Item # 51483Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol

Rust Converter Aerosol transforms surface rust into a paintable surface!
Rust Converter Aerosol transforms surface rust into a paintable surface!
Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 187.
  • y_2022, m_10, d_5, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_181
  • loc_en_US, sid_51483Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 88.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$24.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Rust Converter Aerosol transforms surface rust into a paintable surface!

90 day Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol

Product Overview:

Description

Instead of throwing out rusted automotive parts that you know will be hard to replace, use Eastwood Rust Converter to restore their performance. This acidic paint is formulated for panels and parts that have heavier rust but still are structurally intact. By spraying or brushing Rust Converter on the surface, you trigger a chemical reaction that turn residual rust into more stable iron oxide. It also forms a paintable black protective coating that is compatible with most topcoats. Last but not least, Rust Converter seals the metal to help prevent future corrosion.

Use rust converting treatment as part of a complete restoration process that gets your barn find back on the road. Our formula penetrates the metal quickly and doesn’t require any sanding. Since the paint is water-based, it’s much safer than traditional solvents. The Eastwood Garage has much more information about Rust Converter, including when to use it versus other anti-rust solutions (such as Rust Encapsulator ). Extend the life of your vehicle by doing the job right with a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee.

  • Rust Converter stops residual rust, and turns it into a black, protective, ready-to-paint coating, without sanding. Just apply to transform the rust
  • Penetrates faster than other brands
  • No sanding needed - just apply to transform rust
  • No mixing needed
  • 90 Day Warranty

Eastwood's own high-tech formula converts rust into a protective polymeric coating that's ready to go as a primer, and is compatible with most top coats. That new protective coating will also seal the surface against moisture to prevent future rust growth.

Our customers have told us about a lot of different uses for this versatile product. Available in an aerosol spray or liquid containers, this rust converter will help you either restore or maintain your project vehicle. Contact us today by phone or email, and we'll answer your questions about whether this handy product can help your situation.



This high-tech formula halts residual rust in its tracks and converts it into a black protective polymeric coating that eliminates the need for sanding. The converted protective coating is a suitable primer, and is compatible with most top coats. Simply remove loose rust with a wire brush, then apply Eastwood’s Rust Converter. Allow to dry, then top coat it with a quality coating, such as Eastwood’s Chassis Black. Single component; no more mixing.

Warranty

90 Day

In the Box

Contents

13 oz net weight

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

Always use appropriate eye, skin, and respiratory protection when using this product. Safety information is also located on can, consult MSDS for proper safety requirement.

Accessories

10041Z PRE 16060Z Rust Encapsulator 10025Z Chassis Black 11175Z Extreme Chassis Black 10426Z Underhood detailing kit

Application Tips

Steel and Iron only - DO NOT apply to paint Wire brush loose rust off surface. Liberally apply Eastwood Rust Converter, let dry 20-30 minutes. Apply top coat such as eastwood Rust encapsulator or Chassis Black

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood Rust Converter the Rust converter seems to be superior to other similar products, coverage is a lot better.
Date published: 2013-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product If your down-right lazy or don't want to be to meticulous on a project then you will like this encapsulator. Just wire brush, spray, wait a day or 2 and paint it the color you want. Pretty easy
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust Converter Used once on a trailer. So far has performed as stated.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I am using this on a '67Mustang resto. and I am very pleased with the way it turns black which shows if you have missed a spot and the finish takes paint and undercoating very well. It's a little on the pricey side, but it will be worth it in the long run.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seals Rust On Old Heating Tank I knocked off the heavy scale from a used oil tank and sprayed the rust converter on before giving it a coat of HOT ROD FLAT BLACK the tank looks like new and I don't have to worry about the tank sitting out in the weather for years to come thanks for a great rust sealer !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff It's far cheaper than the stuff the local marine suppliers are selling to the shipyards. The said not to get it on paint, but I had no problem on my '46 Willys Jeep, even the stuff that got on the paint dried. Covered real well with the Rust Encapsulator.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice Product was well worth price,amout and quility.I used a brush at first to see how it covered,then went to a spray gun.What was nice about the product is that it poured like water into the spray gun but when applied even in a large amout it didn`t drip.It stuck like glue. Thank you Higly recommended
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastwood rust converter Very happy with the results. Used it to convert rust on a 94' 4runner frame that was rusted significantly.
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Brushed my frame with a wire brush, wiped it down with Pre and brushed on rust converter just like the video shows. The parts that I have hit so far already look 10 times better. Tomorrow I start with rust encapsulater, but so far truly impressed with the rust fighting program.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have used Eastwood products on multiple projects. The Rust Converter performs extremely well on car frames. I have even used it on the pipe fence which surrounds my property. Like all Eastwood products it does not disappoint. I plan on using Rust Converter on my next project ( a 1953 Chevy P/U). Boy there's some rust to convert on this one.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 1939 sedan project I started with a 70+ year old car and am turning it into a rust free Street Rod. Every part gets wire brushed to remove all loose rust before getting sprayed or brushed with Eastwood Rust Converter and than top coated with Eastwood Rust encapsulator. The underside of my project looks straight from the factory. I gave a quart of Converter to my Son-in-law and he loves it. I got a spray bottle from a home improvement store that work sgreat and has an adjustable nozzle, also picked up some foam brushes. PS remember to sake the bottle before spraying/brushing
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product great product works as advertized, had to spray it with my touch up gun because none of the spray bottles i had would spray it the way i liked, dont think it would be a problem to brush it on . it layed down flat when drying, got it on sale made it even better
Date published: 2011-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome roduct This product is great. Does just what they say it does. Goes on easy with spunge brush and is thin enough to get into all the crevices. Would recomend to anyone wanting to stop rust it its tracks.
Date published: 2011-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 65 GALAXIE RESTO overall this chemical is legit, it seemed that it turned black before my eyes,i put it on and waited 48 hours, not a harsh acid like other products on the market, i would reccomend the foam brushes for sure they are the best, dont plan on spraying unless you have a big tarp to lay down first, kinda the consistincy of water... this is the first step to an awesome paint job right here
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product have been using on my project for over a year. Has seemed to do every thing as I was informed. With the encapsulator over it, has a great finish for priming.
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best conveter. I have in the last year completed a complete suspension overhaul and lift on my 98 k1500 an used Eastwood converter on many parts. It really goes a long way. You need less then you would think! I still had leftovers from my first quart and my pop used that up. I ordered a second quart so it would be in the garage when we need it. Love the extreme chasi clack!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went on as advertised! I used it on a heavily rusted area: the box-sides of a 56 Chevy truck undergoing a full resotration. Went on easily with a brush, works well into pinch welds, overlaps and thick rust. Turned black as advertised and dried well. I'll be topcoating with a 2K primer and paint.
Date published: 2010-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding product I am using this on my 57 Chev with great success, spray on and let stand and the rust changes to a paintable surface.
Date published: 2010-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! i used this stuff on my 67 camaro subframe after i sanded the rust down with the flap disc and wire cup setup on my grinder and right before my eyes everything started turning black! it actually looked like it was primed when it dried! I was highly impressed. a little bit goes a long way. I used i pint to do two coats on my subframe! i just stole the spray handle off my wife's windex bottle and sprayed it on, chasing it with a brush to work it in.Works GREAT!!
Date published: 2010-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works amazing! living in new england our vehicles take it hard in the winter the salt from the road can make your car rust out in one winter this rust converter has saved two of my vehicles and when my dad and i started rebuilding our jeep we knew exactly what we were going to use on it! This Rust converter is amazing! It works great and seems to last I will continue buying this for all of my other vehicles.
Date published: 2010-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible stuff! I have used EW Rust Converter on my Ranchero restoration, the exterior wrought iron columns on a house exterior, just about everything metal around!! Rust Converter is absolutely amazing. It completely and totally converts rust into a primer within minutes. You won't believe it until you try it! A must have product for any kind of metal restoration.
Date published: 2010-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust Converter An excellent product. Have used it several times on a car restoration and other items and would highly recommend this products. Also, the Rust Encapsulator is great over the rust converter.
Date published: 2010-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will use again and again! I used this to stop the surface rust of a frame I purchased to replace the completely rusted out frame from my car. I used bot the spray and brush on technique and had great results. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2010-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Prroduct, Outstanding Value I have used other rust conversion products that were very, very good. Rust Converter is the best, without question. I used it on the frame-up restoration of my '37 Buick. Easy to use, durable, and even less expensive... how can you beat that?
Date published: 2010-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rust converter This is the best rust killer I have ever used. This is the third time I have bought rust converter. Thanks EASTWOOD for the great products that you have. Thanks poss
Date published: 2010-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool product Goes on milky, turns purple, then tuns satin/flat black when dry. Final appearance looks like black oxide and is pretty cool looking (paint a whole car with it?). Black coating is very tough and a good "insurance policy" to keep rust from coming back. I used it on the floor boards of my 1958 Chevy Apache after removing all the surface rust and am confidant it'll never rust again.
Date published: 2010-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff This stuff really works,I have used it on garden tractor parts,RV's.Does just what's advertised.
Date published: 2010-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Sandblasted frame.Rust converter went on smooth, went along way. Primed over it and painted gloss black. One of those things you feel good about, after the job is done! Can't imagine putting primer on before rust converter.I use it on all of restorations.
Date published: 2010-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust Converter works Great I've used a couple of different rust converters and found Eastwood's to be extremely competitive with other brands. I was a little skeptical of the aerosol, but it worked as advertised and I was pleasantly surprised. It's great to get into those hard to reach areas. I would recommend this product not only for the performance but also for the price.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust converter works Rust Converter is easy to apply and goes a long way. I used a sponge brush that eventually disintegrated, so would recommend a good paint brush if you are doing a large job. The container can be closed for storage, so what you don't use can be saved. The rust surface turns dark and two coats later it is ready for your next step. Goes on easy and dries quickly. Easy to follow directions.
Date published: 2010-01-26
  • y_2022, m_10, d_5, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_181
  • loc_en_US, sid_51483Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 37.69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

I want to undercoat the undercarriage of my jeep that has a decent amount of rust. Is this the best product for it? After using this product I would then spray over it with rustoleum.

Asked by: mw27
Unless the undercarriage is 100% sever rust I would instead recommend just following the directions on and using the Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-01-28

Will this rust converter work its way between sheets of metal that are spot welded and rusted in between or do I have to drill the spots, lift the metal and apply converter? I am working on rusted metal under the rear window. Metal over lapse

Asked by: Evilwolf75
Rust Converter will usually "creep" into areas like you're describing, but it's going to need to be treated afterword as well. In this case, it would be best to use a product like Fast Etch to get into those tough spots and treat the rust.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2019-03-11

hi i want to paint my horse trailer which is a 16 ft stock trailer!  How much do i need 1 bottle or two?  i will be doing the inside and outside of my trailer, so which is the best product before i order? 

Asked by: irina
This product is not a paint coating, it's a product that converts rust so that it can be coated with another paint-type material. Rust converter should only be used on very heavy rust, no older paint and no clean bare metal. One gallon of Rust Converter treats about 200-300 square feet of rusted surface. Rough surfaces may require more product.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2016-07-06

What's the difference between rust converter & rust encapsulator?

Asked by: bob53
Rust converter should only be used on 100% rust. It is a water based product and cannot be used on any bare metal. The rust Encapsulator should be used to top coat after the converter or on it's own on light to mild rust. With the correct prep work both of these are great products when used correctly.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2019-06-29

Can you weld through rust converter or does it need to be removed exposing bare metal prior to welding?

Asked by: Speakerguy63
Anytime you are welding you need a cleaned bare metal surface.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2020-04-15

I have a barrel that has some internal flash rust. I used some rust converter on the inside, but there is no way for me just brush on where needed. If I have some rust converter on bare metal, what is the best way to clean it off the bare metal?

Asked by: jmtoys
Lacquer thinner for clean up
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2017-08-14

Should this product be used on a brake drum or caliper?

Asked by: Hacken
It's not recommended to use the Converter on any high temp parts.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2017-08-13

Can we apply this rust converter in the rusting areas of the exterior and interior parts of the car body in any areas? Or it only used for preservation for corrosion (Rusting)? 

Asked by: Spertadox
Rust Converter should only be used on areas of very heavy rust, like when an entire frame is covered in heavy flaking rust. For the coating of generally light rust, use Rust Encapsulator.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2019-11-10

Does fiberglass resin bond to your rust converter ?

Asked by: Bob0
Before using any kind of filler or fiberglass the surface should be taken down to clean bare metal. It's not recommended to use the converter first and then try to get structural materials to bond to it.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-12-09

Can I spray this onto rust bubble on my car without grinding or sanding first?

Asked by: Rogerthat
No, the Rust Converter will not help with bubbling rust by itself. If you have rust bubbling off of a panel, you need to prep the surface first by grinding, sanding, or at least using a wire brush. Once you've knocked off all of the loose rust, you'll be able to use our Rust Encapsulator. Rust Converter should only be used on areas of very heavy rust, and not near any bare metal or painted surfaces. It's ideal for a completely rusted chassis for example.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-02-27

I am restoring a briggs and Stratton cast iron motor and wanted to put "Rust Converter" on bare block before I powder coat with Hi-Temp powder. Will the converter stay on block at running temperature?

Asked by: NickR
For powder coating you would need to blast the block bare and clean again. i wouldn't recommend using the converter before OR with powder coating.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-12-09

The rocker panels on our van are rusted, badly. Parts of them have fallen out, can I spray the converter on what is left of them and have it "covert" them to stable parts ??

Asked by: sowhatsowhat
If the rockers are that rusted, cutting out the rust and replacing the metal is the best approach. Rust Converter could be applied to the rusted areas to protect them from rusting further (remember that Rust Converter must be topcoated).
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-11-10

WILL 1 GAL. DO THE TOP OF MY 8BY 26 FT, CAR TRAILER,WITH YOUR  RUST CONVERTER

Asked by: RITCH
1 gallon of rust converter will cover roughly 200sqft
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-10-17

Can  I use it over galvanized metal? 

Asked by: chetos76
If it is heavily rusted galvanized metal, yes. It can not be applied on clean metal or "slightly" rusted metal
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-05-02

Do I have to topcoat after using rust converter?

Asked by: Pyasher
Yes, you need to topcoat. Its a water based product meaning if it does not have a top coat it will cause rust to return.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-10-10

what is the temperature that this can be workable do able. I have found so of these will not work on a black vehicles surface that when the sun hits it and the temp rises to 300-400 deg f the product will lift. is this product good for these high temps ?

Asked by: j cat
Rust converter should only be used on heavy, flaking rust. If you have a surface that will be exposed to high heat, it's best to grind the metal to bare in order to remove all of the rust, and then use our Rust Encapsulator, which is good up to 400 degrees.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2014-10-02

I have bubbling on both the hood of my van and the outer corner of my drivers door. Can I use this product on it if so, how? I would like to get the surface well enough to use touch up paint over it.

Asked by: Stephen B
Rust Converter should only be used on heavy, flaking rust. On your hood and door spots, you'll want to start by mechanically removing as much rust as possible first using a stripping disc, DA sander, sanding by hand, blasting, or at least using a wire brush. After you've removed as much rust as possible, use the Rust Encapsulator over any remaining light rust or discoloration and the surrounding bare metal. You can then top coat the Encapsulator with any other material.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-05-24

Could this be used on a welding bench top made of metal that has rust? Would there be any drawbacks to welding on it?

Asked by: Paul1974
Hello Paul, Using the rust remover will not be recommended to use on a welding table that has rust on it. If your table has rust on it and you are looking to weld on the table I would recommend a weld through primer to place on the table. Here is the information on that weld through primer. http://www.eastwood.com/bloxide-weldable-primer.html
Answered by: Ed O 88
Date published: 2014-09-15

What happens on bare steel where you sand and just use as insurance?

Asked by: jim1
Rust Converter needs the rust to properly work and cure (think of it as the catalyst for the product). Rust Converter is intended for heavier rust. If applied over bare metal, it will not cure properly and can actually case light flash rust. If you have an area that you sanded off rust and would like to use a product, Rust Encapsulator would be the product to use in a situation where you have bare metal.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2017-01-27

I'll use it where the bottom of the doors have the 1/2" fold that fastens the interior door piece to the exterior door side @ the very bottom where it collects the moisture & salt.How do I prep it down in the fold before & after cured.It will be painted

Asked by: Invent_4U
  • y_2022, m_10, d_4, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_51483Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 51.38ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol
$24.99
In Stock