• Home
  • Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun
Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun is rated 4.5259 out of 5 by 135.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exellent value for the price I recently purchased the mig 175 from EW. and found this welder everything they claim it to be. Weather you are welding vertical, horizonal, downhand or overhead this is a great little welder, It took a few adjustments to get the feel for this unit in out of position welding. I also like the fine tuning you can get which some of the other name brands do not have. Working in the industrail field for 41 years fabraciating food processing equipment this little unit is the easiest to use of all the little welders that are portable. The only thing I would like EW to design is a cover to keep the dust and grime off the unit when not in use.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Welder / Hated the Cart My welder was damaged. Not a mark on the Carton. Found the Face plate cracked, after opening the carton and removing the unit from the foam inner packing? Had to be damaged when packaged... Automated packing I guess? I live 40 miles From the Store so I called, and spoke with Ivan, and he was going to Ship a new unit ASAP. I added, I was not to impressed with the Cart. So I asked if I could pick up the Replacement, at the store. He said Come on down. He listened to my complaints on the cart, and got me an up-graded Cart, for my inconvience. Thanks Ivan, For........... DOING THE JOB RIGHT
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Christmas Present since the Red Ryder BB gun I drooled over this welder for over a year while I was taking a welding class. Wife decided it would be a good Christmas Present for me and I have to agree with her opinion. This welder performed as well or better than the Miller Mig machines I learned on. My only suggestion is that Eastwood make a longer cable for the gun available as an option. I'm sure the shorter length adds to the reliability and smooth operation but many times a longer cable would be much more useful when you just can't get the cart any closer, like welding inside of a car body. No regrets here and I just ordered the spot welding tip and pliers!!! This is a great tool for car builders and restorers.
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More problems with second unit I am really not pleased with this Mig 175. The first unit had the following problems, bad gauge (replaced), blew a hose (replaced), face plate peeled off (replaced) wouldn't regulate voltage (unit replaced). Unit was replaced, second unit, crossed threaded tip (trigger and hose replaced), broken internal gas fitting behind drive motor, same problem that Mike had in his review and I think it is a fatal flaw in the design (motor drive unit replaced) and now the gas won't shut off unless I turn the unit off. I sound like the customer from hell, I really just want to be able to use the welder for more than a day without problems. So two units with a total of 7 issues, will the it ever work???????????
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gas Line Hookup Broke After using the welder about 5 times I heard a hissing inside of the welder when I turned on the gas. I found the plastic connection inside of welder that the air line plugs into was broke. This cant be simply fixed because it is molded into the plastic that houses the wire feed wheels. I tried calling Eastwood many times. I was always transferred to tech support and always put into a answering machine that said something like “All our techs are busy-tell us your problem, leave your name and number and we will call you back”. I left many messages but never got a call back. I don’t like flux core welding so I shelved the unit, lost hundreds of dollars and bought a different brand.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I'm just a back yard mechanic and hobbyist and always wanted my own welder so I decided to pull the trigger on this one and so far it's worked fantastic. No problems at all and I can lay down a bead with the best of them. Since I lack experience the settings guide sure came in handy. I have built several small projects and just last week my lawnmower broke a part on the deck right in the middle of mowing. Had it welded back together and back running in less than 1/2 hr. How did I ever make it all those yrs. without a welder! I have a buddy who's a professional welder and even he was impressed with it.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great welder This is my first MIG welder. I have never even held one in my hand before this. The only welding I have done is with TIG and only small part repair for about 20 years. The first few welds I made with this machine looked okay but after about 30 minutes, I was welding small pieces of 16ga. material together left and right. I was really having fun learning what to do and how to do it. Using a chart that shows what to adjust if the weld looks a certain way, I made changes to the settings. I could fine tune the ark to do exactly what I wanted to do with the infinity variable power knob, a lot like the foot peddle on a TIG machine. Thank you Eastwood for a well built machine.
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! So far so good! Grabbed a tank from local welding supply hooked it up and started making some pretty decent welds with the spool gun. Very impressed with this unit. I have limited experience with Aluminum but the unit ran flawlessly. One problem i had which was my own fault is that i kept melting tips by having my wire feed too slow and i wasnt pushing my feed. After getting a feel for the spool gun i was cruising through my project.
Date published: 2015-07-21
  • 2015-10-06T12:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_12012, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

can you get a 15 to 25 foot torch cable you can get for the Mig 175

Asked by: bikercase
will the torch interchange with other company torch
Answered by: bikercase
Date published: 2015-10-02

what type of plug comes with the welder so I can wire it to my garage

Asked by: andy123
The welder has a NEMA 6-50P plug.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-07-29

I have the mig 175 and at the house I'm living at the best I can work with is a 30amp 220v without getting a new breaker box will the welder work of just a 30 or does it require 40 I know I won't be able to weld very thick material 

Asked by: Maxed0ut
You will be fine with the 30A breaker. Max input is 22A.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-07-08

If I have a generator that has a 30 amp 230v line. Could I run the 175 mig welder on that.

Asked by: Mmigatz
Yes you would be able to run it off a generator of those specs.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-07-08

When I set my welder to speed 10 to feed the wire, the  feed spins really fast then slows down and feeds at a slower rate, is this normal operation? 

Asked by: Eric B
This is normal on our welders. It is a safety feature in which a sensor on the board senses that the wire speed is to fast for the amperage setting and it slows it down. If you turn the amperage up as well to feed the wire it should come out at a faster pace.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2015-08-31

where is the best place to ground the clamp

Asked by: jdhernandez
The best place to ground the clamp is on a clean piece of the metal that you're welding on.  If you're welding on a clean metal table, you can also clamp to the table.  As long as the electrical current has a clean path from the welding piece to the ground clamp.
Answered by: casmit
Date published: 2015-06-02

I am planning to buy a MIG 175 welder and my electrician asked if it needs a 30 or 50 amp breaker.  Which would be best?

Asked by: Robert1966
Unless the pdf Eastwood provides of the assembly and instructions for the Mig 175 are wrong then they recommend a 220, 30 amp power source.  If this is wrong please let me know as I was about to order this unit.  Quoted from the pdf: "Connecting the Welder to a Power Source The Eastwood MIG175 welder requires a dedicated 220 VAC 30 Amp grounded outlet protected by a time delay breaker. The MIG175 is equipped with a NEMA 6-50P Plug which requires a NEMA 6-50R outlet to be connected."
Answered by: Woodman
Date published: 2015-06-21

how do I fill out papers for warranty I just purchased from a distributor and want to register the welder how can I do that

Asked by: dallas
keep the order details (purchase date etc) for warranty purposes. If they should have an issue they would report it to the business of purchase, who will deal with us.
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2015-09-21
  • 2015-10-06T12:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_12012, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun

Item #12012 Brand: Eastwood

Industrial-quality MIG 175 welder includes a FREE Spool Gun


Eastwood's MIG 175 Welder: "high-end" features at a DIY price! As a professional or weekend enthusiast, you can now get industrial-quality features in a hard-workin', affordable, MIG welder! Our R&D guys designed the Eastwood MIG 175 Welder (12012) for steel and aluminum to produce excellent bead quality and capabilities that match—and even exceed—the more expensive other MIG welders for sale!

  • Welds mild and stainless steel, 24-ga. to 5/16"
  • Welds aluminum, 14-ga. to 1/4" with included FREE spool gun ($199.99 value!)
  • 30-175-amp welding range
  • Ships with regulator and hose for optimum MIG welding. Can also be used for Flux-Core welding.
  • Powered by 220v current
  • Compare to similar welders that sell for over $700
  • ETL Approved
  • Backed by Eastwood's no-hassle return policy and 3-year warranty. Try it out for 60 days and if you don't like it, return it for a full refund!

More info...

About Eastwood MIG Welder 175 Amp with Spool Gun

MIG 175 welder is designed for the professional or weekend enthusiast. The welder comes complete (except for the gas cylinder) and ready to weld 24-gauge to 5/16" mild steel and stainless, plus 14-ga. to 1/4" aluminum. This high-quality MIG welding machine has a 30% duty cycle at 135 amps, and 30-175-amp welding range. Feeds wire at 58"-471" per minute, and has infinitely adjustable wire speed and heat settings. Includes a precision-drive motor, regulator with hose, spool gun (to weld aluminum, 19-gauge to 1/4" plate), wire, tips and accessories...just add your own cylinder of CO2/Argon. "Quick Set" weld chart specifies settings for each material thickness, eliminating guesswork and assuring complete penetration. Backed by Eastwood's no-hassle 60 day return policy and a 3-year manufacturer's warranty.


MIG 175 Welder (89 lbs.)
Spool Gun with 9' cable (works with 2-lb. wire spools only)
MIG Wire 0.030
Aluminum Wire 0.030
Gas Regulator with hose
8' Ground Clamp
8' Gun Cable
3-Year “No Hassle” Warranty


Rated Electrical Input: 210-240 VAC; 50-60Hz; 22AMP
Max Voltage at No Load: 20 V DC
Rated Duty Cycle: 130A@30% duty cycle
Wire Feed Rate: 4.9 Ft/min – 39.3 Ft/min
Wire Sizes: 0.025”(0.6mm) – 0.030”(0.8mm) mig wire or 0.030”(0.8mm) – 0.035” Flux core wire
Welding Wire Spool: 4” and 8” spool
Weight: 62.0Lbs (24.5kg)
Overall Dimensions: 24.4 (620mm) x 12.6” (320mm) x 16.9 (430mm)

Setting Charts

Click here for welder setting chart


Always wear a minimum #10 shade helmet, leather welding gloves and long sleeve shirt and long pants.


3-year manufacturer's warranty.

Click here for warranty information


Click here for product instructions

Amperage and output voltage can be controlled precisely to get the proper penetration required. Wire speed can be infinitely adjusted to gain proper wire fill in the weld pool. This unit has been compared to the leading U.S.-manufactured red welders, with equivalent results at a fraction of the cost. The drive roll mechanism which is the heart of any MIG welder is designed to our specifications and delivers flawless wire feed without skipping or slipping on the wire.

Accessories & Consumables


12211 Contact Tip 0.023
12224 Contact Tip 0.030
12226 MIG Wire 0.023
12227 MIG Wire 0.030
12225 Flux Wire 0.030
12239 Drive Roller
12210 Tweco-Style Nozzle


Welding Cart
Auto Darkening Welding Helmet
Welding Jacket
Large View Auto Darkening Helmet
Welding Gloves

Customers also viewed: