• Home
  • Eastwood Gray Self-Etch Primer Aerosol 16 oz
Eastwood Gray Self-Etch Primer Aerosol 16 oz is rated 3.9091 out of 5 by 11.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but plan ahead! This aerosol is easy to use, and does lay down nice and smooth, but being a single-stage laquer-based primer, it's pretty soft, and lifts easily with acetone based cleaners and topcoats (don't use the Eastwood LOW VOC PREP cleaner on this stuff, as the primer will come right off). Regular PREP is fine as it is Xylene based. I laid down this stuff, then the low VOC primer, then Featherfill G2, then thinned low VOC primer, then topcoat. In hind-sight I probably could have simply started with the low VOC primer, and done without the self-etching stuff, but I was working on the car in sections over 3 years.
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good primer, bad delivery I have been using the self edge primer quite a bit as well as the weld through with good results. That is until the last purchase. The new labeled primer has a different head and does not spray well. Had to toss the last can half through due to the head blocking and uneven spray pattern. That said using an acetone prep and finding a spray head that works the primer holds well as temporary covering over fresh metal until it can be repainted as one piece.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I found the self etching primer easy to use and it had very good coverage.My only complaint would have to be with the spray nozzle, after spraying for a few minutes it tended to drip paint and you had to be careful not to let it drip on a surface you werent; working on yet, or a surface that was already painted!
Date published: 2011-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I was very pleased with the self-etching primer, good coverage and dry time. About the only complaint I have is with the spray nozzle, it tended to drip paint after spraying for a few minutes. I had to be real careful what was underneath where I was spraying!
Date published: 2011-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works great for those small jobs. For the bigger ones it's a good way to protect your work and allows you to move on to the next area. When all finished, all you have to do is sand smooth and continue on with the finishing process.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best stuff ever!! Like all Eastwood products, self-etch primer is the tops. Sticks like crazy, doesn't run when you spray it and holds well under about paint you can dream up. Only way to fly!
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not great more like so-so used on hood after I cleaned off with pre, everything was ok til i came back 2 days later & it started flaking off. now i have rust spots where primer flaked off.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had no trouble with it. works great as long as you use 3 or 4 light coats .Good coverage. Easy to use. Very durable.
Date published: 2014-02-20
  • 2015-05-05T11:24CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_16014Z, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

Can the self-etching primer be used on cast-iron? I am restoring an antique drill press and am having trouble with primers not sticking to the cast iron.

Asked by: DeltaGabriel
Yes self etch would work on cast iron.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-29
  • 2015-05-05T12:03CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_16014Z, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood Gray Self-Etch Primer Aerosol 16 oz

Item #16014Z

Spray on bare metal to etch and prime in one easy step

Details

Work faster—spray this Self-Etching Primer on bare metal to etch and prime in one easy step Metal-etching primer’s true acid-etching formulation sticks to virtually any clean, bare, rust-free metal. This lacquer-based, self-etching primer enhances the adhesion and durability of most non-epoxy top coats.
  • Adheres to aluminum, steel, stainless and galvanized
  • 16-oz. aerosol etching primer in gray
  • Also available in black
  • Use our Rust Dissolver to remove light rust first (#16037)


Do you have a product idea? Click Here to suggest it!

More info...

About Eastwood Gray Self-Etch Primer Aerosol 16 oz

This easy to use aerosol etches and primes bare, rustfree metal in one step. Adheres to steel, aluminum, stainless steel, and galvanized steel and is compatable with virtually any paint or auto finish. This self-etching formula bonds better to bare metals than other aerosol primers. It is also a single- stage formula which requires no catalyst, making it even easier to use. Self Etch Primer is now available in Black aerosol (16114Z).


Contents

Contains 16 ounces net weight. Covers about 10 sq ft. Lacquer based. Withstands up to 170 degrees F.


FAQ’s

Our Chassis Black paints do not stick well to this and other single stage self etching primers. This Self Etching primer uses an aggressive solvent system to assure excellent adhesion to clean, rust free metal. Exercise care when using this product over enamel finishes as lifting may occur. Eastwood's Self-Etching Primer is Lacquer based.


Safety

Work in a well ventilated area. A Respirator like our Professional Respirator (34029) is recommended when using this product.


Warranty

Made in the USA. QUANTITY DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE FOR THIS ITEM


Application

Self Etching Primer etches & primes in 1 step for superior adhesion. Can be used on steel, stainless, aluminum, or scuffed galvanized surfaces. For best results, clean surface to be painted with PRE Painting Prep (10041 Z) or Metal Wash (10120). 1 Aerosol covers about 10 sq ft. Max Temp 180 F. Lacquer based. Goes on thin & can be used with any additional primer or topcoat. For best results, topcoat before 24 hrs. After 24 hrs, surface must be scuffed. Exercise care when using this product over enamel finishes as lifting may occur. Shake can for at least 2 mins before spraying. Work in a well ventilated area.


Customers also viewed: