Rust Remover - Eastwood Fast Etch

    Item #19416 Fast Etch

    Price
    Value
    Quality
    28 Review(s)
    Use in a well ventilated area.

    Details

    This specially formulated rust remover is a powerful, rust-fighting liquid created to meet the needs of auto restorers. It reaches even inaccessible areas, quickly dissolving iron oxide completely and leaving a zinc phosphate coating. Fast Etch can be sprayed, brushed, or used as a parts dip. It is non-toxic, non-flammable and reusable. This is not a primer. Treated surfaces should be wiped with PRE Painting Prep (10041 Z) or thinner before priming and painting. Only the quart size comes with a sprayer.

    About Rust Remover - Eastwood Fast Etch

    This specially formulated rust remover is a powerful, rust-fighting liquid created to meet the needs of auto restorers. It reaches even inaccessible areas, quickly dissolving iron oxide completely and leaving a zinc phosphate coating. Fast Etch can be sprayed, brushed, or used as a parts dip. It is non-toxic, non-flammable and reusable. This is not a primer. Treated surfaces should be wiped with PRE Painting Prep (10041 Z) or thinner before priming and painting.One gallon of Fast-Etch will treat 200-300 square feet of metal.


    Contents

    Contains 16 fluid ounces (1 pt)., and covers about 20 square feet. 1 gal Contains 128 fluid ounces (1 gal), and covers about 160 square feet. Contains 20 fluid ounces (1.25 pt), and covers about 25 square feet. Easy to apply with included pump spray.


    FAQ's

    There is a minimal risk of Hydrogen embrittlement when using this rust remover. Bake de-rusted parts at 400 degrees F. for 3 hours if the minimal amount of hydrogen embrittlement is a concern. This rust remover works as a great alternative to abrasive blasting for rust removal.


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    it works, but........ (Posted on 1/10/14)
    Review by bx v-dubber
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    it removed rust but only after a couple of sprays & wipes. allowed me to continue weld/solder bodywork. a bit on the pricey side for a chemical that takes a few tries out of the bottle.
    Excellent Product - saves time and saves the part! (Posted on 1/1/14)
    Review by Greg
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I've used this product for years and it is an invaluable aid to my auto and motorcycle restorations. Saves time & $ by not having to have part blasted or spend hours with a wire wheel. Just clean the dirt and surface rust off and then apply product. Paint sticks no problem. Highly recommend!
    product works as advertised (Posted on 11/23/13)
    Review by jeff
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I sprayed it on the underside of my van after scraping off the loose paint and scale.
    I wasn't able to return for a week. I sprayed on a soap/water solution and several minutes later power washed it off. I will know results in a year or two, but pretty confident it stopped the rust. Topped off with epoxy primer and undercoat.
    Best Stuff Yet (Posted on 11/15/13)
    Review by Rodney
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    This is the easiest and the best rust remover / prevention product that I have used. Works on everything. Very economical too. I did the whole cahssis, axles, sprins, everything on my 79 CJ7 frame off rstro. Great Job Eastwood!
    Good Product (Posted on 9/23/13)
    Review by tommy
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I used this product on an old tractor gas tank. It left the tank looking great, and ready for the final sealer coating. After coating, I never had any more problems with the tank. I tried another similar kit, from a competitor, but the coating only lasted about 1 year and started peeling off, inside the tank! Spend a few more bucks and get this kit! No fun trying to get the cheaper coating out of a gas tank!
    Okay (Posted on 8/14/13)
    Review by LYLE
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    I gave it an okay because most of the product leaked from the spray nozzle onto the floor. So it is quite expensive when you can't use all of it. What did go on the car was excellent.
    Eastwood needs better bottle and nozzle, other wise good product (Posted on 8/11/13)
    Review by Arthur
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    The product is great and goes a long way! but my only complaint is the bottle and spray nozzle. The bottle comes shipped completely tapped shut over the cap. As soon as the tape is removed if you turn the bottle to its side, it drips out. So when I attach the nozzle same thing. You can't spray at any angle with out it dripping out, unless completely vertical.
    Pricey but works (Posted on 6/4/13)
    Review by Greg
    Value
    Quality
    Price
    I'm restoring a motorcycle that sat outside, uncovered, for 13 years. This works great after getting the bulk rust off. Probably would get bulk off too, But I don't like to soak parts too long.
    Great rust remover (Posted on 5/26/13)
    Review by Wayland
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I just use the fast etch on the frame of my '73 F250 and the rust just faded away. I am very pleased with the result and will use it again.
    great stuff (Posted on 5/4/13)
    Review by Turbowolf
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    it says what it does and it does what it says. its a bit pricey but it works well

    Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register