Item # 12526 BRAND: Eastwood

Glass Polishing Kit for Deep Scratches

Avoid costly windshield replacement<br>by removing even deep scratches
Avoid costly windshield replacement<br>by removing even deep scratches
Glass Polishing Kit for Deep Scratches is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_12526, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 88.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$77.99
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Avoid costly windshield replacement
by removing even deep scratches
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
Glass Polishing Kit for Deep Scratches

Description

Remove deep scratches from automotive glass and avoid expensive replacements with this glass polishing kit!

  • Removes deep scratches from automotive glass
  • Perfect for hard-to-replace windshields on older cars
  • Works with your corded or cordless drill (up to 2000 RPM)

Think that old windshield is so deeply scratched that you'll have to replace it? It won't be easy to find a replacement windshield, and even if you do, imagine the cost! This Pro Glass Polishing Kit is designed to remove deep scratches, to prevent that aggravation and expense!

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! This kit works! I used my drill, but will get a variable speed polisher for the big windows.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! In order for my vehicle to pass the safety in Ontario, I was told a new windshield was required at a cost of $485. I had a scratch from the windshield wiper approx 24" long (rubber had come off, in the rain, on the highway at the time). Although it was a very labour intensive job, we were able to remove as much of the scratch as possible with the 3 discs provided in the kit. My only suggestion to Eastwood would be to have a field where the customer indicates the length of the scratch so customer has the option to buy more discs right away. Another set of discs definitely would have eliminated the scratch completely.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works, but very time consuming I had scratches on the inside of a brand new car from wearing a beaded headband and my husband slamming on the brakes before I buckled seat belt. Ordered this kit and it took some practice but after getting the hang of it the windshield looks great.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very labor intensive This process DOES work but it is very tedious and time consuming. Use a drill or polisher in the 1000/1500 rpm range. Deeper scratches first must be removed with the green course disc. Keep the work area wet otherwise the discs wont cut through the glass and they will burn out too quick. Then use the blue followed by the orange discs. Then final polish with the felt buff disc and compound. Like I said....you get satisfactory results but a very time consuming process. Also very deep scratches can not be totally removed.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product it works if you do it right This was my first time doing something like this on a windshield, I was going to have to replace if I messed it up. I was scare at first and I said to myself all I can do is mess it up or learn something, well I learnsd something. It came out great surprized me. After my friends seen how mine turned out people started coming from everywhere wanting me to remove scratches or polish thier glass. I am starting a business doing this because no one in this area are doing this type of work they say you need to replace the glass, WHY My advise to anyone wanting to try this is take your time and start with an old scratched piece and try your skills. If I can do it, anyone can. The only down side to the product is replacement 3" dia pressure sensitive abrasive disc only come three to a pack. I need more to do all the glass I'm doing.
Date published: 2012-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good Received my kit and saw the box from Fed Ex. was soaking wet. E-mail Eastwood and received response the next day. I have to Eastwoods customer service is the best! Even though the actual product was not damaged due to Fed Ex. handling, Eastwood took care of the problem that day. GREAT service. Started using my glass kit, and it does work. Be prepared to spend some time removing your scratches as it is not a fast procedure, but for vintage hard to replace glass, it is the only way to go. Without a doubt, Eastwood took a bad situation for me, and turned it into a good one. This was my first order from them, but will order more products from them. thank you Eastwood
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works Had some deep scratches you could feel with your fingernail. The kit did remove them. Strong advice, must run sanding discs and polishers slow. Too fast and you will wipe the surface clear off the grit discs. Will also create a lot of heat. Keep it cool spray it with water take your time be prepared to work at a scratch for over an hour.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It turned out a little bit better than what it was It looks like it would work good, but, I was a little afraid to wreck the window.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not work as i would have hoped I tried the glass polishing kit on a window that had a very small white scuff from a wiper blade arm spent 4 hours polishing the spot it made the spot clear but could still see it . for the price of the kit will buy a new window next time .
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from looks like may work. bought it like 2 weeks ago try on in a 2014 Honda Accord and didn't work. It may work in orders cars or different type of class but on this one didn't work at all.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well, need practice This product accomplished what I thought it would. We had some hazing and and a few deeper scratches on a 47 Caddy. The polish removed the hazing 100%. I few deep scratches are left. I do not feel confident enough to use the sand paper. I can tell thant there is not enough of it in the kit to accomplish a good result. So I just used the poilsh. In the future I will be trying the sand paper discs on a junk piece of glass to get the method figured out. if the kit was shiped wiht more discs that we be great!
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked as advertised Job complete. Did two windows. Satisfied with the results
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so good Bought the kit some time ago, used the sandpaper (doesn't last long) and did more damage than good. At the time the polishing media was Rhodite. Did not work well. Tabled the project for a year or so, and did some research and found a different polishing media, Cerium Oxide. Using it now, and it works a lot better, but it is taking a LOT of polishing to fix the damage from the sanding. My advise is do not use a DA to sand the glass. Work the scratches separately, and sand only the scratched areas. I also found a dimpled foam rubber pad works well. I am using one that came with a 3M headlight repair kit. A lot easier to control. The process works, but be prepared to spend a lot of time to get the results you want.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Money I did everything just as the directions said after I read them 3 times to make sure I did. By the time I was finished the piece of glass was garbage. I would not recommend this stuff to my enemy! Stay away from it...I was very surprised Eastwood sold such Junk
Date published: 2020-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Zero Stars if it were possible. I have about 16 hours into doing just half of my windshield. Now I am forced to try an find a new one.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Glass Scratch Removal Abrasive discs will distort glass, even when using the finest grit and constant water. Polishing compound will not remove the scratches the discs create.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money This made the scratch more noticeable than before.. should have just put the money towards a windshield instead of wasting it on this junk
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! If you order this kit you better make sure the glass you are polishing is available because you will be replacing it. Used it on back glass of a 1999 Tahoe and it literally ruined it. Had to spend $400 to get it replace. Buyer beware.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor kit quality I used this kit on my Mercedes Benz for a wiper arm scratch. This product only made it worse along with not coming with enough to sanding discs. Now instead of a small scratch I have a completely hazed over section . No local glass shop will polish it out , just replace . There goes a 1000 dollar windshield.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time and money Had a deep scratch on the windshield of my 72 c10. The kit did more damage then it did good. It made the scratch look better but the hazzy scratches wouldn't come out. I followed the instructions exactly. As much as you pay for this, you're better off replacing the windshield.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor results my car side windows are very costley so i spent over 100 dollars on this stuff but did not remove any scratches
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaves visible clouding Tried this product on front windshield (about 2 years old). Had some minor scratches in bottom center section (barely detectable with finger nail). After spending 1 hour with the polishing pad there were actually more scratches and pit marks in the section I had taped off on the inside of the glass. Started with the fine disc and after 1/2 hour, no difference at all. Went to the medium disc and after 1/2 hour, still no difference other than a few swirl marks showed up. Figured at this point if I used the coarse and it damaged the glass, I would have to replace anyway. Went at it for half an hour and still all the marks were there and the coarse disc was "bald". Frustrated I went back to polishing and spent another hour polishing the spot. I was doing this in the garage so did not have the benefit of sunlight to view the spot (it looked like it was ok when wiping dry after rinsing with water). Pulled out of the garage and oh my, what a mess. The frosting was totally around the edges and the scratches were even more noticeable in the center than before I started. Decided to go at the next morning (3 1/2 hours was enough). Next day spent 3 hours with various glass polishing pads and three types of "polishers" and still it was cloudy (used direct drive tool, 3" Orbital and a 5" DA). Might try one more session with the fine pads (hopefully removes the cloudiness) to prepare for final polishing (sort of like sanding paint with a 1500 grit and the Compound with a heavy cut pad). Looks like new windshield time .
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Underwhelmed! I had scratches on auto side window glass made by kids using rocks. After several hours of "course" polishing, all I have is a hazy spot with the original scratches still as apparent as ever. The plastic pads wear out quickly also. The whole process is much more difficult than Eastwood makes it out to be. I just hope to remove the haze and get back to where the window was before I wasted my $75 on this product!
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointment Purchased this product to remove deep scratches from the rear window of a car I am in process of restoring. There are some deep scratches I had to remove so started out slow as instructed but had to go to the coarse disc and used that up and wasn't finished, used the medium used that up still not done and used that up. Finally finished with fine disc but still have scratches and all discs used up. Kit is way overrated and to expensive. Glass does look better but not to expectation and expected to use it on additional glass on vehicle but will required purchasing additional disc. To say the least it was a great disappointment considering it came from Eastwood which their other products work as advertised.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't work afte hours and hours of polishing, the haze buff marks would not come out. the scratch pads did remove the original scratches, but I buffed and polished for hours following the instructions precisely and it was worse than before I started. I ended up replacing the windsheild.
Date published: 2012-01-08
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_12526, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 55.68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Will this work on a glass tabletop with deep scratches?

Asked by: DamK
Although we strictly test for automotive use only- this kit should work for your application.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2021-08-28

Heavy or Light scratch kit. Is the difference in the compound or the discs or both? &nbsp;l wat to use for average pitting (no scratches) in 2006 GMC 180k miles

Asked by: Jiggngrass
When selecting the right kit if you can feel the scratches with your fingernail you will want to use the deep scratches kit. When having average scratches you can use the light kit.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-09-05

The windshield looks like someone was polishing the hood and the compound dried on the glass. The residue I is a bad impairment when driving into the sunshine. I tried the headlight polish kit, no progress,any ideas?

Asked by: Davieboy1964
A full windshield buffing kit may be exactly what you need. Though I doubt you would need the deep scratch version. This kit should do the trick: https://www.eastwood.com/pro-glass-polishing-kit.html
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-07-30

will this product work on Porsche headlight glass? Extensive rock chips of varying depths, some catch the fingernail. Replacement cost $350 for the pair.

Asked by: lance
If your fingernail catches- they are considered deep scratches. This kit should certainly help you with the scenario. You may need additional discs depending on the severity and amount of chips you have: https://www.eastwood.com/glass-polishing-3-disc-replacement-set.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-06-27

My windshield is covered with pits. Will this system work to remove the pitting?

Asked by: OD Photo
This simply depends on the depth of the pits. Most times this kit is better for simple small scratches.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-04-09

Going to use on side window of 71 nova. Was told a different kit was needed for tempered glass. Is this true or will this kit work for this application?

Asked by: prostreet driver
Yes, this kit can be used on tempered glass. On tempered or any glass, the main specification would be to make sure the surface remains wet, keep applying water or you can permanently damage the glass.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-08-24

Will this work on angle-grinder spark-marks? Inside a windshield.

Asked by: McDesign
This would depend on how deep they are. We have only tested this kit for light scratches.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-01-11

I have a glass shower door with water etch spots on it from hard water. All other cleaners and polish have not taken them off will this kit work? Can I order extra pads? As well

Asked by: Sa1234d
We have never tested this product on a shower door. Though water spots should be easier to buff than scratches. As for extra pads we do have the sand paper separate.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-06-22

I need to remove scratches on the outside of the rear window. &nbsp;Do I need to worry about the little electric de-icer lines which are embedded in the glass?

Asked by: JerryKofSJ
The Defroster lines should be on the inside of the glass so buffing the outside would have zero affect to them.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-01-28

If we run out of sanding discs can we buy extra discs alone or in # quantity packs?

Asked by: Scott747
You can buy them separately with part number 12539.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-08-29

I guess this will work on side glass as well?

Asked by: John68
Yes, this is applicable to any auto. glass application.
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2016-05-26

What is the grit of each type of sanding disc?

Asked by: egkramer
The closest comparison to grits will be green=120 , blue =220 and orange = 320 grit.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2021-07-24

What is the polish made of? &nbsp;Cerimin (sp) oxide?

Asked by: largecar
It's made out of ground diamond
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-05-21

WE HAVE SOME SCRATCHES IN OUR STOVE GLASS COOK TOP THAT CAN BE FELT WITH A FINGERNAIL. WILL THIS PRODUCT HELP? THANKS, KEN.

Asked by: Kenn
Yes, this product can be used on any glass surface to remove scratches.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2018-06-25

Hello! I have an old thick glass dinning table that is all scratched.. i would like to know if i can use this product for this? &nbsp;

Asked by: olga
Yes, this product is considered universal and can be used on most of all glass surfaces.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-23

My windshield is not scratched, it is pitted from blowing sand and dust. Is this the right product for that, or should I look for something else.

Asked by: Dave82009
This kit may help to a degree, but generally when a windshield gets pitted, replacement is a better option. With this kit, you'd have to remove a lot of material to get the pits out, which would cause optical distortion.
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-11-03
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_12526, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 99.2ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Glass Polishing Kit for Deep Scratches
$77.99
In Stock