Item # 14147Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood 2K Ceramic Aerosol Underhood Black Spray Paint

Durability and precision of a 2-component coating, without the paint gun
Durability and precision of a 2-component coating, without the paint gun
Eastwood 2K Ceramic Aerosol Underhood Black Spray Paint is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2022, m_10, d_5, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_14147Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 86.77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$29.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Durability and precision of a 2-component coating, without the paint gun

90 day Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood 2K Ceramic Aerosol Underhood Black Spray Paint

Product Overview:

Description

Eastwood's 2K Ceramic Underhood Black Aerosol allows you to paint with the durability and precision of a two component coating without the paint gun!

  • 2-Component Paint Technology
  • Two Chamber Design Aerosol
  • Most Durable Aerosol Paint Available
  • Sprays Like a Paint Gun
  • Approximately 20% gloss finish

Formulated with Eastwood's proprietary technology to provide a long lasting and durable finish, while keeping its beautiful finish for years. The innovative nozzle and valve technology, combined with its two internal chambers ensure the right ratio is mixed every time. Sprays like a gun with a broader spray pattern than conventional aerosols and no mess to clean up. You'll achieve professional results from an aerosol. Coverage approx 10 sq ft

Warranty

90 Day

Specifications

Click Here for product info sheets

In the Box

Contents

12 Ounces net weight

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection when using this product. Product contains Isocyanates, wear NIOSH approved breathing equipment. Always use in a well ventilated area away from open flame. Consult MSDS for specific safety warnings

Accessories

Application Tips

Before activating, shake aerosol vigorously for 2 min. Take red button from cap. Turn aerosol by 180° and attach button to pin on aerosol bottom. Place aerosol on firm ground upside down. Press red button with the ball of your hand until stop is reached.After activating, shake aerosol again vigorously for 2 min. Pot life is 48 up to 72 hours at 68 degrees F.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Spray, goes on easy. I just sprayed the underside of my 65 Mustang hood. It went on smooth and easy. It took a little less then 2 cans.
Date published: 2020-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent paint I bought this to paint the firewall/inner fenders & components for my Torino. Preparation is key. Paint laid down perfect, no runs or spatters. Make sure you wear full PPE as the fumes are strong. One it dried I am amazed how tough it is. It took 5 cans to do the job, I would recommend you buy a couple cans extra as there is less paint in the can than your average can of spray paint.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy To Use......Looks Great.. Used the underhood black 2k aero for the first time after using auto parts store spray cans for years. I am hooked, sprayed 2 coats of 2k aero epoxy primer and 3 coats of 2k aero underhood black. It laid down nicely and no gun to clean.....no comparison between the auto part store spray can and the eastwood......worth the money if you want to do it right and don't have painting equipment or just have a small project. used the the can gun spray handle....also worth the money.
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Paint is Kicking Butt and taking names! I have used this a few times on the Cowl of 60's and 70's muscle cars. Long ago I used the regular #10024z spray can. The color and sheen was perfect but I always wanted a 2k paint where the windshield sits to Ensure its all stuck down well. This 2k paint provides that total bonding security for the window area, and the perfect factory look we are going for. This 2K can spray out an overlap like a real gun so No dry areas or zebra areas for this paint! Its Not made to paint sideways.. just an FYI.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent paint I've used Rustoleum in quite a few applications but this paint is different in that it goes on with an excellent finish, the only a few minor issues are that the instructions "must" be followed exactly (shake the can vigorously before and during mixing for the amount of time specified) also the can must be held upright while painting (paint tends to spit when the can is held at an angle) and because the paint and primer are pricey and has a shelf life of 48 to 72 hours paint as many components as possible otherwise this pricey paint will go to waste, the motorcycle head and engine covers and a lathe headstock I painted came out phenomenal, the finish was excellent, Rustoleum didn't even compare.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lays down amazing! Title says it all, this stuff lays down super smooth like butter. The finish when dry is perfect amount of flat to gloss and very black not grayish ike some flat flat blacks tend to be. Awesome stuff.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2k aerospray ceramic it covers as advertised looks like the factory paint
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product This product is abut as good as you can get without a HVLP gun. If you must use a rattle can, this is the one to use. Do wear a respirator, not just a dust mask, as the fumes from this product are much harsher than typical spray paint.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product, works very well. Easy to use Great !!!
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not your old 'rattle can' any more!!! I do restorations and mods and i needed a product for behind the grille, under the fenders, brackets, etc... and my painter and myself love it. It is touchy when spraying, it covers great and sprays like a paint gun. Will be a part of my resto everytime.
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome flat finish for my motorcycle I used the Epoxy Primer and Underhood black to repaint my V Star 1100 and it turned out great. Can is a little sensitive to position, so do your horizontal surfaces first then vertical to get every last drop of paint out of the can. It really does spray like a paint gun and the additional ceramic should be welcome when dealing with rocks and other hazards on the road.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I've bought this product several times for small repairs pending a total repaint. Go on easy and is very durable.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for those who do not have an real spray gun! So I bought 3 cans almost 2 years ago to spray my cowl and top of my dash after I got done rebuilding it. Well I didn't get to use them til last month. I stuck them in the paint shaker for like 5-10 mins to make sure it was well shaken. I used a tack cloth then bulldog adhesion promoter sprayed it worked great! I'm only knocking off 1 star bc you should spray your horizontal surfaces first bc when the can gets toward the bottom it does like to spit and sputter a little when spraying at odd angles. Other than that it laid flawlessly.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great finish The finish on product and coverage was great. Only dissapointed with the amount of product. Seemed to give out quicker than other spray can same size.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product Just used this product on the engine compartment of our project vehicle, wish it had more texture but looks better than we thought. We would buy again
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Matches non-aerosol version very well Great product easy to use, does spray almost like a spray gun. Wish Eastwood would open a west-coast distribution so that it doesn't take a week to get aerosol items via ground delivery.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Greatttt stuff This stuff lies flat works really well but 3 cans to do the engine bay and 2 for the hood gets pricey wish they could lower the price point to 15 a can...
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from underhood looks real nice. sprayed the underside of the hood and the inner fenders. nice and flat. Some one said to make sure to keep the can up right, good tip sprays better.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from solid product I paimted the exterior of my 1975 Jeep. The primer and the black went on easy. Odd angles should be done early in the can, then go to flat areas. A more vertical can position. For the cost and quality, we will see over time it is a great solution. Not for a show car.
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eastwood 2K Ceramic Aerosol Under hood Black The reason I gave these 3 stars, I bought Two cans the Second can even after shanking it per the instructions it did not lay down evenly it would shoot a normal pattern then the pattern changed and it started to spit, The only other was the Shipping took 11 Days to come to me, too slow.
Date published: 2021-05-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy application, nice finish If it sticks to the car as well as it sticks to my fingers, it should last forever! I had to sand some off to do some additional body work and it took some work, so i do believe it will be durable. I really like the finish. It goes on even and is very forgiving. I did have one can that ran out of pressure before the product ran out, kind of strange. I would definitely recommend this product based on my experience.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to apply I used this 2k underhood black and am very disappointed. One problem is you cannot hold the can to spray downward to hit horizontal surfaces before the paint flow slows down causing an inconsistent pattern. You need to uprite the can and start again. This leaves inconsistent patterns. I also made sure to shake the can fir a total of over 6 minutes. No less than 3 minutes initially, then at least three minutes after mixing. Also there is no information on recoating times or dry times. No information on whether to scuff after said amount of hours. At $27 dollars a can and I used three can of paint and 3 cans of primer just on my engine compartment. If your looking for a show quality then go another route.
Date published: 2022-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK It is a fair product! Was a little disappointed with it since I was satisfied with the primer. The paint seems to lay down OK except it is picky about the way you hold the can. The paint does not last long and it sputters as it gets low. It also seems to run out of paint to fast. I would recommend looking at some other black paint, although it looks fair. Two cans and only one side and the ends of my radiator support painted. I still have one side I did not even touch. With two cans used, you would think I could have covered both sides. I only sprayed one coat.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed with the delivery of the spray paint. I used this product to paint the underhood area of my 1964 Galaxie 500 Fastback after an underhood fire. The paint sprayed well initially but stopped spraying. I inverted the can several times and prayed hoping the air pressure would clear the clogged nozzle, but the procedure did not work. I resorted to using the Eastwood Pre-Painting Prep in the aerosol can with the red extension nozzle to clean the paint spray nozzle from both ends. Once I did this, the paint began spraying smoothly again. I read (after the fact) at least one other customer had the same experience.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Limited coverage area Sprayed OK but coverage are is very limited. Would be OK for small areas but uneconomical for larger areas. I will probably stick with quarts of Underhood Black rather than use this again.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 4th can still bad results Smoothed my firewall epoxy primed to seal, then did additional polyester filler to smooth followed by additional coats of high build primer. Finished with 2k Underhood black and each time I have done it. It looks like crap! The paint flows well just like all the other Eastwood products but upon drying I have tiger stripes all over the place. So naturally when I’ve gone to these great lengths already and poured countless hours into the project, I don’t want to get to the 10yd line and kick a field goal. I want it to be perfect just like my bodywork, and prep work up to that point. So I go back buy another can scuff, prep, shoot again trying to be mindful of avoiding tiger stripes. I make sure to stay far away from panel and use light fogging coats. That finish looks good wet and drys in a splotchy overly dull, inconsistent finish as well. So after a few days of walking past it in the garage and my inner perfectionist telling me “You’ve gone this far, get it right” I drive the 40 miles to my local Eastwood store plop down another $27.00 For another can and try again. Same story same results. I have used 2k epoxy,2k chassis black, high build primer, internal frame coating and original Underwood black all have covered perfectly and given me no issues or even made me consider having to re coat the piece. But the 2k Underhood has turned out like crap 4 times. That’s 4 different cans at $27.00 a piece. That’s a pretty expensive learning curve for a non noob that knows what they are doing. I so desperately wanted the 2k to work on the firewall because of the chemical resistance to oil,trans fluid, gas spatter etc, But at this point I think I’m going to go back to my tried and true HPLV gun and Underwood black quart of laquer and add some harder I have lying around and see if I can achieve that deep uniform Underwood black with some added durability that we all know makes a OEM GM A body restoration pop when you open the hood.
Date published: 2020-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can Leaked & Expensive for the Coverage. When I used the button to activate, the bottom exploded, leaked, and sprayed everywhere. Once it stopped, the coverage wasn't as much as any other can spray paints. The paint seemed very durable, though. It was very tough to remove any overspray, so I bet it will last. Dollar for dollar, I'd spend my money on 4 or 5 regular spray can paints...
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not too thrilled For the price of this stuff, you'd think it would be the best thing since sliced bread. Not so in my opinion. I can't speak for the longevity of the product and I certainly hope the 2 part setup lasts longer than my trusty bottle of RustOleum 7777 Satin Black but at this stage, I wish I had used the RustOleum. The product seems to be incredibly particular about being upright...if you turn the can on it's side for more than about 1 second, it starts spitting erratic. Secondly, each of the 3 cans I've used so far have run out of black paint long before the can feels empty and it's thus, still spraying a clear substance which I'm guessing is the 2nd part? I've shaken each can for a good two minutes each time and this still happens. Makes me thing the 2 parts are not mixing as planned. Finally, my finish is quite bumpy like sandpaper. Not sure what to do about it. My cans of RustOleum have never left me with these kinds of dilemmas and the real bummer here is, I painstakingly took my engine bay down to bare metal. Really hoping I don't have to re-sand everything and apply the other product. To note, this is only the Underhood 2K spray. The 2k Primer I used worked very well with the exception of being touchy about being perfectly upright. The primer covered nicely and I'm only having issues with the actual paint.
Date published: 2014-10-02
  • y_2022, m_10, d_5, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_14147Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can this product be applied over your self etching primer

Asked by: Mike D
This can be applied over self etch.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-09-15

Can you use Eastwood 2k Underhood Black over Eastwood Rust Encapsulators?

Asked by: Mike
Yes, this paint can be applied over the top of any of our Encapsulators except for the Rubberized Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-09-19

Can this product be used with good results to paint components and larger areas w/o removing them, or the engine itself, from the engine bay? This is my 1st time doing such a DIY project involving paint so I'm concerned that the can must remain vertical.

Asked by: rocky1
Spray cans of any type work best when held vertical. The can will spray up to about a 45° angle and still retain a good spray pattern.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2020-07-31

For apply over front panel surrounding radiator and engine bay that has been painted flat black previously of unknown quality paint - must a 2K primer or may a regular primer be used first Self etching primer for difficult areas to sand or entire areas?

Asked by: stanley
If the existing paint is old it must be scuffed down and wiped clean and any one of our primers could be applied over the existing paint.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-09-19

what is the recoat time/ prep, this will be going over a rust encapsulator on a radiator bulkhead.

Asked by: FalconCharlie
The flash period for this 2K can is 5-7 minutes between each coat (if 70F and above). You have up until 12 hours since applying the previous coat to top coat. If you wait any longer you would first need to scuff with 400-600 grit paper first.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-09-03

Do I need to primer a sanded surface first before applying this underhood black?

Asked by: Adam
This product must be primed before applying.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2019-06-30

My classic mustang engine bay is currently painted black (I can only assume from the factory), can I rough up the existing paint and then use this over the top, or do I need to use the 2k primer first? Looking for your guidance on this.

Asked by: Glenn
We can not 100% guarantee compatibility with paints and coatings we do not sell. However, you should be fine to just scuff with 400-600 grit paper and apply this directly over your existing finish. I would just highly recommend doing a small test section first.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-03-08

I want to use the under hood black to paint my motorcycle. Do you have to dry or wet sand between coats of paint? What is dry time between coats of paint?

Asked by: Andy
The 2K Under hood black does not need to be sanded between coats, as long as you did an adequate job of spraying the first couple of coats. Re-coat window time would be 15 minutes to 1 hour. anything longer than that it would best to lightly sand.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2018-12-11

How much surface area can one can cover?

Asked by: Ezekiel
Each can will cover approximately 10 SQ FT.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-11-17

Can the 2k Ceramic Aerosol Underhood (black) be used on a fiberglass hood?

Asked by: wseagle22
This coating is not an issue if applied to fiberglass. However, you will want to apply a primer first such as our 2K Epoxy primer: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-s-2k-aerospraytm-epoxy-primer-gray-black.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-09-27

First time attempting a paint job. Do I need to go over this with a matte clear?

Asked by: Orlandoorosco
This underhood black does not require a clear over top.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-11-17

What is the difference in appearance between the rat rod satin black 2k and the underhood black 2k? Are they the same % of gloss and depth of color? I imagine they must be different somehow or Eastwood wouldn't offer two satin blacks. Thank you!

Asked by: csmerrick
Our Rat Rod black is approximately 30% gloss while our Under hood black is approximately 10% gloss. The under hood has much less shine.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2019-04-14

What is the drying time at room temp 72°F (23°C) ?

Asked by: Eastwood
Since this is a catalyzed product the cure time will be 24 hours.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-27

I have already used the regular underhood black and now that there is a 2K version would like to repaint some areas under the hood but not all. Will the two paints react with each other and will they match being two different types of paint.

Asked by: Slim71
When it comes to the paints matching they are certainly designed to be the same gloss level. Being a catalyzed paint vs non catalyzed and spray technique can change the gloss level slightly. When it comes to applying this Catalyzed paint over top, we have never tested in such a manor to guarantee there would be no reaction. We recommend sticking with the paint you have already used for these reasons.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-27

Two questions. How many cans are necessary for the average under-hood area (firewall and inner fenders)? And, if at some point somebody sprayed a non-catalyzed paint in this engine compartment (not sure how I would know), will this paint react with it?

Asked by: crazycasey
Since each can will cover approximately 10 SQ FT it would most likely take 3 cans. As for going over Non-catalyzed paint it would be impossible to say 100% if it will or will not react. Since it is long dry it will minimize and chance of reaction and you can take it one step further by putting the first coat or 2 on light minimize the solvents hitting the old paint.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-11-17

Is this resistant to brake fluid?

Asked by: Machm1970
Since this is a catalyzed product it will be the most chemical resistant chassis paint.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-10-15

Looking to paint my firewall and inner fenders. Can your 2K high gloss clear be used over this? and will the 2K clear give this black a glossy finish

Asked by: RobbieL
You can clear over this paint, however we have never tested to see the exact outcome. If you are looking for a glossy finish in the same durable catalyzed finish we recommend looking at our Gloss Ceramic Chassis Black.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-11-17

How long will it last in the can after it is mixed?

Asked by: lizzard
At 70F the pot life on this can will be about 48 hours.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2022-05-06

Can you spray this over Eastwoods self etching primer?

Asked by: The Judge
This product can certainly be applied over our self etching primer.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-02-08

I need to order more so I will have at least a week between coats. Will I need to sand the surface with 320 before applying a second coat? The spec sheet is not clear. Thanks. 

Asked by: 1275GT
At that point, it will be fully cured. You would want to abrade the surface with a red or maroon scotch brite before applying another coat .
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2017-02-08

Is primer necessary over aluminum?

Asked by: Jeremy73
You would still want to use an Epoxy or self etch for good surface adhesion before this paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-02-08

For painting a motorcycle tank with this product, is it recommended to use a clearcoat protective finish? 

Asked by: Ed90
A clear coat will not be necessary with this product.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-02-08

Hello, Can you use this paint for fiberglass or plastic motorcycle fenders?  If not, is there an equivalent?  I'd like to paint my tank with this, but fenders are not metal.

Asked by: mike131997
As long as the surface you are painting is prepped and primed with either Epoxy or Self etch you will be fine to apply this paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-03-31

Can high gloss clear be applied over this product??

Asked by: Paul
Yes, you can apply the 2K Aero-Spray high gloss clear right over it with no issues. Just make sure to allow at least 20 minutes for flash time.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2017-02-08

How long to wait for a second coat?

Asked by: rairoa
For the second coat I would recommend 20-30 min.
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2017-02-08

Do you know how many cans it took to paint the motorcycle in the video? I am wanting to do the same with my bike. Thank you

Asked by: WhickeyGrail
I'd recommend picking up 2-3 cans to do a tank and a set of fenders. Two cans will most likely be sufficient, but you may use some of the third depending on the size of the bike parts.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-07-29

What is the maximum operating surface temperature this paint can withstand? 

Asked by: Anonymous
250 degrees is the upper limit of any automotive urethane paint.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2017-02-08

can 2k be sprayed over enamel paint

Asked by: hippy
No, any catalyzed paint should only be applied over other catalyzed automotive materials.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2016-05-24

What primer or sealer should be used prior to applying this 2K ceramic under hood black?

Asked by: dmrwhite
This can be used over our 2k AeroSpray Epoxy Primer, 2K AeroSpray Urethane Primer or over Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-12-09
  • y_2022, m_10, d_5, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_14147Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 152.82ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood 2K Ceramic Aerosol Underhood Black Spray Paint
$29.99
In Stock