Item # 14995Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Patina Preserver Aerosol

Prevent further discoloration and protect patina'd surfaces from corrosion
Prevent further discoloration and protect patina'd surfaces from corrosion
Eastwood Patina Preserver Aerosol is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 13.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_14995Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 85.01ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reg. $19.99 Sale $9.98 Save $10.01
Loading...
Save for Later
Prevent further discoloration and protect patina'd surfaces from corrosion
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Eastwood Patina Preserver Aerosol

Description

Eastwood's high-grade Patina Preserver Aerosol protects the surface of your car and preserves that hot vintage look.

  • 1 can covers 12-16 square ft.
  • Spray coat is highly durable, UV and weather resistant
  • Prevents further rust

This high-quality, inexpensive Patina Preserver provides a clear protective coat on the body of your car that creates a safe barrier between your worn metals and natural elements. This spray-on preservative coat is 100% invisible to the naked eye, as it consists of Eastwood's exclusive micro-thin build, Nano Barrier Technology. This technology protects the surface of your car from further corroding, fading and tarnish, and it is compatible with such materials as aluminum, brass, copper, steel and more!

Warranty

made in Canada

Contents

14 ounces net weight

Accessories

10041ZS PRE Painting Prep, 43098L Nitrile Gloves, 14828 One Step respirator, 14792Z 2K AeroSpray matte Clear, 14791z 2K AeroSpray rat rod Black, 12196Z Chassis Kleen, 13791ZP Ceramic Engine Paint Kit

Application Tips

Make sure surface to be preserved is clean and dry apply 2 to 3 light coats of Patina Preserver. Allow 5 minutes between each coat. Do not move part for at least 15 minutes, product is self leveling and movement may affect final coating. Full cure in 45 to 60 minutes. Clear protection lasts for approximately 12 months depending on conditions.

Safety Information

always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection when using this product. Apply in a well ventilated area away from open flame. Store in a cool dry place. Product has a 2 year shelf life. Consult MSDS for specific safety warnings.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked ok for a year I used it on a tailgate bench I made. It sat outside for a year in the mid-atlantic area. At the end of the year there was no more rust than before, but the paint had become cloudy/faded looking. I first washed it with simple green and a magic eraser, and it didn't look much different, so it wasn't just dirt. I rubbed it with lacquer thinner (as I had done before applying the patina preserver originally) and it brought the color back. I'm assuming that all the preserver had worn off, as it's only supposed to last a year. I'm thinking of using satin clear coat instead for longer lasting results and to save money.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Aerosol Patina Preserver I sprayed on my vehicle about 2 weeks ago. Easy to install and coverage was good. I used on my truck cab top and bed cover which is made of sheet metal. So far it is holding up well to the elements.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but... I have been buying over the last 6-8 months to keep my old truck looking old without it looking any older. I have to reapply about every other month. It gives just a hint of a shine, so it looks natural. I will continue to use it if the price stays steady.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use looks good and easy to apply seams to last . used it last year still a little beading of water.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give it a try Bought to prevent rust. Applied to underbody of new car. We will see.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great I have been using this to keep the patina on my vintage rusty tracker wheels and rusty parts that I want to last without making them look cheesy. It keeps the rusty patina and gives it a great finish without being too shinny. My only hope is that they keep the price down the cans don't seem to cover as much as you would expect
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO GLOSSY! Description said "satin finish" not true left a gloss finish, really not happy with the finish AT ALL! Next time I will go to the hardware store and but satin clear lacquer, at least I know it will not be gloos
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It Dries Flat I thought this product was a great idea, but after applying to the heavily patina'd hood of my old F150, the finish was flat. I wanted a gloss finish, so it looks like I'll be buffing this off and going back to using a lot of wax...
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not too happy I have a old 1972 chevy k 10. The truck is natural patina and rust. After applying i was happy, a bit glossy but looked great. A few days later the truck started turning a chalky white, almost looked like mold. On the panted and rusty spots? The temp is 60s in the day and drops to low 40s in the evening, i pressure washed the truck and let dry before application. I don't know what happened. Maybe a bad batch?
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's ok! 100% invisible to the naked eye NOT TRUE!! My paint is flat satin ivory w/actual rust spots. After using "Patina Preserver" my paint & the rust spots are glossy all the sheet metal has a glossy finish! While it doesn't look bad , I'd rather have the natural flat look! But there is no way I'm going to go through the whole process of removing "patina Preserver" and redoing my whole paint job
Date published: 2016-01-14
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_14995Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 53.64ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

After the product cures, what type of maintenance is safe? Can I use a "waterless wash" type product that does not enhance gloss? Trying to avoid applying water to an already rusty situation. thanks

Asked by: p51vert
Just wash your car like normal is all that is needed.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2019-03-04

after the product is cured is it dry to the touch? my vehicle is parked outside under a car cover. I am concerned the cover will become oil soaked and/or stained.

Asked by: p51vert
The product will reach a full cure in 24 hours, there will be no issue putting a car cover over this product.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-10-22

Would you recommend using this product on a motorcycle frame that has already been treated with Penetrol?

Asked by: MidwestMenaceFabrications
We would not recommend applying this over another product in case of a reaction.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-09-18

What is the best option for a patina'd hood? Patina preserver or the 2K clear? The car is left outdoors, so I need something to be reasonably long lasting. If the patina preserver is the best option - how durable is it when parked outside?

Asked by: Quarterwave
The 2K clear would not be applicable to this sort of application. Patina Preserver would be your best option.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-06-27

Does it need to be re-applied after each wash?

Asked by: Quarterwave
This product does not have to be reapplied after washing the vehicle.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-06-27

I have a rusty hood emblem on a new coat of paint. Will this keep rust from spreading to the paint or staining if it rains?

Asked by: DRMO
We have never tested this product for rust isolation. It might work for a while but we would not be able to guarantee it.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-04-16

Would this work long term on an old freestanding locker? Looking for something to maintain the patina, locker will be kept indoors.

Asked by: Robert
Since this is designed to be a temporary coating we would not be able to say how long it would last.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-04-30

What is the surface prep for this product and can you wax it after for a glossy finish? im dealing with Patina everywhere with some paint and primer depending on how mother nature wore it down.thank you

Asked by: Bad 54
Make sure surface to be preserved is clean and dry apply 2 to 3 light coats of Patina Preserver. Allow 5 minutes between each coat. Do not move part for at least 15 minutes, product is self leveling and movement may affect final coating. Full cure in 45 to 60 minutes. This product is not designed to be waxed.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-08-03

Will this work if wanted to take my old truck down to bare metal

Asked by: 63gmctruck
This product is not designed to cover a bare metal vehicle.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-12-18

Should my windows and chrome trim be covered before spraying on the product, or will it wipe/wash off windows and trim when my car is washed?

Asked by: Doug Banks
All areas that you do not want product on should be taped and covered to protect them from this product.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-12-06

Please explain the difference between this and the Exo Armour?  I have taken my vintage truck down to the bare metal and I want to keep the rust away.  This seems to have better reviews than the Exo Armour, but I want to choose the right product.

Asked by: Kimberly
This product is a temporary coating designed to just last about a year. Exo amour is a two part catalyzed product.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-11-27

So if it lasts approximately 12 months, can you reapply right over it or do you have to remove it?

Asked by: Kimberly
You would be able to reapply over the existing product.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-11-17

I have a 2003 GMA Sierra with some surface rust around the box wheel wells. Would this product stop the rust. I don't have money to paint the truck but I want to stop the rust from getting worse.

Asked by: Cheesecurdguy67
The rust you are referring to will be almost impossible to stop with a coating as the rust is coming from between two welded parts. This product would be a short lived bandaid.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-11-16

Building a bed out of a 51GMC for my son. I want to preserve the patina, if the bed is indoors how long does Eastwood predict the coating will last? I also want to have the coating create a barrier between my 2 yr old son and the years of lead paint

Asked by: casaus19
If left in doors this product can last a long time. We could estimate 1 year or more.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-03-02

I have a 1979 cj7 golden eagle.. the golden eagle logo on the hood is original .. 38 years old.. can I use this product to go over the entire hood thereby protecting the logo?

Asked by: DmacNola
You can certainly apply this over an entire hood.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-01-21

What is the difference between this product and a rust encapsulator? What about the difference between this and Rust-oleum Satin Clear Enamel. Looking for the ingredients list.

Asked by: LPohlmeyer
This is a temporary coating to protect the current state of the surface you spray it on.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-03-02

How many cans required to cover a 1959 Ford F-100 with the three thin coats?

Asked by: gh14028
8-10 cans for an entire vehicle
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2017-12-31

Hello, How many cans should be required to thoroughly coat a 1967 Buick Skylark? Thanks.

Asked by: NZ 67 GS400
For doing the entire car you are looking at 6-8 cans
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-05-21

Can Patina Preserver be applied over existing clear coat to help slow down the spread of light to moderate sun damage (no rust or bare metal)? If so, do I wash and wax as usual after it has dried? I don't mind reapplying more frequently if needed. Thank

Asked by: peterb
Thanks, I'm going to buff/reclear; hoped to use it on other areas to avoid new damage. didn't know if it would adhere to original clear.
Answered by: peterb
Date published: 2017-08-21

Dear Sirs If using the Patina preserver, can i fisnish it with a clearcoat ?

Asked by: Vtech
No its a petrol based product and cannot be cleared over
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-03-05

I want the "flat rust look" to stay just the way it is. I'm worried you will beable to tell it's clear coated. Can you ensure me this product will not make the dull rusty patina "shiny"? Also, I saw where you said this will only protect for 1 year???

Asked by: MC51
The patina preserver will leave a coating that is invisible to the naked eye? so it will not look like the piece was clear coated. Depending on conditions the clear will only last for 12month.
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2017-07-01

What needs to be done to remove the product if you want to paint at a later date? Can it be removed without bothering the original paint? Does it matter if you have old fashioned enamel paint when you remove it?

Asked by: Eddie P
All you would use to remove the product is a wax and grease remover which will not harm the paint already existing
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-08

Can this be used on good bare steel to prevent oxidation/rust during the build. Can it be or should it be removed when the painting process begins?

Asked by: Glenjen
You can either use that or the product fast etch which leaves a zinc phosphate coating behind to preserve metal. Both products will need to be removed and cleaned before painting.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-11-24

does rust patina preserver come in quarts

Asked by: hillguy
No unfortunately we do not have the product in quarts currently only aerosols.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-11-24

What type of prep and cleaning is suggested? I have a 50 Chevy car where the body itself doesn't have much surface rust where as the roof has more of a sun baked look to it , most of it is surface rust but some spots the rust is a little more heavier. 

Asked by: Goofybootz
Just clean the surface with pre painting prep or a wax and grease remover before application.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-11-14

The Top of our Dodge Van has started rusting, does rthis product stop or slow down the rust from increasing? Not concerned about the color, but prefer clear or white...which is Van color.  Van not worth much, but would like for it to last a few more years

Asked by: Alawazeriwakilair
This product will slow the rust from spreading, but a better option would be our Rust Encapsulator. We offer Rust Encapsulator in Clear or White (in addition to other colors).
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2015-05-03

Is this essentially a flat or Matt clear coat? 

Asked by: Tiny
Patina Preserver is not a conventional flat or matte clear coat. It goes on much thinner and is virtually invisible and does not alter the appearance of the patina'd surface.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2015-05-03

What surface prep is required before using this?  Do you need to sand or use prep solvents?

Asked by: jodphoto
Outside of masking any areas you do not want coated, the only prep needed is to make sure surface is clean and dry, then apply 2 to 3 light coats of Patina Preserver. Allow 5 minutes between each coat. Do not move part for at least 15 minutes, product is self leveling and movement may affect final coating. Full cure in 45 to 60 minutes
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-01-27

My vehicle was primered 10 years ago but never painted and has some bare metal spots now, want to keep the rust at bay before I can get around to painting. Is this ok in this situation? Will it affect future paint jobs?

Asked by: Chris
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_14995Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 92.17ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Patina Preserver Aerosol
Reg. $19.99 Sale $9.98 Save $10.01
In Stock