The Original Eastwood Chassis Black Gloss Finish

    Item #10000 The Original Chassis Black Gloss Finish

    Details

    Eastwood’s Original Chassis Black Gloss is the perfect coating at the perfect price for any undercar component.

    85% gloss finish creates a custom look with superior protection on suspension parts and frame. Tough, long-lasting formula resists chips and corrosion, so it's ideal for the value-conscious enthusiast who wants a factory-fresh look while staying within a budget.

    • Resists corrosion, chips and scratches
    • Resists brake fluid, fuel, solvents, UV
    • Matches OEM finish
    • Apply multiple coats without lifting
    • Choose 14-oz. aerosol or 1-qt. can
    Buy 3 or more and save!

    About The Original Eastwood Chassis Black Gloss Finish

    Chassis Black Gloss applies smoothly over bare metal, Eastwood Rust Encapsulator, or Eastwood Chassis Black Primer. (Not for use over self-etching primers.) High-solids content, pre-thinned to sprayable consistency. Withstands temperatures up to 300°F. 30-day Eastwood warranty.


    Contents

    Choose from the following:
    10000Z is the 14-oz. aerosol can of Chassis Black Gloss with 8-sq.-ft. coverage
    10354ZP is the 1-quart can of Chassis Black Gloss with 40-sq.-ft. coverage
    Both also available in 12-packs.


    MSDS Sheets


    Application

    Eastwood’s Original Chassis Black is formulated to provide you with the right sheen, durability and long-lasting great looks. Its 85% gloss level is correct for many factory restorations or use in a custom application. Ideal for frames, suspension components, roll bars, differentials, floor boards and much more. Fortified with high solids and epoxy, Chassis Black resists chips, UV rays and high temperatures up to 300°F.

    Directions

    READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE USING
    1. Ensure surface is clean and free of debris, greases and oils. Use Eastwood’s Chassis Kleen™ and/or PRE™ to remove stubborn grime and prepare the surface for painting.
    2. Chassis Black can be applied over bare metal or old paint. To ensure good adhesion, scuff the old paint with 320-grit abrasive. For the best adhesion apply Eastwood’s Extreme Chassis Black Primer prior to painting. DO NOT USE OVER SELF-ETCHING PRIMERS. Test compatibility on a non-descript area before painting.
    3. SHAKE CAN VIGOROUSLY FOR AT LEAST ONE MINUTE. Apply to surface with steady strokes about 8-10 inches from surface. It’s better to apply several light coats than one heavy coat. Ideal conditions are 70°F to 90°F at 50% (or less) humidity. Conditions will affect dry times.
    4. Apply several light coats until hiding is achieved. Allow at 15-20 minutes between each coat. Full cure time is 24-36 hours, depending on conditions. If re-coating after 36 hours, scuff surface with 320-grit abrasive.


    Safety

    Always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection when painting. Follow label directions and consult MSDS for specific warnings.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    10 Item(s)

    per page
    Good Product (Posted on 1/10/14)
    Review by RICK
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I have used this product for several years on my antique cars. It has worked well on chassis, waterpumps, etc. I allow 48 hours to cure, but at times have done 24 hours . It sprays on even and I recommend it for many jobs, just start with a clean dry surface before painting.
    Good paint (Posted on 10/28/13)
    Review by Tom
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Paint works well, gives a tough finish. I used it on suspension parts and assorted hardware. Painted nuts and bolts held up to installation without chipping. Coverage is good - give a light first coat then follow with 1 or 2 regular coats. Parts do need 24 hours to fully dry. Paint is not very chemical resistant, lacquer thinner will easily remove dried paint.
    excellent (Posted on 3/10/13)
    Review by david
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    excellent finish very durable and easy to clean. I used it on my 68 chevy truck frame and it looks awsome!!!
    Works just like advertised (Posted on 7/16/12)
    Review by Kurt
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Covers nice and has just the right amount of gloss. Used for all engine sheet metal in my VW van as well as frame and pan. Looks very rich and so far holding up well.
    Fantastic Coating, as always! (Posted on 1/3/12)
    Review by Edsel Dave
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Have used this stuff sporadically for years and never fails to satisfy. Bead-blasted all four 54 F-100 brake backing plates to bare metal for shoe-contact repairs and wanted to add coating. Knowing Self-etch primers aren't allowed with CB and not wanting to diddle with other primers, just sprayed in onto the bare metal per directions. Sprays nicely (dunno what others are talking about with leaky cans), dries hard and nicely glossy (not too glossy), and noticed no signs of lousy adhesion during installation 1.5 weeks later (winter ~53 degrees out). PERFECT coating for my brake job since product descriptive notes resistance to brake fluid. Highly recommended!
    Great product, as advertised (Posted on 12/18/11)
    Review by Mahalew
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Very nice paint product. I love the spray nozzles for the spray pattern. Fans out nicely so that you can tack coat lightly and then apply the final coat for a nice gloss finish. Had absolutely no trouble with the nozzles. Simply soak nozzle for 2 minutes in laquer thinner and blow clear with compressed air between coats while you are waiting for it to dry. Final coat dries completely and glossy if you leave it alone overnight. Chassis Black Gloss generated compliments for the underside of my '28 Ford metal floor panels.
    Average, but getting better (Posted on 4/3/11)
    Review by Iggycat
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Dissapointed in the spray cans - the nozzles clog up rendering the can useless. I have swapped nozzles around and it turns out to be a frustrating mess with leaks and drips. Eastwood should take the Krylon nozzles and incorporate them into their paint can line up. They don't have any problems and provide a professional look. Just hrew out 2 cans of frame paint that were 45 - 50% filled to capacity because of the nozzles clogged up. I'm pissed about this..
    find something better (Posted on 1/20/10)
    Review by James
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    This stuff dries reasonably hard, I guess that's how they claim chip resistance. However, recently spilled some brake fluid on it and didn't realize it for about a day. The paint bubbled up and fell off over about a 1 foot section of my frame. Lesson learned...use something better. A chassis paint should be able to resist exposure to brake fluid.
    Great paint, marginal spray cans (Posted on 12/12/09)
    Review by Johnboy
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I like the color for accurate restoration work on GM cars, and the finish is tough. However, I have not been happy with the spray cans. The nozzles are inconsistent in pattern and often leak or block. Since I have several cans, I have had to switch nozzles saving those from used cans to complete work.
    Leaves smudges (Posted on 9/21/09)
    Review by yakeet@msn.com
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    All of Eastwood's products that I have purchased have worked well and lived up to their claims. The Original Chasis Black goes on nice, looks good, but even after a couple of months now will still leave a black smudge if your hand, arm or whatever presses up against it. Light contact won't for the most part. But, the areas aren't as glossy especially after repeated contact. I'll be trying the new chassis blacks that they have next.

    10 Item(s)

    per page

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register