Item # 11172Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Extreme Chassis Black High Gloss Spray Paint Aerosol 14 oz

3X more resins make it 3X more durable than original Chassis Black
3X more resins make it 3X more durable than original Chassis Black
Eastwood Extreme Chassis Black High Gloss Spray Paint Aerosol 14 oz is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 190.
  • y_2023, m_2, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_176
  • loc_en_US, sid_11172Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 128.29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Buy 3 for $19.99 each and save 5%
Reg. $21.99 Sale $20.97 Save $1.02
Loading...
Save for Later
3X more resins make it 3X more durable than original Chassis Black

90 day Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Extreme Chassis Black High Gloss Spray Paint Aerosol 14 oz

Product Overview:

Description

Extreme Chassis Black Gloss has 3X the resins of traditional coatings, so it's tough enough for any undercarriage component

  • Improved resistance against corrosion, chips and scratches
  • Resists brake fluid, fuel and solvents
  • Matches OEM finish
  • Apply multiple coats without lifting

You spend hours prepping your frame and suspension parts; now top-coat them with a tough, OEM-matching, glossy formula that provides extreme durability! 3 times more resins make it 3 times more durable than our original Chassis Black.

Note: This paint can not be applied over top of self-etching primers.

Warranty

90 Day

In the Box

Contents

(1) 14 oz Aerosol Eastwood Extreme Chassis Black High Gloss Paint

Guides & Accessories

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme Chassis Black Satin Aerosol I used this on the fence rail for my table saw. It went on smooth and is a perfect Finnish.
Date published: 2022-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my tundra I buy from tgem alot -- no disappointment sincr day 1.
Date published: 2022-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality products Very easy to apply a professional looking, correct coating ! Thank you for another great product.
Date published: 2021-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1970 Backyard Redo The Extreme Chassis aerosol laid on very nice over 50 year old prepared metal. The second coat provides excellent final coverage.
Date published: 2021-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough paint I used chassis gloss black to paint a vintage motorcycle frame. I sprayed the third coat heavy and the paint refused to run. It has the right level of gloss-not to mirror shiny. It takes a day is so to fully dry, but when it does, it is tough paint.
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is good stuff I'm painting my chassis on my 73 k5 blazer and I have gotten brake fluid in it and used brake cleaner and a rag to clean it off and the paint stayed on
Date published: 2021-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme Chassis Black satin finish looks great. Extreme Chassis Black satin finish covers nicely and looks good. The brackets you see are for my grill guard for the front of my truck which I first treated with Gray incapsulater then finished with Extreme Chassis Black satin finish.
Date published: 2021-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great coverage, affordable and holds up. Great Eastwood service makes it an easy choice.
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Utility trailer restoration My trailer is just like new again. Recently did a complete restoration of my 5X8 utility trailer using Eastwood products on the frame. Excellent results and easy to use.
Date published: 2021-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Paint! It is a thin paint but it covers very nicely and it really adheres nicely. Great for rust prevention.
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good paint Great product,especially when using rust encapsulator as a primer.nice durable finish for a rattle can
Date published: 2021-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! Really freshens up the frame. This paint is thinner than ‘normal’ so it flows evenly but will likely need two coats for evenness. But it thickens up quickly and covers well. Great product!
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Extreme You better be prepared for how extreme this stuff really is. Unreal quality. Love it!
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chassis paint Provides a great stock like finish with the proper prep of surface
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chassis black Beautiful results from a quality product. It is important to use the correct primer under it.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to the streets Worked perfect for what I was doing. Wheel wells under carriage. Formally Drag car working to get her back on the streets.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Chassis Black automotive paint. I've used regular Chassis Black for nearly 30 years with no problems. I tried Extreme Chassis Black on my current project, and it seems to perform as advertised.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme Chassis Black Great product. First time use, although I’ve used the regular chassis black and liked that, as well. Ready to spray after a good stir. Sprays well, dries fairly quick and is durable once dried.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme chassis black Best spray paint I’ve ever used. Too expensive but you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good paint Used it as a top coat over the Platinum paint. It sprayed on nice. I will be using this for all my cars rust issues
Date published: 2021-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it ! Used this after wire brushing and treating my 79 TA. Wow, this works great and covers well. Thumbs up on this black chassis paint.
Date published: 2021-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Top Coat over Rust Encapsulator I love this stuff. I use it on everything from transmissions to frames. Its a great topcoat to rust encapsulator.
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chassis Black - Look No further! Excellent product, great coverage and does the job you want. It's not Flat Black, it's not Gloss Black, it's not Semi-Gloss Black. It's just right Black! I bought 4 different Black finishes for Chassis all recommended from different people and "Forums". But I went back Eastwood for the one "Chassis Black" that did the right job correctly! (Buy enough the first time!)
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme Chassis Paint Very easy set up. Poured through a screen into my gun and sprayed without issue. Looks great!
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Amazing stuff! Went on smooth and clean.. Prep is SUPER important so watch ut for that..
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We still have a frame I’m shop so I can’t speak to the durability yet, but this stuff turned out awesome. Perfect color and finish. We started with bare metal, cleaned, primed, and coated twice as recommended. We didn’t have a problem with a single can like some guys mentioned. I suspect they didn’t shake the cans well enough... after curing for a day this stuff feels very hard, can’t mark it with my fingernail. For a product out of a spray can I don’t think you can get any better. Just follow the instructions and it will turn out great
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much improved over the original I didn't actually use this on a chassis, but on a wooden arm chair. It looks great, almost like a stealth coating. The chair will sit outside and I wanted something super durable so this fits my need perfectly.
Date published: 2020-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I have used this chassis black on numerous restorations. Looks great on frames and other components.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chassis Protection Psint The paint is excellent. Great coverage, Consistent color. My only complaint with the aerosol paint is that, no matter how hard I try to flush the nozzle after use, I still occasionally find the nozzle is clogged when I go to use it later. I would like to see Eastwood make spare nozzles available for purchase.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This product is everything as advertised, such a nice looking finish on the end product.
Date published: 2018-11-14
  • y_2023, m_2, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_176
  • loc_en_US, sid_11172Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 27.47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

I know it says to not apply this product over self etching primers but i sprayed a frame with self etching primer about a year ago do you think it would be ok now? Is it because the self etching primer has solvents in it that will hurt this product?

Asked by: Macfly
We can not recommend this be done. It would very well react still.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-04-02

Can this product be used over powder coating?

Asked by: Toof
You could use this product over powder coating. You would need to scuff the powder coated part & clean it with our Pre-Painting Prep or Acetone. Then you would be able to use this product.
Answered by: Sonya
Date published: 2021-03-17

Can this be brushed on?

Asked by: Ktch
Yes you can. We recommend using a poly foam brush, so you don't get brush marks left behind.
Answered by: Sonya
Date published: 2021-03-26

can self etching primer be used OVER the extreme chassis black paint?

Asked by: Andy
This is not a recommended application as the self etching primer needs to bond with bare metal and spraying over existing paint may compromise the bond.. Spraying over enamels may cause lifting due to its aggressive solvent base.
Answered by: vince
Date published: 2021-02-13

In the product description it says wait 15-20 minutes between coats. The quart instructions say wait at least 24 hours. Can you clarify the wait time between coats when using quarts with a spray gun?

Asked by: AnnH
With this product, you should wait 15-20 minutes between coats.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-01-06

Can Chassis Black Primer (non etching) and Chassis Black Satin be used on pot metal assemblies...like the front grille assembly of 67-68 Cougars....OR do I have to go to a self etching primer system. Thanks

Asked by: Chet
You may want to consider a product like this SEM Trim Black. It does not require a primer and should work well for your application - https://www.eastwood.com/trim-paint-satin-black-aerosol-15-oz-net.html If you want to go the route of using a primer, I would recommend going with the Self Etch Primer for a good bond to the pot metal assemblies.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2020-10-04

can any of the chassis black paints be applied over 2k urethane primer?

Asked by: vin352
Our 2K Ceramic Chassis Black would be best to apply over the top of the urethane primer we sell.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-07-18

Can i use the chassis black in the engine area

Asked by: owen
You may certainly use our Chassis paints in the engine bay. Just not on the engine itself.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-07-20

Can the Extreme Chassis Satin Black be applied over a rubberized undercoating or rocker guard?

Asked by: Glenn
As long as the coating is designed to be coated over you will be fine. Check with the manufacture first to ensure.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-04-26

Is it safe to apply an lanolin-based rust preventative, such as Fluid Film, on top of Extreme Chassis Black?

Asked by: Chris
As long as the coating doesn't have an acid etching base it shouldn't harm the chassis black.
Answered by: MattM
Date published: 2022-07-22

What is the recommended time between coats of Extreme Chassis Black Aerosol paint? The Data Sheet suggests 24 hours between coats, yet the description on the website suggests 10-15 minutes between coats. They contradict each other. Which is correct?

Asked by: Jeff
10-15 min between coats will be perfect. We're sorry for the confusion and will get this updated.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-06-07

what size spray gun nozzle should i use to spray the extreme chassis black and what size for the extreme chassis black primer?

Asked by: Hillbilly willy
a 1.3 or 1.4 sized tip will be perfect for both paint and primer.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-05-31

Can I mix Gloss and Satin Extreme Chassis Black before applying to obtain slightly less gloss than Gloss Chassis Black?

Asked by: Triumphan
You could do that to adjust the gloss level.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2020-05-20

What percent gloss would this finish be?

Asked by: Sarge
Satin Extreme Chassis Black provides a 25-30% gloss. Note that applying heavier can make the product a bit glossier, as the flattening agents will settle to the bottom.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2020-05-19

Can I use Extreme Chassis Black over epoxy primer

Asked by: Larry F
Yes, that is fine.
Answered by: RLRL
Date published: 2021-01-27

Could you topcoat fresh rubberized undercoating with this product? Would it adhere?

Asked by: Bowtied
We do not recommend painting over our Rubberized Undercoating as it can cause the product to harden on the top layer and not remain flexible as it is designed. This could make it fail prematurely.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-05-05

Could the extreme chassis black be painted over chassis saver? 

Asked by: Kupisch98
We have never tested these products together and would not recommend using them in case of a reaction.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2020-04-07

How many rattle cans for a frame? Or can the Quarts be brushed on?

Asked by: Chuck
The quarts can be certainly brushed on. As far as the aerosol can coverage that depends on the size frame. One can of paint covers 10 sq. ft.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2021-02-08

is this paint oil base the chassis black satin finish

Asked by: john madrigal
This particular coating is a lacquer based product.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-02-09

Once fully cured/hardened (i.e. after a week or two), is it gas/diesel and solvent resistant or is it resistant to only some solvents and not others? If so which and what type of exposure

Asked by: NorCal
This is not fluid-resistant as it is not a catalyzed coatings, it is a lacquer based product. Any solvents or gas especially spilled onto this surface (even when fully cured) would certainly cause some damage. For the best fluid resistance out of the black paints we offer- the 2K Ceramic Chassis Blacks would be your best options.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-01-02

what do we need to use to clean the paint gun etc when using the eastwood extreme Chassis Black Gloss finish

Asked by: JCNZ
Lacquer thinner would be the best option.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-12-16

What's the VOC's per gallon?

Asked by: Boose
2.348 lbs/gal (281.348 g/L)
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-10-29

You mention a typical chassis takes 2 quarts. If I use extreme chassis black primer under extreme chassis black finish on typical chassis, would you expect to use 2 quarts of each, or 1 quart of primer top-coated with 1 quart of finish?

Asked by: MichaelG
For a normal chassis, we recommend 2 quarts of both the primer and the topcoat of the Chassis Black.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2020-03-27

Can I spray directly to a galvanised chassis. Thanks

Asked by: Craigph
The chassis will need to be wiped down with Aceton fist. Then sanded to provide a surface for the primer to adhere to. Then apply the Extreme Chassis Black Primer (aerosol 11193Z; quart can 11194ZP; Then you can apply the Extreme chassis black.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2019-08-18

Do I need to use a primer first or can I just apply it directly over the rust encapsulator?

Asked by: JWH181
This top coat can be applied directly over top of the Rust Encapsulator. The only time a primer is recommended is when applying to bare metal.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-06-07

Can I spray extreme chassis black directly over the body filler?

Asked by: R Kizek
No a primer would need to be applied first.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-06-29

I ran out of the extreme chassis satin black 1/2 way through the paint job, it took over 5 days to get more in. What process do i need to follow before i can continue painting?

Asked by: needtoknow
When your new paint cans arrive you will want to scuff the surface with 400-600 grit paper or a red/maroon scuff pad and clean before applying more paint.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-06-25

What is the issue with using Extreme Chassis Black over any kind of self etching primer? I did it accidentally - not sure what to look for - seems ok so far (couple months). Thanks

Asked by: Stein
According to the tests that we did at Eastwood, we found that there was a chemical reaction between the Self Etch and the Extreme Chassis black. We recommend the Extreme Chassis Black Primer (aerosol 11193Z; for best adhesion.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2019-06-05

In what Locations would you recommend Chassis Black vs Undercoating/another product for top coat. I cleaned up a few locations on the car: Wheel well, floor pans, and frame. I was debating on if chassis black would be effective for all.

Asked by: Joe D
Please contact us at tech@eastwood.com or by calling 800-343-9353
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-10-05

I'm prepping a Model A chassis and axles for paining. How many quarts is sufficient for coverage?

Asked by: Alsand
As state din the specs a quart will cover roughly 30 sq ft. An average frame takes about 2 quarts- if this helps to give you a better perspective.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-04-30
  • y_2023, m_2, d_7, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_11172Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 121.24ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood Extreme Chassis Black High Gloss Spray Paint Aerosol 14 oz
Reg. $21.99 Sale $20.97 Save $1.02
In Stock