• Home
  • Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun
Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun is rated 4.7308 out of 5 by 104.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exellent value for the price I recently purchased the mig 175 from EW. and found this welder everything they claim it to be. Weather you are welding vertical, horizonal, downhand or overhead this is a great little welder, It took a few adjustments to get the feel for this unit in out of position welding. I also like the fine tuning you can get which some of the other name brands do not have. Working in the industrail field for 41 years fabraciating food processing equipment this little unit is the easiest to use of all the little welders that are portable. The only thing I would like EW to design is a cover to keep the dust and grime off the unit when not in use.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Welder / Hated the Cart My welder was damaged. Not a mark on the Carton. Found the Face plate cracked, after opening the carton and removing the unit from the foam inner packing? Had to be damaged when packaged... Automated packing I guess? I live 40 miles From the Store so I called, and spoke with Ivan, and he was going to Ship a new unit ASAP. I added, I was not to impressed with the Cart. So I asked if I could pick up the Replacement, at the store. He said Come on down. He listened to my complaints on the cart, and got me an up-graded Cart, for my inconvience. Thanks Ivan, For........... DOING THE JOB RIGHT
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Christmas Present since the Red Ryder BB gun I drooled over this welder for over a year while I was taking a welding class. Wife decided it would be a good Christmas Present for me and I have to agree with her opinion. This welder performed as well or better than the Miller Mig machines I learned on. My only suggestion is that Eastwood make a longer cable for the gun available as an option. I'm sure the shorter length adds to the reliability and smooth operation but many times a longer cable would be much more useful when you just can't get the cart any closer, like welding inside of a car body. No regrets here and I just ordered the spot welding tip and pliers!!! This is a great tool for car builders and restorers.
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great welder This is my first MIG welder. I have never even held one in my hand before this. The only welding I have done is with TIG and only small part repair for about 20 years. The first few welds I made with this machine looked okay but after about 30 minutes, I was welding small pieces of 16ga. material together left and right. I was really having fun learning what to do and how to do it. Using a chart that shows what to adjust if the weld looks a certain way, I made changes to the settings. I could fine tune the ark to do exactly what I wanted to do with the infinity variable power knob, a lot like the foot peddle on a TIG machine. Thank you Eastwood for a well built machine.
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I'm just a back yard mechanic and hobbyist and always wanted my own welder so I decided to pull the trigger on this one and so far it's worked fantastic. No problems at all and I can lay down a bead with the best of them. Since I lack experience the settings guide sure came in handy. I have built several small projects and just last week my lawnmower broke a part on the deck right in the middle of mowing. Had it welded back together and back running in less than 1/2 hr. How did I ever make it all those yrs. without a welder! I have a buddy who's a professional welder and even he was impressed with it.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great mig welder! I bought this welder for the spool gun. I had been using a Linclon for almost 20 years. I had welded some aluminum with the Lincoln but it was frustrating trying to get the aluminum wire to feed properly. The first time I tried the Eastwood spool gun I was blown away! It worked better than I imagined it could, and it is fast! The Eastwood MIG is more powerful than my old Lincoln. I have since sold the Lincoln, I have no need for it now and the price I got for it just about paid for the Eastwood. I was so happy with the Eastwood MIG that I turned around and bout the TIG.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good machine great price I'm very pleased with this setup, the capacity for the price is awesome. I used the spool gun basically first thing. It doesn't show it in the pictures or under description but my spool gun had a 4" spool of 4043 wire already in it. The settings for the aluminum welding seem about right which is surprisingly fast metal deposition. The only gripe I have is the included "welding mask". Eastwood shouldn't even bother, just add in the specifics that the purchaser will need to purchase a proper welding helmet before use.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I got my Eastwood MIG 175 Welder yesterday and couldn't wait to get it setup. I went right to town and picked up a tank of Argon, set up the spool gun and welded aluminum for the first time. After 5 minutes of practice on some scrap, we rolled our Aluma trailer into the shop for some repairs. 2 years ago I took this trailer to a pro weld shop to have some cracks repaired - they lasted 3 days before they cracked again. If I may say so our welds look a whole lot better than those of the weld shop. We are very impressed with this welder!
Date published: 2014-10-09

For very low power use and short duty cycle, can I use a step up transformer to run my 175 on a 110 volt outlet?

Asked by: Krash
unfortunately; the MIG 175 is not wired to run lower that 220V. Running the unit lower than 220 could result in damage to the unit.
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2014-12-24

Will the welder run fine with out damage if ac powered off a older welder/generator?

Asked by: ROCKLAND VALLEY FARM
The welder will work fine as long as the generator is making enough amps, with with correct breakers on it to keep up with the specs of the unit.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-19

Can this lay consistent beads on thin auto metal? I see the more expensive units go down to 25 amps.

Asked by: PoweredbySti
The MIG 175 can easily be used on automotive sheet metal, but there would never be a situation where you would run a consistent bead on sheet metal. Even at low amperage, MIG welding does not offer enough control over heat in order to avoid warpage of the thin panels.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2014-12-21

where can you get parts for the 175 mig welder

Asked by: geneo
We carry all parts directly related to the unit Consumables can be purchased through us or check with a local welding shop.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-10

does this machine come with a HOW TO book?

Asked by: Popsy
It comes with a how too: DVD and the manual for the welder.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-08

Where is the Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp welder made/manufactured?

Asked by: BuyMadeInUSA
It was designed here at Eastwood by our R&D team, it is made overseas in China by our private manufacture.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-03

Do I still get the three year warranty if I buy this product from a distributor and when does it start 

Asked by: stangergt99
Yes you would still get the 3 year warranty and it starts as soon as it is purchased
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-07

Are Lincoln wire spools compatible with this welder?

Asked by: mike99712
Not sure what Sean was referring to here. the spools or reels of wire (2 or 12 lb mig solid wire or flux core) are exactly the same. You can buy and run Lincoln brand wire on the Eastwood!
Answered by: DelK
Date published: 2014-12-23

Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun

Item #12012 Brand: Eastwood

Industrial-quality MIG 175 welder includes a FREE Spool Gun
Heavy Item-Special shipping charges may apply.

Details

Eastwood's MIG 175 Welder: "high-end" features at a DIY price! As a professional or weekend enthusiast, you can now get industrial-quality features in a hard-workin', affordable, MIG welder! Our R&D guys designed the Eastwood MIG 175 Welder (12012) for steel and aluminum to produce excellent bead quality and capabilities that match—and even exceed—the more expensive other MIG welders for sale!

  • Welds mild and stainless steel, 24-ga. to 5/16"
  • Welds aluminum, 14-ga. to 1/4" with included FREE spool gun ($199.99 value!)
  • 30-175-amp welding range
  • Ships with regulator and hose for optimum MIG welding. Can also be used for Flux-Core welding.
  • Powered by 220v current
  • Compare to similar welders that sell for over $700
  • ETL Approved
  • Backed by Eastwood's no-hassle return policy and 3-year warranty. Try it out for 30 days and if you don't like it, return it for a full refund!

More info...

About Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun

MIG 175 welder is designed for the professional or weekend enthusiast. The welder comes complete (except for the gas cylinder) and ready to weld 24-gauge to 5/16" mild steel and stainless, plus 14-ga. to 1/4" aluminum. This high-quality MIG welding machine has a 30% duty cycle at 135 amps, and 30-175-amp welding range. Feeds wire at 58"-471" per minute, and has infinitely adjustable wire speed and heat settings. Includes a precision-drive motor, regulator with hose, spool gun (to weld aluminum, 19-gauge to 1/4" plate), wire, tips and accessories...just add your own cylinder of CO2/Argon. "Quick Set" weld chart specifies settings for each material thickness, eliminating guesswork and assuring complete penetration. Backed by Eastwood's no-hassle return policy and a 3-year manufacturer's warranty.


Contents

MIG 175 Welder (89 lbs.)
Spool Gun with 9' cable (works with 2-lb. wire spools only)
MIG Wire 0.030
Aluminum Wire 0.030
Gas Regulator with hose
8' Ground Clamp
8' Gun Cable
3-Year “No Hassle” Warranty


Specs

Rated Electrical Input: 210-240 VAC; 50-60Hz; 22AMP
Max Voltage at No Load: 20 V DC
Rated Duty Cycle: 130A@30% duty cycle
Wire Feed Rate: 4.9 Ft/min – 39.3 Ft/min
Wire Sizes: 0.025”(0.6mm) – 0.030”(0.8mm) mig wire or 0.030”(0.8mm) – 0.035” Flux core wire
Welding Wire Spool: 4” and 8” spool
Weight: 62.0Lbs (24.5kg)
Overall Dimensions: 24.4 (620mm) x 12.6” (320mm) x 16.9 (430mm)


Instructions

Click here for product instructions


Safety

Always wear a minimum #10 shade helmet, leather welding gloves and long sleeve shirt and long pants.


Warranty

3-year manufacturer's warranty.

Click here for warranty information


Instructions

Click here for product instructions



Amperage and output voltage can be controlled precisely to get the proper penetration required. Wire speed can be infinitely adjusted to gain proper wire fill in the weld pool. This unit has been compared to the leading U.S.-manufactured red welders, with equivalent results at a fraction of the cost. The drive roll mechanism which is the heart of any MIG welder is designed to our specifications and delivers flawless wire feed without skipping or slipping on the wire.


Accessories & Consumables

Consumables:

12211 Contact Tip 0.023
12224 Contact Tip 0.030
12226 MIG Wire 0.023
12227 MIG Wire 0.030
12225 Flux Wire 0.030
12239 Drive Roller
12210 Tweco-Style Nozzle

Accessories:

Welding Cart
Auto Darkening Welding Helmet
Welding Jacket
Large View Auto Darkening Helmet
Welding Gloves


Customers also viewed: