POR-15 Black Rust Paint

    Item #13584 Z POR-15 Black

    Quality
    Price
    Value
    13 Review(s)

    Details

    POR-15® is a high-tech, high performance rust-preventive coating designed for application directly on rusted or seasoned metal surfaces. It dries to an incredible rock-hard, non-porous finish that won't chip, crack, or peel, and it prevents rust from recurring by protecting metal from further exposure to moisture. Use it to coat rusty frames, floor pans, farm equipment, marine equipment, or even a heavily corroded battery tray. POR-15® is sensitive to UV light (sun) and must be topcoated for prolonged exposure to sunlight. Topcoating is not required for areas not exposed to sunlight.

    About POR-15 Black Rust Paint

    POR-15® is a high-tech, high performance rust-preventive coating designed for application directly on rusted or seasoned metal surfaces. It dries to an incredible rock-hard, non-porous finish that won't chip, crack, or peel, and it prevents rust from recurring by protecting metal from further exposure to moisture. Use it to coat rusty frames, floor pans, farm equipment, marine equipment, or even a heavily corroded battery tray. POR-15® is sensitive to UV light (sun) and must be topcoated for prolonged exposure to sunlight.Topcoating is not required for areas not exposed to sunlight.


    Accessories

    POR-15 Metal Ready
    POR-15 Marine Clean
    respirator
    Gloves
    Eastwood Rust Encapsulator
    Eastwood Rust Converter
    Eastwood Chassis Black
    Eastwood Underhood Black


    Application

    One quart covers about 96 square feet at one coat Step 1- Degrease with Eastwood's PRE or POR-15 Marine Clean Step 2- Neutralize and etch the surface with Fast Etch or Metal Ready Step 3- Coat surface with POR 15, allow to cure Step 4 Topcoat with any one of the many Eastwood Paints and coatings


    Safety

    always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection always use in a well ventilated area away from an open flame consult MSDS for specific safety warnings


    MSDS Sheet

    Click Here for Material Safety Data Sheet


    Product Information Sheet

    Click here to view product information sheet


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    Not good (Posted on 3/7/14)
    Review by Paul
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    This is the worst paint product I have used. If you get it on just slightly thicker than it should be, it bubbles like crazy and you get to start over. This product has made an extra 30 hours of work for me.
    Product is what it claims (Posted on 2/23/14)
    Review by dee
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Product is expensive, but does what it claims. Finish is rock hard and locks up the rust perfectly. Product is fussy to work with ... a bit too much on prep, especially for areas where washing is difficult. If you don't prep ... it doesn't hold well. Gotta be rough and rusty.
    TRICKY STUFF (Posted on 8/11/13)
    Review by SKEET
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    THIS STUFF IS TRICKY TO USE , my BROTHER WORKS IN A AUTO BODY ENVIROMENT FOR 20 YRS OR BETTER ,hE STILL HAS TROUBLE FINDING OUT HOW THIS STUFF REALLY WORKS .. yOU CANT PUT IT ON BARE METAL UNLESS THERES RUST ON IT .iT WONT STICK WELL ON OTHER PAINTS .IT WONT STICK IF YOU WIPE THE SURFACE DOWN WITH PREPSOL.. yOPU NEED TO KEEP THE LID GAP CLEAN AND YOU NEED TO PUT A TIGHT SILCON TYPE GLOVE OVER THE ENCLOSED CONTAINER TO KEEP THE MOISTURE AWAY FROM IT OR IF THERES ANY PAINT RESIDUE ON THE LID YOUR GONNA HAVE TO JACKHAMMER THE LID OFF ..YOU ALSO NEED TO WATCH THAT YOU PUT IT OVER THE CORRECT PRIMERS AND SEAMSEALERS TO .OR IT WILL TAKE DAYS TO DRY .SO THIS IS WHAT HE TELLS ME ABOUT HOW TRICKY THIS STUFF IS .
    Great Stuff (Posted on 4/5/13)
    Review by Chase
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Easy to apply. Covers and protects. Got some on my hands and it's still there one week later.
    Great product (Posted on 3/29/13)
    Review by Ricohdbiker
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I have used this item in the past, it is a self leveling paint and no matter what you put it on with it seems to look smooth, I just did a 66 Caprice over and used this on the frame and it looks great. Would highly recommend.
    Great product, long lasting results (Posted on 2/14/13)
    Review by Phantomracer
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Been using POR15 for over 10 years now on various projects. The first project looks as good today, as when I first applied it (exterior of a fuel tank).

    PREP and application is key! Also, this is NOT a paint, it is a paint like product. It does NOT dry by evaporation like paint does. it cures with moisture. It may take over a day to dry in arid conditions, or pretty quickly in a humid environment.

    IF you use their marine clean, and metal etch, clean properly, the results will be great, and permanent.

    The only failures I have had when I DID NOT prepare the area properly. My fault.

    As mentioned, it is NOT a topcoat, it is a PAINT OVER RUST product. great for undercarriage, inner body panels, even fills holes!
    Awesome Product (Posted on 7/25/12)
    Review by WHIT
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    Followed instructions and the trailer turned out awesome! I'm buying the spray Por-15 for the inside of the frame. Good stuff but don't let brush splatters hit ya in the face, it don't come off....LOL
    Not what it once was (Posted on 6/26/12)
    Review by stanger
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I was a loyal POR user, but recently was very disappointed in the flow, finish and coverage. I thought it was maybe just a bad batch. I tried again on a new project...same disappointing results. I tried Encapsulator and got a nasty finish. I have friends which highly recommend KBS rustseal. That will be my next purchase.
    POR-15 Great Product (Posted on 4/7/12)
    Review by Dennis
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    The more I use POR-15 the more I like it. I use it on trailer frames from tongues to bumpers. It works great on wood. I use it to seal marine plywood edges and any holes. This is the most self leveling/thin paint I have used. A small amount goes a long way. Wear Protection. Get disposable gloves and long sleeve shirt. If you get this stuff on you or almost anything else and don't get it off immediately, you will have to wear it for a week or so. It bonds to your skin like no other product I have ever used. This is not like any other paint. You must read and follow the directions completely. Great stuff.
    Awsome product (Posted on 3/29/12)
    Review by Mark
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Used for a 1965 mustang rebuild worked good on bare repair panels and rusted ares. If this product did not work for someone it was appied wrong surface prep is important,,must use marine clean to degrease and clean area to be painted.Also have used to repaint tandem dump trailer that gets USED. Finish is rock hard and stays,does not scratch and chip like other products I have tried

    Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register