Item # 51653Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood 2K Self Leveling Seam Sealer Cartridge

2-component, self-leveling seam<br>sealer leaves a factory-like finish
2-component, self-leveling seam<br>sealer leaves a factory-like finish
Eastwood 2K Self Leveling Seam Sealer Cartridge is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 14.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_51653Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 80.49ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$35.99
Loading...
Save for Later
2-component, self-leveling seam
sealer leaves a factory-like finish
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
Eastwood 2K Self Leveling Seam Sealer Cartridge

Description

After stripping a car or repairing a panel you should replace the seam sealer to protect your work from the elements.

  • Fast Setting and Curing
  • 2-Component Formula Outlasts Regular Seam Sealer
  • Compatible with Urethane and Epoxy Topcoats
  • Ideal for Trunks, Floors, Drip Rails, Core Supports and Rocker Panels

Eastwood's high-solids 2-component Self-Leveling Seam Sealer leaves a factory-like finish and will not crack or sag. Seals cracks, crevices and body seams as well as waterproofs and insulates. The specially designed 2 chambered cartridge and mixing tip ensure that you lay out a perfectly mixed bead. Work time is 5-10 minutes, paintable in 30-60 minutes and fully cured in 4 hours. Use on firewall and trunk seams, fender extensions, tail light openings, etc. Uses 26:1 application gun, item 46613

Warranty

Made in Canada

Contents

250 Ml cartridge includes 2 mixing tips

Accessories

10041Z PRE Painting Prep
31050 Flexible Caulk Strips
16006Z Cold Galvanize primer
16014Z Self Etching Primer
19613 320 Grit 9x11 sand paper
20547 12 pack of mixing tips

Application Tips

Make sure vehicle is on level ground. Remove old sealer. Wipe down area with PRE (10041z) to remove any debris and dust. Sand surface and apply primer/surfacer, let dry and sand with 320 grit abrasive. Install mixing tip. Put tube in 26:1 application gun (46613) and equalize the two parts until they are uniform in color. Apply product to surface. This product will flow out and self level. Produces approx. 9 feet per 250 ml cartridge for a 3/8 x 3/8 bead and approx. 20 feet per 250 ml cartridge for a 1/4 x 1/4 bead

Safety Information

always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection when working with chemicals consult MSDS for proper safety warnings

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far Pleased With Results I used Eastwood's black cartridge seam sealer to do the drip rails on my van. After a few months I noticed it was shrinking and letting loose from the sides where I had applied it thick in 2 coats. It was okay where it was no more than 1/4" thick and in one coat. I dug out the bad sections which amounted to over half of it and ordered this stuff. First I discovered that the cartridge nozzle was too wide to fit in my old caulking gun so I measured everything with a caliper and found a cheapo unit at a store. I put a level in the van's drip rails and leveled it off with a floor jack. The stuff flowed out slowly like a blue colored honey-viscosity goo, maybe because I didn't cut the end of the nozzle larger. The only real problem I had was with the cheapo caulk gun hanging up. Overall this was painless to use if you level the vehicle and follow directions but I did discover a few places where it didn't quite reach the underside under the edge of the drip rail. By then 4 minutes had passed and the goo was setting up in the nozzle too much to use. I just removed the nozzle and squeezed some out into a cup then mixed and applied it with a piece of old credit card and let it drip into the voids. If this stuff holds up and doesn't shrink then it'll be well worth the money. I'll be happy to use it again in the future if I ever need to.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised I used this to replicate the factory trunk gutter sealant. It work just as it was stated and I had no issues.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tempermental but effective!! This stuff is great! Its very tempermental so VERY VERY VERY short bursts on the trigger will result in seam sealer being expelled for 3-10 seconds. Which can be annoying if you dont need that much. However I soon learned that it takes a delicate trigger finger and a lot of patience. This product works great and Im actually going to buy another catridge. Much better then me welding all the panel seams to shave my engine bay!
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great. If you follow the directions it works perfectly. It is easily sanded after removing the tape from the ends of the driprail.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2K self leveling seam sealer Used this on the drip channel on a classic mustang. Application was very smooth and the product leveled out as stated. Work quickly with this product you have about 5 mins before it sets. Only downside is that the tube is a standard sized caulk tube, but only half filled with product. If you use this keep in mind the caulk gun ( i used a standard caulk gun from home depot) it will only go half way, so don't force it.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product. Make sure to flush the mixer initially. I had some places that did not set up and have to redo some of it.
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good product, but doesnt always mix right. I bought two tubes to do the drip rails on my C-10 pickup and quickly saw that this stuff does what it is supposed to do. It self levels great, but it is very runny and will remain so until the very moment it flashes dry. This makes it difficult to do vertical surfaces such as the back of the drip rails. I also had a difficult time with the two components mixing right from the nozzle. Throughout the entire tube I noticed that the material wasn't mixing right and left sticky, uncured spots in the drip rail. I tried to add more later to cover the first coat parts that didn't cure and I noticed that the sealer was no longer leveling. It seamed to want to bead up on the previous coat. I ended up tearing it all out and starting over. Two new tubes later and the same thing happened. I'm very disappointed that after $140 worth of seam sealer I am still left with areas that didn't cure and are sticky to the touch.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from self leveling seam sealer pumped 1/4 of tube out to get good mix and still wasn't dry two days later in 90 degree weather. Top layer that did dry was gummy and not smooth. now i have to clean out and reprime my drip rail. don't waste your money
Date published: 2021-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money Product came with 2 nozzles but it sets so fast I used these up real quick now eastwood says they don't sell the nozzles separate so the 3/4 tube is wasted
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made it work but wouldn't buy again This stuff is nearly impossible to use to seal driprails. I taped up the ends of the drip rails per the recommendation on the tube and it turned into a total mess! The sealer was running all over the place and could not be contained! I will admit that after the massive cleanup the final product looks pretty nice but I still wouldn't put myself through that again!! I would caution against buying this if you value your time!!
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me Very watery, Would run down the side if I used it, Might be good for flat surface but not on door jams.
Date published: 2012-08-25
  • y_2021, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_51653Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 36.19ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

I applied this to the drip rails on my van. 2 weeks later and it is still extremely tacky. There is no question that it was mixed properly. I really don't want to have to take it all back out and do it again. Is there anything that can be done?

Asked by: Peartolomy
Please contact us at: tech@eastwood.com or by calling: 800-343-9353
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-05-15

Can a self etch primer be used over the self leveling seam sealer?

Asked by: Brian
The self etch primer can be applied over the seam sealer.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2019-02-19

I applied this sealer to the rear drip rail of my dodge ramcharger. One full day later and it is sill sticky. Is this normal. Will it gradually complete the curing process? Thanks

Asked by: Doug
Should be fully cured in 4 hours. Temperature greatly affects the cure time. The colder it is the longer it will take to fully cure. Another tip is to squeeze out about an inch of product so that you know that the 2 parts are equally mixed.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2018-12-18

Does this product remain flexible after curiby? I plan on using on drip gutter on ford econoline.

Asked by: capthook
Once the 2k seam sealer has its full cure it will dry hard. You will want to look at our regular seam sealer in the cartridge or the brush on which will stay flexible after cured.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-09-28

What is the shelf life on an unopened tube - and on an opened one?

Asked by: RBinSalem
The shelf life on this product unopened is about two years, when opened it is about one year.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-09-05

Do I need to purchase Eastwood applicator gun or can I use one that I have for caulking my house. &nbsp;Thanks

Asked by: James
This cartridge is designed specifically for our applicator gun: https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-26-1-caulk-gun.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-03-13

What is the best way to estimate the # of tubes to purchase. I have 16 ft of drip chanel .on a early 50s Ford..tks

Asked by: Jimbo
These will produce approx. 9 feet per 250 ml cartridge for a 3/8 x 3/8 bead and approx. 20 feet per 250 ml cartridge for a 1/4 x 1/4 bead.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2019-01-01

Need more tips for seamsealer

Asked by: Terry w
The tips will be part number 13785 and will be back up on the website very shortly. We are sorry for any inconvenience.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-05-04

Hello, I am looking to use the 2k self leveling sealant for the drip rails on my truck. Is it tempeture sensitive when applying and will it need primer of a specific nature before hand. Thank you

Asked by: Mike
We recommend applying at 70F or more for best results and an Epoxy primer is the best as a base.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-02-08

Trying 2 find a product 2 pour in2 my cowl air intake It's inaccessible 2 tools. Product needs 2 flow from the middle pour zone towards D&amp;P side drain holes 2 fill seam. Water leaking there from firewall and at kick panels. Will this work? Thinable?&nbsp;

Asked by: Tim J
Unfortunately we do know offer a product specifically as you have asked nor do we know if this one will work in such an application. This is not thinable.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-12-16

A can a partially used tube be sealed and stored for future use?

Asked by: Foursum
The way to store this product is to leave the mixing tip on and let it harden. This seals the tube. When the time comes to use it again just take that tip off and place a new one on.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-03-08

can this be applied over paint?

Asked by: waldozki
You would have to lightly scuff the surface of the paint so this would adhere.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-03-08

i plan on using rust encapsulaor on the entire floor. &nbsp;will it harm this? thanks

Asked by: bowtie57
This will not harm the seam sealer. We do highly recommend applying the Encapsulator first then the seam sealer over.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2018-09-28

Can you level this out by sanding or adding body filler if needed? Also, what type of primer is best to use over this? Thanks.

Asked by: sm_oore
This will self level so no sanding or body filler should be used. You can prime over this with either Epoxy or Urethane prior to painting your Base coat.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2019-06-10

Will this product adhere to painted/coated surfaces? I need to seal seams on anodized aluminum .(Window assemblies)

Asked by: Crod

Considering this for 1965 Mustang drip rails. Sounds like it will work fine for the top horizontal portion, but how will this do on the portions of the drip rail that angle down at the front and back? Will it be too runny and run out the end or ends?

Asked by: TxFire
  • y_2021, m_10, d_19, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_51653Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98.31ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood 2K Self Leveling Seam Sealer Cartridge
$35.99
In Stock