Eastwood Radiator Black Paint

    Item #10040 EW Radiator Black

    Quality
    Price
    Value
    27 Review(s)

    Details

    Standard engine paints are too thick for radiator use because they can interfere with heat transfer and block air flow between the cooling fins. Also, standard paint tends to flake off radiator tanks. Radiator Black helps solve this problem. Durable Enamel formulation resists temperatures up to 250ºF, gas and chipping. One can covers 6 square feet (most radiators require 2 cans). Net wt. 12 oz. Radiator Black Satin - Many have asked for a lower sheen radiator black. The lower satin sheen resembles the gloss level of modern plastic tank radiators and some imports.

    About Eastwood Radiator Black Paint

    Standard engine paints are too thick for radiator use because they can interfere with heat transfer and block air flow between the cooling fins. Also, standard paint tends to flake off radiator tanks. Radiator Black helps solve this problem. This acrylic enamel factory-finish (85% gloss) withstands 300 degree F., sprays on thick enough to cover completely, yet thin enough to not interfere with heat transfer. Great for heater cores and air conditioning condensers, too! Each 12 oz net wt. can covers 6 sq. ft., most radiators require 2 cans for full coverage. Buy 3 or more and SAVE!


    Contents

    One 12 oz. net wt. aerosol can. Enamel, covers about 6 sq. ft.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 27 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    Wasnt impressed (Posted on 3/22/14)
    Review by Victor
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Took to many coats to cover and still didn't look painted. Didn't wear very well.
    Excellent Product (Posted on 3/11/14)
    Review by Michael
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I painted an aluminum radiator with the gloss black. One can was plenty. The radiator looks amazing.
    Good product for its specific purpose. (Posted on 3/1/14)
    Review by John
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Does the job, but because it is purposely a low-solids paint, it takes a lot to cover especially if the radiator core has been stripped to bare metal. One can will not do a big radiator well.
    Satin Black Finish (Posted on 1/2/14)
    Review by Daleo56
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I painted a new aluminum 55-57 Chevy ECP radiator with one can. I painted three coats with 10 minutes in between on a 70° day. I painted around the edges of the core first and then painted the tanks last to avoid overspray. I had the radiator hanging on a cable that spun so I could good coverage. I have a few spots on the fins that not as dark but that is due to me missing the angles. When painting the fins first you should do it from each angle and side. If not, you will not get the paint inside the fins properly. This is an application issue and not the paint. I am going to have a condenser in front and a shroud in back so I really took my time on the ends. The radiator tank ends look perfect. I did not need to do another application so I did not have any issues.
    Worked Fine (Posted on 12/31/13)
    Review by JA1724
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    I actually used this to paint the internals of a dehumidifier that I use in a wood drying kiln. The tannic acid released by oak wreaks havoc on untreated metal. So far I have seen no corrosion on any of the internals after painting.
    Good product, flat finish (Posted on 10/11/13)
    Review by Michael
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Great coverage and easy to use, but the finish is more flat than satin. I wish I had ordered the glossy.
    A good value for the price. (Posted on 9/19/13)
    Review by Ron
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Replaced engine recently cleaned and pressure tested radiator as a precaution. Applied product with amazing results, one can was more than enough product for my application.
    Great product (Posted on 8/23/13)
    Review by Mike
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Have used this paint on 4 different cars to date. Goes on easy, smooth finish, dries quickly
    Good product - lousy directions (Posted on 8/21/13)
    Review by Warren
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    My main complaint about the product is the sketchy. directions. "Two light applications, with drying time in between..." OK, so what is "drying time"? Five minutes? Two weeks? Something in-between? I guessed (wrong, apparently) at something like an hour. It actually took 3 coats to completely cover and the resulting surface is a wrinkle-finish like some people like on their valve covers, etc. Not bad, but not what I wanted or expected. I don't know why Eastwood can't post a PDF file with COMPLETE directions for each product on their web server.
    If I had another radiator to do, I would use this product on the core area only, and use engine paint on the tanks, frame, etc.
    Nice Job (Posted on 8/6/13)
    Review by JEFF
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Sprayed my new aluminum radiator with this. Went on nice with good coverage. Color is just right.

    Items 1 to 10 of 27 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register