Item # 16257ZP BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum Gallon

Simply the Best Rust Coating available on the market to ensure that your project will continue looking great for many years to come!!
Simply the Best Rust Coating available on the market to ensure that your project will continue looking great for many years to come!!
Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum Gallon is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 136.
  • y_2022, m_5, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_16257ZP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 105.28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$178.99
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Simply the Best Rust Coating available on the market to ensure that your project will continue looking great for many years to come!!

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum Gallon

Product Overview:

Description

Rust Encapsulator Platinum is a high-performance, moisture cured coating that encapsulates and stops rust from spreading.

  • Three times Stronger than Original Rust Encapsulator
  • Metallic Silver Finish
  • Apply Directly Over Surface Rust
  • Heat Resistance to 350 Degrees F
  • Apply with Brush or Spray

Rust Encapsulator Platinum can be used as a top coat or can be top coated with almost any paint. It can be applied over bare metal or surface rusted areas. Brush or spray applied with conventional spray equipment. Rust Encapsulator Platinum is ideal for any type of rusted metal surface and can withstand temperatures up to 350 degrees F.

Warranty

This product has a 2 Year Shelf Life

Specifications

  • Single component aluminum pigmented coating
  • 67% solids by weight
  • Proprietary additive increases product adhesion to rusted steel substrates- unmatched by competitive coatings
  • 1 coat assures maximum protection
  • Brush, roller or spray applied
  • Paint Gun: HVLP gravity or siphon with a 1.4 minimum needle/nozzle
  • Re-coat able after 4 hrs.- if top coating after 48 hrs., scuff surface with 320 grit paper
  • 2 hrs., tack free
  • Easy to apply
  • Topcoat able with virtually any high-quality coating
  • Maximum service temp of 350° Fahrenheit
Recommended Substrates and Prep
  • Apply product as a primer/Encapsulator over clean or corroded (rusted) steel or cast iron
  • Prep surface by mechanically cleaning loose flaking rust with a stiff brush or wire brush/wheel
  • Remove any grease, oils or other surface contaminants with a solvent such as PRE or Acetone
  • Apply by brush, roller or spray

In the Box

Contents

  • (1) Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum Gallon (128oz)

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

  • 1. Clean loose rust and scale with stiff wire brush before application.
  • 2. Clean surface to be painted with PRE Painting Prep # 10041Z or lacquer thinner. Allow to dry.
  • 3. Application Temperature/Time to Recoat: Apply when metal surface temperature is between 40F and 80F. Top coat after 4 hours up to 48 hours. After 48 hours surface must be scuff sanded with Scotchbrite pad or 320 grit paper for maximum adhesion.
  • 4. Brush Application: Apply one medium wet coat with bristle brush to all rusted areas. Assure hard to reach areas are coated.
  • 5. Spray Application: Product can be thinned up to 20% with Xylene. Clean spray equipment immediately with acetone or lacquer thinner.
  • 6. Product Storage: If product is to be stored in this container. Wipe recessed area on can area to remove product before closing lid. Failure to clean area will result in lid bonding to can and destroying product.

Safety Information

Be sure to always wear all personal safety equipment when working with this or any coatings.

Click here to see safety products

Accessories

Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum Gallon UV Resistant Aluminum Finish Easy Apply High-Tech Formula For Vehicles Steel Building Structures

Application Tips

Developed To Be Brush, Roller Or Spray Applied, This Coating Is The Right Foundation And Protection Of Any Rusted Substrate For Use In

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rusty floor pan Works great on rusty floor pan
Date published: 2022-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Encapsulator Seller is easy to work with and replaced a damaged item immediately. Very impressed will do business with them again.
Date published: 2022-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 95 Ford Bronco Rebuild Easy to apply by brush to my 95 Ford Bronco frame and other parts with surface rust. Used it as a topcoat and also applied black topcoat. Dried overnight to ensure dry.
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tough finish. silver color- gray looking. went on great tough finish. not really sandable. was happy with its look and topcoat adhesion.
Date published: 2022-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Work great and looks great I used a brush and you can’t tell
Date published: 2022-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All encapsulator products. I have been using different encapsulator products in the restoration of vintage gasoline pumps and many other items since Eastwood began selling the products. They have done what they say they will do. In dealing with rust, they are the best products on the market.
Date published: 2022-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Platinum rust encapsulator. Looks great, applied with small roller on frame up truck restore.
Date published: 2022-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Opening the can Be prepared to spend time on opening the can. The product is fantastic but the can lid was destroyed by the time I had it opened.
Date published: 2022-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your title is good Use all of it at once cause you will never get the lid off of the can again Works very well
Date published: 2022-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Platinum rust encapsulator Easy to work with, flowed out nicely with brushing and rolling. Very hard when dried. Top coated nicely with extreme chassis black.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Platinum as used in my restoration Despite that I've had a few spots that "bubbled" slightly, this is a great product. I've used POR 15 and I really like how it looks when done(gloss black is really smooth). This product is a "silvery aluminum". It goes on easily with a brush(I've never used air/gun yet). I will admit that one can that I received was a little "thick". I used it anyway and it didn't seem any different than the other I received; though they were more consistent with POR 15. Again, I did have a little bit of "bubbling" take place. But it still cured hard yet flexible. I can actually push on the bubbles with my fingernail/screw driver. But I wouldn't call it "rubbery". I tried to "pop" the bubbles and couldn't do it. I hammered the bubbles and the surrounding area.... also attempted to scratch with flat blade screwdriver. It held up surprisingly well with a slight scar mark from the screwdriver when pressed extremely hard. Once I felt confident it would hold, I scuffed it and applied a second coat. After that first time, I don't second guess; I just apply, wait the directed amount of time and recoat. This stuff WILL glue your can lid on like POR 15. However, there is one thing I notice: I always pour a new can into some plastic paint/mixing cups that I buy(pint size). I then take saran wrap and place it over the top and push it down INTO the Platinum. This pushes out all the air at the top. I have some Platinum that has remained uncured for over 3 months this way. If I remove the saran wrap and use some of the product, I repeat the process. It won't last as long this time because you were dipping a brush with product exposed to air. But I find you can get another 30 days of storage before the top starts to crust over. The POR 15 has never given me past 30 days without the top becoming a hard crust. I've used this on floor pans(top and bottom), trunk areas, inside frames(using daubers or soaked rags on a coat hanger), etc.. The coverage seems to be very good and, again, I've been very impressed with durability. Why it "bubbled" is beyond me. I followed instructions: prep, temp, away from direct sun, etc.. This is why I do not have confidence to use this in an area where it could be visible. I also noticed that I can see a few brush marks occasionally. With POR 15, I've never had the brush marks or bubbling occur and that gloss black looks amazing when new. I've also applied Platinum and later decided to cut out metal and expose "hidden areas". I would apply the Platinum and then install new plate and reweld in new piece. The platinum seems to be fairly durable against the heat. Even still, I would grind back to remove the "blackened" edges, scuff properly and reapply. Personally, I've used 3 quarts on a 71 mustang(and some other odds and ends around the house). That provided me with 2 coats on top of the floor, under the floor, same in the trunk, frame rails, dash area, cowl area, and some areas reached with daubers. For my underside, I waited the appropriate amount of time and covered with 2 coats of Aerosol POR 15 Rubberized undercoating and then again with 2 coats Krylon/RustOleum satin black BBQ grill paint. Though POR 15 looks amazing when done, I have seen it peel/chip BEFORE it even gets used on the road. I also think that POR 15 needs more scuffing for top coating because the gloss black is so "slick". Here's another comparison: I've spilled POR and Platinum on my jeans. The POR.... is very stiff and solid. Once you crack and break it up, you can slowly finger nail it out of the fabric. The Platinum.... I wouldn't say it's flexible like rubber... but it is flexible like a very still piece of plastic that bends. I still have those pants that have been to the washer several times and I have "finger nailed" to try to remove the Platinum. Some spots have come out; most have NOT. On my driveway, I've used my high pressure Hotsy steal cleaner to remove the POR spilled. I've managed to remove MOST Platinum... not ALL spots. I think over time I will this is what I have seen so far. Overall VERY happy. In my 40+ years of automotive experience, I would rate Eastwood Platinum as the TOP anti-rust coatings so far due to durability and flexibility given the abuse, testing, and heat I've applied to it in my process of restoring my car. I hope that when I start using it that it doesn't start to peel; time will tell.
Date published: 2022-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use seems durable Product has been working well on the floor panel replacement project i've been doing. Paint is a bit thick but I was able to thin out with a bit of xylene. Doesn't level out too much, but is totally fine as i'm brushing on and will be painting over. My only issue was with the can it came in. I had to rip off the lid the first time as it was sealed shut and then just put it in another container for future use.
Date published: 2021-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reciew Awesome product. The lid on the can it came in was really stuck on so pretty much had to destroy it to get it off. Had to put it in another container to reuse
Date published: 2021-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ford f350 frame restoration Very awesome results for now let see with the time
Date published: 2021-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best rust encapsulator I ever used Great stuff. Easy to apply, and creates a though protective coating. I used it on the frame and suspension of my 2004 Chevy Colorado which has an advanced case of rust cancer.
Date published: 2021-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Products Works works great used on non auto application. My garage door that was showing rust and corrosion on the metal door panel attachments sticks like glue and drys as hard as nails. This product is not coming off, here comes the Winter and Salt.
Date published: 2021-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust repair old trucks Its best solution for areas where theres gon be rust left, rust encapsulateer bites in to rust /bare metal, i usually brish it on cause i use it truck frames , i strip em down best i can to clean bare metal, then i doa coat R.E. Wait 24 hr then i brush or spray on 2 part ceramic chassis black
Date published: 2021-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy Extremely quick ship on in stock item. Product was easy to use (follow instructions) and hardened up great. Real test will be to see how long product lasts against the liquid rot that CT puts on the roadin winter. Get back to ya in 2-3 years
Date published: 2021-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bonds well It went on easy, bonded extremely well, dried with a hard finish. I coated it with paint and soon a clear coat. It is really difficult to get off your skin, almost a week now. I will most definitely use it again. Acted like it absorbed right into the rust.
Date published: 2021-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust Encapsulator Platinum This stuff worked great and was easy to brush on. I power wired brushed the roof of my trailer and then used pre painting prop to clean it. The Rust Encapsulator covered well with one coat.
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rust inhibitor platinum It immediately stopped the return of rust on an antique stagecoach trunk that I had repeatedly sanded all the rust from!
Date published: 2021-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Platinum Rust Encapsulator I put this on my F250 a few years ago and covered it with chassis black. I got most but not all of the rust off using an angle grinder with while wheel. I live in Michigan and so far it is holding up well
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great paint This is my 2nd quart. The paint is the best I have ever used for encapsulating rust. The only problem I had was with the can covers. The covers bent from opening. So I dumped the paint into a one quart mason jar with a double layer of plastic grocery store bag between the jar and the 2 part cover. Well sealed then and easy to open.
Date published: 2021-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Platinum fingers First time using this product. I chose this to seal the underside and inside of a 69 Bronco because it met the Platinums description to a tee, light rust,old paint , and bare metal. Laid out nice and smooth, top coated it with single stage color four hours later. I do not do this for a living but it is something I am proud of . Most importantly, if this stuff sticks as well to metal as it does to your hands and boots, your hot rod is gonna last forever. I said forever. Reduced it 20% with xylene and sprayed it through a 1.8 inexpensive help gun.
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful hints Super easy to use just make sure when you open the can you use it all or it will thicken up fast on you. Best practice is to pull out small amounts and reseal the can right away. At that point you may be able to store remainder amount for a few months
Date published: 2021-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coating for a Bilco Door You won't find a paint like this at the home center. This is a serious industrial strength rust encapsulator. The interior of my steel Bilco door or cellar bulkhead was covered in surface rust due to high humidity. I wired brushed the surface to remove the loose rust and paint before applying the Rust Encapsulator. It went on easy and looks great and cleans up with brush cleaner. One quart was enough for two coats on the interior only. Two quarts to cover both the interior and exterior with two coats.
Date published: 2021-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust Encapsulator Platinum I used a brush to apply the Encapsulator which went on smoothly with good coverage. A little goes a long way. The product seemed to absorb into the rust, not just cover it up. When dry the finish seemed hard and durable. When storing remaining product for later use a thick skin developed on the surface of the paint even with the can tightly sealed. The paint under the skin was not adversely affected. Overall I am very please with my results using the Rust Encapsulator Platinum.
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Covers great and dreams to hold up well. Good price and Eastwood quick and awesome service makes this a product I have used multiple times now.
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff!! Applies easy and coats very well. I am very happy with how it looks as well as it’s apparent durability once it’s dry, seems to dry as hard as powder coating. Doesn’t come off skin very easily so be careful to avoid getting it on you, wear gloves! Very satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy application Are use the rust encapsulater on the frame for my Jeep. It went on very nicely with a brush, and I used the Eastwood epoxy topcoat for a very nice finish. It looks better than new! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2021-08-12
  • y_2022, m_5, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_16257ZP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 35.16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can I single or 2 stage topcoat platinum encapsulator with urethane single stage or basecoat clearcoat?

Asked by: Cdah
You will want to spray a primer coat such as the epoxy primer over the Platinum before using an automotive topcoat finish
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-04-06

My product arrived frozen, how will that effect it, should i get it replaced?

Asked by: needtoknow
Please contact our Customer Service team by emailing help@eastwood.com or by calling 800-343-9353. This will need replaced
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-04-01

Can I use pur15 top coat on top of the Rust Encapsulator?

Asked by: Jorge
We do not recommend using the POR 15 top coat over the Platinum
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-03-30

What type of roller is recommended? Nap?

Asked by: WAXOPIE
If you plan to use a roller to apply this- the use of a foam roller would be best.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-03-30

How many sq ft does one gallon sprayed on covers

Asked by: Joe CY
Roughly about 384 sq. ft per gallon.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-03-29

Is it possible to adhere X-Mat to Rust Encapsulator Platinum

Asked by: Randy101
Once fully cured there will be no issues applying X-Mat over the platinum
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2022-03-30

After applying rust encapsulator platinum how long do I need to wait before I apply topcoat over top of the rust encapsulator platinum.

Asked by: Kev C10
You can topcoat this as soon as 4 hours after applying.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-03-03

Will this product be ok if it freezes during shipping?

Asked by: Cameron
This product should not be used if it freezes during the shipment process.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-02-02

Does it work on galvanized metals?

Asked by: JimboTexas
This will adhere to galvanized surfaces as long as the surface is thoroughly sanded/abraded and cleaned prior to applying.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-21

I plan on sandblasting my frame , can i spray this on the frame , then spray eastwood xtreme chassis black high gloss over it.

Asked by: Jimm
Absolutely, this would be a great sequence to follow!
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-15

can this be applies in winter

Asked by: butch
This can be applied and left to cure in temps as low as 40F but not lower.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-14

How long is the shelf life after opening container?

Asked by: Td91
If completely sealed back up, stored in a temperature controlled environment and none of the material gets into the lip on the lid- It should have around a 2 year shelf life on average.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-09

Can Platinum encapsulater be color tinted

Asked by: Vane
Platinum should not be tinted. It is designed to be applied as is only.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-06

Can this be used on bare metal (new floor pans) and does it come in aerosol cans?

Asked by: Brian 444
Yes, as long as the surface is sanded with 320/400 grit paper and cleaned and de greased first. This is not available in aerosol form; only pints, quarts and gallons.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-12-05

Can this be used on a oil pan to stop rust and can you put j b weld over it

Asked by: Werner74
Yes, this should not be an issue.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-11-30

Can this be used on auto body either before body filler or direct to rusted panel prior to primer?

Asked by: Dion
Yes, this can be used in either of the above scenarios.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-05-01

Hi is this paint available in gray

Asked by: Bozzman
This Platinum only comes in matte silver. We do have our Original Rust Encapsulator in gray in aerosol form here:https://www.eastwood.com/rust-encapsulator-gray-15-ounce-aerosol.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-11-18

Snowplow is starting to get rusty. Can I simply apply this product over the rough areas or will all of the existing paint need to be removed? And if not, what product should I be looking at?

Asked by: deerslayer
Technically we can not guarantee compatibility between our products and products we do not sell. However, in most scenarios you are fine to scuff, clean and apply over. We would have to advise you to test a small area first before applying liberally over everything.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-01-20

Can this be sprayed on with a HVLP gun at a colder tempature?

Asked by: Birch
Yes, this can be sprayed on in temperatures as low as 40F.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-11-12

Do you have to reduce encapsulator platinum to use in spray gun?

Asked by: Scooner
It does not need to be reducing; it depends on the needle nozzle size you plan to use.. If you decide to then it can be reduced up to 20% with Xylene.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2022-03-25

Can a primer sealer be put over this product before my final top coat, or is there something else be used for light surface rust on body....

Asked by: Dave
Yes, our primers with the exception of a Self Etching can be used over this prior to applying your top coat.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-10-26

Does this need to be sanded before applying body filler?

Asked by: ColorMan
If waiting 48 hours or longer to apply over then the surface will need to be sanded prior to applying your body filler.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-10-26

HI, is this product suitable for interior use? I need to coat black steel pipe that has rusted due to condensation. If you have another product that is more suitable please let me know. Thanks

Asked by: Andy
If the area applied to is well ventilated until the coating is fully cured; this should not be an issue.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-10-13

Can you weld to it after it dries

Asked by: Scott
This product can not be welded on.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-10-24

I am thinking about using this on a stock tank turned fish pond using pond shield epoxy, which says to first use a self etching primer. Would a self etching primer be appropriate to use on top of the platinum? If not what product should I use for the rust

Asked by: Jenn
Self Etching primer can not come in contact with any of the Encapsulators we sell- it will chemically react.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-10-06

I like the look of the platinum. Do you have to topcoat this or will the platinum be just as durable? 

Asked by: Cody
The Platinum is very durable and UV stable on its own and does not technically require a top coat. However, body fillers, primers and paints can be applied over if you would like.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-29

How much coverage to a quart

Asked by: Pappyx7
One quart of this covers roughly 96 sq. ft.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-28

Can this product be used on clean bare metal to seal the inside of a tank that holds transmission fluid?

Asked by: Bena
This would not be recommend for the application in reference.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-16

Can I use Platinum Rust Encapsulator over latex paint. Its for an outdoor project that was previously painted with latex.

Asked by: Chris
This should not be used in conjunction with latex paints.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-10

Are you able to top coat rust encapsulator platinum with rubberized rust encapsulator or would chassis black be a better option for durability. 

Asked by: Cody
Either the Rubberized Rust Encapsulator or any of our Chassis Black paints can be applied over the Platinum without issues.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-09-10
  • y_2022, m_5, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_306
  • loc_en_US, sid_16257ZP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89.3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum Gallon
$178.99
In Stock