Item # 10207Z BRAND: Alvin Products

Lab-Metal 24 oz

Metal repair putty, dent filler and patching compound... ready-to-use
Metal repair putty, dent filler and patching compound... ready-to-use
Lab-Metal 24 oz is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 12.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_10207Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 108.09ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$34.99
Out Of Stock. Due back March 27
Save for Later
Metal repair putty, dent filler and patching compound... ready-to-use
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
Lab-Metal 24 oz

Product Overview:

Description

Lab-metal® is a metal repair putty, dent filler and patching compound...ready-to-use right out of the can! Make fast, permanent repairs, especially before powder-coating. Lab-metal® ready-to-use repair compound spreads like paste and hardens quickly into metal.
  • Aluminum-filled, 1-part repair putty
  • Fills dents and flaws easily and economically
  • Can be milled, chiseled, drilled, sawed, tapped and machined
  • No catalyst needed so it's easy to apply

In the Box

Contents

24-oz. can of Lab-metal®

Guides & Accessories

Application Tips

Remove paint, rust, oil, dirt, moisture from application surface. Lab-Solvent is the recommended surface cleaner. Sitr Lab-metal well. Apply with putty knife squeegee, or similar tool. To fill holes, apply in thin layers (less than 3/8"). Let each layer dry before applying the next. Dry time: A 1/16" layer hardens in 1-2 hours; 1/8" hardens in 3-4 hrs. Infra-red lamp use will speed drying time. For vertical or overhead applications, pour Lab-metal into open container and allow to stand 5-10 minutes to render it less fluid. Shelf life 2 years in unopened can. Not intended for use as an adhesive.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from follow instructions read and follow instructions both products since 1950
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product since 1950 Read the instructions and the product will work and use the thinner to clean surface and to thin the product in the can the Lab metal came in.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work great if you work fast I use Lab-Metal to fill small pin holes and minor defects on sand cast aluminum parts before powder coating. It starts to set in about 30 seconds so work fast and you will be happy with the product.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LAB METAL FOUND IT HARD TO WORK WITH AT FIRST...AFTER USING IT A FEW TIMES IT GOT BETTER TO WORK WITH
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time consuming to use. I bought his product to fill in flaws in a rough casting prior to powder coating. The product had separated in the can, solvent on top and hard dense stuff in the bottom of the can. I was finally able to get it mixed to a soft paste-like texture but it was hard work! I expected this stuff to work something like body putty but that was not my experience. First, you only get one chance to spread it. If you try to shape or smooth it with additional passes it crumbles. Adding some thinner, as suggested in the use tips, improves workability somewhat. Another problem is that this stuff drys harder than the aluminum casting I was trying to repair which makes blending the repair difficult. As tough as this stuff is to use I wonder if I just got a can that was past it's shelf life.
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to use I bought this to try and restore some pitted pot metal automobile bezels and prepare them for powder coating. Product gets too hard to spread very fast, even when thinned with the solvent. It is also quite difficult to sand and doesn't feather edge very well. Also, it does not adhere very strongly to the sanded, cleaned and media blasted pot metal.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TOTAL JUNK !!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IS TOTAL JUNK !!!!!!!!!! I have been doing body work since I was 15 I was looking for a leading alternative or even close this product will not stick comes off in clumps even with the reducer used as directed this product is total JUNK !!!!!!!!! do not buy do not buy do not buy
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for use when powder coating metal! This product will not take the heat in the oven for curing powder coating! Look at my pictures. It looks like I powder coated over rust bubbles. The over all metal dash looks good from a distance, but look closer!!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Another product that fails to perform as stated... Must dilute heavily with solvent to make workable. Instructions state that a 1/16" layer needs 2hrs to cure, so I filled in a dent on a gas tank with four 1/16" layers that I let cure for a FULL DAY each. After four days of patient curing in a heated/insulated shop, I did a final sand in preparation for powder coating. Instructions state that product is good for a 20min trip through the oven @ 420deg, and my powder only needed 12min @ 400deg, so everything should've been kosher. After just 5min in a 400deg oven, the product had outgassed so badly it looked like I powder coated over an Alka Seltzer... One of the bubbles was so big it looked like a pencil eraser sticking halfway through the finish. Fact of the matter is, if this product cannot withstand even 5min in the oven after following the application instructions to a tee, then it CANNOT be powder coated, so you may as well do your repair work with Bondo and simply paint it. I believe I speak for powder coaters everywhere when I say we simply don't have time to completely re-do projects because one of the products we used along the way failed to perform as advertised. Epic FAIL...
Date published: 2014-11-26
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_10207Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 54.39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can I use this product on a press for that has steam pressure of a 110 pounds In a dry cleaners Clothing press

Asked by: jim Cermak
The High temp Lab metal would be a batter option for this application:https://www.eastwood.com/hi-temp-lab-metal-24-oz.html
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2019-10-31

Can Alvin Metal Lab be applied over your Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum? I have applied the platinum encapsulator two days ago and I have some pits and pin holes I want to smooth out. I have on hole about 1/8'' to fill also. Thnx, Doug

Asked by: Doug
If you scuff up the surface after waiting 24 hours after applying you may put this over the Platinum.
Answered by: ZachC
Date published: 2019-08-22

Will this hold wheel panels up after i cut the rust outta old ones ?

Asked by: Joey
The Lab metal is designed for filling small dents, and not to bond a panels together. For joining panels together we would recommend our No Weld Panel Adhesive, Item #31087 https://www.eastwood.com/replacement-no-weld-panel-adhesive-56594.html
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2020-04-27

WILL IT HOLD UP TO DIESEL FUEL ? NEED TO REPAIR A LARGE FUEL TANK WITH A LOT OF PIN HOLING ,

Asked by: BROWNDOG
Per the manufactures website: "Not affected by mild acids, gasoline, petroleum, petroleum solvents, oil or L.P. gas. Alkalis will attack Lab-metal slowly, but only after extensive immersion."
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-10-15

can this be shipped via air freight?

Asked by: Clarence
This product can only be shipped ground.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2019-06-09

Does gas attack this product? Looking for something that will fix a leaking metal gas tank and don’t feel comfortable welding it

Asked by: Tgh7548
Not affected by mild acids, gasoline, oil or petroleum solvents, Can be milled, chiseled, drilled, sawed, tapped and machined.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2020-10-15

I don't understand, is this product for aluminum only. If its for steel body filler also what's the difference between this and body filler.  Very confusing!

Asked by: fcompoccio
This is an aluminum filled filler. I can be used on aluminum and steel with no problems. This product gets much harder than a traditional filler and can be milled, drilled, tapped , etc.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-10-15

Can lab metal be used to repair a crack in a aluminum boat

Asked by: KENNETH
As this is only a water resistant filler it would not be recommended on a boat.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-10-15

I see this product says it is used before powdercoating. It also says withstands heats up too 350 degrees. I believe the powders have to be baked at 400 degrees. Will the baking process cause any trouble with this filler?

Asked by: Phillie914
You would need to use the High temp lab metal for use on items before powder coating: http://www.eastwood.com/hi-temp-lab-metal-24-oz.html
Answered by: KHoffnagle
Date published: 2019-06-28

I need a product like this to fill dents on a aluminum turntable plate I have some dents I want to fill before I powder coat it but the reviews stop me way is this product not performing? as advertised is there something else?

Asked by: Ricado Delgado
Steel fusion autobody filler..
Answered by: Charlie jones
Date published: 2020-11-18

how strong is this product will fill crack in shock tower

Asked by: BMGBKG
This product is not designed to give structural strength.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2019-06-09

How deep of a groove will this fill? I have about a 1/4" deep, 1/2" wide groove that runs the width of a car, on the cowl under the hood. Also, what is the working time before it starts to set?

Asked by: Z Camaro
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_10207Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 105.7ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Lab-Metal 24 oz
$34.99
Out Of Stock. Due back March 27