Item # 21145 BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® - Surface Conditioning Tool

Multiple Tools In One!
  • Removes Rust, Paint, Body Fillers
  • Conditions Metal so it is Ready to Paint
  • Buff Metal to a Mirror Finish
  • Professional Grade Backed by a 3 Year Warranty
  • US Patent #D814,261
Multiple Tools In One!
  • Removes Rust, Paint, Body Fillers
  • Conditions Metal so it is Ready to Paint
  • Buff Metal to a Mirror Finish
  • Professional Grade Backed by a 3 Year Warranty
  • US Patent #D814,261
Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® - Surface Conditioning Tool is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 344.
  • y_2023, m_2, d_6, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_63, tr_281
  • loc_en_US, sid_21145, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 95.98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reg. $199.99 Sale $189.97 Save $10.02
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Multiple Tools In One!
  • Removes Rust, Paint, Body Fillers
  • Conditions Metal so it is Ready to Paint
  • Buff Metal to a Mirror Finish
  • Professional Grade Backed by a 3 Year Warranty
  • US Patent #D814,261

3 year Warranty Included

Add an Eastwood Service Plan for additional protection?

Learn More

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® - Surface Conditioning Tool

Product Overview:

Description

The Contour SCT® by Eastwood (Patent #D814,261 other Patents Pending) is ruggedly built to last for many years of shop service. Its fully adjustable RPM and powerful 9 amp double-motor allows it to tackle even the most demanding materials and surfaces. The Contour SCT® is also highly versatile, with the ability to use many Eastwood Drum options. In fact, the Contour SCT® by Eastwood is also commonly used to sand wood and preparing your deck for a fresh stain or paint.

Why Buy An Eastwood CONTOUR SCT®?

CONTOUR SCT® Features

  • Fully adjustable RPM range from 1000-3700
  • Powerful 9 Amp double insulated motor
  • 6 Speed position rotary knob
  • Includes one 4 inch finishing drum
  • 3 Year Warranty


Eastwood Contour SCT Surface Conditioning Tool
Eastwood Contour SCT Surface Conditioning Tool

Ready for any paint or rust stripping project, it features a drum guard enclosure and a rigidly mounted “D” handle for maximum safety. A high-torque, ball bearing supported motor and hardened spur gears provide smooth operation and long life. Speed is easily controlled with a 6 position rotary knob and ON/OFF trigger control.

In-Line Ergonomic Design

Unlike other Surface Conditioning Tools on the market with an offset design the Eastwood Contour SCT has n ergonomic in-line design. The in-line design prevents torque load and keeps the drum turning so you can keep stripping the rust, paint and body filler without adding too much heat into the metal.

Eastwood Contour SCT In-Line Design
Eastwood Contour SCT All Steel Gear Design

Rugged tool with a 3 Year Warranty!

The Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® in manufactured with an all steel gear design for maximum torque and long life. This tool is built to last with an industrial style gear drive rather than a belt like you see on lesser quality tools.

Versatile with Many Drum Options

But there’s even more to this tool. If you need to remove paint, rust or body filler, attach the expander wheel with sandpaper or the abrasive drum, and quickly get your panels down to bare metal. In fact, the tool is even great for sanding wood and preparing your deck for fresh stain or paint.

Eastwood Contour SCT Removes Paint and Sands Wood

Warranty

Specifications

Input Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
Input Amperage: 9 amps
Insulation Class: Class II (Double Insulated)
Plug type: 2-prong, polarized
Cord length: 7'- 6"
Certification: ETL
Replaceable Brushes: Yes, 2 Spare brushes included
Speed Control: 6-position
RPM Range: 1000-3700
Trigger Lock type: Slide lock, spring loaded. Depress trigger to dis-engage
Drivetrain type: Sealed Ball-bearing
Gear Material: Steel
Drum Diameter: 4"
Product Weight: 8.2 lbs.
Patent Number: D814,261

In the Box

Contents

  • (1) Contour SCT® with installed 4" x 4", 120 grit, non-woven nylon drum
  • (1) Hex Key Wrench (8 mm)
  • (1) Hex Key Wrench (6 mm)
  • (1) "D" Handle
  • (2) Handle Screws
  • (2) Spare Motor Brushes

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

Click here for product instructions

Safety Information

Always wear all proper personal protecion equipment when using this type of tool. Never attempt to replace a SCT Drum with unit plugged in. Make sure to fully read and understand the instruction manual for this tool before use.

Click here to see safety products


Tackle stripping projects like a pro with the Eastwood CONTOUR SCT®. This rugged surface conditioning tool features a powerful 9-amp motor, six position speed control and hardened spur metal gearbox. This heavy-duty design makes it a great time-saver when you’re working on an auto repair or restoration project on your own. It has versatile uses as well as an ergonomic in-line design to prevent overheating the metal.

This handheld drum sander is an excellent metal surface finishing tool that can restore metal until it looks like new again. The CONTOUR sander is also an excellent paint stripping tools for wood, rust and body fillers. Use it as an automotive paint removal tool or a linear finishing tool to get the results you want. With the Eastwood CONTOUR SCT®, you can tackle DIY projects outside the garage as well, like preparing a deck for staining or painting.

This Eastwood drum sander can be further adjusted by switching out the drum. We have 40-grit SCT abrasive drums for multiple layers of paint and heavy rust, 120-grit finishing drums for polishing metal and many other drums. The Contour SCT Expanding Drum allows the user to add sanding belts, giving them even more options. Our metal conditioner can also be used for wood sanding thanks to a low-heat design.

Do paint prep the right way with the Contour SCT conditioning tool. It’s backed by a three-year warranty and a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee. Hex key wrenches, spare motor brushes and other hardware are included. Visit the Eastwood Garage and search “Contour SCT” to learn what else this metal finishing tool is capable of.

Accessories

EASTWOOD CONTOUR SCT NARROW WHEELS

SCT Accessory Drums Narrow Wheel Spacer Set Narrow Finishing Wheel 80 Grit Narrow Finishing Wheel 120 Grit Narrow Finishing Wheel 240 Grit Narrow Finishing Wheel 320 Grit Narrow Abrasive Wheel 40 Grit Narrow Scale Stripping Wheel

EASTWOOD CONTOUR SCT DRUMS

SCT Accessory Drums SCT Abrasive Drum 80 Grit Stripping Drum 120 Grit Stripping Drum 240 Grit Stripping Drum 60 Grit Finishing Drum 120 Grit Finnishing Drum 240 Grit Finishing Drum 320 Grit Finishing Drum Buffing Drum Spiral Sewn Buffing Drum Scale Drum Steel Wire Drum 60 Grit Flap Sanding 120 Grit Flap Sanding Expanding Drum

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from SCT Surface Conditioning Tool I haven’t had the chance due to my schedule to use this a whole lot yet but I have stripped several areas from my classic car restoration and it has done an amazing job and quickly as well. My recommendation is to make sure your using the correct grit drum for what you are trying to accomplish and follow up with finishing drums of different grits. The tool works great. A little extra pressure in tough spots really improves the speed and finish as it removes the layers. I have multiple coats of primer, glaze, rust, Bondo and original paint we are working through and it has accomplished it all. So far very satisfied and will save money on media blasting down the road!
Date published: 2022-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from X I'm using it to strip house paint off of rough cut lumber. Works good.
Date published: 2022-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Contour SCT Tool I was working on a Ford Crown Vic, well known for their performance peel paint. Any way the job required removal of the surface material, down to bare metal. After trying the usual methods, chemical, sanding, I was getting no were. So I decided to purchase the Eastwood Contour SCT tool. Well the tool performed above and beyond my expections, it cut thru the surface material and cleaned the rust in short order. When it was done, the surface looked like it was done with a long board. I highly recommend this product well worth the money, cut the prep time by hours. Thanks
Date published: 2022-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied 1st Time Works great - fine paintable finish - just prep for paint & paint!
Date published: 2022-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from contour sct tool works great get 40 grit to remove paint and rust need aprox 2 for a car finish with 320 120
Date published: 2022-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good... Just started striping the paint on a 1972 F100 project truck. Only one fender complete so far, but was impressed with this tool so far. I am sure I will become more familiar with it over the next few months.
Date published: 2022-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool for rust/paint removal This SCT is a brut with the right drum it eats thru 3 layers of paint to bare metal in no time.
Date published: 2022-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed As advertised, very effective taking my old Ford down to bare metal
Date published: 2022-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, efficient, adjustable. So I sprang for this instead of a variable speed angle grinder and so far I am very happy with it. Had a small issue with it at first but Eastwood was prompt and accommodating. I have been using it for about a week now.
Date published: 2022-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tool with many uses and drums and sand paper Almost 3 years ago I bought an SCT to help me remove the original paint jobs off of my 1931 Model A Ford Tudor that had originally been factory painted and then some years later brush painted on top of the factory paint. The tool does an amazing job of removing all of the paint and it has many different wheels and sandpaper to help you complete the task at hand. A great tool with many, many uses. Every home or professional shop should own one.
Date published: 2022-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it. Stripping an old truck with a bad repaint that was giving trouble smearing and gumming with stripper discs. This thing works great with an aftermarket stripping drum. Wish I spent the money sooner.
Date published: 2022-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is a little heavy for cleaning up Then Metals IE hoods
Date published: 2022-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You need this tool! Exceeded all expectations!! For rust/paint/primer removal this is the tool, for tight corners I still grab a different tool but everything else I use the SCT. Its FAST, generates minimal heat and is fun to use.
Date published: 2022-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Unit So far I'm really pleased. Machine runs smooth, low rpms are great, love that the drum is centered. Also a huge plus that the spindle is a standard size
Date published: 2022-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would recommend Works great was about to strip outside of car in 16 hours
Date published: 2022-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT Amazingly versatile product. The only complication was choosing the right medium wheel. Cost is worth the results.
Date published: 2022-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! Sanded a whole c10 in one day, Just buy extra drums.
Date published: 2022-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool This tool is a great tool for all types of surface work. The only negative comment is the weight and size of the tool if you need to work in tight spaces.
Date published: 2022-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the $$$, Saves so much time. Haven't used it as much as I'd like yet, but what I have used it for has been awesome. I have an '83 Scrambler and a '60 Karmann Ghia convertible and the Contour SCT makes quick work of the rust and old paint. If I had one complaint it would only be a request for a detailed video on specific uses for the different drums.
Date published: 2022-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool This is a great tool and time saver. I have used it on serval projects. The only thing I wish is they make a wheel with different grits that would fit the groves of a truck bed, high and low features on one brush.
Date published: 2022-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surface Conditioning Tool works great , a little heavy for this old man but that should prove an advantage as its built well
Date published: 2022-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool Excellent tool, the large selection of drum sanders available makes this tool more versatile than the model offered by HF. I purchased the model offered from HF and returned it after noting the difficulty in maintaining their Sander and the limited amount of drum sanders that were available. When you compare the warranty Eastwood offers compared to the HF unit. Eastwood is the better choice. I’ve been using this tool to strip and refinish a 60 year old horse trailer and I couldn’t be happier. The 40 grit stripping disc is a beast, quickly removing many layers of paint and rust. I can easily recommend this SCT from Eastwood.
Date published: 2022-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT It really does what it was designed to do. It removes everything very easy.
Date published: 2022-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Have no complaints with the tool be nice if the drums lasted longer they are pricey
Date published: 2022-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! So glad i got this tool. It making thebjob so much easier and less time consuming.
Date published: 2022-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money Works well. It’s a little awkward at first, but after a few minutes you start to learn how to operate it.
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool very happy with it Fantastic tool. A must for any metal striping job. Cut your work load by 3/4’s plus no downtime replacing sandpaper
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from multi power tool for finish and prep Gives a grate finish on metal surfaces plus does paint and rust removal, professional tool
Date published: 2022-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money for a DIYer I was skeptical about how well this tool would work before I bought it. It works very well stripping old panels and hoods. Much faster and easier to use than sandblasting. I wish I had bought it sooner
Date published: 2022-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Works great! Easy to use! Big help with my 72 C10 project.Makes the job a whole lot easier! Would definitely recommend!
Date published: 2022-04-01
  • y_2023, m_2, d_6, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_63, tr_281
  • loc_en_US, sid_21145, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 21.06ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Am I able to use the 80 grit nylon brush to enhance and raise grain for wood?

Asked by: Anthony Gio
Although possible we can not confirm as we do not directly test for use on wood applications. We have strictly tested this for automotive use- on metals.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-09-29

Do you offer wheels for woodwork 

Asked by: Anonymous
Not at this current time, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-09-27

How does it work on stickers on the cars are on boats or motorhomes

Asked by: Bulldog dad
This will certainly remove stickers; but also paint, primer etc. underneath the sticker/decal too!. If you want something to remove just decals and stickers you will want something more liker either of these: https://www.eastwood.com/vinyl-eraser-and-arbor.html https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-pneumatic-rotary-removal-tool.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-09-23

Will it remove rhino/hercu liner on Diamond plate? If so what type of attachments are recommended?

Asked by: Eddie
One of the more aggressive drums would probably work good. The #21970 abrasive drum would be good. The narrow version #32495 with spacer set #32490 might be needed to get the narrow areas of the diamond plate.
Answered by: Nick BC
Date published: 2022-09-12

What's the best CONTOUR SCT drum for removing rust and dirt from 2" steel tubing? And would the finishing drum be recommending for final prep before painting?

Asked by: Boots
If a decent amount of rust is present then I would go with this Black abrasive drum here: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-abrasive-drum-4-5-inch-40-grit.html. The finishing drum would be a great option to use after then if proceeding with our Epoxy primer.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-07-22

The paper will not stay on the expandable drum

Asked by: Kent
Please make sure you are running at at least a speed of 3/4. Running lower speeds will not cause the expanding drum to expand enough to keep these bands on.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-08-25

Where is the contour sct. made?

Asked by: Mario
The SCT was designed in house here in PA but we do have it manufactured overseas in China to our specs. and standards.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-08-29

What’s the difference between strip drum and finish drum in the same grit?

Asked by: Tom B
The interleaf stripping drum has the equivalent gritted sandpaper interwoven in the drum to give it more of an aggressive stripping quality to them. The finishing drum is just the grit desired woven drum designed more for metal finishing.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-08-09

For artificially "distressed" wood... To open the grain on finished wood, I am currently using a 1" wire wheel... works well, but too narrow and takes forever, Which Eastwood accessory would be best for this purpose?

Asked by: BD99
Hi , our #21974 4" steel wire wheel should speed things up for you. this drum covers a way bigger surface area
Answered by: Jay N
Date published: 2022-07-10

How is the double keyed shaft mounted to the tool? Is it replaceable for any unforeseen circumstance due to damage?

Asked by: Volkswagen62
The keys are replaceable, and we offer the entire front end including shaft as a replacement part. Replacing the shaft itself, while possible, would require a pressing operation to free it from the bearing.
Answered by: Nick BC
Date published: 2022-06-08

I want to remove the chipping old paint, and in some areas rust, from steel balcony handrails, and prep it for priming. Underneath the paint is a protective galvanized steel coating that i don’t won’t to remove. Which drums would you recommend? Thanks 

Asked by: Eli F
We cannot guarantee that any drum used with this tool wouldn't at least damage or remove some of this undercoating in reference.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-06-08

Can I use this to strip off the bottom coat of paint from my fiberglass hull on my sailboat ?

Asked by: Vyperlok
We do not recommend the use of this tool on fiberglass. It would be far too aggressive.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-06-08

Where is the Eastwood Contour SCT made?

Asked by: Happycamper
This was designed in house here in PA but we do have them manufactured overseas in China to our specs. and standards.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-08-18

would this work for buffing race car tires

Asked by: bear
With the buffing drums being all the full 4" it may be hard to get into the contours of race car tires.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-06-08

give me reason why I should buy a Easton surface conditioning tool instead of a harbor freight tool for less money

Asked by: Pete85
The Contour SCT is an original design by us at Eastwood and offers metal-driven gears for superior longevity and durability of the tool. This tool is also backed by a 3-year warranty with the purchase of the tool and even offers an extended 1-2 year warranty to make it a full 4-5 years if desired as well. Plus you get the support of or tech line for any question about use or troubleshooting.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-07-12

I’m trying to get the motor body back into the housing on my contour screen and it won’t seat . What am I dining wrong?

Asked by: Vern
Please reach out to us by emailing tech@eastwood.com
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-05-09

What wheel grit would you recommend for starting. Iv e got a steel panel with paint and bindo. 

Asked by: Victor
The Black Abrasive drum would be a great option for this. This can be found here: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-abrasive-drum-4-5-inch-40-grit.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-06-08

do you have a wire brush for this tool

Asked by: Steve 24
Yes, this can be found here: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-steel-wire-drum.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-06-08

Does it have a variable speed trigger?

Asked by: Jason
This does not have a variable speed trigger. It has a slow start trigger with a variable speed knob to adjust the tool speed.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-08-30

Can this be used for removing bottom paint off a pontoon without scratching the aluminum?

Asked by: JonnyMac
This will scuff the aluminum with whatever finish drum you are using. For something like that we would recommend using a chemical stripper.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-03-30

Will this strip bed liner (Harbor freight bed liner)?

Asked by: Stevens6275
Yes, but certain drums work best for this. I would highly recommend the Steel wire drum found here: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-steel-wire-drum.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-04-18

Hello. Have a 46 Ford Coupe. This would be my first attempt at something with so many curved surfaces. Will sanding down to metal give me flat spots in those curves before I even apply primer or? Sorry to ask something so ignorant but first timer.

Asked by: Tuk27
As long as you keep the tool moving it should not create any flat spots on curved surfaces.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-03-16

Is this safe for removing rust and paint off body panels, won't overheat metal?

Asked by: 69Runner
Yes, this tool was specifically designed to be the perfect solution for stripping panels, including automotive.
Answered by: Nick BC
Date published: 2022-03-14

Would you recommend this tool for sanding a wooden deck with worn boards?

Asked by: Tim 60
For any wood applications, we recommend using the expander drum and grit bands on it
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-03-01

I need to strip the original paint off a 67 chevelle trunk lid. That paint isn't faded by 80 grit sandpaper.

Asked by: IdahoDan
I am currently working on a '94 Blazer. The Hood and one fender was painet before so I am taking primer, paint, clear, paint then clear again off. I am REALLY impressed by the 40 grit. It works well. Then I use the 120 grit for finish before the new layer of primer goes on. 
Answered by: Edifer
Date published: 2022-02-01

What is the most aggressive sanding barrel for the contour sander to remove paint

Asked by: Rob56F100
The most aggressive drum we have for this tool in general is the wire drum found here: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-steel-wire-drum.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-01-31

Whats the dimensions of this tool?

Asked by: George
Excluding cord and cord strain relief, the assembled Contour SCT is approximately 20" in overall length, 6.75" in overall width, and 6.50" in overall height.
Answered by: Nick BC
Date published: 2022-01-26

Is it the most efecient way to remove the gel coat from a fiberglass panel?

Asked by: Zeta Sport Steve
We do not recommend this tool for use on fiberglass
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-04-05

how long does the drums last when sanding off paint and surface rust

Asked by: eward610
There are too many variables involved to determine this unfortunately. The drums last longer than sanding bands or paper though because the material is mostly the entirety of the drum.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-01-12

Do you also sell a bench grinder - buffer that your drums would work on, fit on? For cleaning polishing small parts?

Asked by: Papagale
We do not. The SCT tool has different drum options available but these are for use on the SCT tool only.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-01-05
  • y_2023, m_2, d_7, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_220
  • loc_en_US, sid_21145, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 118.22ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® - Surface Conditioning Tool
Reg. $199.99 Sale $189.97 Save $10.02
In Stock