Item # 12096 BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Gel Rust Dissolver Quart

Sticky gel is ideal for roofs, deck lids, hoods, frame rails and more
Sticky gel is ideal for roofs, deck lids, hoods, frame rails and more
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 500.27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: Error - Operation timed out after 500 milliseconds with 0 out of -1 bytes received; HTTP status code of 0 was returned;
$29.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Sticky gel is ideal for roofs, deck lids, hoods, frame rails and more
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Eastwood Gel Rust Dissolver Quart

Description

Gel Rust Dissolver adheres to large surfaces to dissolve rust...no need to submerge the metal Eastwood's Gel Rust Dissolver harnesses the powerful rust-dissolving properties of our popular liquid rust dissolver and puts them into a sticky gel, so no submersing is needed!
  • Ideal for roofs, deck lids, hoods, frame rails and more
  • Just wire-brush off loose rust and scale, then apply gel with a brush
  • Penetrates deep into the metal, dissolving rust in just a few hours
  • 1-quart bottle

WARNING: This is an acid-based formula that can damage aluminum and plated surfaces like chrome. Also, this product can be corrosive to metals so only allow it to stay in contact with the substrate long enough to remove unwanted rust.

Contents

1-quart bottle

Application Tips

Remove loose rust and scale using a wire brush. Apply Gel Rust Diss. using a brush or cloth rag. Apply generously, covering all areas. Using common plastic food wrap, lightly cover the area as to avoid evaportaion of the rust dissolver. DO NOT put plastic tightly over surface. Let rust dissolver set for at least 8 hours. Uncover and use a putty knife to scrap off gel. Wash off remaining gel with water. Best results at room temperature If you are going to paint surface, use Eastwood's PRE 10041z to remove any residual dissolver.

Safety Information

Always wear eye, skin and respiratory protection. Use in a well-ventilated area. Consult MSDS for specific safety precautions. Make sure cap is tight before storing product.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from really works! This product works far better than anything I've tried before. An overnight dip removes all rust from everything I've dipped so far. Saved me a ton of time. Cautions however; rinse the cleaned item immediately or it will flash over quickly, and keep the product covered. I found flash rust on nearby by tools after using it.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product I used this product to remove surface rust from some fairly new sheet metal. Product worked well, but metal would rust back over very quickly. You must prime almost immediately
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good not Great I used it on some bumper braces that had been wire brushed off. Old heavy iron only cleaned a little bit........ On sheet metal worked great.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy stuff. I have used this product for items large and small, and found it to be very effective. I also wish the gel were thicker. I have found that after a period of time it turns to a liquid, so if you need that feature, use it while it is fresh.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gel rust remover Works pretty good, but is little more than a liquid instead if a gel
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked great for me@ I am not sure what problem the other reviewers had. For me the product worked great. I bought more. To be fair, I used it as step four in a process. I recently rebuilt the 5.4 L motor on my Ford truck and cleaned, restored and replated every bolt that was fit to re-use. First, I used a wire brush to remove the loose rust. Next I rigged up a rust-removal electrolysis tank (Google it). When the parts came out of that tank, I hit them quickly with another wire brush and then tossed them in a bucket of the Eastwood, Gel Rust Dissolver. They typically came out very clean. The final step was re-plating the bolts with the Eastwood zinc plating system. I was truly impressed with the results. With Ford charging as much as $3.00 per bolt, I ended up with what look like brand new bolts for a tiny fraction of the cost.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rust Dissolver does what it says Purchased this to clean up some small parts, including nuts & bolts. It worked pretty darn well and did not cause any issues.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a true gel but close I used this on an old Completely rusted Steamer Trunk that was all Tin & Steel. Coated the whole thing and the rust remover was thicker that liquid dissolvers I've used but I was hoping is would be more GEL like. Anyway I rapped the project and waited 8 hours and hosed it. Took a lot off but not all. I dried it and applied remover again and covered overnite. I uncovered it and scrubbed it with a wire brush. Hosed it.. IT REMOVED ALL THE RUST! Clean bare tin and steel! With repeated applications it WILL work and work well. Like to see it made more like a gel though. Would dry quickly on a larger project but I like it. I would buy it again.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use with caution! I think that it should be noted that this product is an acid and should be thoroughly washed with water before applying Pre. I personally like to use Afterblast on any metal that isn't being painted soon.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Worked realy well i would use it again
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good safe rust remover As long you are patient ,this rust dissolver works .I used in a plastic tube to coat parts with a brush .Keeping the surface wet was the key .The next day ,I reapplyed .Using a copper scrub pad and water wash ,got most the surface rust off ! Let dry, sanded, cleaned then sprayed with primer. Now I'm ready for paint .
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well, but be careful around paint! This does a pretty good job removing surface rust, but also removes paint. I used this in my engine bay on a few very small spots with light surface rust with the plan to touch up with the appropriate paint. I applied four times over a 24 hour period and the completely disolved the rust, but it ate through the clear coat and paint down to the primer completely changing it to a black film. Unfortunately, it ran down the fender well and ruined every painted surface it touched. I can't fault the product for not dissolving the rust or for running; all gels are going to run a bit. However, the bottle doesn't say anything about damaging painted surfaces; perhaps this is obvious, but it might be a good idea to warn people how it interacts with paint. I will continue to use this product, but will be careful around paint that I don't want damaged.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It would be nice if Eastwood mentioned that this damages chrome and other plated metals....... I used this to eat up heavy rust on my block before painting the engine. Slopped a little on my valve covers and it ate the chrome up. Also ate up the nickel cad on various engine bolts. Into this project for another $120 for the valve covers now.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay, but not great I used this on some panels to remove surface rust. Did an okay job, but I thought this would be more of a gel solution, mine was not, and I had to keep applying it, since it would run off. Calling this gel isn't a correct statement, at least the gallon of it I have. You have to be sure to keep it wet, also,. So several applicatiions during the 8 hours may be needed
Date published: 2013-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't use on chrome Even though the bottle says it is safe on chrome, I had it dissolve the chrome layer on a 2008 Silverado bumper while treating some rust spots. Have not tried it yet on other metals.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure about this stuff I've used a few gallons of this stuff. No matter how I rinse or clean the part after removing it from the chemical, it flash rusts. In just a few minutes. I left a few bolts and nuts in the chemical for quite a while and it ate them to the point that I cannot use them anymore. The nut actually turned into a hollow shell that I can break apart with my hand. I have some body mount shells that I am doing now and it looks like it is eating them apart too. Its not that the rust is ate away and I am seeing the damage from the rust. This is new damage that wasn't present. This stuff will eat the finish off of anything, including tools. I used a pair of channel locks to remove some parts from the chemical and it ate the finish of the channel locks and they have completely rusted away. I can't open them anymore. A brand new pair. I was using them because the chemical will dry out and make my hands itch. I tested a zinc plated bolt just a few minutes ago. It ate the zinc off of the bolt instantly. This stuff eats the rust off and works great just make sure you only put parts in this stuff for a short period of time (just enough to remove the rust) and be sure to get some paint on the parts before they flash rust.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Less than expected I am using many EW products and usually very pleased with them. This is not one of them. It worked but not well and can create a big mess if it gets into small gaps. Will be better with some rough sanding or wire-brushing and then use FastEtch or another converter.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eastwood Rust Dissolver Gel I purchased this after reading the recommendations. Very disapointed in its ability to dissolve rust scabs on my rocker panels, even with plenty of gel applied and under plastic overnight. The gel turned to yellow liquid and stained the metal not penetrating the rust scabs. I ended up sandblasting the rockers which is what I was trying to avoid doing by purchasing this product. I would not purchase again.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's ok It's a ok product but I don't recommend buying it.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as Described I was really disappointed with this product. First it leaked and the contents of the shipping box were soaked. Second it was a liquid not a gel. Don't know what went wrong with this product. I ended up tossing it. However I will say that Customer Service were really good and Eastwood gave credit. I'm still a fan of Eastwood.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The photo makes it look like the rust will disappear and fresh metal will amazingly appear in it's place. This didn't happen for me.
Date published: 2011-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only worked partially...not impressed I have used both Naval Jelly and POR-15's Metal Ready in the past with good results, but thought I'd try Eastwood's Rust Dissolver to see how it compared (I bought the gel). I had some small nuts & bolts with some light rust, and followed the directions for the "submersion" method. After 8+ hours, there was still a substantial amount of surface rust on them that hadn't been converted. Not impressed. I'm switching back to the other rust conversion products I've used more successfully.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Submerged OK... / Coated & Wrapped Not Okay! Coated a body panel with light to moderate rust areas. Wrapped panel with plastic wrap as suggested. 24 hrs later some rust was removed. Areas with light rust seemed to need more applications. Submerged nuts, bolts and a spring, in a container. The product worked much better.
Date published: 2010-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rust Remover? I was not overly happy with the results this gave me. I watched the demonstration and it showed it doing a lot more than I was able to get it to accomplish with rust removal.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really expected more, got less I used this on metal that I had already blasted with aluminum oxide in order to try to remove rust that I could not reach with the blasting. Not only did it not remove any of the left over rust scale, it stained the metal that was already blasted and I had to re-blast it all again. This is basically Naval Jelly, it smells the same, but is less effective.. This was entirely as waste of my time and money.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work for me It did not work as advertised. I am very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst product Used as directions stated, as soon as the water touched it the rust came back worse than when we started. Called the tech line and was told NOT to use water as directed, but to use acetone. Had to order a different product and start over.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't work at all I got this gel a little over a month ago and just decided to use it. I had a rusty spot on the inside of my trunk. So i put the rust removing gel on it and left it over night. the next morning i went out and looked at it and it was the exact same. I reread the directions and followed them exactly and tried it again. this time i let it sit all day and all night and i checked it the next morning. once again nothing at all had happened... this product was entirely useless and had no affect at all.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a gel, and would not answer questions about it I bought a gallon of this, to use on my 67 pickup restoration. Since I had to do some vertical areas, thought the gel would be a good idea. This stuff is NOT a gel. It ran right off, and I had to keep applying it, over and over. Called the tech line about it, but, kind of got a run-around, and never got my questions answered. Won't be buying it again. BTW, this is the first Eastwood product that I haven't been happy with!
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does a poor job Applied as instructed on medium rust and after 10 hours very little rust was removed. There are better products out there at a more reasonable cost. The shipping is poor at best, customer service is the best part of the company.
Date published: 2015-12-23
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_12096, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 97.56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: Error - Operation timed out after 500 milliseconds with 0 out of -1 bytes received; HTTP status code of 0 was returned;

Questions & Answers

I have rust bubbling starting in the dogleg area if front of the rear wheel. Can I use this on the inside of that area to stop the rust? Also-if that will work-can I use an adhesive to attach a piece of metal on the inside of the rusted area?

Asked by: William
Unfortunately the area you are referring to is not going to be accessible to kill the rust. The bubbling rust is coming from the inside where the quart panel and outer wheelhouse are welded together. This area sadly requires the rusted area to be cut out and a patch panel welded in.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-11-19

Can this product be used to remove rust from the inside of a motorcycle tank? Does it go in full strength or mixed with water?

Asked by: Bill
While we have never tested it in a tank it certainly could work and goes in full strength followed by acetone to rinse. The better option would be our Gas Tank Kit which is specifically designed to work inside a fuel tank. https://www.eastwood.com/gas-tank-sealer-kits-eastwood-gas-tank-sealer.html
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-23

What would be better to use on a truck frame and axles that have moderate rust from being stored outdoors for a number of years, gel or liquid the truck is still in one piece and the affected parts would be treated in stages as I'm able to disassemble?

Asked by: Ursusarticus
The gel is the best option to help keep the area wet. Another great option which would skip past a chemical repair would be our Blast Out Of a Bucket kit. Simply media blast the rust off piece by piece as you take the truck apart. Then simply prime to protect the bare metal. https://www.eastwood.com/blast-out-of-a-bucket-kit.html
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-08-02

Is this product suitable to remove rust from inside of motorcycle gas tank ?

Asked by: Wrench
While it technically could we have a better product for the task at hand. Our Fuel tank repair kit will take care of the rust along with a new seal coat to protect your tank in the future. https://www.eastwood.com/gas-tank-sealer-kits-eastwood-gas-tank-sealer.html
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-07-02

Will this work on a car , were rust shows on the paint.? Will it effect the paint ?

Asked by: Lefty
This is an acid based product that you would not want to use on painted surfaces.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-08-22

I am unsticking a marine engine, and wondering if after loosening it with a combination of diesel and tranny fluid, if Rust Dissolver would be a suitable product to run through the cylinders to remove the rust before I give it a diesel enema ?

Asked by: Rian
Unfortunately we have never tested our rust disolver down in cylinders to see if it will help free a motor. We simply soak parts in the product to eliminate the rust.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2019-01-28

I have a Weber Genesis 300 series grill that has some rust on the 2 side trays and front burner knob panel. I am looking for a product that I can "rub" on to remove thise rust. Will this do the trick? Thanks.

Asked by: Gary
This product doesn't rub on but actually sits on the surface to remove the rust. You must keep the treated area wet with this product the whole time to keep it working. With that said our products are not FDA cleared to be used around areas food is prepared or prepped.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-11-14

How long do you live this produce in order for it to work.

Asked by: Rons
The length of time the part must stay wet with this product varies on the severity of the rust. It could be as little as an hour or as long as say 24 hours. The best practice is to keep an eye on it every so often.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-24

I would like to remove medium rust from factory brake lines. The brake lines are rusty in certain sections only. Is rust dissolver too harsh to use on brake lines? Thank you

Asked by: dugan45
For safety reasons if the brake lines are pitted bad enough to warrant rust removal we simply recommend replacing the lines themselves.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-08-31

Is the gel thin enough to be applied via a squirt bottle?

Asked by: ChristienPS
This product is too thick to go through a squirt bottle.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-05-02

what's the max temp

Asked by: Todd
This product is simply a rust dissolver which is designed to be used at room temperature.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-07-03

I have been doing a lot of parts over the past couple of weeks. I put 2 gallons into a plastic tray and it has evaporated all but about 1/2 - 3/4 gal. Can I add distilled water to get back volume and it still be effective? Great so far.

Asked by: Mike
We do not have any recommendations for products to put in to get the volume back as it would hurt the effectiveness if not the final product.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-05-02

I am soaking rusted tools in Rust Dissolver. What can I use to clean off Rust Dissolver? Do I rinse with water, then spray with After Blast, and finally wipe with dry cloth? Thanks.

Asked by: Gilbert
Rust Dissolver needs to be rinsed clean with water. You can then wait until the surface dries, apply After Blast or PRE paint prep/ Acetone before applying your paint or primer.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-05-02

Is it safe to use on a welding table?

Asked by: Jwood
Due to the potential to create hazardous fumes we stricktly recommend mechanically removing rust on areas to be welded on. Media blasting or grinders come to mind as options.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-03-26

I have a lot of rust on the rear differential of my 2004 Toyota Sequoia some of it is flaking. What will be the best product to use? I also plan on painting it afterwards.

Asked by: Deck
Generally on the rear differential our Rust Encapsulator is perfect after you have taken a wire brush to knock off the worst of the rust. From here you can leave it as is or you could also top coat with our Extreme chassis black.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-05-02

Would this be a good product far cleaning rust out of a motorcycle gas tank?

Asked by: Mike
While this stuff could be used it would be more recommended to use our Gas tank sealer kit to properly prep and protect your tank in the future. https://www.eastwood.com/gas-tank-sealer-kits-eastwood-gas-tank-sealer.html
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-03-05

Can you put this in with the tumbler to help remove rust off of hardware?

Asked by: Stealth2017
Unfortunately, this is not designed to be used in our tumblers. We currently do not sell any additives for this. You can always add in a tablespoon or two of water to your pyramid media which will increase the cutting action of the media.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-02-12

I am currently refurbishing components of a cab door for a '77 VW Bus. I have some surface rust issues that I just want to treat while I'm there. Would this product work for treatment after sanding?

Asked by: Rohan83
Our Fast etch would be a better option to spray on as it eats through surface rust very quickly.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-04-27

what would work best on body sheet metal with slight pitting? this product, Rust Dissolver #12096 http://www.eastwood.com/rust-remover-eastwood-rust-dissolver.html or Fast Etch #19416 http://www.eastwood.com/rust-remover-eastwood-fast-etch.html

Asked by: Uriel626
Fast etch would be your best bet.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2019-05-05

is this safe to use on fiberglass

Asked by: bugsmomma
its perfectly safe to use on fiberglass, but it isn't going to do anything since fiberglass isn't metal and doesn't rust.
Answered by: ranchhand
Date published: 2018-05-05

will it damage a chrome surface with a couple of pinhead spots of rust? I want to stop the rust from spreading.

Asked by: Anonymous
This product should not be used on chrome.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-04-27

So I take it that if I use the gel, I just spread it on with say a paint brush and let it sit for approx. 3 hrs. Do I then scrap it off with a scraper or just wipe it off or does it just disintegrate on it's own? What do I do after the allotted time ?

Asked by: DomenicDiv
You will still want to make sure the area stays wet while it works. We suggest using a paper towel saturated with this product to keep it wet. Then you just wipe it all away and then clean with our Pre Painting Prep to get ready for the next process ie body work or paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-12-01

I would like to use this on my 4ft X 8ft trailer but I'm not sure I understand the part about has to be wet. Can I just hose the trailer down and then apply this stuff ?

Asked by: DomenicDiv
The part itself does not have to be wet with water. You have to keep it wet with this product for the product to work. If you let it dry on the parts it stops working.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-12-01

So this product will not work on a dry frame? This is not a bare frame. My suburban has been unloading boats into sea water. Yes it has been rinsed after every use but is still has a medium rust coating under the vehicle including the rear brakes.

Asked by: Barbeerian
Based on your description this product would be tricky to use in that location. You would be much better to go ahead and use our Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-10-21

I'm going to use this to remove rust from 1994 Ram cab roof. Once used to remove the rust, what should be used to neutralize the remover residue?

Asked by: Wilbur179
You will want to clean up with a wax and grease remover such as our Pre Painting prep.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-08-26

Is it safe to use electrical components. I have a fuel sending unit that i need to clean before dropping in a brand new tank

Asked by: Joewas
This product has not been tested around electrical components.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-16

Can rust remover be used on exhaust headers and pipes?

Asked by: Gizmo428
You can certainly use this on exhaust systems.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-11

can you weld after applying gel rust dissolver

Asked by: randy riggleman
Yes, but after washing down the surface it will need to be wiped down with our PRE: http://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-pre-painting-prep.html or Acetone.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2016-10-25

i have a few paint chipped spots about 1/4 of the size of a dime. i have the matching paint to go over but i want something clear that i can spray on. then paint over. any ideas... also gonna be hard to really sand or wire brush due to it being small. 

Asked by: mitch1o8
With small spots you would be better off using our clear Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-10

Can I use this product on a chrome bumper for surface rust on the inside of the bumper? If not what can I use?

Asked by: raccoon
You could certainly use this product on the inside of your bumper.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-01-09
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_12096, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 90.09ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood Gel Rust Dissolver Quart
$29.99
In Stock