Item # 21320 BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Metal Rod Forming and Bending Tool

Create bends in steel and aluminum rods

Perfect for fabricating new exhaust system hangers
Create bends in steel and aluminum rods

Perfect for fabricating new exhaust system hangers
Eastwood Metal Rod Forming and Bending Tool is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 46.
  • y_2022, m_11, d_27, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_21320, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 51.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$52.99
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Create bends in steel and aluminum rods

Perfect for fabricating new exhaust system hangers

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Metal Rod Forming and Bending Tool

Product Overview:

Description

Easily Form Steel, Stainless, Aluminum Rod and Flat Stock:

Put the right curves into your steel and aluminum rods using this small metal tubing bender. The tool mounts in your bench vise to create repeatable bends of 180 degrees or more in round, flat and square tubes. A rod forming tool is often used to create exhaust system hangers and brackets. It’s also great for hood prop rods, pegboard hooks, wire storage racks and ornamental metal art. The industrial design and construction produce strong leverage to complete the best in seconds. Use it on round stock with a diameter up to 3/8-inch or on ½-inch wide flat stock up to 3/16-inch thick.

Five forming dies with diameters between a ½-inch and 1.5 inches are included with our metal rod bending tool. This produces a lot of options for gradual curves, sharp hooks and everything in-between. See the tool in action by visiting the Eastwood Garage. We offer many ways to form metal that have a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee.

The Eastwood Rod Forming Tool Features:

  • Easily mounts in most vises
  • Creates bends in round, flat or square stock
  • Make bends from 1/2" to 1-1/2" ID over 180 degrees
  • Bend steel, stainless and aluminum rods up to 3/8" diameter
  • Bend flat stock up to 1/2" wide and 3/16" thick
Eastwood Rod Forming Tool
Make everything from exhaust hangers to ornamental iron work.
Eastwood Rod Forming Tool

Warranty

100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Specifications

  • Maximum Round Stock Diameter: Mild Steel=3/8” Stainless Steel= 1/4"
  • Maximum Flat Stock Material Width: 1/2"
  • Maximum Flat Stock Material Thickness: 3/16” for 1/2” wide mild steel or 1/4"" for 1/4” wide mild steel.
  • Handle Length: 12”
  • Constructed Material: Steel
  • Weight: 4.5 lbs.

In the Box

Contents

  • (1) Pin Base (Center Pin = 0.38” Diameter/0.19” Radius)
  • (1) Forming Handle
  • (1) 0.5” Diameter/0.25” Radius Die
  • (1) 0.75” Diameter/0.38” Radius Die
  • (1) 1.5” Diameter/0.75” Radius Die
  • (1) 1.25” Diameter/0.63” Radius Die(1) 1” Diameter/0.5” Radius Die
  • (1) 1” Diameter/0.5” Radius Die

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

Safety Information

This tool has leveraged rotating components that generate greatly amplified crushing and bending forces which can quickly cause severe injury! Keep fingers and hands away from moving parts when operating.

Handling sharp metal can cause serious cuts. Wear thick, well fitting work gloves to prevent cuts from handling sharp metal.

Click here to see safety products

Accessories

Eastwood Rod Forming Tool Steel Construction Bend Mild Stainless Steel Aluminum Rod For Round Flat Square Stock

Application Tips

For use to bending bar stock up to 3/8" thing along with flat stock 1/2" wide and 1/4" thick.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from spot on works exactly as expected. two thumbs way the "F" up!
Date published: 2022-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Simple and it works. You can't buy the material for what Eastwood sells this
Date published: 2022-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should be in everyone's tool kit This super easy to use, portable rod forming tool is hands down the best.
Date published: 2022-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small and mighty I love it!!! So simple, so small and bends rods with ease. So grateful to have found this and to have not gotten the giant rod bender that you have to bolt to the floor.
Date published: 2022-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rod bender The quality seems good the finish could be a bit better. It functions as described. There was a bit of a learning curve. My first couple of bends were not in the correct spots. Not an error of the tool, call it user error (ignorance).
Date published: 2022-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Controlled Bends Performed quite well for bending 3/16 rod to a precise angle by hand. Exactly what I wanted. Much better control than trying to bend rod in a vise with pliers.
Date published: 2022-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Rod Bending Tool I should have bought this 10 years ago! Easy to use, consistent bends, heavy duty rod bender. You couldn't break this thing with a hammer. If you're reading this buy it.
Date published: 2022-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Manufacturing Company Very useful tool!! Easy to be used, instructions are clear.
Date published: 2022-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Hand Bender It's of nice quality and would cost more in time for me to keep making these to the sizes I need that the price tag.
Date published: 2022-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations! This worked great! I was able to make some custom parts out of 3/8 steel rod that perfectly matched the originals.
Date published: 2022-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Steel It is all solid steel. Bent 1/4 inch brass rod unannealed just fine.
Date published: 2021-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paid for itself Works great. This tool paid for itself. I made enough parts with it that the savings from making them myself paid for the tool. That is how tools should be!
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Metal Rod Bender Product as described. Can consistently bend curved shapes.
Date published: 2021-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have tool for any fabricator. Good leverage to help make perfect bendswith little effort. Performs exactly as advertised. Met all of my expectations.
Date published: 2021-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Use Easy to use and produces great results! Would recommend.
Date published: 2021-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for the shop! great little bender! I was able to bend 1/4" rod with ease and accuracy.
Date published: 2021-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bend I was looking forca way to bend small diameter rod consistently and this tool does that for me....it allows me to bring another level of detail to my hobby builds
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tool! This thing is great. What set it apart from some of the other popular rod bending tools, for me, is the inclusion of different diameter forming dies, allowing the user to select specific bend radii. Just a few trial runs with some scrap showed me how well this little guy works. And for the price, I definitely recommend. A cute, consistent and repeatable bends - all the time, every time. I think I may scribe registration marks on the dies every 10 degrees or so, so that I can accurately index my bends for even better accuracy when it matters.
Date published: 2021-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes short work of rod bending I wanted make a set of soft upper doors for my UTV and decided to make a frame out of 3/8" rod and this bender made the job so much easier.
Date published: 2020-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, easy to make complex parts. After contemplating making a tool in my shop, I bought this item to make some parts for my CJ2A Jeep. It actually cost less than the metal to make a bender and I was able to get directly to my project. It easily bent both 5/16" and 3/8" rod to perfectly reproduce the parts I needed to replace. I recommend it highly. Two pieces of advice; oil the pin that the bending arm pivots on each time you set it up. It take a heavy vise and bench to hold it still when bending heavier rod stock.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stainless steel Seems well built have bent 5/16 stainless rod with little effort. Just be sure to practice on some scrap to get your bend dimensions right.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy product Will pay for it self. Pays to get it "before" you need it. Practice with it with some cheap rod and when the time comes you really Need to make a part. Boom - Done.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have in your workshop This tool is simply fantastic. High quality and durable. Makes bending solid rods and stock metals an easy task.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made Product is exactly as described. worked well right ot of the box.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome lil bender Fantastic lil bender !!! Needed it for my art work and has worked flawlessly. Super solid build and simple stupid to use. Allows me to make lil tweeks by just slipping the rod between the rollers and applying pressure side to side to make micro adjustments . The frame and exhaust on this art piece were built with this bender. Unit is worth every penny!!!
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Little Tool The tool came in very good packaging. The tool itself is heavy duty and very well made. The parts all fit very well. I use it to bend little rods for my project. I first tried buying small tube benders from a big box store but it does not work as well as this tool, especially with different dies included in the tool. Since i don't have a bench vise, i just pressed it in between 2 wooden planks. and it works very well. The price is okay too.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and sweet!! Finally something I was looking for, simple and doesn’t brake the bank. The design is pretty solid and beeffy. A+ to Eastwood for another awesome product!!
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for small bend work Works as intended, but need a ring roller or bender for anything big.
Date published: 2022-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gunsmithing Functions as expected to successfully recurve the trigger guard on a Browning shotgun
Date published: 2022-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with purchase! This is a well made tool that works well! There is a learning curve and best to practice with scrap until you are comfortable with using it for your project. I haven’t used it on anything but round stock but am sure it will be just as good with flat or square stock.
Date published: 2022-03-15
  • y_2022, m_11, d_27, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_21320, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can you bend 304 rod exhaust hangers in 3/8 and 1/2” round diameter thickness.  If not, can you bend heated rods on this tool?

Asked by: Duane510
The Maximum bending capacity for this bender is 1/4" stainless, 3/8" will not be able to be bent with this we have not done any testing with heating the rods.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2021-11-06

I need to bend 3/16 inch stainless steel rod stock into a L shape. Do I need to heat red hot at the bend location first of can a just bend it with your jig cold?

Asked by: Gary
You should have no issues making this bend cold.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2020-08-23

How can I set this tool up to make exact duplicates? Can stops be added or do you recommend a different tool?

Asked by: PatV
To make duplicate parts you could put a mark on the base of the tool where you're pulling the handle, or once you get the exact bend you could easily drill a hole in the base and put a small bolt in the base that will stop the handle at the exact spot time after time.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2021-09-16

Great looking tool. Do you sell dies for this tool to bend light metal tubing? 

Asked by: WillG
buy some pulleys and make one. Different sizes pulleys & slot to move one pulley closer or further to grab end closer. something like this.https://www.jegs.com/i/NOS/741/15991/10002/-1
Answered by: Robert
Date published: 2022-02-17

Can you bend 3/16 stainless steel rod round to a simple L shape? And can you accurately bend In the same place every time to make lots of identical ones ?

Asked by: Annie123
Our Rod Forming tool will bend 3/16 Stainless, as for the L shape, the tightest radius using this tool would be 1/2 inch.To make identical bends you will need to make up some type of a jig so that you can start and finish your bend at the same spot every time.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2020-08-23

what are the dies made from? mild steel or a hardened steel

Asked by: monty
The Dies are made from Hardened Steel.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2020-08-23

Can this put a 90 degree bend in 1/2 inch square tubing?

Asked by: Mike
This is not designed for use with square tubing.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-08-23

Think you could bend 2, 3/16" SS rod at the same time, so that the two pieces match perfectly? Or would that really stress this bender? And what are the diameter of the pivot pins?

Asked by: RCDavecustoms
The pin diameter is 7/16". It is advisable to only do one rod at a time.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2021-03-16

I know the specs say max 3/8" Dia material. But, what will happen if I try to use 1/2" rebar? Is it stressing the bender, or is it simply not geometrically possible?

Asked by: TWilliams
The issue with using anything larger than 3/8 it will just put too much stress on the bender and will not be able to make the bend.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-08-23

Can one bend 3/8" steel rod to make hairpin table legs with this?

Asked by: Snflowr700
This unit would be able to bend 3/8th steel rod around any of the dies included with the smallest being a 1/2 inch die.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-23

How close to a full circle can it bend?

Asked by: Mike
There will always be a small section which would have a flat spot due to the way this tool rolls around the radius dies.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-04-28

I need to make some circles. Could this make a coil which I could then modify?

Asked by: Mike
Due to the height restrictions this tool will not create a coil. You would have to create individual circles.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-04-28

What is the MINIMUM size diameter metal rod material that can be accommodated for still making sharp 45 deg. bends?

Asked by: BarkityBark
Since this machine doesn't make sharp bends and simply makes gradual bends around a die you can use very thin wire if you would like. No real minimum size.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2019-08-23

What are the dimensions of the base that fits in the vise? I need to purchase a vise but want the smallest one possible. Product in question: Eastwood Rod Forming Tool Item #21320 Brand: Eastwood

Asked by: G Money
This will simply need the vise to open 2 1/4th inches.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-12-17

I will plate the wires after I bend them, of course but scratches made by dies may stay and show under chrome plating. Do dies scratch steel wires?

Asked by: Sonat
Generally the bender will not leave marks. One thing you can do to minimize any marking is to use another die that comes with the kit on the post that sticks out of the bending arm. This allows the area pressing on the wires to be bent to "roll" around it.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-23

Does bending scar the surface of the wire? Can you post pics of a 1/4" wire's outside of the bend? I don't want to polish before chrome plating after bending.

Asked by: Sonat
With this tool we recommend all forming be done before polishing and plating or painting. It should be done in raw metal.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-23

Could this accurately bend a 1/8" stainless steel rod or is this jig too big for that? Would the dies accommodate this diameter without being too loose?

Asked by: Larry
You can certainly bend that Stainless rod with this tool. The 1/8th inch thickness is perfectly fine for the dies in this kit.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-23

When will this be back in Stock ?

Asked by: Leon
Next batch is due in Early March.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-23

What is the MINIMUM Round Stock Diameter?

Asked by: LuckyDad
There really isn't a minimum size round stock that can be used with this tool since the design would just push the wire around the die.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-08-23
  • y_2022, m_11, d_26, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_21320, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100.45ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood Metal Rod Forming and Bending Tool
$52.99
In Stock