Rust Remover - Eastwood Gel Rust Dissolver

    Item #12096 Gel Rust Dissolver

    Details

    We harnessed the powerful rust dissolving properties of our popular Liquid rust dissolver and put it in a gel. The gel adheres to vertical surfaces and dissolves rust without having to submerse the metal in a tub or bucket. Ideal for quarter-panels, fenders and other vertical surfaces.
    Eastwood’s gel rust dissolver is easy to use:
    • Remove loose rust and scale with a wire brush
    • Apply the gel by brushing or submerging

    About Rust Remover - Eastwood Gel Rust Dissolver

    Eastwood's Gel Rust Dissolver harnesses the powerful rust dissolving properties of our popular liquid version and into a clinging gel. This gel adheres to large surfaces and dissolves rust without having to submerse the metal in a tub or bucket. Ideal for roofs, deck lids, hoods, frame rails and so much more! Eastwood's Gel rust dissolver is easy to use, simply wire brush off the loose rust and scale apply the Gel with a brush and it will penetrate deep into the metal, dissolving the rust overnight. If you are going to top coat the surface, we recommend using PRE Painting Prep to clean any residue dissolver


    Accessories

    PRE 10041Z Gloves goggles respirator Rags wire brush


    Safety

    Always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection use in a well ventilated area. consult MSDS for specific saftey precautions Ensure cap is tight before storing product.


    MSDS Sheet

    Click Here for Material Safety Data Sheet


    Customers also viewed:

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    Do Not Buy This Product (Posted on 4/2/2014)
    Review by ANDY
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    This product is not what it is advertised. Eastwood sent me a gallon of this, and it was pure liquid. After going through the hassle of repackaging it (sealing and taping ziploc bags to make sure it didnt leak, padding the container - all per their requirements for the return of their faulty product), and resending it, they sent another gallon out. It was pure liquid, again. I asked them to check it before they sent it (you can shake it and feel that it is pure liquid), and this was clearly not done. They refunded my money, after almost a month of this process. They said that they did not know what was going on with the product, and they alluded to the fact that they were going to pull the product. i am only writing this because they obviously did not. If you want to soak your pieces, this may be fine, but do not buy this if you need to apply it to panels - especially vertical panels. It will be a waste of your money and time. I placed price at a 4, as if were to work, it would be priced ok. If there was a zero, i would have put that for quality and price, as there's none for either.
    Brand new casting (Posted on 3/12/2014)
    Review by Tom
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Be patient; works great, manifolds with 178k looked freshly cast.
    It would be nice if Eastwood mentioned that this damages chrome and other plated metals....... (Posted on 1/30/2014)
    Review by SoddBuster
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I used this to eat up heavy rust on my block before painting the engine. Slopped a little on my valve covers and it ate the chrome up. Also ate up the nickel cad on various engine bolts. Into this project for another $120 for the valve covers now.
    Absolute nightmare! (Posted on 11/8/2013)
    Review by Beaver
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    Looking for a rust remover? Keep looking! This is more of a rust multiplier. I thought I had a problem with rust before I used it. After I finished and cleaned it off the flash rust began immediately and was like nothing I've ever seen! Save yourself a bunch of work and just get out the wire brush and sandpaper now.
    Not a true gel but close (Posted on 10/28/2013)
    Review by Brad
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I used this on an old Completely rusted Steamer Trunk that was all Tin & Steel. Coated the whole thing and the rust remover was thicker that liquid dissolvers I've used but I was hoping is would be more GEL like. Anyway I rapped the project and waited 8 hours and hosed it. Took a lot off but not all. I dried it and applied remover again and covered overnite. I uncovered it and scrubbed it with a wire brush. Hosed it.. IT REMOVED ALL THE RUST! Clean bare tin and steel! With repeated applications it WILL work and work well. Like to see it made more like a gel though. Would dry quickly on a larger project but I like it. I would buy it again.
    Okay, but not great (Posted on 9/29/2013)
    Review by Pat
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I used this on some panels to remove surface rust. Did an okay job, but I thought this would be more of a gel solution, mine was not, and I had to keep applying it, since it would run off. Calling this gel isn't a correct statement, at least the gallon of it I have. You have to be sure to keep it wet, also,. So several applicatiions during the 8 hours may be needed
    Great product (Posted on 5/4/2013)
    Review by Ron
    Price
    Value
    Quality
    I have A door off my 49 ford pickup I could not sand or grind the rust or oxidization off. I got this product put on the first coat and was amazed that most of the oxidization and rust was gone. The next coat took the rest off. I Highly recommend this product for badly rusted parts.
    Not as Described (Posted on 4/4/2013)
    Review by Phil
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    I was really disappointed with this product. First it leaked and the contents of the shipping box were soaked. Second it was a liquid not a gel. Don't know what went wrong with this product. I ended up tossing it. However I will say that Customer Service were really good and Eastwood gave credit. I'm still a fan of Eastwood.
    Not a Eastwood product at all! (Posted on 4/4/2013)
    Review by Jason
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    So gentle it does remove rust. And its not a gel at all. I tried to remove rust from a core support with on success. Followed instrustion including the plastic rap overnight like it states an nothing. What a waste of money!
    Worked good not as described (Posted on 3/21/2013)
    Review by Ben
    Quality
    Price
    Value
    The gel rust remover is not a gel. I requested a replacement bottle thinking that the bottle was mislabeled as the material was like water. U sent a replacement of the product and it was just as thin as the first. I can only conclude that your term for gel is different is different than mine. other than that, the product worked beautifully.

    Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

    per page
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register