Item # 22994 BRAND: Eastwood

4 in Magnetic Copper Welding Backer

Magnetic 2"x4" copper panel helps you weld without burn-thru
Magnetic 2"x4" copper panel helps you weld without burn-thru
4 in Magnetic Copper Welding Backer is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 21.
  • y_2022, m_5, d_21, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_22994, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 81.25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$31.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Magnetic 2"x4" copper panel helps you weld without burn-thru

1 year Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
4 in Magnetic Copper Welding Backer

Product Overview:

Description

4"-long Magnetic Copper Backer helps you weld without burning holes.

  • Prevents warping and weld burn-thru
  • Welding material won't stick to copper
  • 2" x 4" copper panel is magnetic; no hands or clamps needed

Magnetic copper backing panel provides hands-free support when doing butt-welding or welding holes in sheet metal.

Warranty

1 Year

In the Box

Contents

4" Magnetic Copper Backer

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

Always follow all instructions and warnings and wear proper eye, ear, skin and respiratory protection. When using chemicals always consult MSDS and product data sheets for proper safety precautions.

Accessories

Eastwood 2 in. X 4 in. Magnetic Copper Butt-Weld Backer Set Flat Copper Panels Hands-Free

Application Tips

Prevents Warping And Weld Burn-Thru

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Wonderful Tool These are made from 1/8" copper plates w/ good strong magnets imbedded in them. I had always kept a sheet of copper under the workbench to be cut and used as a welding backer when needed. These are much heavier, easier, reusable, faster and so much more convenient. An awesome investment !
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerfull magnets I purchased this thinking the magnets might not be that strong since they were small. I was very surprised. It works very well. The copper plate is also a lot thicker than I thought it would be.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works perfect on flat metal works fine I wraped mine with foil too keep it new. great for filling holes on a frame
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well. Works as it should and has been a great help. Howwever, a little expensive, and I have an extra hole (empty) in mine, as if it should have one more magnet.
Date published: 2021-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works This item is not for curved areas or for metal covered with bondo or layers of paint. Works well on flat metal surfaces.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on flat metal. Most of the work I do is welding in patch repair panels on my classic Porsche. These panels are not flat but have various curves and bends. This magnetic welding backer is a great tool if the majority of your work is flat butt welding and you cannot reach behind to hold a welding backer then this is the tool for you.......
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Copper backing plates Magnets do not hold up after first use tend to fall out.
Date published: 2022-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs better magnets Copper plate works great for filling in holes in sheet metal, magnets are weak and do not hold after welding 6 holes
Date published: 2021-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sounds good, but I've used this extensively for butt joints in 18 ga. sheet metal. During the first use the magnets fell out necessitating the use of vise grips to hold it in place. It, of course, works well that way but loses some versatility.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cooper backer Nice solid piece of copper, but the magnets are to weak and get weaker. Can't hang upside down anymore.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Demagnetized after 1 use. Junk. Will try to get money back
Date published: 2022-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Magnetic copper welding backer failures I bought this item and used it for the first time. It worked well for the first few welds and then disaster happened. The magnets started to fall out in the middle of the job and I had to use brace it behind the metal with clamps to finish. Spoke to Eastwood representative who sent me another one which also failed the same way. It’s not made with quality. I don’t recommend it to anyone. I sent the item back to Eastwood one month ago and I’m still waiting for a refund. There are other issues with shipping from the company. I ordered primer in a can waited for weeks without receiving it. Spoke to a representative who said it was never shipped. These are my experiences I’ve had with Eastwood.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Magnets dont last long. Too easy to get too hot and destroy the magnets then it's just a copper backer. Better off to must buy a piece of 1/8 thick copper and figure out how to fix it to your metal.
Date published: 2019-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from magnetic copper welding backer The first time I used it, the magnets became de-magnitized and would not stick to the surrounding metal. Magnets and heat don't work well together. By the second time I used it, all the magnets fell off. The concept is great, the existing product- not so good.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Magnets die. It worked well when new, but then the magnets lost their magnetism. Now it needs to be clamped into place. I wouldn't buy another one.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Magnets are too weak The magnets on this plate are too weak. It will stick initially on a vertical surface but it you bump it only slightly it falls off. Since it is made of copper the plate will dent when it hits the floor or the bench. Now that it is not perfectly flat any longer it will stick even worse than before. This seems like a great idea but it's just not strong enough. It ends up being a giant frustration. Conceptually it's a good idea but a complete failure in practice. This is the only Eastwood product that I've ever purchased that has been a complete disappointment.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dissatisfied Thought this would be a great tool to have most of tools I have got from Eastwood were high quality but the tool failed 1st time I used it magnets fell out and after putting them back in they were no longer magnetic very poor quality wouldn't recommend
Date published: 2016-02-16
  • y_2022, m_5, d_21, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_22994, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 40.11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 68.77ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
We found other products you might like!
4 in Magnetic Copper Welding Backer
$31.99
In Stock