Item # 51483Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol

Rust Converter Aerosol transforms surface rust into a paintable surface!
Rust Converter Aerosol transforms surface rust into a paintable surface!
Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 190.
  • y_2022, m_11, d_27, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_184
  • loc_en_US, sid_51483Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 82.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$24.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Rust Converter Aerosol transforms surface rust into a paintable surface!

90 day Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol

Product Overview:

Description

Instead of throwing out rusted automotive parts that you know will be hard to replace, use Eastwood Rust Converter to restore their performance. This acidic paint is formulated for panels and parts that have heavier rust but still are structurally intact. By spraying or brushing Rust Converter on the surface, you trigger a chemical reaction that turn residual rust into more stable iron oxide. It also forms a paintable black protective coating that is compatible with most topcoats. Last but not least, Rust Converter seals the metal to help prevent future corrosion.

Use rust converting treatment as part of a complete restoration process that gets your barn find back on the road. Our formula penetrates the metal quickly and doesn’t require any sanding. Since the paint is water-based, it’s much safer than traditional solvents. The Eastwood Garage has much more information about Rust Converter, including when to use it versus other anti-rust solutions (such as Rust Encapsulator ). Extend the life of your vehicle by doing the job right with a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee.

  • Rust Converter stops residual rust, and turns it into a black, protective, ready-to-paint coating, without sanding. Just apply to transform the rust
  • Penetrates faster than other brands
  • No sanding needed - just apply to transform rust
  • No mixing needed
  • 90 Day Warranty

Eastwood's own high-tech formula converts rust into a protective polymeric coating that's ready to go as a primer, and is compatible with most top coats. That new protective coating will also seal the surface against moisture to prevent future rust growth.

Our customers have told us about a lot of different uses for this versatile product. Available in an aerosol spray or liquid containers, this rust converter will help you either restore or maintain your project vehicle. Contact us today by phone or email, and we'll answer your questions about whether this handy product can help your situation.



This high-tech formula halts residual rust in its tracks and converts it into a black protective polymeric coating that eliminates the need for sanding. The converted protective coating is a suitable primer, and is compatible with most top coats. Simply remove loose rust with a wire brush, then apply Eastwood’s Rust Converter. Allow to dry, then top coat it with a quality coating, such as Eastwood’s Chassis Black. Single component; no more mixing.

Warranty

90 Day

In the Box

Contents

13 oz net weight

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

Always use appropriate eye, skin, and respiratory protection when using this product. Safety information is also located on can, consult MSDS for proper safety requirement.

Accessories

10041Z PRE 16060Z Rust Encapsulator 10025Z Chassis Black 11175Z Extreme Chassis Black 10426Z Underhood detailing kit

Application Tips

Steel and Iron only - DO NOT apply to paint Wire brush loose rust off surface. Liberally apply Eastwood Rust Converter, let dry 20-30 minutes. Apply top coat such as eastwood Rust encapsulator or Chassis Black

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rust converter works Rust Converter is easy to apply and goes a long way. I used a sponge brush that eventually disintegrated, so would recommend a good paint brush if you are doing a large job. The container can be closed for storage, so what you don't use can be saved. The rust surface turns dark and two coats later it is ready for your next step. Goes on easy and dries quickly. Easy to follow directions.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Good for stopping rust on hard to find parts.Also good for use on those parts you can't replace.
Date published: 2009-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product All the rust areas I've been working on, I clean off surface with a wire brush wheel and then coat over it with the rust converter. Seems to work great, just like advertised. It forms a good protective barrier to keep rust from coming back again and makes a good paintable surface.
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goes on easy and seems to work I have not painted over this yet, but it went on easily over rusted area with brush. Turned black very quickly like advertised. Looks like it will be good surface to paint over. Using it under cab of my 51 Chevy Truck. Plan to use rust encapsulator over it, then truck bed liner.
Date published: 2009-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff I've used this stuff before doing an old resto and it holds up pretty good.
Date published: 2022-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use,time will tell, great customer service Process of using the product was pretty easy. How effective it is at stopping rust will only be told by time. Polyurethane auto paint went over it very smoothly. Had a good customer service experience with Eastwood.The original bottle leaked during shipment losing about 1/3 of the contents. I would have been happy with a $5-$10 refund for the loss, but they sent me a whole new bottle no charge. I thought that was pretty exceptional.
Date published: 2022-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Third bottle holds up to abuse This was mythird bottle of this. I used the first two on frames for a trailer and several gardening implements. It seems to take a bit longer to set up/cure than instructions indicate. It has been my go to for rust treatments. I typically cover coat with rust encapsulater, or finish with sanding and a colorcoat
Date published: 2022-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rust never sleeps goes on well will see how welll it works after time
Date published: 2022-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bare Metal Impact Seems like a great product but its isn't clear that any of the convertor that gets onto bare/clean metal needs to be wiped off as it won't stick and will flake off in varying degrees. Missing this significant instruction is why I dinged it one star. Eastwood did make it right thought.
Date published: 2021-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Avoid the aerosol Rust converter quart works good with the pump sprayer. Avoid the aerosol, it has a tendency to clog, no matter how careful I am to invert and clean the nozzle.
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rust converter Don’t put it on clean metal it will rust it! It does work well to convert rust to a paintable surface.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well but read directions Works well in rusty areas but be sure that is doesn’t get on painted areas as it doesn’t cure well.
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rust coverter Agree with a previous reviewer. it cause rust on clean bare metal weven after spraying a top coat as dupli-color bed liner material. Otherwise it does what it says.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PAINT OR RUST PROOFING TO CHOOSE I have 2016 Jeep wrangler with around 4500 miles on it. I want to treat the underneath with what particular paint coat?..Do i have to use or apply rubberize rust proofing right away or i need to treat few parts where rust are mildly started to show on it?...which way do i have to start the treatment?...Thanks
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rust converter Worked well and a quart goes along way! I poured small amounts into plastic mix cup to use. Covered with encapsulater and seems to be working well! Longevity will be the test as the seasons change to winter. Very happy and prep,prep, and prep more is key I believe?
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overly priced This product is a bit expensive, and takes over 24 hours to cure. At 36 hours, painted item was very sticky and tacky upon touch. I applied it to classic car parts, too soon to tell if it really seals and stops rust.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT The Rust Converter is easy to use if directions are followed. I applied it mostly to my truck frame then painted. It look great when finished but time will tell if the product works as Eastwood claims.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work fine You need to really clean the metal before applying this but once u do it, u see the difference. Dont leave out in the elements or it will get rusted again.
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better follow the directions or else! This is the 3rd or 4th quart bottle I've used in restoration projects. It does work on properly prepared metals BUT if you apply it to rust as they claim you can, you then will trap any moisture between the new barrier and the bad metal and she will continue to rust all over again. Take it down to as much bare metal as possible but do not apply it to rust!
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works! So far it has worked on my Chevelle SS project car? Time will tell more though?
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I use a lot of rust converters. I rebuild old firebird basket cases. This one worked very well. I use this after sandblasting very rusted parts to stop the rust from rea curing then spray a good epoxy primer over it . But you must watch you air temp for it to cure . I have had no problems with flaking . And you have to put it on thick and let dry for 48 hours before painting. Works good.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use! Finish is great!! This is the first time to use the Eastwood products. The rust converter seems to work great. Turned the metal to a black color. I followed up with the another coat. Worked and looked great!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I received the order last week & used it at once, it is very good, for best results wait for 48 hours.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked great I loved it. I put it on a 2006 dodge that had been sanded and painted the rust still came back. I put the rust converter on and it turned the rust black and the paint where rust was purple. worked perfect
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Outstanding product I bought one spray can to test an area on a rusty bale wagon I bought at a farm auction. Performance was outstanding although coverage was lighter than I expected. I might try it again in the in the bottle and apply it with a brush to see if the product goes any further. So far this is the best rust converter product I have used.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well in hard to reach areas As with any Eastwood product it worked as advertised I liked the aerosol can for hard to get to areas all I did was spray it on scuff it up and coat with Eastwood rust encapsulateor looks great .
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great stuff Makes rust removal a dream
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellant product In sale of 50%, my last order was a great deal for controlling rust. I will see after this winter if i can really control this rust issue
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buttery smooth application I love this product. It goes on smooth and coats evenly. I have plenty of rust and this product is up to the challenge.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buttery smooth application I love this product. It goes on smooth and coats evenly. I have plenty of rust and this product is up to the challenge.
Date published: 2013-08-11
  • y_2022, m_11, d_27, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_184
  • loc_en_US, sid_51483Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 38.82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62.85ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Rust Converter Aerosol
$24.99
In Stock