoyed.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice frame paint I had a few sections of frame that needed a touch up. I tried using another brand of chassis paint from an auto parts store and was not happy with the results. So I ordered Eastwood's Chassis Black. I sanded the previous work down to mostly metal, used Eastwood's Pre, added a coat of sandable primer and shot two coats of the Chassis Black. I was happy with the results. The material out of the can is pretty even, the color is good, and application out of a can is easy. I look forward to using it on misc. parts during the restoration.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is the best spraying aerosol paint I've ever used, and it has just the finish I need for the undercarriage, not too glossy or flat, just right. Easy to spray with good coverage, and a rock hard finish that looks good for years. I always keep some in the shop, great for touch-up also. I use it mainly on my off-road Jeeps, and it holds up super, even to pressure washing ! The nozzle has a good spray pattern, never had a problem with that.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to use I've read reviews about nozzle problems and Eastwood now has the adjustable fan nozzles. All nozzles do sometimes plug up and that's why you save all your old nozzles and use as needed. This paint requires serious neglect to make it run. Super coverage and great finish. Remember if you live up north and keep paint in cold garage to bring it in were it can warm up, 24 hrs. best. a warm surface is better than cold, because it dries faster.
Date published: 2011-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from scratches off easily After doing my entire chassis over the past 2 years, I noticed that every time I went to re-assemble, there would be scratches and scuff marks. I started using extreme chassis black and it took the beating of tools and parts falling on the painted surface. This paint is fine in those places that are never seen but use a primer.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy to have. After using the quart size to spray a frame I find this aerosol perfect for touch ups. No excessive prep time and sprays evenly. A couple of light coats is best for the small areas. And if you do any welding, this is a good quick coat to cover bare metal until it's time to finish coat a frame. I always keep some handy.
Date published: 2015-02-22
  • 2015-05-04T08:55CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_10025Z, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

I am chemically removing the rust from my chassis parts.  They will be bare metal when finished.  Do I need a primer under the Chassis Black paint, or can/should I shoot right over bare metal?  

Asked by: bmac49
You can shoot right over the bare metal with the OG chassis black
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-04-17
  • 2015-05-04T09:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_10025Z, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood Chassis Black Paint Satin Aerosol 14 oz

Item #10025Z

Original long-lasting formula resists chips, corrosion, temps to 300°F

Details

Chassis Black Satin is the perfect coating at the perfect price for any undercar component Not glossy, not dull, just right! Authentic 60-70% gloss looks great on suspension parts and frame. Tough, long-lasting formulation resists chips, corrosion and temperatures up to 300 degrees F, so it's perfect for the value-conscious enthusiast who wants a factory-fresh look while staying within a budget.
  • Resists corrosion, chips and scratches
  • Resists brake fluid, fuel and solvents
  • UV-resistant
  • Matches OEM finish
  • Apply multiple coats without lifting

More info...

About Eastwood Chassis Black Paint Satin Aerosol 14 oz

Eastwood’s Chassis Black Satin is formulated to provide you with the right sheen, durability and long lasting great looks. Its 60-70% gloss level is correct for many factory restorations or use in a custom application. Ideal for frames, suspension components, roll bars, differentials, floor boards and much more. Fortified with high solids and epoxy, Chassis Black resists chips, UV rays and high temperatures up to 300°F. One aerosol can covers approximately 8 square feet. Buy 3 or more and save!


Contents

One 15 oz. aerosol can covers 8 Sq. ft, Max Temp 300F. Average car needs 3 to 5 cans.


Warranty

Made in the USA. 30 Day Eastwood Warranty. QUANTITY DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE FOR THIS ITEM


Application

Ensure surface is clean, prior painting. Chassis Black can be applied over bare metal or old paint. To ensure good adhesion, scuff the old paint with 320 grit abrasive. DO NOT USE OVER SELF-ETCHING PRIMERS. Apply to surface about 8-10 inches from surface. It’s better to apply several light coats than one heavy coat. Ideal conditions 70°F to 90F° at 50% humidity. Conditions will affect dry times. Apply several light coats until hiding is achieved. Allow at 15-20 minutes between each coat. Full cure time is 24-36 hours depending on conditions. If recoating after 36 hours, scuff surface with 320 grit abrasive.


Customers also viewed: