Item # 16014Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Self Etch Primer Aerosol Gray 16 oz Net

Spray on bare metal to etch and prime in one easy step
Spray on bare metal to etch and prime in one easy step
Eastwood Self Etch Primer Aerosol Gray 16 oz Net is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 40.
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_16014Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 137.51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reg. $18.99 Sale $15.97 Save $3.02
Loading...
Save for Later
Spray on bare metal to etch and prime in one easy step
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Eastwood Self Etch Primer Aerosol Gray 16 oz Net

Description

Work faster—spray this Self-Etching Primer on bare metal to etch and prime in one easy step.

  • Adheres to aluminum, steel, stainless and galvanized
  • 16-oz. aerosol etching primer in gray
  • Also available in black
  • Use our Rust Dissolver to remove light rust first (#16037)

Metal-etching primer’s true acid-etching formulation sticks to virtually any clean, bare, rust-free metal. This lacquer-based, self-etching primer enhances the adhesion and durability of most non-epoxy top coats.

Warranty

Made in the USA. QUANTITY DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE FOR THIS ITEM

Contents

Contains 16 ounces net weight. Covers about 10 sq ft. Lacquer based. Withstands up to 170 degrees F.

FAQs

Our Chassis Black paints do not stick well to this and other single stage self etching primers. This Self Etching primer uses an aggressive solvent system to assure excellent adhesion to clean, rust free metal. Exercise care when using this product over enamel finishes as lifting may occur. Eastwood's Self-Etching Primer is Lacquer based.

Application Tips

Self Etching Primer etches & primes in 1 step for superior adhesion. Can be used on steel, stainless, aluminum, or scuffed galvanized surfaces. For best results, clean surface to be painted with PRE Painting Prep (10041 Z) or Metal Wash (10120). 1 Aerosol covers about 10 sq ft. Max Temp 180 F. Lacquer based. Goes on thin & can be used with any additional primer or topcoat. For best results, topcoat before 24 hrs. After 24 hrs, surface must be scuffed. Exercise care when using this product over enamel finishes as lifting may occur. Shake can for at least 2 mins before spraying. Work in a well ventilated area.

Safety Information

Work in a well ventilated area. A Respirator like our Professional Respirator (34029) is recommended when using this product.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from EW High Build Primer I do recommend this item. It is a high build and sands great. If you are spraying from your gun I would us a 1.5 or bigger tip as it will clog you gun even if thinning.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Self etching primer 1st time that I used it awesome to us I will be using more of this in the future
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sandable primer I used this doing rust repairs. Patching, body filler, sanding, and fine sanding, then laid a nice coat of this primer on before quitting for the day. The next morning I was able to sand this to a smooth paint ready surface. So many other "rattle can" products are frustrating to sand, just gum up and clog your paper. Great stuff!
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Good coverage you can tell when sprained it it's a quality product.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Primer Finally, a high build primer that works. I have used DuPont and don't like it. very satisfied with this product and you get a lot more paint than the normal cans.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick easy way to protect bare metal I like using this primer to seal off bare metal between blasting and painting. Easy to use and seems to cover with most all paints.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice get I bought this because I was looking for a decent primer for my old school truck it was down to the metal overall not bad ..
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great primer I use this to prime engine components and it works great under Eastwood's engine paint. The only drawback is it comes pre thinned, so it does not go as far as other primers. But, the result is well worth the extra material.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great The paint laid down and sanded great. Nice finished product.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product. I have been used this product for several years. is excellent
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works great for those small jobs. For the bigger ones it's a good way to protect your work and allows you to move on to the next area. When all finished, all you have to do is sand smooth and continue on with the finishing process.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best on the market I use this on all my projects. Easy to use, never runs. It's the best bar none.
Date published: 2010-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good product I have used this primer on several jobs, coke machine, model A 1931. Adheres good to all clean surfaces and works with all over coat paint except epoxy primer or eastwoods chassis black. Use thin coats till surface is covered. Paint over primer soon after dried. This is not a sealing primer so care must be taken not to expose to humid damp air. primer absorbes paint as well as dampness if allowed.
Date published: 2010-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I have purchased this many times and the product is great.. Great adhesion.
Date published: 2021-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High-build Self-etching Primer I used the aerosol version - it worked ok, but did not sand as well as expected (at least not compared to other straight, non-self etching, high build primers). Perhaps it just needs additional solids built into the mix (assuming that would be possible). All in all, though, a decent product....
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good It was good I would use this again have a nice day
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had no trouble with it. works great as long as you use 3 or 4 light coats .Good coverage. Easy to use. Very durable.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but plan ahead! This aerosol is easy to use, and does lay down nice and smooth, but being a single-stage laquer-based primer, it's pretty soft, and lifts easily with acetone based cleaners and topcoats (don't use the Eastwood LOW VOC PREP cleaner on this stuff, as the primer will come right off). Regular PREP is fine as it is Xylene based. I laid down this stuff, then the low VOC primer, then Featherfill G2, then thinned low VOC primer, then topcoat. In hind-sight I probably could have simply started with the low VOC primer, and done without the self-etching stuff, but I was working on the car in sections over 3 years.
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product ! Absolutely the best. Works perfect every time.
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I was very pleased with the self-etching primer, good coverage and dry time. About the only complaint I have is with the spray nozzle, it tended to drip paint after spraying for a few minutes. I had to be real careful what was underneath where I was spraying!
Date published: 2011-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I found the self etching primer easy to use and it had very good coverage.My only complaint would have to be with the spray nozzle, after spraying for a few minutes it tended to drip paint and you had to be careful not to let it drip on a surface you werent; working on yet, or a surface that was already painted!
Date published: 2011-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from does not work well over existing paint Dried and cracked when used over ixisting scuffed and PRE'ed paint.
Date published: 2010-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best stuff ever!! Like all Eastwood products, self-etch primer is the tops. Sticks like crazy, doesn't run when you spray it and holds well under about paint you can dream up. Only way to fly!
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite sure I ordered just paint and it arrived in about six days. When we sprayed it the pattern was about 2 inches wide and had to be applied several times to get a solid coat. We have opened three cans so far with the same result. I spoke with customer service and they tell me if we don't like it we can send it back. The other reviews seemed okay. Maybe a bad batch.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from smooth, but... This was until recently one of my favorite primers. Like other reviews, I found the new lable stuff to have all of faults described. I'm always having to re-sand areas where spotting occurs.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Splatter City Love the product. But man does it splatter coming out. Nothing like sanding off what you just applied.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good primer, bad delivery I have been using the self edge primer quite a bit as well as the weld through with good results. That is until the last purchase. The new labeled primer has a different head and does not spray well. Had to toss the last can half through due to the head blocking and uneven spray pattern. That said using an acetone prep and finding a spray head that works the primer holds well as temporary covering over fresh metal until it can be repainted as one piece.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from PRE-MIXED I didn't like this stuff at all. It took a whole gallon just to cover the inside and outside of my 47 chevy cab, NO DOORS, and 2 fenders. I felt like there wasn't enough paint on after I was done It was unevenly coated. The premixed paint had more than just the catalyst added. It was super thin. I have some of Eastwoods non-premixed primer and after adding catalyst to it, it is much thicker and covered very well.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spatters and doesn't go far When trying to spray into a tight area or spray a light coating it spatters. I will have to sand a lot more than I wanted to.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fed up with Eastwood aerosols I have about had my fill of Eastwood aerosol sprays dropping spots in addition to the spray. I've had this happen with multiple cans of their self-etching primers and even with the 2K urethane primers. I've seen Eastwood's responses blaming a clogged spray head but I have had this happen from the first spray to the end. I could never use their primer without expecting to sand out these droplets. It is rare for this to happen with other manufacturers so I really wonder why it happens with Eastwood products.
Date published: 2015-10-11
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_16014Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 38.61ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

I'm looking for a primer that will adhere to chromed plastic. Will this primer work?

Asked by: DWalt
You will first want to use a Plastic adhesion promoter such as: http://www.eastwood.com/adhesion-promoter-aerosol-14-75-net.html.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2018-07-04

Does it always have to be sanded before top coating, or is there a window of time when sanding is not necessary, like with other self etching primers on the market?

Asked by: gpers
This primer can be top coated after 2 hours and before 24 to eliminate the need for any sanding.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-07-04

Can body fillers be applied over this primer?

Asked by: RobL
Body fillers should not be applied over self etch primer.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2020-05-12

I would like to use my black ecapsulator then this grey primer then my top coat silver What do you think

Asked by: Daniel
The Rust Encapsulator and self etch primers are not compatible.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2020-05-12

Can this be used ans a primer on aluminum with your 2K single stage as a top coat?

Asked by: derailled
This would be perfectly acceptable to paint in this method.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-02

Is a tack rag wipe ok for bare metal prior to spraying your self etching gray primer or must you use the prep to do a wet wipe down?? 

Asked by: Jright
A quality wax and grease remover such as our Pre Painting Prep is recommended to wipe down bare metal prior to primer.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-07-04

Can i paint over this primer with the eastwood ceramic engine paint with hardner?

Asked by: Thom K
The engine paint does not require a primer. This primer would not be able to handle the engine temperatures.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-07-04

I just primed a galvanized steel hood with this, but won't be able to paint it for about a month. Is it ok to leave the hood outside with the primer on it, should I put a tarp over it? Also, will I need to sand down the primer when I paint the base?

Asked by: snelan
I would cover it because the primer doesn't have any protective coatings so it could damage it. Kind of like base coat it needs uv protectantt
Answered by: AWD1
Date published: 2018-04-16

how many gallons of primer should i use for a 2001 Chevy Silverado 1500 Standard Cab

Asked by: Christian971
One gallon covers 120 sq ft. Your truck should take about one gallon to do the job.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2015-06-22

I have some aluminum to paint, I am going to use your self-etching primer. Could I use an enamel top coat over the self-etching primer?

Asked by: TW2014
That's dependent on your specific top coat. If it's compatible with self-etching primer, there will be no issues on the side of the Eastwood primer.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2018-07-04

Can the self-etching primer be used on cast-iron? I am restoring an antique drill press and am having trouble with primers not sticking to the cast iron.

Asked by: DeltaGabriel
Yes self etch would work on cast iron.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2018-03-12

Back working on my old Dodge pickup. Before I stopped, 1 year ago  wiped all the bare metal down with After Blast,metal prep. I now have some flash rust on the metal. Should I reapply or can I scuff off the loose rust than apply your Self etching primer 

Asked by: rtse440
You will want to remove the flash rust and I would reapply the After Blast after cleaning off the rust. Once cleaned, you can apply the primer of your choice. I prefer to seal the metal with our direct to metal Epoxy Primers.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-06-04

Can this product be used on filler materials such as USC AG47 and Bondo?

Asked by: Miner
Self Etch Primer is intended to be applied to bare metal. If you are looking to coat bare metal and filler, I would use our Eastwood Epoxy Primer.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-10-17

What types of coatings can be used with this product as a base? ie enamel, aluma blast

Asked by: Jack B
Virtually any topcoat can be applied over Self Etch primer. The exceptions are Chassis Black and Epoxy primers. Enamels and Aluma Blast can be used over Self Etch primer.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-04-15
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_16014Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 112.77ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Self Etch Primer Aerosol Gray 16 oz Net
Reg. $18.99 Sale $15.97 Save $3.02
In Stock