• Home
  • Headlight Refinishing & Restoration Kit
Headlight Refinishing & Restoration Kit is rated 4.4118 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought this kit to refinish the headlight lenses on our daughter's 1999 Honda CR-V. I needed to use the progressively finer grits of abrasive paper first. The Autosol polish worked very well. It didn't give me a factory new finish, but it improved them 100%. There is some kind of coating originally put on the lenses by Honda, and if I knew what it was, I'd reapply it to further protect the plastic lens. By all means, cover everything you don't want flying globs of polish on. (I still have to clean off the spatters on the extra tires for our 1954 Studebaker that I had in the garage at the time.)
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scooby_Doo! I used this kit on out 1998 F150 pickup, which as you know, has at each front corner ENORMOUS combination headlight-turn signal--parking lights! Well the first one went as planned except I would recommend using a little less than the online video here shows because on the second light assy. I started to run a little short of the paste and the buffing wheel was very clogged and pasty. Nothing to loose sleep over, I made it work. The light assy. is definatly MUCH cleaner and as soon as I get the chance to test them out I am sure they will be just fine...I HOPE!!! The only complaint I have is...I feel this kit should be supplied with TWO of the wheels just to make the process easier without having to worry about cleaning the pad… Otherwise...well worth the $11.99 SALE price!!! -
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good I bought this kit over a year ago, and finally had time to use it on our '01 Jetta plastic headlight lenses. They were badly discolored and pitted, so I used sandpaper, as per directions, first. When I finished all the steps, I was amazed at the difference. This kit really works well!! The only drawback was the buffing pad shed a lot of small string pieces when I first started buffing (I know this is normal from useing large buffing wheels, but I had forgotten). Be sure that you have sandpaper on hand before you start. Overall time was about 1 1/2 hours.
Date published: 2009-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It worked OK The little buffing wheel came apart pretty easily but overall it did what it was advertised to do. I did my Mom's headlight covers and they were 100% better than they were before i started. You might get 4 headlights of work form the buffing wheel, but then it will be done. You might get 6 headlights out of the tube of polish and you can use the polish on other things. All things considered it worked.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Used the product, misted a little water on the headlights and appliede the product. Bufffed and misted water and applied producted again. Washed headlights and waxed with a uv wax. Lights look like brand new.
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheaper than new headlights I purchased this kit to avoid having to buy new headlights for PA state inspection on my two 1992 Plymouth Grand Voyagers. Required the progressive sanding procedure (didn't even try without, they were so bad). Definitely mask any painted surfaces around the lights first. ASTOUNDED by the results -- surfaces perfectly smooth. Lens plastic is still faintly yellow, but NOTHING could fix that. Inspection mechanic even commented how good they look.
Date published: 2010-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works, but you may need to wet-sand headlights first I bought this kit to use on my wife's car. It made a difference with no other prep, but the headlight plastic was still crazed. I ended up using wet/dry sandpaper (for autobody work) on a sanding block to really get the surface smooth. In my case, I had to wet-sand the lights starting with 400 grit, then 600, then 800, then 1000, then 1500, then finally 2000 grit paper. (You might not need to go as coarse as I did. To determine the proper grit, I actually started in reverse, working from the finest grit down to the coarsest grit necessary to remove the crazed plastic. 400 grit is where I stopped, as the headlights were uniform in their appearance after sanding with 400 grit. Once at this point, I then worked back up the grits to the 2000-grit paper.) At this point the headlight was smooth and relatively clear, with just a slightly cloudy appearance. Once I'd wet-sanded all the way up to 2000 grit, the Autosol polish with the bonnet provided in the kit then worked great and got the headlights perfectly clear. It's important to use water with the paper to keep it from loading up. It's also important to not skip any grits as you work from coarsest to finest paper; otherwise you'll have scratches visible when you get done, and will have to start over to get rid of them.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT I PURCHASED A 98 CHEVY 1TON DUALLY. I NOTICED WHEN I DROVE AT NIGHT, THE LIGHTS WHERE NOT BRIGHT. I WENT ON LINE TO PRICE NEW REPLACEMENT LIGHTS. THEN I RECEIVED E-MAIL FROM EASTWOOD. THE KIT WAS ON SALE . I FIGURED THIS WAS CHEAPER THAN PURCHASING ALL NEW HEAD AND TAIL LIGHTS. SO I ORDERED IT, MY WIFE ACTUALLY DID THE USED THE KIT. IT WORKED GREAT. SAVED A LOT OF MONEY ON NEW LIGHTS.
Date published: 2010-02-23
  • 2015-03-31T09:55CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_52267, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

Headlight Refinishing & Restoration Kit

Item #52267 Brand: Eastwood

Rather than replace yellowed
headlights, repair them and save!

Details

Can't see up ahead on the road at night? Brighten your vehicle's headlamps by refinishing their plastic lenses Over time, sun-damaged plastic lenses can reduce your headlights' light output by up to 30%. Rather than replace the headlights (an expensive proposition), you can quickly repair your hazy headlights by using this Headlight Refinishing and Restoration Kit.
  • Includes the buff wheel assembly and Autosol® polish
  • Quick and easy to use
  • Works with your electric drill

More info...

About Headlight Refinishing & Restoration Kit

After sanding, then rubbing the polish in, use your 1800-2200-RPM electric drill to buff off years of haze. Your headlights will look showroom-new, and the light output will increase, so you'll get a better nighttime view of the road up ahead.


Contents

13039 3" Buffing Wheel (1/2" arbor hole)
13064 1/4" Arbor (for wheel with 1/2" arbor hole)
13170 100-gram tube of Autosol® Polish


Instructions

Download Headlight Refinishing & Restoration Kit instructions


Plastic Head Lamp Refinishing Kit - Operating Instructions & Buyers Guide


Customers also viewed: