Eastwood Self-Etch Primer Gray

    Item #16014 Eastwood's Self Etch Primer Gray

    Details

    In 1 time-saving step, Self-Etching Primers prep bare metal for painting.

    True acid-etching formula sticks to virtually any clean, bare, rust-free metal to improve adhesion and durability of most non-epoxy top coats. Use to prep aluminum, steel, stainless, scuffed galvanized...makes a great base for high-build primers or spot repairs. 16-oz. aerosol can covers about 10 sq. ft.; quart (pre-thinned for spraying) covers 30 sq. ft.; or buy it by the gallon (120-sq.-ft. coverage) for your best value!

    • Lacquer-based, single-stage formula requires no catalyst
    • Easier to use than other aerosol primers
    • Withstands up to 170 degreesF
    • Not for use with Chassis Black

    About Eastwood Self-Etch Primer Gray

    This easy-to-use aerosol etches and primes bare, rust-free metal in one step. Adheres to steel, aluminum, stainless steel, and galvanized steel and is compatible with virtually any paint or auto finish (not our Chassis Black). This self-etching formula bonds better to bare metals than other aerosol primers. It is also a single- stage formula which requires no catalyst, making it even easier to use. Buy 3 or more and SAVE!


    Content

    16-oz. aerosol can covers about 10 sq. ft.; quart (pre-thinned for spraying) covers 30 sq. ft.; or buy it by the gallon (120-sq.-ft. coverage) for your best value!


    Accessories

    Our Chassis Black paints do not stick well to this and other single-stage self-etching primers. This Self-Etching primer uses an aggressive solvent system to assure excellent adhesion to clean, rust-free metal. Exercise care when using this product over enamel finishes as lifting may occur. Eastwood's Self-Etching Primer is lacquer-based.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    Had no trouble with it. (Posted on 2/19/2014)
    Review by Michael
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    works great as long as you use 3 or 4 light coats .Good coverage. Easy to use. Very durable.
    not great more like so-so (Posted on 1/10/2014)
    Review by bx v-dubber
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    used on hood after I cleaned off with pre, everything was ok til i came back 2 days later & it started flaking off. now i have rust spots where primer flaked off.
    excellent product. (Posted on 9/1/2013)
    Review by DAVID
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I have been used this product for several years. is excellent
    Great product (Posted on 3/19/2013)
    Review by Norm
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Works great for those small jobs. For the bigger ones it's a good way to protect your work and allows you to move on to the next area. When all finished, all you have to do is sand smooth and continue on with the finishing process.
    Nice, but plan ahead! (Posted on 11/29/2012)
    Review by Tom F in California
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    This aerosol is easy to use, and does lay down nice and smooth, but being a single-stage laquer-based primer, it's pretty soft, and lifts easily with acetone based cleaners and topcoats (don't use the Eastwood LOW VOC PREP cleaner on this stuff, as the primer will come right off). Regular PREP is fine as it is Xylene based. I laid down this stuff, then the low VOC primer, then Featherfill G2, then thinned low VOC primer, then topcoat. In hind-sight I probably could have simply started with the low VOC primer, and done without the self-etching stuff, but I was working on the car in sections over 3 years.
    Great Product ! (Posted on 8/30/2011)
    Review by jsgw
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    Absolutely the best. Works perfect every time.
    Good product (Posted on 8/1/2011)
    Review by Arturo
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I was very pleased with the self-etching primer, good coverage and dry time. About the only complaint I have is with the spray nozzle, it tended to drip paint after spraying for a few minutes. I had to be real careful what was underneath where I was spraying!
    Good product (Posted on 8/1/2011)
    Review by Art
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I found the self etching primer easy to use and it had very good coverage.My only complaint would have to be with the spray nozzle, after spraying for a few minutes it tended to drip paint and you had to be careful not to let it drip on a surface you werent; working on yet, or a surface that was already painted!
    does not work well over existing paint (Posted on 9/20/2010)
    Review by wilbur
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Dried and cracked when used over ixisting scuffed and PRE'ed paint.
    The best on the market (Posted on 5/3/2010)
    Review by Mac
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I use this on all my projects. Easy to use, never runs. It's the best bar none.

    Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register