Eastwood Contour Polyester Primer Surfacer

    Item #13522 Primer Surfacer

    Value
    Quality
    Price
    20 Review(s)

    Details

    Contour™ Sprayable High-Build Primer/Surfacer serves as an excellent base for any paint system

    2-component polyester primer/surfacer has excellent filling characteristics and superior adhesion to steel, aluminum, fiberglass, SMC, OE finishes, self-etching primers and body fillers.
    • High build with excellent filling capabilities
    • Easy to sand with no shrinkage
    • Includes hardener

    About Eastwood Contour Polyester Primer Surfacer

    Eastwood's Sprayable Polyester Primer-Surfacer is a 2-component high build sprayable body filler that serves as an excellent base for any paint system.It has excellent filling characteristics and superior adhesion to steel,aluminum, fiberglass, SMC, OE Finishes, self Etching Primers and body fillers.Its high solids and high build formula allows you to achieve a laser straight surface prior to painting. Includes catalyst.


    Contents

    Contour™ Sprayable Polyester Primer-Surfacer/Gray, Qt.
    1 tube of Liquid Hardener, 2 ozs.
    Contour™ Sprayable Polyester Primer-Surfacer/Gray, Gal.
    2 tubes of Liquid Hardener,3.5 ozs. each


    Accessories

    13919 Eastwood Filler Spreaders
    31273 Eastwood Filler Mixing Board
    10041Z PRE Painting Prep
    31160 Dura-Block Sanding Blocks
    21538 Larry Lyles "Basic Body Repair" DVD
    43579 Dual-Action Random-Orbit Sander
    43120 Eastwood Fender Stand
    12416Z Eastwood Guide Coat, Black
    12417Z Eastwood Guide Coat, Tan


    Application

    Apply two or three medium wet coats as needed. Heavy wet coats should NOT be applied. Dry spray may be removed before re-coating. Allow 90 minutes dry time before sanding at 68 degrees F. Finish with 220-grit, followed by 320-400-grit.

    CAUTION: Do NOT return catalyzed material back into can. To avoid contamination, seal lid tightly after each use. Store in a cool dry place.

    Click here for primer to catalyst ratio.


    Safety

    Always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection when using this product. Always apply in a well-ventilated area. Consult MSDS and product label for specific safety warnings.


    Instructions

    Click here to view quart instructions

    Click here to view gallon instructions


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 20 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    Absolute garbage (Posted on 6/15/14)
    Review by Gil
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    This product was no thicker than water, ran like crazy. Even using a 1.4 tip it was way to runny. Would never recommend this product
    Little thick (Posted on 5/1/14)
    Review by Shaun
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    This stuff sprays a little thick, but if reduced 10% with acetone it flows very well with a 1.8 mm gun. Product sands easily with 180-320 grit after fully cured. I'm using going to use EW 2k urethane primer other this product. Thank you EW for a great product!!!
    Great on fiberglass (Posted on 3/30/14)
    Review by Kevin
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    It's like spraying liquid bondo. Goes on nice and thick but does leave an orange peal. Sands great and even better wet sanding. Gun cleaned fast with acetone. I does take a bit to dry but I have time
    New Catalyst/Hardner (Posted on 3/25/14)
    Review by Joedirt216
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I have used gallons and gallons of this product, and for the value, ease of sanding, it is now my primer of choice. I mix a quart at a time, 1/2 bottle of hardner, with a small (capfull) amount of Acetone. With a 1.8 tip and the needle out to maximum volume, it sprays real well. I just bought a 2.2 nozzle, to see if I can move a little faster. All in all, it is a great product. Jsut received another gallon today, and dang, it came with 7 tubes of hardner?? If there were 8 tubes, no problem, but 7 tubes?? I'm glad I still have a bunch of the bottles, so I can divide it all up.
    fills nicely. Sands HARD (Posted on 11/18/13)
    Review by Curtis
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    first time using this product. If your not careful can add hours of work to your job. It fills nicely, went on bumpy (could be my spraying abilities), but sands HARD. Didn't expect this.I would use on large flat pannels or only places you can get at it with an air sander. As I said, first time using it. just trying to save someone hours of work.
    Excellent (Posted on 11/4/13)
    Review by Mike
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Another great Eastwood product! Very easy to spray and lays good when thinned just a little. Easy to sand. Used on 100% of my wifes 57 chevy body, to make it as straight as possible. Highly recommended.
    Good for the money (Posted on 10/23/13)
    Review by Phil
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I'm a hard core restorer and buy the best of the best. Typically I stick with PPG and their D822 high build primer/surface (epoxy) but its $300.00 a gallon with the catalist so I thought I would give this a try at 1/4 the price. It fills excellent and sands almost as good as D822 although it dries slower and doesn't feather as well. When feathering with 400 grit you will get the occasional edge break and this primer does NOT do well as a direct over metal. PPGs is self etching and doesn't need a primer prior to applying direct to metal. If you add USCs supercharger product it will GREATLY improve the featheredging and sand ability. For $9.95 on other sites, the Usc Super Charger ‑ Part : 40154 is a PERFECT adder for this primer. 1/2 oz per 24oz of mixed primer. All in all a great value for the price. VERY similar to Evercoats G2 , almost identical in fact.
    another good polyester primer (Posted on 9/3/13)
    Review by bill
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    ive used all of the major brand polyester primers over the years. They all seem to aquire their own spray technique. Whereas I could get away with a 1.8 tip using evercoat featherfill, eastwood contour I had to use my 2.2 unless it was reduced the 10%...still a good HIGH build great sanding primer dry and wet. May be worth the $10 xtra dollars to buy featherfill G2 still. But im going to buy the contour primer again..like someone said above..Make sure to measure precisely. You have two Catalyst bottles = 64ounces or half gallon each. Peal of the label, mark the bottle mid way now you have quarts 32oz...divide into four and you hav pints 16oz. Stuff dries fast don't ruin it !!
    A real time saver (Posted on 7/27/13)
    Review by Randy
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    This paint is a gem to work with as far as getting panels straight as glass. It is a bear to mix if it has settled, but I found a paint mixer at Harbor Freight (part # 41014) for $3.99 and it made a world of difference. When you buy from Eastwood you know you're getting good products.
    Good product (Posted on 5/28/13)
    Review by David
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I have used this primer on 2 projects thus far and really like it. My last gallon however must have been older stock as it took me 30 minutes to get the lump at the bottom stirred up. It would be great if Eastwood would shake paint products before shipping.

    Items 1 to 10 of 20 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register