Eastwood Contour Polyester Primer Surfacer Gal

    Item #13523ZP

    Price
    Value
    Quality
    8 Review(s)

    Details

    Contour™ Sprayable High-Build Primer/Surfacer serves as an excellent base for any paint system 2-component polyester primer/surfacer has excellent filling characteristics and superior adhesion to steel, aluminum, fiberglass, SMC, OE finishes, self-etching primers and body fillers.
    • High build with excellent filling capabilities
    • Easy to sand with no shrinkage
    • Includes hardener

    About Eastwood Contour Polyester Primer Surfacer Gal

    Eastwood’s Sprayable Polyester Primer-Surfacer is a 2-component high build sprayable body filler that serves as an excellent base for any paint system. It has excellent filling characteristics and superior adhesion to steel, aluminum, fiberglass, SMC, OE Finishes, self Etching Primers and body fillers. Its high solids and high build formula allows you to achieve a laser straight surface prior to painting. Includes catalyst.


    Contents

    Primer: 128 Fl Ounces/ 3.78 L Catalyst: 7 oz/ 210g


    Accessories

    12416z Eastwood Guide Coat 10041Z PRE Painting Prep 13919 Eastwood Filler Spreaders 31273 Eastwood Filler Mixing Board 31160 Dura Block Sanding Boards 21538 Larry Lyles Body Work DVD 43579 DA Orbiting Sander 43120 Eastwood Work-Fender Stand


    Application

    Apply two or three medium wet coats as needed. Heavy wet coats should NOT be applied. Dry spray may be removed before recoating. Allow 90 minutes dry time before sanding at 68 degreesF. Finish with 220-grit, followed by 320-400-grit.

    CAUTION: Do NOT return catalyzed material back into can. To avoid contamination, seal lid tightly after each use. Store in a cool dry place.


    Safety

    Always wear eye, skin and resp[oratory protection when using this product always apply in a well ventilated area. consult MSDS and product label for specific safety warnings


    Warranty

    Made in Canada to Eastwood's strict specifications and quality standards


    Application

    Surface must be clean and free of wax, grease and debris. Body Filler & Putty: Rough sand w/80 grit, then 180-220, featheredge w/320 Painted Surfaces: Sand and featheredge using 80, 180 ,220 and finish w/320 Gun requirements: 1.8mm to 2.5mm Fluid Tip Size, 35 to 45 PSI Apply 2-3 medium wet coats. 90 min dry time @ 68°F finish with 220 and final with 320-400 grit.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    8 Item(s)

    per page
    another good polyester primer (Posted on 9/3/13)
    Review by bill
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    ive used all of the major brand polyester primers over the years. They all seem to aquire their own spray technique. Whereas I could get away with a 1.8 tip using evercoat featherfill, eastwood contour I had to use my 2.2 unless it was reduced the 10%...still a good HIGH build great sanding primer dry and wet. May be worth the $10 xtra dollars to buy featherfill G2 still. But im going to buy the contour primer again..like someone said above..Make sure to measure precisely. You have two Catalyst bottles = 64ounces or half gallon each. Peal of the label, mark the bottle mid way now you have quarts 32oz...divide into four and you hav pints 16oz. Stuff dries fast don't ruin it !!
    A real time saver (Posted on 7/27/13)
    Review by Randy
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    This paint is a gem to work with as far as getting panels straight as glass. It is a bear to mix if it has settled, but I found a paint mixer at Harbor Freight (part # 41014) for $3.99 and it made a world of difference. When you buy from Eastwood you know you're getting good products.
    Good product (Posted on 5/28/13)
    Review by David
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I have used this primer on 2 projects thus far and really like it. My last gallon however must have been older stock as it took me 30 minutes to get the lump at the bottom stirred up. It would be great if Eastwood would shake paint products before shipping.
    Great Product (Posted on 3/21/13)
    Review by Ray
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Great Product, Staff was very helpful
    easy to use product. (Posted on 3/6/13)
    Review by custom works
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Great product... one suggestion I offer is to remove the label on hardner and mark lines dividing it in half for quart(32oz) mixtures or in 4 equal parts for half quart (16oz)mixing. I also experimented with polyester fiberglass hardner with same results as supplied hardners in kit...
    Very Happy (Posted on 12/7/12)
    Review by longhammer
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    For the last 20+ years I've used Featherfill on my high end builds that need laser straight pannels. I decided to give eastwoods version a try due to its sale price. Overall I'm very happy with the product. Its been my experience with all of these firberglass resin high build primers no matter the brand its prudent to be patient and let the product cure over night before blocking. I like to play it safe. I've had shrink back issues due to haste on some past projects.

    As far as mixing, the stuff needs to be shaken thoroughly. It does settle! and stirring alone will not abolish the lumps.

    As far as adding the catylist, the mixing by weight instructions were too complicated and I can see it might be intimidating to new users. I like to use the KISS theory. My Kit incuded one gallon of primer and two bottles of catalyst. Peel back the warning lable on the cat. and eyeball or measure with a ruler half of it contents and draw a line on the bottle at the half way mark. Using a mixing cup pour a quart of primer into the container and one half of one bottle of catalyst. By doing it this way everything is divided equally as it came from the manufacture with out waste. I would also suggest that you only mix one quart at a time due to pot life parameters. If you mix too much at once It may start to harden before you get to use it all. Especially if the weather is warm. I KNOW!!!

    Be sure you use a large tip on your primer gun and apply as needed.

    As stated prior I like to come back the next day before I block. Sands Great but so have all the other priducts I've used. At any rate I'm very happy overall especially at the sale price.

    Keep in mind that this stuff as good as it is dosen't negate the need for good body work before hand.
    Good stuff (Posted on 10/11/12)
    Review by murray500
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    The concept of "spray on bondo" was a new one to me but this stuff works well.
    Some tips:
    1) Stir it up using a BIG stick. This product settles out, and it is stiff. Shaking won't break it loose. I broke two regular wood paint stirring sticks in the process. Good arm exercise.
    2)Strain it with a fine strainer, there are lumps even after a lot of stirring. My first attempt without straining properly resulted in a lot of gun plugging and sputtering.
    3)Sprays well with the Eastwood Concours gun with a 1.8 tip and 40 psi at the gun inlet. Don't worry about trying to get it on too smoothly, because this stuff sands very easily.
    4) I put on a guide coat and block sanded with 320 dry and then did 400. Because this polyester is fairly porous, my paint supplier suggested a sealer coat prior to the top coat.
    Good product, bad instruction. (Posted on 7/25/12)
    Review by Redshift
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I carefully weighed 500 grams and added 25 grams of hardener, or "5% by weight" as stated in the instructions. I double checked this because it seemed like a lot of hardener. When I had used 2/3 of the gallon, I was out of hardener. Called and emailed tech support several times before getting a call back. After they checked with the manufacturer, they confirmed the instructions were wrong. Should have been 5% by volume, or just proportion the amount of hardener supplied with the gallon of primer. Can't believe they have not fixed the error yet.

    8 Item(s)

    per page

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register