Item # 13676ZP Gray Urethane Primer BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Gray 4:1 Urethane Primer and Activator for Automotive Car Paint - Gallon +

Two Component Eastwood Gray Urethane Automotive Primer and Activator
Two Component Eastwood Gray Urethane Automotive Primer and Activator
Eastwood Gray 4:1 Urethane Primer and Activator for Automotive Car Paint - Gallon + is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 6.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_5
  • loc_en_US, sid_13676ZP_bv32_Gray_bv32_Urethane_bv32_Primer, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 106.9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
Eastwood 2K Urethane Primer Gray- Gallon 4:1
In Stock
$99.99
Eastwood 2K 4:1 Urethane Primer Activator Quart
In Stock
$44.99

Starting at$144.98

Save for Later
Two Component Eastwood Gray Urethane Automotive Primer and Activator

90 day Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Gray 4:1 Urethane Primer and Activator for Automotive Car Paint - Gallon +

Product Overview:

Description

Eastwood Gray Urethane Automotive Primer and Activator

Get ready for the final coat on new parts or autobody repairs with this gray 2K primer and activator combination. High-build urethane primer is a versatile surfacer that can be applied over bare metal, body filler, epoxy primer, existing paint and much more. Since the primer is sandable and fills imperfections as you spray, it’s great if you want to get an older surface perfectly smooth. The activator promotes adhesion for the primer and also helps it dry faster so you can get to painting.

Our 2-component gray automotive primer kit is an ideal all-around solution if you’re repainting an entire restored vehicle or running a professional shop. It’s made in the USA with excellent color holdout at temperatures up to 150 degrees A gallon of primer mixes 4:1 with the activator to create five sprayable quarts, which covers 140 square feet — more than enough for the average car or small truck. Eastwood provides lifetime tech support by phone or email to help you Do the Job Right.

Eastwood 4:1 Gray Urethane Primer Features:

  • Mixes 4:1 with 50241ZP Activator
  • Fills well and builds quickly
  • Dries fast and easy to sand
  • Apply over epoxy primer, body filler, existing finishes
  • Approximate Coverage Per Gallon: 140 SQ FT
  • Maximum operating temperature: 150 Fahrenheit
  • Made in the USA

It fills well, sands easily and provides excellent color holdout for all top coats. Mixes 4:1 with 50241 ZP catalyst. May be applied over Eastwood Epoxy primers, old paint, & body fillers. Ideal for block sanding in 3-4 hrs after application. When primer is mixed 4:1 with activator it makes 5 spray-able quarts. Primer is VOC 4.8 lbs per gallon.

This product can not be shipped to California

Specifications

MIXING RATIO

After shaking/stirring primer, thoroughly mix four parts 2K Urethane Primer Sur - facer with one part Urethane Primer Activator

Option

To reduce film build, 4:1 mixture may be cut by up to 20% with a urethane-grade reducer or other appropriate solvent product. Doing this may also improve the flow and leveling of primer. Eastwood suggests using a Zero-VOC reducer to avoid potential compliance issues. Use caution in mixing materials as epoxy primer may begin to gel after approximately two hours (at 70 °F).

SPRAY GUN SETUP when used as a HIGH BUILD PRIMER SURFACER
HVLP Gun Fluid Tip 1.5-1.7 mm Spray Pressure 8-10 psi at Air Cap (25-30 psi at regulator before gun)
Conventional Gravity Fluid Tip 1.6-2.0 mm Spray Pressure 40-50 psi
Conventional Siphon Fluid Tip: 1.7-2.0 mm Spray Pressure 40-50 psi
SPRAY GUN SETUP when used as a WET-ON-WET PRIMER SEALER
HVLP Gun Fluid Tip 1.2-1.4 mm Spray Pressure 8-10 psi at Air Cap (25-30 psi at regulator before gun)
Conventional Gravity Fluid Tip 1.4-1.6 mm Spray Pressure 40-50 psi
Conventional Siphon Fluid Tip: 1.5-1.6 mm Spray Pressure 40-50 psi
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Eastwood 2K Urethane Primer Surfacer should be applied in two medium wet coats, with a 10-15 minute flash period between each (at 70 °F). Typically, two coats is enough to achieve the desired 2 mil. dry film thickness, though more material may be applied as needed.

Urethane Primer Surfacer may be topcoated after approximately 30 minutes, or up to 18 hours (at 70 °F with sufficient cross-ventilation), with no additional prep required. After 18 hour recoat window, primer MUST be sanded prior to topcoat application for adhesion purposes.

May be wet sanded after 2-3 hours, or block sanded (dry) after 3-4 hours.

In the Box

Guides & Accessories

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thick Primer Really like how it builds up thick to level parts. Hate spraying it speaking for me though. You have to use larger nozzle cause it's thicker which drains my air compressor fast. So you either wait for air or keep spraying and the surface which turns out rougher and smaller fan. Easy mixing.
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thick Very thick make sure you have a larger tip. I sprayed with a 1.7 tip and had to add reducer so I did a 4-1-1 ratio and it sprayed ok then.
Date published: 2021-06-18
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_5
  • loc_en_US, sid_13676ZP_bv32_Gray_bv32_Urethane_bv32_Primer, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 40.3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can I use primer surfacer on a plastic bumper 

Asked by: John
Technically yes as long as an Adhesion promoter is used. However you would be better off to use a flexible building primer such as this: https://www.eastwood.com/sem-flexible-primer-surfacer-aerosol-gray.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-02-14

I bought this primer/sealer about 3 to 4 years ago and wondered about the shelf life??

Asked by: Jason
On average if unmixed, sealed and stored in a temperature controlled environment- this will have a shelf life of about 2 years.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-09

Is this considered a high build primer?

Asked by: Jake
Yes, this is a high build primer option.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-11-09

Can I apply this over small patches of bare metal?

Asked by: Garrett
We do not recommend spraying this over any bare metal spots.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2021-09-15

Can this product be applied over a bumper which is plastic, after scuffing the clear off? 

Asked by: Christopher
Yes, but a Plastic Adhesion promoter should be applied first.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-02

can urethane primer be thinned out to be used as a sealer? if so can it be tinted? what is suggested to tint it with?

Asked by: yeah dawg
Yes, this can be. You would mix this at the 4:1 ratio it calls with the catalyst/activator then reduce that by 20% with any of our Urethane reducers. This can not be tinted or mixed with anything other than more of our same 4:1 Urethane primer.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-02

After dry or wet sanding. To clean the surface for base. Do I use a pre paint cleaner or just water and a rag? 

Asked by: Christopher
You can spray the PRE onto the rag and then wipe to clean. You just do not want to saturate the surface in any way.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-07-26

I plan to repaint a plastic front bumper that has a lot of stone chips. Is this the right product to prime with after sanding?  Will this adhere to the plastic bumper without adhesion promoter?  What should I use to fill the stone chips?  

Asked by: Randy
I would watch YouTube videos of paradise auto body.  Eastwood has gotten terrible with helping others on projects 
Answered by: Christopher
Date published: 2021-07-28

When I put down 2 coats of epoxy wait 45min and put 2 coats of the urethane. How long do I have to wait to throw down the base and clear coats? Is it true also the urethane will shrink if I don’t wait long enough? Thank you 

Asked by: Chris
We state the Urethane can be top coated as soon as 30 minutes. Personally I would recommend waiting a minimum of an hour after applying to avoid shrinkage.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-06-26

I have my car primed in this. I plan on spraying base coat clear coat. What sanding progression do you recommend?

Asked by: Tt48
You will want to start your sanding at 320 grit and then work up to 400-600 grit depending on the type of paint you are top coating with.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-06-08

After spraying on my epoxy primer.  How long after do I have to wait before I can start separating the urethane primer. Over it. And can I spray epoxy or urethane primer over areas where rust encapsolator platinum was put on. 

Asked by: Chris
Yes you can spray over Platinum Rust Encapsulator. Do not understand separating urethane primer? If applying two or more coats of epoxy primer, you should wait 45 minutes to one hour before top coating or applying urethane primer.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-06-25

I sprayed an epoxy primer and I can see some pitting on the hood where some of the filler is. I haven't sanded the hood yet. What is the best way to fix this? More filler?

Asked by: mike
Sand the hood first then use a product like Eastwood's Contour Auto Body Glazing Putty(13521) to fill the pitting. Sand smooth then re-prime and paint..
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-08-08

I put a coat of epoxy primer on and sanded it. I have some small show through spots of metal and filler. Can I put the urethane primer on top or do I need to put down more epoxy?

Asked by: mike
If any metal is showing- more Epoxy should be applied before proceeding with the Urethane primer.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-05-29

Can this be used with base coat/clear coat paints or only single stage urethane paints?

Asked by: RogerK
Yes will work well with those top coats.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-12-06

Can I use this on a fiberglass body?

Asked by: RayV
Yes, this primer can be used on fiberglass with no issues.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-05-19

I have a car that was painted and not done well I have corrected all gap problems and block sanded the car with 220 through the clear and into the base coat.i want to prime with 2x primer over some filler and bare spots is this acceptable

Asked by: WES 66 protour
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_13676ZP_bv32_Gray_bv32_Urethane_bv32_Primer, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 88.46ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood Gray 4:1 Urethane Primer and Activator for Automotive Car Paint - Gallon +

Starting at$144.98

In Stock