• Home
  • Eastwood Rubberized Rust Encapsulator - Black Aerosol
Eastwood Rubberized Rust Encapsulator - Black Aerosol is rated 4.2414 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Product vs Others I've used 3 other brands of products to help seal and protect rusted areas of cars and each of them failed. I ran into Eastwood's through a Google search and watched a couple videos from their people on Youtube. Although the price seemed a bit steep for one can (especially just to test it out), the outcome was spectacular! I've now used it on 6 different vehicles (rocker panel rot, wheel well rot, hood rot, etc..) and it is extraordinary. **NOTE** You gotta grind off paint and loose rust pieces so get yourself a grinding wheel for a drill first.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great resource. I bought this to use on my snow plow which was getting pretty rusty. I cleaned the plow and then applied the rust encapsulator (regular) after using the galvinized internal spray for inside the frame if I could get into it. I then applied the rubberized encapsulator over the top. It went on nicely and seemed to adhere pretty good over the regular encapsulator. I have been thinking of spraying the chassis black over, but not sure if this would be overkill. We'll see how it holds up after my season of plowing.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FJ 40 Restore I am almost positive the Japanese had no idea of undercoating or rust protection was in 1970. My 1970 FJ40 Land Cruiser has a lot of rust but using Eastwood Rust Converter and Rubberized Encapsulation paint has made this project much easier. The amount of sanding and grinding has been cut in half and makes my restore look professional. Its easy to use and easy to apply. Best of all I know that when its done this classic may have another 43 yrs left in her because rust is going to be a non-issue
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stuff ! I find the Rubberized Rust Encapsulator an awesome undercoat to use where there needs to be a bit more corrosion protection. I first clean & treat the coroded surface to stifle the rust. Once cured I then coat with Eastwoods Rubberized Rust Encapsulator as twice the protection. As this product is a bit thin to facilitate proper adhesion & seal, and after it is cured, I further undercaot with my favorite undercoating for the ultimate in corrosion protection.
Date published: 2013-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Applies nice. Ok. So I bought this to use on my frame and It works and looks great. I don't have much experience with the products durability but it seams to dry to a hard surface. I would love if this product could have some sort of flex hose so you can make sure to get where the can cant go. All in all I think this is a great product and will recommend it to my friends. PS. Help out with the price when buying more quantity.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It doesn't spray well at all....Bummer! Like with its brother the Rust Encapsulator, I have had MAJOR problems applying this product in the hotter weather. It doesn't spray well at all. Using a FULL CAN, it clogs and sputters then just STOPS! The product certainly seems to cover well when it sprays, but this one MAJOR flaw prevents me from giving it ANYTHING higher that a 3 star rating. Eastwood, what are you going to do??
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rubberized Rust Encapsulator Works! I used 10 cans to protect the underside of my '96 Buick Roadmaster wagon. It was a low mileage (39K) car but had been stored for years in a damp garage, so all the surfaces were covered with rust. I used a rotary wire wheel to remove the loose rust and covered the bottom of the car with this product. Easy to apply and good appearance.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Purchased this for the underside of my truck, was rusting at the body seams. I read a few other reviews about the nozzle clogging, not drying, etc. I'm going to continue saying this product worked 100% flawlessly for me with absolutely no issues. It goes on smooth, cures as it should and looks fantastic! Thanks Eastwood!
Date published: 2014-05-17
  • 2015-04-27T08:37CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_13651Z, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

do i need to use rust converter before i apply the rubberized rust encapsulator?  i have light surface rust on the under carriage of my 4runner and i want to prevent it from spreading or becoming worse. no plans to paint over.

Asked by: ramez
Rust Converter is intended for heavier rust. For light surface rust, wire brush the rust, clean with PRE and then apply Rubberized Rust Encapsulator. For additional protection, apply standard Rust Encapsulator and topcoat with Rubberized Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-09-29
  • 2015-04-27T09:37CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_13651Z, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood Rubberized Rust Encapsulator - Black Aerosol

Item #13651Z Brand: Eastwood

Stops rust and protects the underside of your car!

Details

"Rubberized" Rust Encapsulator stays flexible as it stops rust in its tracks Eastwood's Rubberized Rust Encapsulator is the flexible version of our high-performance rust inhibitor coating that applies directly over rust or bare metal to provide long-term corrosion protection.
  • Flexible finish protects surfaces from abrasions, and deadens sound
  • Epoxy-fortified for better adhesion and durability
  • Withstands up to 250°F
  • One aerosol covers about 10 square feet

More info...

About Eastwood Rubberized Rust Encapsulator - Black Aerosol

Unlike off-the-shelf under coatings, the Rust Encapsulator rubber coating can be applied directly over rust and without the bubbling that creates air pockets thus trapping rust. Since its engineered with high-tech flex agents, its pliable finish protects surfaces from abrasions, road hazards and deadens sound. So durable it exceeded 1,000 hours of salt spray chamber testing, this surpasses the standards for a 2-component catalyzed coating! Simply apply directly over rust or bare metal; no need to topcoat. Remains flexible and durable. Satin black finish.


Contents

Aerosol net weight 15 ounces


Accessories

10041z PRE Painting Prep 16060z Rust Encapsulator 51483z Rust Converter 12515z Internal Frame Coating 11175z Extreme Chassis Black 10025z Original Chassis Black 10025z Original Chassis Black 10020z Exhaust Paint


Application

Use a wire brush to remove loose rust, scale and paint, and remove dust, grease and oil deposits. Feather surrounding paint with 220-grit sandpaper. Shake can for at least 2 minutes once the mixing ball starts to rattle. Hold the Rubberized Rust Encapsulator can 10"-12" above surface as you spray. A single coat dries to the touch in 20 minutes, and is thoroughly dry in 3-4 hours at 68°F. For greater durability, a second coat can be applied 1 hour after the first.


Safety

Always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection. Always apply in a well ventilated area away from open flame. VOC Content- ABP Max MIR 1.55


Warranty

MADE IN THE USA


Application

Ensure surface is clean and free of greases, oils and debris. Shake well. Ideal application conditions are 70°F at 50% or less humidity. Hold can 10-12" from surface, apply medium coat to ensure maximum adhesion. Will flash dry in 30-60 minutes, full cure in 24 hours. Apply coats in minimum one hour intervals. No topcoat is needed, because of its flexible properties a topcoat may not adhere. Do not apply to hot surfaces such as exhaust systems, engines or transmissions.


Customers also viewed: