Item # 16008ZP BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Rubberized Undercoating 830ml-28oz

Protects your car's underside
against rust; reduces road noise
Protects your car's underside
against rust; reduces road noise
Eastwood Rubberized Undercoating 830ml-28oz is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 65.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_16008ZP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 85.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$36.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Protects your car's underside
against rust; reduces road noise
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 1 year Warranty
Eastwood Rubberized Undercoating 830ml-28oz

Product Overview:

Description

Durable Rubberized Undercoating protects hidden areas of your car against rust

Spray-on a long-lasting, rubberized "shield" between you car's metal and road salt.

  • Prevent rust and corrosion
  • Tough, flexible film
  • Adheres to metal and fiberglass
  • May be painted

Warranty

QUANTITY DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE FOR THIS ITEM

FAQs

Use a heat gun and dull putty knife to remove undercoat.

In the Box

Contents

Contains 28 fluid ounces, Covers up to 14 square feet.

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

Safety Information

Work in a well ventilated area when applying this product. The use of a respirator like our SAS Bandit Respirator (11455 or 11456) is recommended when applying this coating.

Accessories

Eastwood Rubberized Undercoating Noise Rust Reducer 830ml-28oz

Application Tips

Rubberized undercoating forms a tough flexible sound deadening coating that resists stone chips in wheel well areas and floor pans. Can be painted over with most paints. Rubberized Undercoating may require thinning up to 15% with mineral spirits to spray. Works great with the Undercoating System (16003). You can also use this system to apply Heavy Duty Anti Rust 28oz. (16017 ZP). 28oz. Rubberized Undercoating covers 14 sq ft, and withstands up to 200 degrees F. Use heat gun and putty knife to remove old undercoating. This product contains asbestos. Wear a respirator when applying.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good final coat for the undercarriage I bought 8 cans to cover a 66 Mustang, and so far I've used 5.5 to coat the entire underside of the car and the wheelhouses twice. I started with 3 coats of Eastwood's epoxy primer after the car was completely sandblasted, then I used Eastwood's brush on seam sealer to fill any place where metal touched metal. Finally, I sprayed the undercoating on top of that in two coats. I especially like the fact that it fills in all the nooks and crannies where 50 years of wear and tear have made the metal not fit so tightly anymore. My car started out as a rust bucket, but she isn't going to have water problems from now on. This stuff is highly recommended. One thing to know: the first spray out of the can is some sort of tan colored goo. Give it a quick shot onto something you don't care about, and then paint the car. Also, don't wear clothes you care about when using this stuff and do wear gloves and a mask. It sticks like glue to clothing and is a pain in the butt to get off your skin. It should go without saying that you don't want this stuff in your lungs.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable High Quality Coating Coating is high quality and is durable. I've used it on new vehicles and it provides an excellent coating. It also dries fast.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How it performs This stuff works great! It holds up well to road generated grim and debris. I sprayed this under my truck bed as well..
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed with this undercoating! I bought about 7 cans to do the underside of my completely stripped 280z LS1 project. I applied over base coat/clear coat Eastwood paint. The texture of the final product is perfect and dries quickly. I've used the Shutz guns in the past and getting the cans is a much better way to apply it. Price is right too at $10.00 a can. I am actually looking forward to doing the last bit of the application since the first 3/4 looked so good. Great product Eastwood!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love this stuff. I have went thru a few cans and never have i had a clog. This stuff coats wonderfully and looks good, dries nicely. I need more of this.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Once again Eastwood does not disappoint. I'm working on bringing back a 67 firebird convertible that spent too many years in winter weather. New sheet metal on about 80 percent of the car left the underside a mix of bare metal, EDP, and welds that needed protection. First it got a coat of Eastwood two part epoxy primer, another product I can't say enough about, then a coat of rubberized undercoating. I went with the spay cans, the price to coverage ratio was better and there is no cleanup of a spray gun to worry about. It took eight cans for a nice even coat covering everything from the lower firewall to the rear of the car including the wheel wells. It dries very quickly to a flat black with just enough texture to give a very clean look and protect at the same time. All the cans sprayed evenly from start to finish with no clogs or wasted product. The only downside I saw was ruining a shirt that was already junk, it is a mess if it gets on you. I would recommend a throw away suit or clothes you don't care about. And a respirator is a must. I would like to see it for a little less $$ but I am thrilled with the end result.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised I am completely restoring my 1966 Thunderbird. The underside was entirely coated with the POR product which left a semi-gloss finish. I wanted to follow that up with a more "factory" undercoating look and this stuff is perfect. It does not completely match the original factory undercoating but it covers perfectly and evenly. It took almost 8 cans to give the underside a really nice covering....I couldn't be happier with how easy it goes on and how nice it looks...I highly recommend the product.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Spray can worked great on repair to match the rest of floor.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best undercoating in a can had my new truck undercoated by auto armor and used this to get in the frame and cross tubes ect. This is a high build , quick drying just like the auto armor coating. None of the products available at Wal mart or my auto parts stores are near as high build as this, and take for ever to dry. They don't last long though, I need to order more
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product Easy to use and good coverage for a spray can. Going to put it to the test this winter with New England's finest road treatments. Suggestion: use adequate skin protection. This rubber does not peel off easily.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected Great Stuff went on real good no problems so if I need more i know what to get
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good Using this to protect the road side of the wheelhouses in my '76 Gran Torino. Looks good.... let's hope it holds up in the real world as well as it looks!
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Eastwood has become my new favorite "Toy Store." Every product including the rubberized undercoating has performed flawlessly, how often does that happen. Now if my wife doesn't hide the catalog...
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I think it is amazing I used it on a metal roof to fill holes and leaks it worked perfectly. I did clean with a wire brush and cleanser first and it adhere to the roof quite well. I love the stuff and the price was great for the amount of sealer you get. I bought 3 cans only used 1 but i am buying more just to have around the house.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD STUFF !! I purchased this product to undercoat a Jeep Scrambler that I am restoring, I bought 6 cans #1 because the product was on sale, #2 because I thought it would take at least four cans to do the job. It only required 3 cans, and went on very smooth and even. I will use the other three cans on another jeep of mine.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Easy to use, great coverage and excellent looking finish product
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product the product is the best on the market !! the price is right !! the finish very professional, Eastwood is a brand you can trust !! looking for others products to finish my restoration !! Very practical videos about others products !!
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rubberized undercoating this company is outstanding. it delivers what was ordered very quickly and has excellent products. i highly recommend them.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff product went on well and dried to desired finish..i bought 6 cans to do 4 inner fenders...think its gonna be just right...
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I used the spray cans to coat the bottom of a new Jeep tub, and it worked great. The cans have enough pressure to reach into rails, and other tight spots that would be impossible with most other brands. Surface came out consistent, and durable.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product 1 can covered the inside of a new quarter panel and half of the new floor. It looks great, but it does go fast. I should have bought 2 cans
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from goes on great! Love this product. I have tired others but this one leaves the best texture with the undercoating gun. I also sprayed the firewall on the outside. the texture covers small imperfections and looks great.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what I want it to do I have used this product on many occasions and it always works great. The nozzle has minimal issues
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff only problem is you can not spray this over the internal frame coating it will lift and peel off , other than that great product
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spray Cans Work Great! I was reluctant to use the spray cans since I already own the undercoating gun and it normally makes more economic sense to buy the larger quart cans, but the spray cans were on sale and were cheaper than the quart cans. I'm glad I did. The spray cans worked just as well, or dare I say it, even better than the quart cans. The spray can sprays the same as using my compressor and is easier to maneuver under the vehicle. Six spray cans were enough to do my Dodge Quad Cab. That's less than $50 total. And there was no gun cleanup! My advice...buy the spray cans.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This undercoating went on a little rough but dried to a very nice texture. It is superior to the asphalt based products I have used in the past. It is a tougher product that doesn't scrape off as easily as regular undercoating. It has only bee on fro a month so I'll see how wears during the winter.
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product great product. Goes on nice and thick, form a durable protective layer. Far superior to the garbage you buy in the box stores. Thanks Eastwood for another great product.
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Undercoating best undercoating i have bought ever goes on very even and smooth works great,will be getting more.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks good put it in the back of a sedan delivery looks good hasn't had any road time yet getting ready to do inner fenders.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Product I have used this product several times now... I really like it... Very fast drying time... My most recent project was a new 22 foot enclosed car trailer... I put the trailer on the hoist and used 10 cans of the undercoating (more than enough) on all metal parts and now it is well protected for years to come... After the undercoating was dry for several days,, I spruced up the metal frame work and changed the color from the poor quality black paint to a red paint (white trailer,, Red F-150) of good quality... Down under the trailer the new paint holds very well to the dryed undercoating... I don't use the trailer in the winter so it should last a long time... Getting ready to order more just to have it around for the next project... I say go ahead and get those projects done... JUST DO IT......
Date published: 2012-07-01
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_16008ZP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 37.31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

If using epoxy primer, can I spray the undercoat the same day? Or does the primer need to cure first?

Asked by: Nate
The undercoat could be sprayed over the epoxy primer after about an hour.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-01-19

Does the undercoat dry to a hard surface or does it stay tacky and gummy??? Some other products when dry actually feel wet.

Asked by: droptop
This product will dry hard.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2021-01-19

can you put this over platinum rust encapsulator & how would you prep to do this ?

Asked by: jrsmall
This should have no issue with adhering with the platinum. Just scuff the platinum prior to applying the Rubberized Undercoating.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2021-01-19

Hello i dont have access to a car lift ,,i will be working on my back,,,can i use the rubberized coating spraying up? or will it not work properly

Asked by: rickrock
A brush-on option will be your best bet for this scenario.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-01-19

It this product avalible in a clear coat ?

Asked by: Jayr
We do not have this available in a clear coat.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2020-07-18

Can this product be applied over self etching primer or should I cover the self etch with 2K urethane primer first?

Asked by: John
This product can be applied over self etch primer, just make sure you scuff the primer before applying the undercoating.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2021-01-19

Will this rubberized undercoating hold up to the heat if I spray the underside of my hood?

Asked by: Toms53
This product is not designed for under the hood applications.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2021-01-19

How much will a quart cover, spraying out of an undercoating gun?

Asked by: spruce
The Quart will cover up to 14 square feet when sprayed with the undercoating gun.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2020-07-18

I purchased a brand new truck and i am wondering will the rubberized undercoating bond to the factory frame paint or do I need to prime the frame first or use the encapsulator as a base coat?

Asked by: Brody
Although we can not guarantee compatibility 100% with something we do not sell- you should be fine to scuff up the existing surface with 400 grit paper, clean with PRE or Acetone and apply this coating over top.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-01-19

Can I thin the rubberized undercoating? I’m not having good luck with it spraying out of the undercoating gun or the 1/4” wand. I’ve adjusted the nozzle and keep everything very clean but to no avail it just sprays chunky.

Asked by: Todd
You can reduce this coating up to 10% with lacquer thinner.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-07-18

Can i use this on a welding jig that has baked on powder coating??

Asked by: Matt
We do not recommend the use of Undercoating in conjunction with a welding jig.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2019-06-20

I have new replacement fenders for my F100 that have the EP coating. Can I use this directly over the EP coating on the inside of the fenders or do I need to paint first and then coat them?

Asked by: Toms53
You can certainly apply the Rubberized Undercoating over properly prepped EP coating. Just wipe with Pre and scuff up the surface with a Maroon scuff pad.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2019-06-11

Can this adhere to bare aluminum?

Asked by: JimB
This will adhere to properly prepped aluminum. You will need to sand with 400 grit and clean with PRE painting prep before applying this coating.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-05-04

I want to reduce road noise.

Asked by: Jack
This will protect the vehicle from corrosion as well as reduce road noise.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-05-09

I picked this up because the back of the an states "may be painted over" and wanted to spray a single stage urethane over this to complete my restoration and protect the underside but reading some of the answers and your stating it cant ?!? Is that true?

Asked by: scon
We apologize for the confusion as painted over was referring to top coating with fresh undercoating from time to time. This way the surface continues to stay soft, if you were to paint over this product with a single stage paint the surface would harden and possibly cause the paint to fail prematurely.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-08-21

Is there a discount for 8 cans of the 18oz. Aerosol 

Asked by: bhriverdog
For pricing questions please email our Customer Service team at Orderhelp@Eastwood.com.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2019-11-22

What type of sheen does this have when dry? The old undercoating I used had a slight sheen to it like the factory used in the 50's and 60's. The stuff at the local parts stores is now flat.

Asked by: Mike
This will leave a Matte finish
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2019-10-16

I have a 79 Trans Am that I am restoring. It currently has factor rustproofing underneath. Can I just clean up this surface and spray the Eastwood product over the factory rustproofing?

Asked by: Mereness
You certainly should be able to rough the existing undercoating up with a red scuff pad and some cleaner to prep for new rubberized undercoating.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-08-14

I cleaned my old oil soaked car frame with POR's metal prep, but the POR's final coat is peeling. What do you recommend I use to re-prep and then apply this undercoating?

Asked by: Mark ii
We would recommend removing all of the failing paint, even in areas it didn't start to peel as it has the potential to fail. From here you would want to wipe all the areas to be painted with our Pre Painting Prep to ensure the surface is thoroughly clean and ready for paint.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-03-15

What is the minimum air temperature that this product can be applied in?

Asked by: prettyslick65
We do not recommend applying any of our paints below 60F to ensure they properly flash in between each coat.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-03-13

How much coverage per aerosol can?

Asked by: Sparky232
Each aerosol will cover about 7 SQ FT.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2017-11-13

Is this undercoating paintable if so what is process and is this the best sound deadener

Asked by: Bosshodges2
This product is not designed to be painted over.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-09-29

How thick is the product after dry time?

Asked by: JimmyCat
Optimal wet film build on 2 thin coats would be 10 – 15 mil. Dry film build would end up being 4 – 5 mils.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-10-09

Does it also work with deck boards?

Asked by: JimmyCat
This would work perfectly on properly scuffed wooden surface.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-08-21

Can your rubberized undercoating be sprayed over seam sealer?

Asked by: BarryW
Yes, this Rubberized Undercoating can be sprayed over seam sealer.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2018-03-07

I have a trailer can I under coat the wood under the trailer and will it stick it is new has no coating on wood want to protect it

Asked by: smokey8000
I used this (spray can) on my new trailer it had a cheap very light coat of black paint on the underside of plywood it adhered very well to the wood and metal frame that had light coat of black paint. It took about 5-6 cans for a 6'x12' trailer for a fairly thick finish on the plywood. I did all this before trailer was used other than pulling it home.
Answered by: MMFla
Date published: 2018-01-05

Will the 2-4 coats provide a thick enough base to keep rocks from creating starring affects on the paint top coat? Can I go any thicker if need be? What would be the maximum coats to achieve good paint protection?

Asked by: wyominghotrodder
2-4 coats will be the perfect film build for this product to give the protection it is designed to.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-03-17

How thick can this be sprayed? I would like to protect the fenders on a 35 ford from rock chips causing starring affect on the top coat paint. To protect the paint I would like to have the coating act as a means to 'bounce' the rocks and not cause dents

Asked by: wyominghotrodder
This is generally recommended to be applied in 2-4 coats.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-03-16

I would like to use this on the interior of my project car as well as underside. Can I use this over an epoxy primer?

Asked by: Brent R
This can certainly be applied over top of an epoxy primer.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-12-22

Can this product be set up with a spray tube to get up into tube frames like you frame product

Asked by: T Man
This can can not utilize the 24" extension nozzle. It needs to be sprayed directly from this aerosol can or out of an undercoating gun.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2018-07-11
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_16008ZP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 85.61ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Rubberized Undercoating 830ml-28oz
$36.99
In Stock