Item # 11756Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Brake Gray Aerosol

Durable, heavy-duty coating resists
DOT 3 brake fluid; up to 400°F
Durable, heavy-duty coating resists
DOT 3 brake fluid; up to 400°F
Eastwood Brake Gray Aerosol is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 54.
  • y_2021, m_11, d_30, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_11756Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 125.8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reg. $21.99 Sale $19.97 Save $2.02
Loading...
Save for Later
Durable, heavy-duty coating resists
DOT 3 brake fluid; up to 400°F
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
Eastwood Brake Gray Aerosol

Description

Ultra-durable Brake Gray Paint resists brake fluid!

  • Withstands up to 400 degrees F
  • Excellent corrosion resistance
  • Pure stainless steel pigment in an epoxy ester resin
  • Coverage approx 6 sq ft

Eastwood Brake Gray is a durable, heavy-duty coating that is completely DOT 3, 4 & 5 (Silicone) brake fluid resistant, so it's perfect for painting master cylinders, disc brake calipers, brake drums, spindles, mounting brackets and hardware.

Warranty

Made in USA 2 year warranty from date of manufacture

Contents

13 ounce net weight aerosol

Application Tips

Use on master cylinders, disc brake calipers, brake drums spindles. Clean surface thoroughly with EW PRE Paint Prep (#10041Z) before applying. Hold can 6-8 inches from surface and apply light coats. Too heavy of a coat will cause runs and drips. Allow 10-15 minutes between coats. NOTE: Gasoline WILL deteriorate this coating.

Safety Information

always wear eye, skin and respiratory safety equipment when painting always paint in a well ventilated area. Consult MSDS for complete safety precautions and warnings

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great and protests I love the ease of use of this product - I used it for teh master and PS box
Date published: 2020-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TIN MAN APPROVED Wow! Another phenomenal product from Eastwood! Used this to apply paint to a new master cylinder and 4 brand new calipers and it’s every bit amazing as all of the other paint products I’ve been using. This sprays on excellent and thick with a very fast tack. One can got me 4-5 coats of everything I mentioned with even a little left over for touch ups. It’s a rich silver when sprayed with enough layers easily mimics powder coat and is practically durable enough without the headache. It’s chemical resistant and dries hard as nails. What more can you ask for, Eastwood is outstanding and at a very affordable price. You can substitute the quality on a job your spending loads of money on and time. Do it right, use Eastwood.
Date published: 2020-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Master cylinder paint I bought this but I have not used it yet. But I will use it soon.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good paint for the job Just painted a week ago looks good covers great time will tell if it will hold up
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good color, great coverage I painted my new master cylinder and clutch cylinder with this paint. I couldn't tell the unpainted from the painted, which is the idea! Excellent coverage- One coat did it, though I put two on for good measure. Time will tell how it holds up to brake fluid.
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice paint Goes on nice, looks great, Eastwood has great products
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brake gray aerosol Great paint for this brake component. Applies very well.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Used this, worked great. New disc brake conversion on a 66 SD but the master cyl soon started to rust. Removed it, quick clean and a few coats of this....looks better than new now. A+.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brake gray Cleaned master cylinder with recommended solvent and painted with brake gray. I could see any difference between painted part and bare metal. I would have to say the paint is a perfect match.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brake Gray Haven't had a chance to use it yet but all your other stuff has been good
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast even coverage,fast drying! Sprayed new master cylinder with this product,used very little for full even coverage,1 can should go very far!!!!
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! This paint sprayed well without runs and had good coverage. Paint is more silver than gray, but that was not a problem for my project. It is a nice addition to the aluminum parts on my engine.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best brake paint on the market This paint is the best that I've ever used. Two coats on a new master cylinder with superb coverage.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brake grey paint I agree with all that was said in the Eastwood missed the color mark. it looks more like the front side of a piece aluminum foil and could have been 8 shades darker. But if it does the job they say it does im good with it. Only time will tell as its less than a week since I did the job
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now thats what i am talking about I wanted a dot3 resistant paint for my Bugs new master cylinder.It applied well and seems to be solid as a rock.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great under the hood! While I was detailing my engine compartment I figured I needed to coat the brake master cylinder. I think the finished product really helps to make the total job pop!
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from resurrection of a master cylinder I purchased this item and is better than I expected ,thanks.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Covered without any problems. 3 coats and my Master Cylinder looks great.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Break Gray looks good just like cast iron did Master Cylinder an Calipers looks great !!
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought and used this for the first time a couple years back on my master cylinder. Since then I have used it on my hood hinges, countless chassis parts, and all over where I wanted to duplicate the original bare metal or bare cast look without having bare metal rust problems. It goes on easy and covers great! It is thin enough that it doesn't fill in all the pores of cast so it doesn't really even look like paint! I love this product!
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price. goes on easy and looks great
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Made a diagonal (drag) link for my 4 bar suspension on my 41 Willys. Excellent coverage (covers minor grinding scratches) and dries fast. Color is nearly identical match for the Art Morrison chassis silver gray powder coat.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice finish Covers well, looks like brand new cast iron, looking forward to using it on the brake calipers, rotors ,drums and hardware. Another great Eastwood product!
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BFR Paint, recommended I purchased this product for my master cylinder. It sprayed easy, covered excellent, dried without shedding gray paint on your hands. All indications are that this is a quality product, for $20 it better be. I don't mind spendin the money if it does what it says, so far so good. I wish they made it in black for the booster.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brake paint I wanted to protect my new master cylinder-Clear doesn't look right..I used the esatwood brake gray...goes on great-looks exactly like the new master cylinder...Not shiny-or fake looking,but just like the cast iron look.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I bought this to coat my 1960 cadillac master cylinder and it worked great. The master cylinder was rusty, I clean it up and prep as stated on can. I then sprayed the brake grey and it went on smooth and dried fast. I used 3 coats and it has not rusted in over a month where as before with it untreated in rusted in a day. Protects against brake fluid and will use again.
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I used the Brake Grey on my Calipers, Caliper Mounts along with the inner hub area of my rotors. The quality of the paint was great even from the aerosol can. I highly recommend this paint. Going to apply to my master cylinder and steering box.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent paint i have used it on my calipers, master cyl,brake drums and anything that i wanted to look like new metal iam very pleased with how well it goes on no runs and no problems with oil or brake fluid coming in contact with it . i plan on ordering more. and would definitely recommened it to everyone.also it is very scrach resistant.
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brake Gray Paint Just tried this stuff, so far I am very pleased with the apprreance and looks, if it is lanything like the other Eastwood Products that I have used then I know that I will be very satified.
Date published: 2010-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Product and a must have This product works better then advertised. It is quick, easy and full proof.
Date published: 2010-05-08
  • y_2021, m_11, d_30, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_11756Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

I am looking for a flat or semi gloss black brace fluid resistant paint to paint calipers and master cylinders on motorcycles. Do you know of anything?

Asked by: Mark Miller
The only product that we carry that resists Brake Fluid is our Brake Gray Aerosol https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-brake-gray-aerosol.html
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2018-07-19

Master Cylinder has a thin layer surface rust. What's the best way to prep it before using the Brake Gray?

Asked by: Elroy
Our Fast Etch along with a red/maroon scuff pad would be a great way to remove light surface rust.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-09-23

 Does it come in any other  Color ?

Asked by: Harvey
This is only offered on one color at this time.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-03-29

Can this be applied to a previously painted master cylinder or does the old paint need to come off?

Asked by: Baller
To ensure the most strength from the paint job it is recommended to strip the old paint.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-02-16

Hi Brake grey has not been available from our only Eastwood supplier in UK Frost for months possible over a year! How much would shipping be for 2 cans?

Asked by: chris D
Since we do not have the ability to ship internationally to individuals you would have to find a Freight forwarder to ship to and get a quote.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-10-19

Can this paint be used on all non-friction surfaces of a brake rotor? Can it handle the heat produced at the rotor?

Asked by: ebillimo
This paint is good up to 400F. You may eventually burn the paint off on something that gets as hot as a brake rotor.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2019-05-05

Does this paint contain Lacquer ?

Asked by: Ren and Stimpy
This is a lacquer based paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-02-21

Could you paint a engine block with this?

Asked by: black65
As long as you are comfortable with the 400F temperature rating.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-04-04

Would this color work for cast iron tie rod ends and steering linkages?  Or would it be better to put a clear over the raw metal?

Asked by: Chris5103
It'll work in various locations, its all personal preference.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-07-14

I'll be using this on aluminum that has been soda blasted and is now bare. Do I need an etching primer before using this or would it be best to go directly on the aluminum part. If an etching primer is needed, which one would you recommend?

Asked by: Groover
The product can be applied to the bare metal after being cleaned.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2018-08-14

I know you have Aluma Blast but can this be used on aluminum also?

Asked by: Hacken
Yes it can be used on aluminum as well as steel
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-03-11

Does using this paint on a master cylinder require a primer coat before?

Asked by: Peter A
It does not require primer over clean, bare metal.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-07-05

Do you offer any paint like this that is brush on? I have a master cylinder that I need to paint but it is installed already so I can't use an aerosol. 

Asked by: Stereojoey
Unfortunately we do not offer a similar brush-on material that is made for brake parts. I'd recommend carefully masking the area and using the aerosol. In all but the tightest areas you'll be able to use an aerosol to cover the majority of the part.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-01-05

Can this be used with any of the aerosol spray clearcoats that you sell?

Asked by: jjjs
Diamond clear would be the product to use over it.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2017-01-27

I cleaned my master cylinder using your prep and then painted with this paint. After it has cured, currently on 5 hours, there is a greay metalic dust that comes off when I touch it. Will this go away? Should I clean it? It is concerning.

Asked by: Chevelle
  • y_2021, m_11, d_30, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_11756Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 121.77ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Brake Gray Aerosol
Reg. $21.99 Sale $19.97 Save $2.02
In Stock