Eastwood's Tin Zinc Electroplating System

    Item #10049 Tin Zinc Electroplating

    Quality
    Price
    Value
    27 Review(s)

    Details

    "At-home" Tin-Zinc Electroplating System brings a brilliant shine to your dull auto parts Electroplating is easier than you think when you use the Eastwood Tin-Zinc Electroplating System. It brings back the original brilliant luster to properly prepared metal parts.
    • Adds a brilliant chrome-like finish to brass, copper and steel parts
    • Also adds a corrosion-resistant, protective plating
    • Easy enough to do at home

    About Eastwood's Tin Zinc Electroplating System

    Tin-zinc electroplating makes old metal parts look new again, while providing a corrosion-resistant, protective plating similar to chrome, but without the expense, hassles or hazards. Plate almost any metal part right at home, including brass, copper and steel (not for aluminum, die-cast, pot metal or stainless).

    How it works: Make sure parts are thoroughly degreased and de-rusted before you start electroplating at home. Electroplating uses electrical current to pull small amounts of metal from the positively charged tin-zinc anode bar, through the electrolyte solution, and onto the negatively charged piece to be plated. Plating begins immediately once the piece is submerged into the solution. The longer the piece is submerged, the heavier the plating on the piece will be. You may remove the piece from the solution to check the progress, then re-submerge it for a thicker coating. The tin-zinc electroplating process is complete when the piece is covered with a uniform dull gray film. Then just polish to a beautiful shine.


    Contents

    2-Quart Electrolyte Plating Solution
    Tin-Zinc Anode Bar
    Battery Holder (2 "D" batteries not included)
    Funnel
    100-Gram Tube of Autosol Polish
    Electroplating Brush
    Goggles
    Disposable Gloves
    Instructions


    Accessories

    10041Z PRE Painting Prep
    10200Z Diamond Clearâ„¢ for Bare Metal


    Safety

    Always use the Tin-Zinc Electroplating System in a well-ventilated area. The electrolyte solution contains sulfuric acid, so wear eye and skin protection. Keep a source of clean water nearby to immediately rinse off any splash.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 27 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    Great Product (Posted on 1/13/14)
    Review by Curtis
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    These anodes perform as advertised and plate out smoothly and even. They are a bit on the pricey side as plating anodes go, but this is the only source I am aware of for tin-zinc anode material.
    very good (Posted on 12/2/13)
    Review by Michel
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    i like this kit for rebuilt my 1958 mercedes do very good job
    Great Product (Posted on 12/2/13)
    Review by Keith
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I'm restoring a 45 year old motorcycle that spent 20 years leaning against the tree, uncovered. So you can imagine how badly corroded many of the parts were. I just finished plating about 200 bolts, nuts, washers and small parts. This used about 30% of the zinc. The parts look better than new. I'm 100% satisfied.
    Great Product (Posted on 12/2/13)
    Review by Keith
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I'm restoring a 45 year old motorcycle that spent 20 years leaning against the tree, uncovered. So you can imagine how badly corroded many of the parts were. I just finished plating about 200 bolts, nuts, washers and small parts. This used about 30% of the zinc. The parts look better than new. I'm 100% satisfied.
    Electroplating system (Posted on 10/27/13)
    Review by Dan
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    The tin zinc electroplating system, worked very well on the small items that I plated. In the future I will be using a transformer.
    Love it (Posted on 6/4/13)
    Review by Greg
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    I thought a long time before ordering this. Figured it wouldn't really work or would be a pain. It works great! This weekend I showed my son and grandsons and they started begging to prepare parts for me so I could plate them! Preparing the parts is the only hard part and that's because my parts sat in the rain for 13 years! I process my prepared arts for 4 minutes and get great results every time. I did one part I couldn't dip and the brush method worked great too -- took quite a while but saved me $50 by not having to buy a new one.
    On the fence (Posted on 5/8/13)
    Review by Robert
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    It works but is very time consuming. After a small batch of parts, the anode was half gone. I would not buy again.
    Great stuff! (Posted on 4/30/13)
    Review by brian
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Start with there kit everything you need to know is included. Properly cleaned,cleaned,cleaned and prepared parts will amaze! you when done. Electrolyte solution can be saved and reused many times. With a little practice you can achieve a hard ,long lasting, beautiful finish.
    An Awesome DIY Product!!! (Posted on 2/7/13)
    Review by Mark
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I finally had a chance to use this kit on my fuel injector clips & I must say that I am very impressed with the results it gave me!! I used E.W.'s Rust Dissolver first to get any leftover rust scale off them, followed by a quick freshwater dip, & into the electrolyte solution for probably 2-2.5 minutes each.

    Considering that these clips are over $4.00 each & they come in a finish that doesn't match my polished fuel rails, this kit has already given me much of my value back in a durable finish that actually has a nice luster to it.

    I'm also going to go ahead & hit them with some of their Diamond Clear for bare metals as suggested, so that should really keep them looking great for years to come.

    Thanks Matt & the rest of the Eastwood crew for yet another great DIY solution!!!!
    More that Pays for itself in a short time (Posted on 7/25/12)
    Review by Sundance
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    This is a great little kit. I have already plated about 35 items with it, so it has more than paid for itself.

    The plated items have a sort of frosted look to them, but polished up very nicely to a bright polished chrome look. But keep in mind while it might look like chrome, it isn't as hard as chrome.

    I replaced the power source (two D batteries) with a plug in wall transformer of approx. the same voltage/amperage. That way I don't have to wory about changing batteries and the voltage stays at a constant level. I recommend doing the same if you use the kit very much.

    Items 1 to 10 of 27 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register