Item # 21145-21972-21970-21174 BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® Surface Conditioning Tool Plus Accessory Drums

Multiple Tools In One!

  • Removes Rust, Paint, Body Fillers
  • Conditions Metal so it is Ready to Paint
  • Sand and Refinish Wood
  • Buff Metal to a Mirror Finish

Professional Grade Backed by a 3 Year Warranty

Multiple Tools In One!

  • Removes Rust, Paint, Body Fillers
  • Conditions Metal so it is Ready to Paint
  • Sand and Refinish Wood
  • Buff Metal to a Mirror Finish

Professional Grade Backed by a 3 Year Warranty

Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® Surface Conditioning Tool Plus Accessory Drums is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 226.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_199
  • loc_en_US, sid_21145-21972-21970-21174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 218.35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$299.94
Loading...
Save for Later

Multiple Tools In One!

  • Removes Rust, Paint, Body Fillers
  • Conditions Metal so it is Ready to Paint
  • Sand and Refinish Wood
  • Buff Metal to a Mirror Finish

Professional Grade Backed by a 3 Year Warranty

  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® Surface Conditioning Tool Plus Accessory Drums

Product Overview:

Description

The Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® Patent #D814,261 other Patents Pending is a ruggedly built tool designed for many years of service.

Why Buy An Eastwood Contour SCT?

  • Heavy-Duty: Industrial construction with a powerful 9 amp motor and hardened spur metal gearbox.
  • Versatile: Strips paint, body fillers, rust and wood.
  • Value: Gives old metal surfaces a like-new finish

CONTOUR SCT® Features

  • Fully adjustable RPM range from 1000-3700
  • Powerful 9 Amp double insulated motor
  • 6 Speed position rotary knob
  • Includes one 4 inch wide by 4 inch diameter finishing drum
  • 3 Year Warranty

Ready for any paint or rust stripping project, it features a drum guard enclosure and a rigidly mounted “D” handle for maximum safety. A high-torque, ball bearing supported motor and hardened spur gears provide smooth operation and long life. Speed is easily controlled with a 6 position rotary knob and ON/OFF trigger control.



SCT Abrasive Drum

The Eastwood Contour SCT® Abrasive Drum is to be used for heavy paint or rust removal applications. Each drum is 4 inches wide and 4.5 inches in diameter.

Warranty

21145 CONTOUR SCT®

Specifications

Input Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
Input Amperage: 9A
Drum Diameter: 4”
Plug type: 2-prong, polarized
Cord length: 7’- 6”
Certification: ETL
Speed Control: 6-position
RPM Range: 1000-3700
Patent Number: D814,261

In the Box

Contents

Eastwood CONTOUR SCT®

(1) Contour SCT® with installed 4" x 4", 120 grit, non-woven nylon drum
(1) Hex Key Wrench (8 mm)
(1) Hex Key Wrench (6 mm)
(1) "D" Handle
(2) Handle Screws
(2) Spare Motor Brushes

Plus

(1) 21970 - 4.5" Black Abrasive Drum
(1) 21174 - 120 Grit Interleaf Stripping Drum
(1) 21972 - Finishing Drum

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

Click here for product instructions

Safety Information

Always wear all proper personal protecion equipment when using this type of tool. Never attempt to replace a SCT Drum with unit plugged in. Make sure to fully read and understand the instruction manual for this tool before use.

Click here to see safety products

Accessories

EASTWOOD CONTOUR SCT NARROW WHEELS

SCT Accessory Drums Narrow Wheel Spacer Set Narrow Finishing Wheel 80 Grit Narrow Finishing Wheel 120 Grit Narrow Finishing Wheel 240 Grit Narrow Finishing Wheel 320 Grit Narrow Abrasive Wheel 40 Grit Narrow Scale Stripping Wheel

EASTWOOD CONTOUR SCT DRUMS

SCT Accessory Drums SCT Abrasive Drum 80 Grit Stripping Drum 120 Grit Stripping Drum 240 Grit Stripping Drum 60 Grit Finishing Drum 120 Grit Finnishing Drum 240 Grit Finishing Drum 320 Grit Finishing Drum Buffing Drum Spiral Sewn Buffing Drum Scale Drum Steel Wire Drum 60 Grit Flap Sanding 120 Grit Flap Sanding Expanding Drum

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase This thing works even better than i thought it would. It removes paint and rust fast and easy. Best purchase I've made in a while.
Date published: 2021-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool I looked at other brands that were cheaper on Amazon but they all looked cheaply built. This tool worked great and was heavier duty than i was expecting. It’s worth more money imo.
Date published: 2021-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT Rips though paint and body filler very well. Was able to grind down 2 doors, 2 fenders, 2 quarters and a trunk lid in about 4 hours on one 80grit drum. Don’t forget to order the adapter if you plan on using the thin wheels for this tool. :)
Date published: 2021-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool for the money Excellent tool does exactly as advertised and is user friendly would recommend for anyone needing to strip or polish metal.
Date published: 2021-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stripping Auto's To Bare Metal This works well I use 40 grit stripping cylinders at low speed then go over bare metal area with finishing 120 grit cylinder then all I have to do is wax and grease remover Prep All and Im ready for DTM expoxy primer
Date published: 2021-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool for stopping paint This is by far the best way to strip layers of paint off a vehicle. I had to to the roof of a 1978 VW Bus and this tool take care of the job in no time. Wish I would have bought sooner.
Date published: 2021-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Porsche 1960 356 Restoration This is the best tool on the market for removing paint or rust
Date published: 2021-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood SCT for DIY projects Great heavy duty surface prep tool. A little heavy, but built to last
Date published: 2021-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my SCT! I bought this to redo the body on an old car I own and so far for the most part it is fantastic! I would like to see them come out with half width drums because there are concave contours where the full size drums are just too wide to get into the curved surfaces comfortably and the narrow drums are not wide enough to do the job efficiently. A mid size drum would work really well I think.
Date published: 2021-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwoods contour sct It makes the job sooo much easier. I wish I had one when I was much younger saves a lot of time!
Date published: 2021-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know why I waited so long to buy this! I haven't been this excited about a new power tool since I bought my first Dremel. I couldn't believe how hefty and well built it was when I pulled it out of the box. It worked exactly as advertised and put a beautiful brushed finish on the roof of the truck I was working on, almost a shame to have to put primer and paint over it. As a mechanic my favorite part about it is that I can get parts (such as new brushes for the motor) should they wear out.
Date published: 2021-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time using the SCT First impression was a good one. The unit is beefy and has some weight to it, not some cheap foreign garbage. The first trigger pull I thought it was broke, it reacts slow the trigger pull-normal. I'm ok with that due to the fact that you don't want this thing wide open all at once. It really knocks paint off and surface rust. It is big and bulky so getting into tight spots won't happen. This will make quick work of stripping my 71 Demon and cheaper than $1000 for media blasting the car.
Date published: 2021-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour Do yourself a favor n get different wheels while purchasing. Comes wit one. You don’t wanna ruin that if you are removing rust or paint.
Date published: 2021-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding tool The tool is heavy to hold just by itself, so if your using it on the side of your vehicle you may get tired quick, BUT it’s the best in overall power in removing paint. I still love it
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $200.00 I have ever spent!! I bought the SCT recently along with 2 black abrasive 40 grit drums. In three days I had my Chevy extended cab, long bed truck stripped down to bare metal! The two drums did the whole job saving me a ton in sandpaper. The machine really will pay for itself in one job.
Date published: 2021-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool for paint removal and metal prep It striped the paint right off a fender with multiple layers of paint and printer primer on it. If you've got an old car that needs new paint, this is the tool to get the old stuff off and the metal ready for paint.
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT Bought this tool to strip the paint on the body and rust off the frame on my 1957 Ford F100 and it works great.
Date published: 2021-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT I bought this for polishing aluminum fuel tanks on a Peterbilt truck with the sewn soft buffing drums and this thing works great. It has speed for cutting and slow to put the polished finesse on the surface Great Idea!
Date published: 2021-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weapon of Mass paint Destruction!! Works awesome!! It is effortless, you don’t get fatigued. Bites right through the old paint and bondo like butter! It’s my first resto, a 41 dodge coupe, in just a few hours, 75% of it is down to the bare metal. It has been a breeze so far. Love this new tool!
Date published: 2021-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saving tool. Great tool remove paint, rust with ease, time saver.
Date published: 2021-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Tool This worked very well for stripping the rust, paint and concrete off my drum for painting
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool Excellent tool for prepping vehicle panels. It’s weight aids in the stripping process but there are angles that will test your endurance but I’ll take that. I may still have to use my hand held bead blaster for right contours and corners but the SCT will save me time and media overall.
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a cheaply made product. Very well made. I bought it to polish stainless. It pulls straight with the geared head. Unlike the converted grinders that are heavy on one side. I literally used this for ten hours straight. I use electric motors until they get hot and then let them cool off. This thing never got hot, Wow! Its geared so that the motor really isnt in a bind. I like it. The handle is well made , the guard is sturdy. This should last me awhile.
Date published: 2021-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does what they say. I have not yet used all of the drums but the tool itself is really nice. It is making short work of the rust on my bus. I watched a lot of videos before I bought it and I have not seen anything untrue. It works well.
Date published: 2021-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver Really works well, cut the job time in half, I'm really pleased with it...
Date published: 2021-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT This is a substantial tool. Looking forward to putting through it paces.
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best body shop tool ever This thing makes paint removal the easiest job ever. With the right abrasive wheel this thing will literally erase paint bondo or rust in seconds. It’s the only tool I own that shocks me how well it work.
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contour SCT This product is great! I have some rusty old fenders and hood and was having problems finding someone to sand blast them. I bought this hoping it would help me and it was well worth it! It made short work of conditioning the metal and I couldn’t be happier!
Date published: 2021-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This change will change your life. This has become the most useful tool in my restoration to date. I started with stripping about 5 layers of paint off, and then changing wheels to condition the 70 year old body of my 51 panel truck. It has taken what was the longest most tedious job and made me feel like a top professional after my first go at using the tool. Quality product with quality results!
Date published: 2021-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surface condioner tool Took a little trial and error at first but once I realized what the machine was trying to do its great should have bought one years ago
Date published: 2021-09-23
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_199
  • loc_en_US, sid_21145-21972-21970-21174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 95.26ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can you use this to remove paint from a fiberglass car?

Asked by: Bill
We do not recommend this tool be used on fiberglass.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2021-11-16

What drum is recommended to remove paint from 22 gauge metal? Don't want to overheat and warp.

Asked by: ZBob
There's a lot of variables that play in but I would start with tis drum here on a lower speed setting (3-4 range) https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sct-interleaf-stripping-drum-120-grit.html.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-17

Will I be able to blend Stainless Steel up to a sanitary #4 finish with this tool?

Asked by: Garec111
#4 brushed finish is approximately a 150 grit brush. our 120 grit finishing drum will be our closest match
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-16

Any plans on a stainless wire drum? Can see many uses for it with the aluminum work I do, but can't use the carbon wheels.

Asked by: AnyGuy123
Not currently but we will be sure to mention the interest to our Product Manager for this item.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-07-25

Needing to strip a 2001 Dodge Ram for delamination issue. What is the best drum to get to remove the clear, base and factory primer so I can start with epoxy primer?

Asked by: Tumper93
The black abrasive drum would work great for this. It can be found here on our website: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-abrasive-drum-4-5-inch-40-grit.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-07-21

Is this product CSA approved?

Asked by: PFuller
This product is not CSA approved.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-07-12

Is this tool compatible with drums from other manufacturers such as 3M?

Asked by: Eb89
Eastwood recommends only using the drums specified and provided by Eastwood for the SCT tool. Attempting to use drums from another manufacture could be dangerous and lead to injury or voiding of the warrantee.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-06-07

Will this work on aluminum to strip paint off newer vehicles?

Asked by: Ron6969
Yes the Eastwood SCT will strip paint of aluminum vehicles.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-06-02

Does it come with any drums?

Asked by: TC 83
This comes with a 120 grit finishing drum.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-05-28

I would love to purchase this tool. I find your wheels are used for metal and wood. I am a stone carver and I see the possibility of purchase if your sanding drums were made with silicon carbide or diamond. Would there be any chance of these type of drum?

Asked by: Stone carver
Unfortunately at this time Eastwood does not offer these types of drums. We will forward your request to our Corporate office for future consideration.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-05-28

I want to remove stickers and paint on stainless steel? The roller or drums with sanding band create rust?

Asked by: Alejandro
The Eastwood SCT tool will remove stickers and paint from stainless steel. Many drums and grits are available. Please rephrase the rest of your answer to receive a proper answer
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-11-27

I don’t use your products for auto restoration but use them for bladesmithing. I’m curious about this product as I go through so many flap discs on my angle grinder to remove forge scale and excessive thickness of a blade. Would this work better?

Asked by: Forge of Ephesians
This tool will remove forge/mill scale and excess metal with the proper drums installed although Angle Grinders provide greater control when blade smithing. The SCT Surface Prep tool is an excellent tool designed more for flat surface work. It can also polish steel or put a nice brushed finish on the final surface of the steel. go to www.eastwood.com and type in SCT on the search bar to watch a demonstration video.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-11-27

Is this tool too aggressive for decorative linear brushing on Brass? I currently do it all by hand up to #220 and blend by hand with scotch brite. I can't have any gouging/pitting or take too much material off. Thanks.

Asked by: ceedee
The Eastwood Contour SCT Surface Conditioning tool(21145) would work well for your brushing operation. It is a variable speed unit with many options for grit and texture. It is recommended to use the SCT 320 grit finishing drum(21176) or the SCT 240 Grit finishing drum(21973) for your project. Visit www.eastwood.com and type in Contour SCT on the search bar and you will find full specifications, options and free videos for this tool.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-01-25

What was the best grit on heavy paint and rust?

Asked by: Fordman
the Best Grit or Drum to remove heavy paint and rust would be the Eastwood Contour SCT 4.5" Black Abrasive Drum (21970) which is a 40 grit abrasive.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-05-28

Is this tool too much for newer cars with thin metal? Or is this mainly for restorations on older cars with thicker metal?

Asked by: Alex
This can be used on newer vehicles with thinner gauge metal as well but you have to be cautious of which drums(s) you select to use with this.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-05-28

How long does a drum last when stripping a vehicle? 

Asked by: Piña
There are many variables when stripping a vehicle which make it difficult to make an estimate on the duration of time a drum will last. Drum speed, material being stripped, applied pressure and type of drum are just a few of these variables. Experience has shown us that when the proper drum is used for your specific application these drums are long wearing and should provide great service.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-06-03

Working on a 1994 Mazda RX-7, was wondering 1. Since JDM metal is thin which drum should I use to get it down to bare metal? 2. How many drums will it take to get the job done?

Asked by: CrazyCatRestoration
It really depends on several variables. We will need more information from you to proceed. Please reach out to us via phone at 800-343-9353 or by emailing us at tech@eastwood.com so we can discuss this further.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-05-28

How does this work on fiberglass? Is it to aggressive and dig it up? Thanks

Asked by: Hot Rod Jon
We do not recommend using this tool on fiberglass because of how aggressive it is.
Answered by: John S
Date published: 2021-05-28

Does the tool come alone?

Asked by: Phil
This is what comes in the box: (1) Contour SCT® with installed 4" x 4", 120 grit, non-woven nylon drum (Part number 21972) (1) Hex Key Wrench (8 mm) (1) Hex Key Wrench (6 mm) (1) "D" Handle (2) Handle Screws (2) Spare Motor Brushes
Answered by: John S
Date published: 2021-04-22

I would like to strip paint from 200 year old barn board and leave a raised grain look. Would your conditioning tool do this? Maybe with a wire brush wheel?

Asked by: Wood Chuck
I would recommend the 21146 Expanding Drum along with the Sanding Bands. Let the tool do the work and do not press down hard.
Answered by: John S
Date published: 2020-08-28

Is this as loud as using a wirewheel or quieter?

Asked by: Jimmi Von
Our SCT does generate some noise. For this reason we recommend using hearing protection while using.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-11-05

Would this Eastwood contour SCT be a good tool to remove paint from a guitar body? Any other power drum sanders/surface conditioning tool recommendations? Thanks in advance!

Asked by: Alan
The SCT can be used to remove paint from a guitar body, but it is a powerful tool and you would need to be careful. Let the tool do the work and do not press into it. You would also want to use the mildest drums we offer, no courser then 240 grit.
Answered by: John S
Date published: 2020-07-31

What drum would be recommended for removing paint from basement brick walls? It has been painted a couple times. Need to start fresh at brick face and repaint.

Asked by: MBnC
The best drum for removing paint is the 21970 Abrasive Drum.
Answered by: John S
Date published: 2020-08-29

How would this tool work for removing house paint from wood siding? And what stripping drum would be recommended?

Asked by: Jase
This tool would work well for that Application. For wood siding the Abrasive Flap Sanding Drums will work for removing paint and rough sanding. For a smoother finish on the wood use the sanding bands. You can use this chart as a reference. https://www.eastwood.com/images/pdf/Contour_SCT_Drum_Chart.pdf
Answered by: John S
Date published: 2020-08-14

What drum would I use to bring my car down to bare metal? Body filler and paint to be removed. 

Asked by: Jimmy
We recommend the Abrasive Drum first to quickly rip through existing paint, primer, and body fillers.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-29

What would be the best drum to refrain the stainless steel on a Delorean car.

Asked by: pgress
The FInishing drum that is installed on the unit works well for cleaning up and putting a brushed look back into stainless steel.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-29

Is This Sct tool made in China or Taiwan? If its made in the US I will be sure to buy one.

Asked by: Gettingthingsdone
This product is manufactured in China.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-08-28

Will he sct remove mill scale from new hot rolled plate steel? I have used flap disc and wire wheels for my grinder and they won't touch this mill scale.

Asked by: Drich
From what we have tested the Black Abrasive drum would be the best to remove mill scale https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-abrasive-drum-4-5-inch-40-grit.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-08-29

how much does it weigh?

Asked by: Boss Tom
This product weighs 11lbs.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-08-29

would this work on removing powder coat?

Asked by: chris
Yes, this tool can be used to remove powder coating.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-07-29
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_173
  • loc_en_US, sid_21145-21972-21970-21174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 189.32ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood CONTOUR SCT® Surface Conditioning Tool Plus Accessory Drums
$299.94
In Stock