Eastwood Golden Cad System

    Item #10331 Golden Cad

    Quality
    Price
    Value
    18 Review(s)

    Details

    Replicate the look of golden cadmium plating in 3 easy steps 3-step aerosol paint process duplicates the look of golden cadmium plating at a fraction of the price of replacements or re-plating.
    • Superior acrylic enamel
    • Produces the natural yellow-cadmium gloss, with red and green highlights
    • Long-term corrosion protection

    About Eastwood Golden Cad System

    3-step acrylic enamel painting process helps you achieve a more realistic cadmium-plating effect than with our old, original Golden Cad System. Produces a natural 30% gloss on most parts (90%, if you decide to add the Diamond Clear Gloss topcoat, sold separately), while you avoid expensive genuine cadmium plating or replacement. Withstands temperatures up to 250 degreesF, and provides long-lasting protection against corrosion. Each of the three 12-oz. aerosol cans is enough to cover about 6 square feet.

    Due to regulations pertaining to paint recycling, at this time we are unable to ship this product to Alberta, Canada.


    Contents

    10331ZA Gold Base 12 oz
    10333Z Red Zinc Tint 12 oz
    10334Z Green Zinc Tint 12 oz


    Accessories

    16014Z Self-Etching Primer, Aerosol
    16040Z Rust Encapsulator, Aerosol
    10200Z Diamond Clear™ for Bare Metal


    Application

    Before starting, practice the application technique on some discarded metal food cans.

    Try to shine the base metal a bit if you can, since the yellow cadmium gold base, which is semi-opaque, looks best when applied in a thin layer that allows some of the base metal to shine through.

    After the gold base is applied and dries, LIGHTLY spray some of the red tint from about 12" away. Do it in one quick, light, pass; just enough to mist a little on. Next, do the same with the green. You’ll have the most realistic cadmium-plated look if you don’t spray too much red and green. After it's thoroughly dry, protect it and enhance the gloss with a coat of 10200Z Diamond Clear™ for Bare Metal (sold separately).


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    great kit (Posted on 8/9/13)
    Review by mark
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    EASY TO USE AND OUTCOME IS GREAT. PRODUCT IS NOT GOING TO SATISFY THOSE UPPITY PERFECTIONISTS BUT FOR THE NORMAL RESTORE IT'S GREAT.
    It is all in how you prep and use it. (Posted on 7/13/13)
    Review by John
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I haven't been able to make a part look EXACTLY like real gold cad plating, but with good part prep and proper application I've been able to get pretty darned close. For the price and convenience, I don't think you could do much better. This kit will do a lot of small parts.

    To get as close to a cad look as possible, I find that you have to do the following... First, sand the part to a very shiny bare metal finish with 600 to 1000 grit paper. Then, very lightly mist the gold on there. You don't want to cover all of the bare metal shine. Doing so will give you a part that looks like it was spray-painted gold. Going really light on the gold helps you mimic the iridescent look of cad. .
    Decent when used properly (Posted on 10/7/12)
    Review by E-tek Restorations
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I've used this a few times now and it's a decent alternative to cad plating - if you practice and take your time! "Dusting" each color AND the clear is key to a good finish as Cad is not overly shiny. Put a light dusting of each component on, then look at it outside before spraying more. I have found that semi-gloss look is best. The red and green will last for 5 boosters, so you just have to buy the gold and clear to do more.
    Not impressed (Posted on 6/16/12)
    Review by tomt_fiat
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I'm not happy with the results! I followed the instructions and shook the cans vigorously before applying each color and coat. There is much to much flake in the paint to make it look like the real plate finish.
    nice-looking finish for the price; very easy to apply (Posted on 4/23/12)
    Review by CadillacMan
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I've finished a few engine parts with this system and have achieved good results but with two modifications. 1) Do not apply the gold paint "until full hiding is achieved," as per the instructions. The finish will look more realistic if some of the metallic sheen from the metal surface shows through the gold paint. 2) Do not wait for the gold paint to dry before applying the red and green tints. That way, the red and green colors blend more smoothly into the gold as the paint dries and will have a more realistic cad-plated appearance.

    The diamond clear provides a very smooth finish for painted parts (I've used it on other parts, as well), but seems to take away some of the realistic appearance when applied over the gold/red/green of this system. I applied it over the fuel filter (as the accompanying photos show) as added protection around fuel systems, as I plan to wash my engine frequently.

    Overall, a good system that is very easy to apply that fills the void for a cadmium-plating substitute.
    Excellent Result (Posted on 12/29/11)
    Review by Peter
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Buy this in kit form with the diamont clear coat. It is the clear coat that is the finishing touch. I started with 44 year old part and they look new again. It takes a little practice, but the results are worth it. I will continue using this product. Thanks Eastwood for anothe great product.
    OK but not great not as expected (Posted on 8/9/11)
    Review by Dynamic 88
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Looks OK in the bright sunlight. Followed the instructions but did not turn out like the demo video. It just doesn't pop like the video demo unit did and that is what I expected it to look like.
    not even close.... (Posted on 6/29/11)
    Review by einstein's airculed
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Great idea, poor execution.... First off the gold base is metallic and dull, the green chromate is the same. Gold cad-plated parts are shiny,not metallic. The base should be a shiny finish like 'chrome' spray paint, and the red and green highlights should be tinted clears - like the red in this kit is.
    This will work on small hardware, or parts that aren't easily visible. If you use this kit on parts that are right out in the open, expect to be disappointed.
    Eastwood sells lots of great products - this just isn't one of them....
    pretty good , better than just palin old black paint (Posted on 2/20/11)
    Review by rzbacks
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I followed the instructions and it came out pretty good. Gold color was good and had that touch of red and green tint like it should.
    I did not expect it to look like a Gold Cad one ordered for $250 to $400 and it does not, however, it looks much better than just painted black or whatever.
    Very close to real cad, but not quite. (Posted on 11/22/10)
    Review by Jake
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    If you are doing an original concorse resto, this is not for you. But this still is a great product at an attractive price. Follow the instructions properly and you will still have a very attractive part when you are finished. This system will actually preserve your part longer than real gold cad. Again this is another great product for Eastwood.

    Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register