Item # 20153 BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood 18 lb Tumbler

Eastwood 18 lb tumbler
Eastwood 18 lb tumbler
Eastwood 18 lb Tumbler is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 22.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_20153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 132.33ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$274.99
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Eastwood 18 lb tumbler
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 1 year Warranty
Eastwood 18 lb Tumbler

Description

Make your old hardware shine like new!

  • Rugged High Speed Bearings for Long-Term Durability
  • High-Torque Motor with High Temperature Windings
  • 15” diameter, 7.5” deep bowl
  • Large Bowl Size to Achieve Maximum Tumbling Action>
  • Suitable for Parts Up To 10" Long
  • 18 lbs. Maximum Capacity Parts and Media
  • Operates on 120 VAC 15 amp ground fault circuit

Vibratory Tumblers offer thorough, gentle cleaning - Automatically - Now you can thoroughly clean and polish small pieces and hardware without the risk of getting them "launched" by a wire wheel. Gentle vibratory tumbling action with the Green Light-Cut Media removes rust from nuts and bolts without rounding edges. Simply stop the tumbler when parts are de-rusted. A brilliant luster can then be achieved by using the Dry Shine Media. The vibratory action works more quickly than a rotating tumbler.

Vibratory tumblers thoroughly clean and polish small parts and hardware, leaving you free to work on other projects. Use the green media to gently remove paint; use the corncob media to lightly polish. When the parts reach the desired luster, they’re ready to be put back in service. The heavy duty vibratory tumbler system includes: 1 bowl, 7 lbs of paint removing media, 7 lbs polishing media, instructions.

Specifications

  • 120V AC / 60 Hz, 1.1 AMP
  • 18 lb. Maximum bowl capacity, wet or dry

Warranty

One year warranty.

Contents

  • Eastwood 18lb. Heavy-Duty Vibratory Tumbler
  • (1) 15" Tumbler Bowl
  • 7 lbs. Green Light-Cut Media
  • 7 lbs. Dry Shine Polishing Media
  • Instructions

Accessories

Eastwood 18 Lbs Electric Rock Tumbler Vibratory Case Tumbler For Cleaning And Reloading Polishing Small Metal Parts

Application Tips

Add 7 lbs of green rust cutting media and up to ll lbs of bolts, brackets, washers etc. Large enough capacity for underhood hardware, suspensions bolts and small brackets. Rust removal will take anywhere from a few hours to a few days depending on severity. Once rust is removed, rinse parts with clean water or Pre and put back in the tumbler with 7 lbs of dry shine media.

Safety Information

Assure electrical cord and plug is in safe working condition before use. Do not allow the plug to be exposed to water or moisture. Assure the bowl is securely tightened to the tumbler base before use. If tumber is to be operated for extended periods securely clamp or bolt the unit to the work bench.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Works awesome. Used it to clean some crusty rocker arms. Did a very nice job. Larger than I expected.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I use this for cleaning model train parts,(plastic various metals,bakalite,etc).use corn and many times mix items, polish and clean better that anything used before (rotating tumbler).This unit is quiet,stays cool,does not "walk".Only one minor, the sealing gaskets come off every time the lid is removed. Will sliding back on lip damage over time? Only time will tell.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! My first "tumble" was a load of whitworth nuts and bolts from a 1937 Riley. Not the kind of thing you run down to the hardware store and replace. They now look near new. Big help!
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I got this tumbler to put a stonewashed look on aluminum parts. It works very well! the green plastic media that comes with it is perfect for deburr and stonewashing aluminum (6061). I followed the instructions and added tap water just until all the media is wet but no pooling and then I add a drop of dawn dish liquid. 8 hours later and the parts are all perfectly deburred and have a uniform stonewashed look. I could not be any more happy.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works just like its described Had mine for a few years now and yes I was concerned with all the negative comments about them. I retstore muscle cars and trucks , put thousands of nuts and bolts through the tumbler and had great results. I think the key is not to over load and leave it on the floor so there's no chance of it falling off the bench. I use the speed clean as well . The hardware comes out looking like new. Just need to find some more of eastwoods speed clean , can't seem to find it on their web site anymore. Hope this helps, Scott long time customer
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I bought the tumbler for tumbling crystals a couple weeks ago and I love it! Easy use and clean up!
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bang for buck I've had this tumbler for 4 years. Mine came with a 2nd basin and I use it regularly. The size is perfect for slightly larger parts and I love being able to hot-swap media with the 2nd tub. It's relatively quiet for a tumbler and the drain is a nice added feature not found on smaller units.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pain in the butt Your website is a pain to order from if someone can't remember their username or password. It won't allow you to order as a guest if it recognizes your email, so you have to wait until it eventually emails you your password link, and that can take 30 minutes (it did for me), and by that time I was ready to say "to hell with it", and order it elsewhere. I wonder how many sales you lose because of it. And then with this review, you "require" certain information. If you want feedback, don't demand it to be sent only in a format that you'll allow! My public name?
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but could be nicer The rubber seals dont line up well and the drain port needs to be improved. First time I used it, it ckogged with green media.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I got this for Christmas. It does a good job removing surface rust. I am using the green media that came with the tumbler. The bowl was loose and spinning slowly as it ran and the threaded rod got hot , so i tightened the nut inside the bowl. Then the lid could not be tightened down enough and the rubber washer started to wear with black dust being crated so I added another washer to make a total of 3 washers over the lid. That did the trick, now the bowl does not spin and the lid is tight. Even after all that, this machine is so noisy that it would wake the dead. I load it up and take it outside and plug it into an outside receptacle. If I ran it down stairs in the basement, I would get a headache.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice affordable option for small parts tumbling Great buy! Works well to tumble our small parts and test medias. A few annoying features: the threaded rod used to attach the tub to the base gets packed with media, making it difficult to remove the tub to dump your media. Also, the gasket on the lid is too large and falls off every time you take off the lid. I have not used liquid in mine, so I can't say how well it will work in that regard. But it's an affordable option for tumbling small parts. It's relatively quiet, too.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product. I bought this Tumblr around 2 months ago plus or minus I've used it extensively on aluminum steel for automotive parts transmission gears out of motorcycles to Old tools just trying a bunch of different options so far I love it had zero problems with it other than the rubber on the cover and the tank are always falling off going to need to glue them on I would definitely buy this product again high quality and the reason I went with Eastwood is you can buy replacement parts.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tumbler I don't know what the hub-bub is about. These are great tumblers, I now own two of them, and am thinking about getting a third. I use mine 24/6 in the jewelry trade. I use everything from stripping pyramids to porcelain shot, the only thing I haven't tried yet is stainless shot. They're lasted twice as long as tumblers I've paid three times more for. What it's intended use's success depends on what media you put in it. My only complaint (ergo the four stars) is the return system, as I do use it as a flow through with a circulating pump. A quick trip to Lowes and $6.19 fixed the issue of screening the output valve as well as installing an input valve.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as exspected I used the media that came with it and added 4lbs more of media off eBay. A corncob walnut she'll mix.also put some polish in with it.i haven't looked at instruction but someone said they put water in?i use dry.i restore vintage go karts and have lots of aluminum parts.i put in some clean parts and ran for about 10-12 hrs the longer the better.only thing I had to do was glue the gasket on the top.i am happy with it glad I got the big one.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of problems Tumbler showed up and was unpacked. Sat down with the instruction manual and read cover to cover. Brought bathroom scale down cellar to make sure I didn't go over 18lbs. Loaded as directed. Proper amount of water and chemical. Started tumbler and left for 4 hours. When I came back the lid had vibrated loose and the fluid had splashed out onto finished parts that were on the bench near tumbler. Put lid back on. Tightened till top of stud was level with top of nut. Started and watched as little by little the nut vibrated loose. Ended up using duct tape after tightening nut. It has worked so far to keep the top lid on. Used it this past weekend. After 4 hours of use, fluid leaking out of center bowl stud inside. It covered the base and more parts on my bench next to it. I am thinking of double nutting the inside stud the next time I use it. Now, it does an OK job but it takes plenty of time to do it's thing. The media fills voids in some parts and once in there that area does not get cleaned. Make sure you get all staining and rust off with media because the dry shine does not remove stains as claimed. It does give a luster or shine to the parts but does no cleaning. Takes a long time to clean. Media is used up fairly quick and Eastwood can't seem to keep it in stock. The media is expensive at the rate it disappears and will need to be added. The lid gasket started to fall off the cover after using the machine a few times and I ended up putting a small amount of silicone on the lip to keep the gasket to in place.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for rust removal or serious cleaning I decided to try this machine because of the large quantity of small parts and hardware. I hoped that even if it took many hours to do the job at least I could get my parts clean. After 7 hours using the green "rust busting" media there was absolutely no improvement. So, I thought,"maybe it would be good for polishing parts that are basically clean, but need to be burnished. So I switched to the polishing media. Again, after many hours, no improvement. Sorry to have to say this, I wanted it to work. But it doesn't.
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eastwood 18 lb tumbler My wife purchased this item for me. I appreciate the opportunity you have accorded me to comment on my satisfaction of your large vibratory tumbler. It works as intended, to a point, but there some areas that could be improved. The drain fitting, hose, and clamp are totally unsatisfactory and if not improved should be completely eliminated. I have removed that assembly from my unit and threaded in a fitting to close the opening. The lid and bowl do not align and the black gaskets provided do not prevent leakage when using a liquid with the media such as a half pint of white vinegar. Leakage also occurs at the threaded rod retaining the bowl and the lid. RTV sealer must be used at these locations. On the positive side, the unit operates smoothly and fairly quietly. I position mine on the garage floor but have not encountered any vibration or motion that would warrant concern. I feel I have paid more than a fair price for a tool that is not entirely satisfactory. Thank you your attention to this and hoping my comments are constructive.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing First unit received failed after 10 minutes of operation. Eastwood promptly replaced the defective unit with a new one. Incredibly loud. Cannot be used when people are in the Shop. It cleans parts properly, but only with very long tumble times.
Date published: 2014-05-25
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_20153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 99.6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

How can I find/purchase the powder that you demonstrated by mixing with water to speed up the vibrator cleaning process?  I saw you sold this when I viewed your on line demo. I do not remember its name and cannot find anything on your web site. 

Asked by: Rodsm
It's called Metal Wash and they do still sale it, item #10120.
Answered by: itsallgood
Date published: 2020-02-07

How much noise does this make when it’s running? 

Asked by: Drew O
This unit is pretty noisy in use. We typically leave this outside the shop doors when running this unit here.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-01-26

Can this be used for small wooden items as a method of sanding?

Asked by: BRUCE
We strictly test for automotive use. Unfortunately this is not an application we would test. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-10-26

What is the inside diameter of the opening?

Asked by: Shibby23
The inside diameter of the opening is 10 1/2 inches.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-01-27

What is the diameter of the opening

Asked by: Shibby23
The opening is 10 1/2 inches.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2019-03-30

I'm in Australia, have you got an option for our 240v power supply and our style of wall plug?

Asked by: Graeme
Unfortunately these only come in a 120v version.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-06

Have you tested this on polishing semi-precious stones using water and the appropriate grit (which run from coarse to a fine polish). In the lapidary trade, experts recommend using barrel tumblers for the rough first tumble but vibratory for polishing.

Asked by: rockyfields
Unfortunately we have never tested our tumblers with stones. We have only tested on automotive nuts, bolts, brackets and such.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-06-14

Can this polish rocks found on hiking trails, outdoors, etc?

Asked by: AmandaG
With the media we have we have never tested rocks in these tumblers. We simply do not know what would happen.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-06-11

Hi! Can I have this in 220v?

Asked by: Janus
Unfortunately, we do not make a 220v option for this unit.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-03-22

what is the best abrasive for deburing stainless steel /24 ga.

Asked by: ralph
The most aggressive media we have is our Brown Pyramid media: https://www.eastwood.com/1-4in-brown-plastic-medium-cut-pyramids-2-lbs.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-01-22

Hi! I would like to know if the tumbler works for jewelry polishing, and the engine HP?

Asked by: Fvitlloch
With the correct media this could certainly be used for Jewelry and more.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-09-25

I want to polish the heads on stainless bolts, or at least get them mostly polished to do a quick final on a buffing wheel. I bought the tumbler and ran it on about 4 #'s of bolts using dry shine media. Not much difference after 24 hours. What can I try?

Asked by: CMW Trucks
If you need heavier rust/ paint removal- you would want to use the Brown pyramid media. You can also add in a little bit of water to increase your cutting action more. The dri- shine polishing media is the only polishing option we currently offer for our tumblers. It will polish the material, but it takes a decent amount of time to achieve.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2017-09-19

I want to use one of these tumblers to remove sharp edges from machined aluminum parts. And reduce stress risers. Do you think this will do the job? All parts will be debured before putting parts in the tumbler. 

Asked by: MPH Racing
We have never tested our medias to actually deburr parts. Our medias are designed to remove and clean rusted parts.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-07-10

Can liquid carburetor soak cleaner be used to clean carburetors? will it damage the bowl? Can a second bowl be purchased?

Asked by: Impala1959
We do not recommend aggressive solvent cleaners in our Tumblers. Replacement bowls are certainly available.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-08-29

can you clean and polish aluminum carb body's ? I have some Datsun SU carbs that I would like to clean up will it remove any aluminum that could damage the inside fitment of the slides

Asked by: Garrett GT
If they fit inside with at least an inch and half of space around it yes, it needs room to tumble and move with the media. If you watch it with the lid off(I know you shouldn't) the items and media really move and it's that action that does the work. I wouldn't put more than one at a time in the bowl, the carbs banging together will damage each other. Hard parts won't. Good luck.
Answered by: BBQKing
Date published: 2018-01-02

One of the videos, "How To Clean Parts, Coins, Rifle Casings & Shells with Vibratory Tumblers from The Eastwood Company", at 2:11 states that the 18lb unit comes with 2 bowls. Is that correct?

Asked by: jeffreyd
Mine came with one bowl. Eastwood does list replacement / additional bowls.
Answered by: PaulB
Date published: 2018-03-09

Will it ruin the finish of the bolts if they are zinc coated?

Asked by: Chuck3
Depending on the media used and the length of time the parts are left in the tumbler it has the potential to remove thinner coatings.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2016-01-26

Can I run ceramic hevy cut media in this machine?

Asked by: admiralhundo
All Tumbler Media available at The Eastwood Company are tested and approved to be compatible with this Tumbler. Technically you could use ceramic heavy cut media, but the use of non approved media can damage the unit and void the warranty.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-11-20

What is the tube attached to the Bowl for?

Asked by: chevynut_1957
Its a drain tube for liquid.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-11-14

Hi, What is the maximum part size this can hold?  I am looking to deburr small plasma cut mild steel parts roughly 2x5x0.2 inches, will this work for me? Thanks, Max

Asked by: Mackenzie
The Eastwood 18 lb. Vibratory Tumbler will accept larger pieces up to 10” long and 3” wide however best results are achieved with numerous smaller pieces no larger than 5”. Be sure that no excessively sharp edges or corners exist which can damage the interior wall of the bowl.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-03-16

Hi Is there a Tumbler in the future that could polish 17" car rims?

Asked by: Oral
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_20153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 110.54ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood 18 lb Tumbler
$274.99
In Stock