• Home
  • Eastwood 100 lb.Soda Blaster Starter Kit with Media
Eastwood 100 lb.Soda Blaster Starter Kit with Media is rated 4.2222 out of 5 by 9.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better. Need to Re-think the design Hose and valve system is very unfriendly to remove and change over from soda to abrasive grits, or visa versa. Could be a lot better than what is supplied. User Instructions should give optimum air pressure depending on grit and medium, not just maximum air pressure of the tank. you definitely need a dryer on your air compressor. do not rely on the cheap one supplied with the unit. The blaster unit clogs very easily. In closing: Eastwood should rethink the design of the valve assembly, for quick and easier access. Even extending the legs/ wheels would help from the hoses and valves touching the ground. Eastwood should also put a better dryer on the unit, not what is supplied. Very cheap.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, moderate performance This is a well made great quality product. I've used an abrasive blaster for years of similar design. This unit is much higher quality than what I'm used to using. However, I was somewhat disappointed with the capability of the soda to remove paint. I used the product that is rated to be most aggressive in removing paint, I believe it has an XL designation and is supposed to contain the most abrassive soda material. I used the product on a steering column to remove paint from the steering column on my 55 Chevy. It was painstakingly slow in removing paint. Where it did remove the paint, the metal was completely undamaged with no marks on the clean metal, which was great. I finally resorted to using my abrassive blaster using aluminunm oxide to remove most of the paint.
Date published: 2010-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as Advertised Blaster came without wheel axel but customer support 2 day FedEx'd it. After receiving and assembling it noticed that soda conversion kit valve handle was broken off. The broken part was not in the envelope containing the kit, so that means someone didn't care that they were sending a shoddy product. Still functional so I trudged on and began blasting 30 minutes after assembly. All I can say is thanks for putting this together for the home hobbyist. The blaster works great. Don't expect it to remove bondo or rust, the XL formula removes paint only, but does a bang-up job of it without harming other surfaces. Zero warping, zero etching. I plan on converting it back to an abrasive blaster to tackle the rusty parts at a later date. . Expect to go through a lot of powder, it will take about 10 bags for an average car.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality,great price This is good quality especially for the price. I was a little aggravated that it was shipped setup for abrasive blasting when I purposely bought what i thought would be setup for soda. Having to cut the hose because it was on the abrasive hose barb was the most irritating thing. Maybe a second hose supplied would fix this issue if you continue to ship the soda blaster setup for abrasive.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Deal I am satisfied with the Soda Blaster. It is a decent starter kit. It would help to have a compressor that can keep up with the workload. The Blaster actually comes as an abrasive unit, Eastwood included a converter valve to use as a Soda Blaster. The soda converter must be switched back to the original valve to use abrasives, kind of a hassle but you do have the option. I say" BUY".
Date published: 2010-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! Great product and value. I was somewhat irratated that it was shipped with the abrasive valves attached. The worst part was the hose was attached to the abrasive valve hose barb. A simple cheap fix would be an extra hose so we dont have to cut that inch off, i mean it is described as a soda blaster. Or maybe ship it with the soda blaster attached instead of the Abrasive valve.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good unit, poor documentation The unit took about 20 minutes to unpack assemble. A lot of the subassemblies were already put together, which saved some time. I was up and running right away, and it did a nice job right out of the box. The only complaint is that the accessories that come with the kit aren't documented at all, so switching from soda to other media will be a guessing game.
Date published: 2010-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't be afraid to try I am a novice, corrently restoring a 29 ford. I tried the sodablaster, and after watching the video, did very well. Seeing it in use, even got the wife invloved, and now she uses it to help. WARNING.. It is addictive, and you will find that you will be blasting old tools, lawn furniture, etc.
Date published: 2009-07-17
  • 2015-03-30T09:53CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_50499, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_eastwood

I purchased one of these a couple years back, and the hose recently blew. Is a replacement hose available separately?

Asked by: TriumphTorch
The replacement hose is available here: http://www.eastwood.com/8-ft-replacement-blast-hose.html
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-03-14

I need an operators manual

Asked by: Pops502
http://www.eastwood.com/images/pdf/51118_instructions.pdf http://www.eastwood.com/images/pdf/51360_instructions.pdf
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-08

Do both the soda and abrasive media valve come with this unit and what else is in the starter kit vs the basic unit?

Asked by: Tbolt
Yes both valves come with the unit and the only difference is the soda media that comes with the kit
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-08

will this unit strip a corvette using a compressor the has 12 cfm at 90psi

Asked by: RichD
This soda blaster requires at least 10cfm @ 90psi, so your compressor meets the minimum requirements and will work for stripping paint off your Corvette.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-09-25
  • 2015-03-30T10:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_50499, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_eastwood

Eastwood 100 lb.Soda Blaster Starter Kit with Media

Item #50499 Brand: Eastwood

2-in-1 blaster includes 50 lbs. of soda to get you started
Heavyweight- Special shipping charges may apply.

Details

100-lb.-capacity Soda/Abrasive Blaster removes paint and rust safely, strips without chemicals...and includes 50 lbs. of soda to get you started This 2-in-1 soda blaster is the smart choice when you need to remove paint and rust without harming sheet metal, glass, or chrome...converts in minutes to abrasives when your project needs more aggressive blasting. Start blasting with the 50-lb. bag of Automotive XL Bicarbonate Soda Media included!
  • 100-lb.-capacity, top-loading hopper lets you blast longer between refills
  • Includes 50 lbs. of Automotive XL Bicarbonate Soda Media (11807)
  • Requires as little as 10 cfm at 90 psi
  • 8' blast hose with deadman valve gives you optimal control
  • All-steel, welded, top-loading hopper and pressure gauge
  • Unbeatable price for a soda blaster with this capacity!

More info...

About Eastwood 100 lb.Soda Blaster Starter Kit with Media

Soda blasting removes paint without harming sheet metal, glass, or chrome, and while expensive commercial soda blasters use high air volume, this affordable Eastwood soda blaster requires just 10 cfm at 90 psi. This soda blaster provides a big 100-lb. capacity at an affordable price... includes a generous 8' blast hose with deadman valve; all-steel welded, top-loading hopper; pressure gauge. Rolls easily to job site on two wheels. Readily converts between soda and aggressive abrasive blasting with included parts. Imported. Patent pending.

More Uses for Bicarbonate Soda (Baking Soda) Blasters: You can also use bicarbonate soda blast media (NOT household baking soda) to remove graffiti and grime from brick, concrete, limestone, granite and other surfaces. Other uses included cleaning of delicate substrates; architectural and industrial cleaning; paint stripping; corrosion removal. Use to remove mold and mildew stains from pools, cement, brick, tile, granite, sound stucco, siding and more. Safely strip paint from aircraft aluminum, trucks, motorcycles. Bicarbonate soda also allows heavy-duty removal of oils and grease from engines and floors.

Final product imported.

Click Here to learn more about soda blasting.


Contents

100-lb.-capacity soda blaster comes completely "ready to use", except for your compressor and air-fitting coupler to match your air lines. Includes 50 lbs. of Automotive XL Bicarbonate Soda Media (11807) to get you started.

Simple bolt-together construction will have you blasting in about 45 minutes. Approximately 36" high with handles, and about 24" in diameter, so it will easily store in the corner of your shop or garage.


Specs

Accessories

11806 Automotive (Medium) Bicarbonate Soda Media
11807 Automotive (XL) Bicarbonate Soda Media
50494 Rust Remover Bicarbonate Soda with 20% Aluminum Oxide
12111 Replacement 2.5mm-I.D. Nozzles, 3-pack
50417 Galvanized Abrasive Media Funnel Strainer
50097 Soda-Blasting Protection Kit


FAQs

(Q) Why use bicarbonate soda media?
(A) Soda will not harm glass, plastics, fiberglass or chrome surfaces. It's used to remove paint coatings from the vehicle surface without etching the surface or warping the metal like more aggressive media would. It's the best way to strip fiberglass Corvettes, boats or aftermarket hoods. Also used to remove paint from urethane and SMC-type bumper fascias.

(Q) Can this unit be used with more aggressive media?
(A) Yes, this unit can be converted to blast standard abrasive medias such as crushed glass, aluminum oxide, etc. by using the abrasive kit included.


Safety

Bicarbonate soda blasting is much safer than traditional abrasives, and more gentle to the metal or substrate you're blasting. However, you must still protect yourself from the dust and, more importantly, the particles of paint, corrosion or scale that become airborne during the blasting operation.

Use a properly fitted dust mask or respirator, safety glass or safety shield, plus heavy gloves, long pants and a long-sleeve shirt to protect exposed skin. Use our 50097 Soda-Blasting Protection Kit for complete protection.

Do not aim the nozzle anywhere other than the substrate you are blasting.

Make sure you disconnect the air line and allow the tank to bleed pressure before opening the fill cap.

Check the condition of the nozzle after every hour of blasting and replace once wear is visible or the blast stream becomes ineffective.

Before each use, inspect the tank for any signs of corrosion. Make sure the rubber hoses are not dry-rotted, cracked, split or show any other signs of wear or abrasion from use or storage. Do not use the unit until damage components are repaired. Call Eastwood at 800-544-5118 for replacement components.

Make sure the deadman valve is operating properly by depressing the valve lever and releasing; it must close over the nozzle under its own spring pressure. If not, do not use the deadman valve until the spring or obstruction is repaired.

Only use fresh Eastwood-brand Bicarbonate Soda Media to assure trouble-free blasting and quick paint removal.


Warranty

1-year mfr's. warranty against defects.

Designed, engineered and tested to Eastwood's specifications.

Final product imported.


Customers also viewed: