Item # 16040Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Aerosol Matte Red 15 oz

Formulated with SUPERIOR corrosion resistance to "hardware store rust paints" with a great MATTE finish
Formulated with SUPERIOR corrosion resistance to "hardware store rust paints" with a great MATTE finish
Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Aerosol Matte Red 15 oz is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_16040Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 85.9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$24.99
Out Of Stock. Due back February 4
Save for Later
Formulated with SUPERIOR corrosion resistance to "hardware store rust paints" with a great MATTE finish
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Aerosol Matte Red 15 oz

Product Overview:

Description

Stop rust in its tracks! Our "Red" Rust Encapsulator has been formulated with SUPERIOR corrosion resistance to "hardware store rust paints"!

Features:

  • Twice the corrosion resistance of our original formula for greater durability (tested to 500 hours in a salt-spray chamber)
  • Epoxy-fortified for better adhesion and topcoat compatibility
  • Penetrates deeper to prevent rust from spreading or forming, even in hard-to-reach areas
  • Cures faster, and the low-VOC formula is acceptable in California
  • 15 oz. aerosol covers about 10 sq. ft.
  • As seen on "My Classic Car" TV show

Eastwood Rust Encapsulator has been tested by an independent lab to be one of the most effective rust-preventive products yet (tested to 500 hours in a salt-spray chamber). Red Rust Encapsulator is a great primer for floor pans and other underbody parts. It fills tiny pin-holes and surface irregularities, and is compatible with lacquer, enamel and urethane topcoats (including Eastwood Chassis Black). For the absolute ultimate rust remedy, first brush or spray-on Eastwood Rust Converter, then prime with Rust Encapsulator. One 15-oz. aerosol covers about 10 sq. ft., and contains no isocyanates. Heat-resistant up to 400 degreesF. Made in the USA.

Rust Encapsulator for Auto RepairStop rust in its tracks! Eastwood Rust Encapsulator is ideal for parts on project cars that have started to rust, but would be very difficult to replace or fabricate. Simply spray it onto springs, frames, panels and other parts. On properly prepared surfaces that are free of oil and grease, this product seals and stops rust and corrosion from spreading. But it performs even better than our original formula. In fact, our black Rust Encapsulator has been reformulated with TWICE the corrosion resistance! It will also prevent new rust from forming so your parts will remain strong.

Stronger Than Ever If you thought it was good before, wait until you try the newest version of our great anti-rust spray. We fortify our over-rust aerosol with an epoxy that helps it stick to the metal and also helps topcoat paints adhere to the encapsulator. Or you can leave it as is for a cool OEM-black look on your suspension or chassis. The latest formulation is strongly heat-resistant to handle the high operating temperatures of a vehicle and will cure quickly so you can resume your project work.

Outperforms the Competition When tested against well-known brands, Eastwood Rust Encapsulator has proven to be superior in resisting sunlight, preventing rust creep and promoting overall durability. And by using a spray can, you can get to the nooks and crannies that are prone to rusting yet are hard to completely cover with a brush or paint gun. Buy it together with our 1-quart cans of heavy-duty anti-rust and you'll have a full solution to stop rust from eating away at your ride. Eastwood's 100 percent customer satisfaction guarantee means you can shop with confidence every time you visit.

FAQs

Q: Can Red Rust Encapsulator be applied with the Undercoating System?

A: Technically, yes, but this application isn't recommended because Rust Encapsulator requires surface to be free of grease, oil, and loose rust. The best product to coat inside box sections is the 16017ZP Heavy-Duty Anti-Rust (Qt.). This waxy, oily product flows into pinch welds and through rust to seal surfaces from contact with moisture and air, but cannot be painted over, so it's only suitable for inside box sections that don't show. Use lacquer thinner for cleanup.

In the Box

Contents

2%-10% Gloss Level

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

Work in a well-ventilated area when applying this product. The use of a respirator is recommended. Shake vigorously for 2 minutes before spraying.

Accessories

Want 3 Times More Rust Protection?

In places where little or no surface prep can be done, our Internal Frame Coating or Heavy-Duty Anti-Rust (16017ZP) is actually a better choice for applying into blind areas such as box sections.

Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum

Application Tips

Use a wire brush to remove loose rust, scale and paint, and remove dust, grease and oil deposits. Feather surrounding paint with 220-grit sandpaper. Shake can for at least 2 minutes once the mixing ball starts to rattle. Hold the Rust Encapsulator can 10-12" above surface as you spray. A single coat dries to the touch in 20 minutes, and is thoroughly dry in 3-4 hours at 68 degreesF. For greater durability, a second coat can be applied 1 hour after the first. Allow 6-8 hours after the last coat before applying topcoat. Use over or under body fillers.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust encapsulation? Bought a few cans for my 1966 Triumph Spitfire project. Did a good prep. Covered well, dried well, overcoat appeared great. Only question is time will tell..It has only been a few months since completing the project, no signs yet of paint lifting or not adhering to surface. Bought a few more cans for more items. I think will be OK.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage and an excellent base. We painted the inside of my Class 5 Baja with the Red and the outside with the Grey. Coverage was great and I was able to get pretty good control with the rattle can. The red will most likely be the final color for the interior while the grey will hold until I can do a satin red outside.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I completely coated a 56 Beetle my Dad and I restored over 20 years ago. Twenty years in New England weather, outside a lot. It never got a spec of rust over all that time. This stuff WORKS!
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sprays great. Seems great but only time will tell. Sprays WONDERFUL! Lays down flat and has a nice flat / semi gloss finish and primer like texture. I was very pleased. Hopefully it works as advertised for stopping the rust.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I trust Eastwood products I've used the Eastwood rust encapsulator on three project cars so far; A 71 corvette, A 72 Z28 Camaro and a 67 Lemans. I like the way it applies and it seems to have great adhesion and a tough coat strength. I like the red version best because it looks like a factory finish and it's easy to see where it has been applied. Unless I have a new metal surface, I use the rust encapsulator to ensure no minor rust will spread. Very happy with the product.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product The rust encapsulator performs as advertised. For my vehicle,'50 Studebaker, I used the product in hard to reach areas. On older projects, 3+ years, it still holds up ewll and shows no signs of failing. For me, it's the best available.
Date published: 2011-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rust encapsulater It is the best rust preventing material I have found. I restore antiques thus deal with a lot of rust.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Great coverage. Just a little brighter than the original red primer for 77 firebird.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but this it is NOT red I was doing some work on my 1979 Li'l Red Express Truck. I had the doors off and decided to use Eastwood's rust encapsulator product to protect the inner front fender areas. I had plenty of the textured black color product on hand but thought that the "Matte Red" would be a perfect choice for this area, I orders several cans. It worked well to cover the area and I'm sure it will provide rust protection but I was disappointed to find that the color is certainly NOT RED. It turns out to be more of a primer ORANGE color.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Red? The product gives nice even coverage and the top coat adhered well to it. However, note that if you are expecting it to be red, it is not. It is more like brown or rust colored. See picture.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chassis Preventive Maintenance Every few years I reassessed the condition of the frame on my TR6. When I first began doing this I noticed a familiar Red coating on my floorboards in particular. I contacted the body shop where I had my off-chassis restoration performed back in 1987. I inquired as to what type of Primer products that they used on the car. They stated "Eastwood Rust Encapsulator". I have continued the practice of using Rust Encapsulator as I find it the best choice in preventing and slowing down rust formation.
Date published: 2010-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad News I bought 3 cans. Paint went on dry, regardless of how I sprayed it. Finish was rough like sandpaper. When wiped with a rag or even a hand the paint comes off red, staining the surface it touches. EASTWOOD advises sanding it off! A dozen auto trim parts must be redone and more than $ 60.00 wasted. NEVER AGAIN!
Date published: 2021-07-29
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_16040Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 52.48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

DO you guys have this product at local stores or do I have to order from online ? 

Asked by: Jay1504
This product is almost always at local stores. We recommend calling the store first to verify stock.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-06-05

Since the red only comes in an aerosol, I plan to brush in black encapsulator into seams then top coat everything with the red. Is there any compatibility issues in doing this?

Asked by: Jetcat
No issues at all, same formulation just different colors.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2020-08-07

Can you paint a different color over the top of it

Asked by: Sis1957
You can certainly topcoat this paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2020-11-05

What about using the fast etch an then the rust encapsulator?

Asked by: Kevin 3
 But can't you spray rust encapsulator over bare metal with no rust ? 
Answered by: Kevin3
Date published: 2020-11-01

can I spray this over bare metal 

Asked by: K3vin
This product can be applied over bare metal.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-12-28

If I spray completely over everything under my truck, bolts and brake lines, etc.., will I be able to break these loose should they need serviced? What about exhaust pipes and mufflers? Is there anything I should not paint?

Asked by: indyrust
This product does not have a film build any higher than any other paint you would use when it comes to accessing bolts and nuts. As for heat it is good up to 400F.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-06-05

I have an area that only has some rusty spots, but the majority has been wire-brushed down to bare meatal. I'd like to treat the rusty spots with your rust converter. After that, can the Rust Encapsulator be applied over the bare metal areas as a primer

Asked by: SdAufKla
If there is bare metal skip the rust converter and move straight to the Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-06-27

I used Rust Converter and Encapsulator in a trunk of an old Cadillac. The metal was solid; only light surface rust. Can I now GLUE a rubber sound proofing mat on top without harming the rustproofing qualities of the Encapsulator? Carpet to follow.

Asked by: Roxy
You can certainly apply a sound deadening mat over top of our Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-07-10

Can you weld through this paint?

Asked by: JW34
You cannot weld through the Rust Encapsulator. It would need to be removed before welding.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-07-10

Can you apply rust encapsulator over painted surfaces?

Asked by: Heresjohnny66
You can apply the Ecapsulator over top of a painted surface. It will not be able to do the job it is designed to do at that point. It will just be a black paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-17

Some dripped on to our concrete driveway. Is there an easy way to remove it?

Asked by: jccc
Acetone will break down the Encapsulator and allow you to clean it up.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-07-10

I don't prefer using a wire brush to sand the rust off the frame or in the trunk of my car. Can you tell me what correct type of sandpaper I can use before prepping and applying the paints? 

Asked by: Goodcar89
You could use some 80 or 120 grit sand paper to rough the surface up and to remove any loose scaly rust prior to using this product.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-17

I have a red car and it's starting too rust under the cars chassis/frame.  Can I put over that rust with this red Encapsulator so it won't prevent from rusting more?

Asked by: Goodbuick89
yes, rust encapsulator will be a rust preventative and treatment on mild/light rust as well as bare metal.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2017-05-17

Does this product have a shelf life? I found some in the back of my shop while moving and would like to use it with confidence.

Asked by: TXPaul
We recommend 1 year from date of purchase as the typical shelf life of coatings. Depending on how the product was stored, you may be able to use it beyond that 1 year time frame.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-03-27

CAN BODYFILLER AND 2k PRIMERS AND BASE COAT PAINTS GO OVER RUST ENCAPSULATOR AND LAST

Asked by: MGC GT
Yes, Rust Encapsulator can be top coated with any urethane primers or paints with no issues.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2018-05-28

Can I purchase this in ONE gallon?

Asked by: Jermaine
Our Red Rust Encapsulator is only available in aerosols at this time.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2014-11-19
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_16040Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 87.71ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Aerosol Matte Red 15 oz
$24.99
Out Of Stock. Due back February 4