Item # 31139 BRAND: Eastwood

Door Hinge Pin Puller

Replace worn hinge pins to help
restore proper door alignment
Replace worn hinge pins to help
restore proper door alignment
Door Hinge Pin Puller is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2021, m_11, d_27, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_31139, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 91.44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$46.99
Out Of Stock. Due back January 27
Save for Later
Replace worn hinge pins to help
restore proper door alignment
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
Door Hinge Pin Puller

Description

Hinge Pin Remover. Replace worn hinge pins to help restore proper door alignment. This heavy duty hinge pin remover/installer fits a wide range of antique and modern hinges up to 2-7/8" wide.Cast iron frame. Features a strong acme threaded bolt with 3 case hardened 18-8 stainless extension pins measuring (1", 1-1/2", and 2") exerts enough pressure to remove most pins. Designed only for Fords. Limited 1-year manufacturer's warranty. Removes hinge pins up to 7/16" (0.437"). Tool Clearance over 1/2" (0.530").

Contents

Cast iron frame. Features a strong acme threaded bolt with 3 case hardened 18-8 stainless extension pins measuring (1", 1 1/2", and 2") and instructions.

Accessories

Eastwood Door Hinge Pin Puller Removal Tool Kit Heavy-Duty Forged Steel Body

Application Tips

Fits A Wide Range Of Antique And Modern Hinges Up To 2-7/8" Wide

Safety Information

Always follow all instructions and warnings and wear proper eye, ear, skin and respiratory protection.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked great I used it on my 1949 ford F1 truck tried everything to get the pins out...this tool removed them without any issues
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm!! Removed the door hinge pins of a 1953 Beetle, the doors where removed from the car chassis/body so i didn't face any problems with clearance for the wrench to turn the bolt. For early Beetles you have to use tis tool upside down making it difficult to screw the bolt, was skeptical in buying this tool as there is no photo/image of the hole that the pin passes through, luckily there is enough space to come out.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works with door off on vw bug. Head of bolt scuffs the door. The bolt need to be replaced with an Allen key or ground down to fit vw bug.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective for Jeep XJ Successfully removed hinge pins from 1995 Jeep Cherokee. The pins are difficult to get out and the hardened shafts on the tool did mushroom some but ultimately the pin came out. Don't know how I would have removed pins without this tool.
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made heavy duty Put this tool to use as soon as it arrived ... a real challenge, my hinge pins had never been replaced on my 49 F-1 project truck and were not about to budge. Three days of soaking and heating resulted in two pins successfully removed ... the other two were so tight that the push pins distorted as pressure was applied. I replaced them with true hardened pins and was then able to begin moving the hinge pins. Bottom line, this is a really good tool that needs to be upgraded with hardened push pins to get the tough jobs done right.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did the job - eventually I bought this to remove a hinge pin on my '58 beetle. The hinge pin comes out fot he top so the bolt has to be at the bottom. The head of the bolt, which is 19mm is then too big. I got the bolt head machined down to 13mm and it then worked fine. Removed the hinge pin with no worries and no damage to the door - all good
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The tool got the pin out! The picture is wrong,the pin on a VW come out from the bottom. Yes it damage the door some, but so what,I got the pin out and I can repair the door! There is a tool out there but it cost $350. This tool plus repair wont be that much. Bottom line, it got the pin out and my door shuts great!
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from does not work on 52 Ford pickup nicely made tool does not work on the upper hinge of a 52 pickup
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hinge pin puller It worked good on the first 2 doors and on the 3rd on it broke called Eastwood and they replaced it and I finished my job the item works as advertised.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Won't work on 48-50 Ford Trucks I was pleased with the price, prompt delivery, and quality of the Door Hinge Pin Puller. However, the size and shape of the tool's bolt is so large, that it can not be used on my 1949 Ford F-1 without damaging the sheet metal and finish of the door. So for my truck, it is worthless. It needs to have a choice of bolt heads to be more useful for a wide range of vehicles.
Date published: 2010-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great tool does what you need it for This tool is a good addition to your tool box, works everytime,, I coated mine with the grip coating so it won't scratch the paint.
Date published: 2009-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hinge pin puller Works well. Pins aren't the hardest metal. Mushroomed up a bit. The fact i had to wait nearly 3 weeks for delivery was the worst part
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Construction quality Can't say anything negative about the actual tool, the pins it came with might not be that great. Forget about using it on a 1996 Suburban, the way the tool has to align with the pin on the top hinge is too close to actual door and it will scratch the surface. I bent two pins and they didn't budge.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Engineers who designed this need to use it I have Bob drake's pin puller and now eastwoods, they are very similar. WHY would they use a large hex bolt that barely allows you to get a wrench on it without scratching the paint? I cut the head off of an Allen bolt and tigwelded it to the hexbolt then ground down the hex a little. It can be used with a 3/8 drive Allen now, much safer on paint.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks good.... Will not work on Volkswagen Beetles, unless you want to dent the snot out of your door....
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will not fit. Nice tool but will not fit. Wast of money.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great tool, but does not hold up well. The pin on the tool didn’t hold up to the door pin. It looks like it could be a great tool but it couldn’t hold up to what we needed to remove on a 1969 vw bug door :(
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chevy barn doors It does not work on chevy barn doors of the 90 model suburban and tahoes.
Date published: 2020-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will pull hinge and will damage your door. I'm working on a VW bug and will say I've read a lot of reviews about this product so I knew the warnings. The hinge puller works great at pulling the hinge bolts. Only problem is the bolt to turn it is too large to fit the top hinge on a Bug. Each turn scrapes into the sheet metal. The bottom hinge pulled with no damage. Like I said I read the reviews before which is what I did the hinge pulling prior to paint. A little bondo and everything was good as new. Wish I didn't have to use bondo but better than the alternative of replacing the door skin on my old doors. To sum up. Yes it will damage your doors, unless they shrink the size of the turning bolt by 1/4 of an inch. But if you are swapping doors and know you're going to have to repaint and do minor bondo work this tool will work great. Just pull the pins before you start on anything else.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need to be re-engineered I would not recommend it to anyone else. This tool needs to be re-engineered with a smaller sized bolt where it will not rub up against the vehicles paint job. The bolt on it is to bulky that it is damaging the vehicles paint job to the point it left a serious indentation on my newly painted barn doors on my chevy suburban.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy! Would not recommend. Bent the pin the first time, cracked and broke the frame te second time i used it.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did NOT work All the pins bent. Worked it slow and it kept slipping off. Nothing else to say.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Door Hinge Pin Puller Item #31139 Brand: Eastwood Hello Dose not work on VW bug ! Lot of your toos are good .
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Received cracked puller. The puller is cracked and the bolt seems smashed by a sledge hammer. BAD, VERY BAD!
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke Pins right out of the box Just tried this to remove the barn doors on a 1999 Tahoe, followed the directions and still mushroomed the 2 small pins with very little effort. Contacted customer service waiting for a reply. Will inform of the results. Can't take doors off without removing the pins.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not good at all The tool is shown removing a door pin from a vw beetle upside down. I tried using it to remove door pins on my beetle and it scratched the paint on the doors also bent every single pin it came with. This thing is junk I ended up getting it to work after I cut off some grade 8 bolts for push pins and took out the push bolt it came with and replaced it with an Allen head bolt so I could turn it without gouging the paint, also ended up bending the tool slightly,still ended up having to repair the damage done by this tool. If you are buying it to remove vw hinge pins you are better off buying the 180 dollar tool.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from don't waste your money I bought this to remove my 72 followed the instructions and the pins bent waste of money.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did nit work at all The pins just bent as soon as you started to apply any pressure. Even after I bought hardened pins it did not remove and pins out of the 4 I was trying to remove. I wound up using heat & an air hammer Complete waste of time and money
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dosent fit the hinge I bought this to use on a model a ford door hinge .the body of the puller is too thick to fit beween the body and where the pin goes thru. Would probly work on a newer car but not model a
Date published: 2014-10-26
  • y_2021, m_11, d_27, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_31139, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 55.48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

will this work on a 1967 VW beetle door? Has anyone tried it?

Asked by: JoeVW67
With the door off the car, this tool can be used on a VW Bug door. Please note that the picture is showing incorrect use of the tool on a VW Bug - the pin needs to be pushed out the top on a Bug. Another method that I use for removing VW hinge pins is with an Air Chisel and round chisel. http://www.eastwood.com/air-hammer-with-chisel-set.html
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2019-09-06
  • y_2021, m_11, d_27, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_31139, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86.39ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Door Hinge Pin Puller
$46.99
Out Of Stock. Due back January 27