Item # 31063 BRAND: Martin Tools

Key To Metal Bumping Book

The "Bible" of metal-bumping and<br>bodywork; a classic for 50+ years!
The "Bible" of metal-bumping and<br>bodywork; a classic for 50+ years!
Key To Metal Bumping Book is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 20.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_31063, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 107.41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reg. $15.99 Sale $14.39 Save $1.60
Loading...
Save for Later
The "Bible" of metal-bumping and
bodywork; a classic for 50+ years!
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
  • 90 day Warranty
Key To Metal Bumping Book

Description

The "Bible" of metal-bumping and bodywork: "Key to Metal-Bumping" Book

  • Secrets and tricks used by professionals for over 50 years
  • Over 120 pages
  • 18 sections

Written by Frank T. Sargent over 50 years ago, this is still one of the best basic reference books on metal-bumping and metalwork...read the reviews below and see what your fellow enthusiasts think!

Contents

1. What is a Damaged Panel?
2. Methods of Repair
3. Analysis
4. Making the Analysis 5. Origin of Body and Fender Repair Tools
7. Metal-Bumping Procedure
8. Metal-Finishing Tools and How to Use Them
9. Metal-Finishing Procedure
10. Alignment
11. Frame-Straightening and Panel Repair
12. Shrinking
13. Torch Soldering
14. Welding
15. A Chapter for Beginners
16.Hints, Short Cuts, Time Saving Tricks
17. Body and Fender Repair Tools
Glossary
Nomenclature

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing information!!! I have read this book twice, I found it useful. I was amazed about the way bumping technic practice is described. I just bought my second item from this book.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "MUST-HAVE" book An incredibly enlightening book, written in plain language, explains the REASONS why your bodywork is better done this way, AND how to do it !! It just doesn't get any better this !! Read, learn, follow, be the best you can be....
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bumping metal This is the same bible needed to keep this art alive. No plastic here
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raybo likes it!!! I,m very glad I bought this book! I hang out a this body about a block from home and learned a lot from them , and now this book has enlighten me even more!!!! The book is quality made... Ray Molinar
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great book A great book to learn how to use body tools for work that is part of a trade that seems to be replaced with just replacing parts. For anybody that enjoys working with their hands, not afraid to get a little dirty, and get the odd cut fingers, a must read.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good book A lot of info for a small book.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must read for any bodyworker of any skill level I own a 2nd, 3rd and now a 4th edition of Mr. Sargeant's treasured Metal Bumping tutorial. The book presents the Fairmont method, a comprehensive path to bodywork supremacy. The author presents not only the step by step directions to accomplish each repair, but the complete reasoning behind each step so you learn the entire concept for all you do. I think that mindset helps not only save time and money, but also will produce more professional results and a heightened satisfaction to each person who subscribes to the methods. I think it should be the first tool a bodyman of any level, from first timer to seasoned pro, should purchase. A rare find.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old school is always cool The info in this book is an easy read and I keep referring back to it. It is "old school" basics, important for a solid foundation.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For everyone If you truly want to understand how to do bodywork the right way the first time, you have to get this book. Forget everything you thought you knew i.e. roughing out, slathering bondo, and "good enough"... This book will save your time, money, and pride.
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A VERY good tool! If you have EVER thought of attempting ANY metal working project on ANYTHING,,,buy this book! Nuff said. Do not let this little book fool you...here you will find all the secerets & tricks the PRO's have been using for over 50 years to make this type of work look like childs play. I am VERY impressed at what an easy read read this manual is as well as how simply the process is broken down in to basic sections with respect to where to start planning your repairs and discovering the path of energy transfer during a collision and so on... Again...buy this book!
Date published: 2011-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent book. A great start for a beginner This book is a no nonsense, straightforward, quick read, with clearly described procedures and theory that anybody wanting to do metalwork can directly apply to their project immediately. I highly recommend this book!
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the read This book was any interesting read nothing that is talked about is outdated except that if you are planing to do work on a modern car the cost of time factor invoved it would be cheaper and faster to replace the part. This is also a long learning curve and amy not be feasable for what your needs are
Date published: 2010-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! Where has this book been all my life? Excellent book. Concise, easy to understand and contains several good project examples. Immediately after reading it I went out and saved my son $900! If you can read and drive a nail you can do this Your friends will think you're a genius. This book will become a permanent part of your automotive library.
Date published: 2010-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good book this is a good book but very basic.its just what i needed.shipping took WAY to long.next time i need a book i,ll just order from Amazon.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting read - time will tell. Have never done any metal bumping as described in the book. Only some basic pound out of hidden areas. Look forward to trying some of the techniques on my 1967 car. The book would be better with some more defined and updated pictures and a little more description on how to distinguish direct from indirect damage when actually looking at the area (building the incident backwards to the point of initial impact). It's an easy read (well written) but obviously written during the forties or fifties with no mention of current automotive metals and any considerations that might need to be made. All in all, worth the minimal investment of time and money.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ealy to read and understand I had been meaning to purchase this book for several years and finally did. It was very informative, easy to understand and useful. However, I would have liked more detailed explanation on several processes namely shrinking metal.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fairly Lame Very, very basic bumping guide. Pictures and illustrations are poor and it doesn't say much about repairing panels which cannot be accessed from the inside. That being said the wording is clear and the instruction is useful if you've never seen or used a hammer and dolly.
Date published: 2012-03-28
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_31063, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 54.11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 87.7ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
We found other products you might like!
Key To Metal Bumping Book
Reg. $15.99 Sale $14.39 Save $1.60
In Stock