Hotcoat Powder Reflective Chrome 8 oz

    Item #10285

    Quality
    Price
    Value
    8 Review(s)

    Details

    Reflective Chrome HotCoat Powder gives you an economical, long-lasting, near-chrome finish Extremely durable powder-coated surfaces are far more resistant to chipping, scratches, fading, and wear than other finishes.
    • Coat and cure in under an hour!
    • Separate clear topcoat required to prevent tarnish
    • Easy to apply
    • Quick color changes
    • Economical

    About Hotcoat Powder Reflective Chrome 8 oz

    Reflective Chrome is our most reflective powder. This polyester powder cures in 20 minutes (after flow-out) at 375 degreesF (depending on part; see "FAQs" tab). Reflective Chrome must be top-coated with our Gloss Clear (10093), Super Gloss Clear (10286) or one of our Translucent finishes to prevent tarnishing.

    All HotCoat Powders are exclusively formulated for the Eastwood HotCoat System. They're optimized to promote static charge for uniform coverage and finish. All are UV- and fuel-resistant, so colors stay bright and vibrant longer.

    8-oz. bottle of powder covers the same area as 2-3 cans of spray paint (about 10 sq. ft.), and clean-up is easy, since you simply sweep-up the oversprayed powder. Contains no environmentally harmful solvents.


    MSDS Sheet

    Click Here for Material Safety Data Sheet


    Contents

    One 8-oz. can of Reflective Chrome HotCoat Powder


    Accessories

    10093 HotCoat Powder Full Gloss Clear
    10286 HotCoat Powder Super Gloss Clear
    10198 Original HotCoat Powder-Coating System
    11676 Dual-Voltage HotCoat Powder-Coating Gun


    FAQs

    (Q) How can I avoid substantial dulling of the Reflective Chrome once the clear powder topcoat is applied and cured?
    (A) While some dulling is unavoidable, substantial dulling usually indicates that the Reflective Chrome was not completely cured. To fully cure this Reflective Chrome prior to applying and curing the clear powder, we recommend following these curing directions: Light sheet metal parts like valve covers, air cleaners, etc., will cure at 375 degreesF within 20-30 minutes after flow-out occurs (flow-out refers to the transition from a dull powder look to a glossy liquid look). Heavy parts like wheels and intake manifolds will cure at 375 degreesF within 50-60 minutes after flow-out occurs. Cure temperature must not exceed 375 degreesF since wrinkling may otherwise occur. This powder, and most others, will tolerate longer bake times without adversely effecting appearance or durability of the coating.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    8 Item(s)

    per page
    Looks Good (Posted on 4/7/14)
    Review by DAN
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Chrome is harder to apply than other colors so it makes you work for the shine. When everything is applied perfect it comes out beautiful with a super durable shine.
    reflective chrome (Posted on 5/5/13)
    Review by bw200rider
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    i have been using this on a bunch of parts.. turns out sweet but its more of a polished aluminum..ive had no issues with coverage or clearing it.its always turned out nice....dont understand why are putting this coating down..it is what it is..and definatly stronger and nicer than a rattle can product..
    Looks great (Posted on 3/16/13)
    Review by Jeff
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I powder coated my carburetors they turned out great ,the only thing I can say is make sure the part is clean and put the powder coat on thick it will be more smooth and shiny , I did not clear coat my parts but if I were going to I would use the high gloss clear
    Looks just like chrome (Posted on 3/7/13)
    Review by jeepthing360
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    I was a little skeptical on how this was gonna turn out. When both they chrome and clear coat came out of the gun onto the sample part I made I was like this better work. Well it came out of the oven and it looks amazing. Even after the clear coat this stuff really shines. If you follow the directions to the tee I see no problem with this at all. The one thing you have to look out for is any imperfection is gonna show, but that is just like any chrome surface. I even beat on my sample piece after it was done to see how it would hold up, and it didn't even scratch. Great product.
    Underrated (Posted on 7/23/12)
    Review by Josh
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I'm not sure why this has gotten such bad reviews. True, it's not quite the same after clear, but it was pretty close for me. I followed the directions and it came out great. I really don't have any complaints.
    Great Stuff with translucent! (Posted on 12/10/11)
    Review by Brian
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Beautiful results when used as a base coat for a transucent color over the top. In the attached picture, I mixed three parts translucent blue with two parts translucent green to come up with a metallic teal color. The reflective chrome underneath really makes the color come alive. My cell phone camera doesn't do its apearance justice.
    This Stuff Is Awesome! (Posted on 7/4/11)
    Review by Smith
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    ...if you like spending ten times the money and twenty times the labor for a finish you can get out of a rattle can. The required clear topcoat kills it every time. And just to clarify, I used Eastwood's "incorrect" instructions they print on the product the first time and their "revised" instructions on this webpage for my second attempt with identical results. 4 ruined wheels and 1 water pump housing later, I am through. Caveat emptor!
    Almost false advertising (Posted on 9/15/10)
    Review by Kenneth
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    Ok, lets get one thing straight! This product looks exactly like chrome when it comes out of the oven to the point that I actually smiled when I first seen it.

    The problem is you have to clear coat this chrome for the second stage and the clear coat kills all reflectivity to the point where it looks exactly like the possum holler chrome you buy in the can from wal-mart... It still looks good but by no means can you call it chrome! Polished aluminum maybe!

    This is after using the recommended low heat super gloss clear coat (part# 10329) at 250° and if your thinking about using a spray on clear coat don't... Your part will turn out dark gray with next to no luster (Looks good too)

    The problem with not clear coating this chrome is you cannot polish it, clean it or leave it in direct sun light for more then a day because it will tarnish into a cloudy haze of you just ripped off a customer.

    8 Item(s)

    per page

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register