Item # 51127 Gray Epoxy Primer BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Gray Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Gallons

Maintains good color hold-out on steel, aluminum, fiberglass, body fillers
Maintains good color hold-out on steel, aluminum, fiberglass, body fillers
Eastwood Gray Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Gallons is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_51127_bv32_Gray_bv32_Epoxy_bv32_Primer, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 117.89ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
Eastwood Epoxy Primer Gray Gallon 1:1
Reg. $85.99 Sale $69.97 Save $16.02
In Stock
Eastwood Epoxy Primer Catalyst Gallon 1:1
$51.99
In Stock

Starting at$121.96

Save for Later
Maintains good color hold-out on steel, aluminum, fiberglass, body fillers
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Eastwood Gray Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Gallons

Description

Eastwood Gray DTM (Direct To Metal) Epoxy Primer 1:1 primes and seals with excellent adhesion and corrosion resistance.

  • Can be used as a primer or sealer
  • Excellent adhesion and corrosion resistance
  • Fast Drying & Maintains good color holdout
  • Sand-able - 2-3 days
  • Applied Over Steel, Aluminum, Fiberglass, Body fillers, Existing finishes
  • Approximate Coverage Per Gallon: 140 SQ FT
  • Maximum operating temperature: 150 Fahrenheit
  • Made in the USA

Eastwood's Gray automotive epoxy primers are user-friendly, 2-component primer/sealer that dries fast and maintains good color hold-out on steel, aluminum, fiberglass, body fillers and existing finishes.

Specifications

MIXING RATIO

After shaking/stirring primer, thoroughly mix one part primer with one part catalyst. No induction time is required with this epoxy system.

SPRAY GUN SETUP
HVLP Gun Fluid Tip 1.4-1.8 mm Inlet Spray Pressure 25-30 psi
Conventional Gravity Fluid Tip 1.4-1.6 mm Inlet Spray Pressure 45-55 psi
Conventional Siphon Fluid Tip: 1.6-1.8 mm Inlet Spray Pressure 45-55 psi
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Eastwood Epoxy Primer should be applied in medium wet coats, with a 30-minute flash period between each (at 70 °F). Typically, one to two coats is enough to achieve the desired 1 mil. dry film thickness, though more material may be applied as needed. Additional build requires longer flash periods between coats. Epoxy primer may be topcoated after approximately 30 minutes (wait 45-60 minutes after applying more than two coats), or up to about five days. After five days, primer MUST be scuff sanded prior to topcoat application. May be sanded (wet) the day after application. Wait two to three days before sanding dry.

Safety Information

Always wear eye, respirator and skin protection use in a well ventilated are consult MSDS for specific warnings precautions.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood epoxy primer Lays down smooth as glass with minimal overspray. Excellent coverage
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product, sprayed very smoothly Nice product with very good coverage.-I ordered it late, but shipping got the product to me the same day as my roadster body was scheduled to be blasted-I was able to get the body covered within 12 hours of getting it back from cleanup—Great service Eastwood!
Date published: 2021-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Great primer. Not a professional and turned out great.
Date published: 2021-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Primer. Covers well, easy to mix and sprays easy. So far, it has dried hard and sands well.
Date published: 2021-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Owner Very nice layouts smooth. Almost looks as finished paint
Date published: 2021-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Eastwood Eastwood is a great company. Great customer service, they get back to you quickly, great product, I can't say anything bad about Eastwood and I would defiantly but again and recommend anyone to try them out.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great primer First time using this type of primer, after some practice to get the gun settings it layed down nice and smooth with minimal orange peel. After the proper cure time it sands easy.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood export primer Lays down perfectly. Easy instructions on how to mix. Very forgiving. Bonded perfectly with Eastwood’s 2k primer surfacer.
Date published: 2021-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SHOULD GIVE ME A GOOD BASE Good price. Packaged very well. Arrived quickly. I haven't used the item yet, but I have it ready.
Date published: 2021-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don’t buy Stuff is junk, my base coat came up, it never stuck
Date published: 2021-10-05
  • y_2021, m_10, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_51127_bv32_Gray_bv32_Epoxy_bv32_Primer, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.17ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

can epoxy primer be thinned out to be used as a sealer? if so can it be tinted? what is suggested to tint it with?

Asked by: yeah dawg
Yes, it certainly can. Mix this at the 1:1 ratio with the catalyst then reduce this by 20% with any of our Urethane reducers. This can be tinted or the color altered by mixing in any of our other Eastwood Epoxy primer color options; but we can not recommend anything else for this.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-21

I sprayed the car after sand blasting. Then did some metal work.  I need to spray the new bare metal. It has been more than 5 days. Do I have to scuff before putting DTM/Epoxy on top of DTM/Epoxy?

Asked by: Ken65
Yes, it is fully cured at this point so the existing will need to be abraded/sanded prior to proceeding to generate a mechanical bond between the products.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-12

Which primer is better to use this Epoxy or Low Voc Urethane? Thinking of going with a Single stage Urethane paint.

Asked by: Bob76
The two primers referenced are different types completely. Epoxy is a sealing primer and Urethane is a high build primer for block sanding. Please contact us in Tech if you have further questions regarding this. We can be reached by emailing tech@eastwood.com or by calling 800-343-9353.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-12

Can this Epoxy Primer be spay-on over your Rust Encapsulator, Then top coat with a Urethane Single stage Paint. Or what would you recommend.

Asked by: Bob76
Yes, our Epoxy and SSU paint can be used over this without issues.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-07-21

Can you mix black epoxy primer with gray to make the gray a darker shade?

Asked by: Andy
As long as they are both the same type of Epoxy primer from us this would be fine to do.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-06-28

What is the proper procedure for applying filter over this product. direct over product until the 5 day mark... then sand first?

Asked by: Sawbrett
When applying body filler over this primer its best to wait for it to fully cure (about 5 days on average) then abrade the surface according to the instructions for the filler and apply.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-07-12

What is the proper HVLP gun spray pressure for this epoxy primer? Your Product Information Sheet says 8-10 psi yet the the above information says 25-30 psi. Which info is correct?

Asked by: Tinytim
The 8-10 PSI rating is at the gun nozzle the 25-30 will be at the regulator and will be the more popular form of measurement.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-08-12

Is acetone or lacquer thinner okay to use to clean the spray gun with this Epoxy Primer? I know you sell special cleaner for spray guns but I want to use acetone or lacquer thinner but want to make sure that they are compatible with this Epoxy Primer.

Asked by: Tinytim
Acetone and lacquer thinner would work for cleaning your paint gun.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-06-04

First time using Eastwood epoxy primer. after applying the first coat it still looks glossy. I know the mix was correct. It has been 24 hours should I scuff it and apply another coat or wait the full time to dry sand then coat again?

Asked by: Chris C
This Epoxy primer is not sand-able until about a 5 day period on average. You can apply over or wait this time frame for it to fully cure so you can sand before proceeding.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-12

Can I spray a basecoat directly over this?

Asked by: Mrmerc
Yes, our 4:! Base coats paints can be applied right over this primer with no issues.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-05-26

can you spray the epoxy primer over a existing finish or do you have to sand to bare metal

Asked by: Pete
Technically, we can not guarantee compatibility with any products we do not sell. However, As long as you test a small area first and ensure that the existing finish is properly abraded; it can be done in most scenarios.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-12
  • y_2021, m_10, d_22, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_51127_bv32_Gray_bv32_Epoxy_bv32_Primer, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14.69ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood Gray Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Gallons

Starting at$121.96

In Stock