Eastwood Detail Gray Paint

    Item #10036 EW Detail Gray

    Details

    • Produce a like new professional die cast and stamped steel finish
    • Protects parts up to 300°F
    • Also great for alternator and distributor housings

    About Eastwood Detail Gray Paint

    This Detail Paint is specially formulated to duplicate the original look of die cast and stamped steel. Protected up to 300 degrees F by this paint, metal parts will keep that brand new look for a long time. Available in aerosols and quarts. One aerosol covers 6 sq.ft., one quart covers 50 sq.ft., acrylic lacquer, natural low 4-15% gloss. Great on alternator and distributor housings. Buy 3 or more, mix and match, and SAVE!


    Content

    Detail Gray, also available in Quarts (10046ZP) is an acrylic lacquer that resembles stamped steel, rough cast aluminum, and looks great on die cast distributors and alternators. Each 13 oz. aerosol can covers 6 Sq. ft, maximum temperature 300F.


    Accessories

    To remove grease & oil use our Pre Paint Prep (10041z). For greater durability use our Self-Etching Primer (16014z) Aer. or (16040) Aerosol. Buy 3 or more, mix and match, and SAVE!


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    worked good for me. (Posted on 2/19/2014)
    Review by Michael
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I put a painted part down to a piece of raw steel and it was a great match. Nozzle quit working once and had to turn can upside down to clear it.
    Great color (Posted on 12/20/2013)
    Review by James
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Curing is not good, stays soft after drying. Have to clear to get a hard cure.
    good (Posted on 7/23/2013)
    Review by Thom
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    The paint meets my needs but the price is high. I've had consistent problems with the nozzles where they would stop working. Even after clearing /cleaning they won't work. Only after switching to a different nozzle from another can could l spray again. There has also been times where the paint would just stop spraying, almost as if the propellant ran out. Very frustrating having to throw away have a can of expensive but good paint.
    Steele color not right (Posted on 5/29/2013)
    Review by Harold
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    The color of this is tinted to be more gray then a steele finish. I purchased 2 cans to use but now having to purchas alum blast to try to get the right color.
    Waste of money (Posted on 3/5/2013)
    Review by Kingcat40
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Waste of money. Rough finish unable to use more than half of the can
    Waste of money (Posted on 3/5/2013)
    Review by Kingcat40
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Waste of money. Rough finish unable to use more than half of the can
    Not as bad as some claim it is (Posted on 12/15/2012)
    Review by Matt
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I personally think the previous reviews saying how bad this product is might not be using the product correctly. I got two cans of this stuff and it sprays great and the color appears very close to a bare steel look both in sheen and color.

    As far as the color being blotchy, Ive sprayed four balljoints for my car, Ive done the swaybar end link bolts and washer, ive also even done the strut rod bushing washers and nuts. I even painted the bolt for my alternator mount bracket and the paint went on smoothly and evenly and is durable enough that the paint didnt even scrape off the bolt as I tightened it down.

    I cant give it 5 stars for all because I do have to say the price is kind of up there considering that I could buy some ceramic silver aluminum engine paint and get a very close color match for half the cost of this.
    Not what it used to be (Posted on 8/25/2012)
    Review by jimkf
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    About three years ago, I bought several cans of the Detail Gray paint and finally used the last can about a month ago. So, I bought two more and found that it isn't of the same quality. The old mix had more solids and dried quickly to a hard finish. The new mix has alot more solvent in it and takes much longer to dry. In addition, the color is blotchy. While it'll work for what I use it for, I vote for the old formula!
    Great Paint! (Posted on 8/24/2012)
    Review by 1928SSS
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I use this paint all of the time in my restoration and I am very happy with it. I really like the color and havnt found anything else like it. I have found-like the directions say-a few light coats are better that one heavy one. I also like to let my parts dry for about a week to let them fully cure. The directions say 24 hours but it's probably still too soft for assembly. I was skeptical about the durability but after having to grind the paint off of a part that I messed up, it is definitely durable. Also, one can will last a long time and is worth the price.

    It sounds like the provious reviewer may have gotten a bad can...you should contact Eastwood and I am sure they will send you a new one.
    Better off with Rustoleum (Posted on 7/31/2012)
    Review by bmwtrainer
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    This is terrible paint don't waste your dough. I bought 2 cars both sprayed poorly both cans left about half of product in can and stopped spraying. The paint was soft, the color isn't what I would consider either machine or stamped steel and it has a yellow tint when dry. I am very disapponted and surprised because other paints from Eastwwod that I have used are very good

    Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register