Item # 15357Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Metal Blackening System

The look of OEM applied black oxide coating at home, and even more durable
The look of OEM applied black oxide coating at home, and even more durable
Eastwood Metal Blackening System is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 9.
  • y_2023, m_1, d_31, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_15357Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 182.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$91.99
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
The look of OEM applied black oxide coating at home, and even more durable

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Metal Blackening System

Product Overview:

Description

The look of OEM applied black oxide coating at home, and even more durable.

  • Replicates OEM black oxide/phosphate finish
  • Chip and chemical resistant
  • Resists temperatures up to 600° F
  • Protects against rust and corrosion
  • Not affected by DOT 3 brake fluid or gasoline
  • No special equipment, no heat cure
  • For iron, steel, stainless, and aluminum

Many factory brackets and fasteners originally were given a black oxide/phosphate finish to protect them. Eastwood’s Metal Blackening System allows you to apply a factory looking finish, with no special equipment and no need to heat cure. This 2 component product protects against rust and temperatures up to 600° F. It not only replicates the look of black oxide, but the feel as well, while being even more durable.

Warranty

Made in USA. Warranty for 60 days.

In the Box

Contents

4oz kit contains: 4oz of cleaner and 4oz of metal blackening solution, enough to cover 6 square feet. Application is either with the included aerosol spray or conventional paint gun or air brush.

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

Click here for product instructions

Safety Information

Always wear appropriate eye, face and hand protection when applying chemicals.

Application Tips

Application is either with the included aerosol spray or conventional paint gun or air brush. Once product is dry to the touch, approx 24 hours, parts can be assembled or placed back into service. Once parts have fully cured for 2 weeks, they will be protected from corrosion, chemicals and abrasion for years and still have that OE black oxide appearance.

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor product Tried to use on steel and aluminum, did not like the aluminum. The sprayer is garbage, did not work. Used Por 15 on other work and it did well. I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-06-08
  • y_2023, m_1, d_31, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_15357Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 28.39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can this be used as a primer under your 2K paint.

Asked by: Graham
This product should not be used as a primer for under the 2k paint.
Answered by: Dakota W
Date published: 2018-12-05

How and what do you clean the equipment with after use.  

Asked by: Frank17
Lacquer thinner and or our aerosol injected cleaner:https://www.eastwood.com/aerosol-injected-cleaner-11-oz-net.html should be used for cleaning this preval sprayer out.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-11-11

Can electricity be conducted through your product or does it act as an insulator?

Asked by: Bobabooey
This product would work as an insulator.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-06-10

I am considering this product for a low temperature heat sink (LED taillight on a motorcycle). What is a typical cured thickness of the coating?

Asked by: lehmanhill
Our Metal blackening can be sprayed from 0.25 to 1.5 mil.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-10-23

Can the components be proportionally mixed if I do not have enough parts to use it all in one session?

Asked by: Louigi
Yes, this can be mixed at whatever increment you like. It needs to be mixed in a 12:1 ratio.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2018-10-08

I'm looking to apply this over raw steel on a custom display stand for a piece of glass sculpture. The specs call for a blackening agent which I assume is your product followed by a hand rubbed dull wax overcoat. Can I apply a wax over your product

Asked by: Andy
This is a paint on product to replicate black oxide, if you wax this product i will change the appearance of the product.
Answered by: SeanW
Date published: 2018-10-01

I have three black stainless appliances and a bright stainless stove will it work on the stove? thanks

Asked by: bobbly
Unfortunately we cannot recommend using any of our paints on a stove in which food would ever be prepared.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-08-10

I’m trying to paint over the chome on my side view mirrors, will this product be a good choice to use if I’m not looking to replace my entire side view mirror?

Asked by: David
Yes that will work very well. Just clean and scuff the chrome before you apply this product.
Answered by: Bob G
Date published: 2018-07-25

Do you recommend a primer with this product, or does it adhere to bare metal?

Asked by: Tony
Our Metal blackening kit will adhere to properly prepped and cleaned bare metal.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-05-10

Once you mix the two part system, must you use the whole kit right away, or can it be stored mixed?

Asked by: Steve L
Once you mix the two part system it will need to be used before it hardens. If you have all your parts ready to go you will have plenty of time to put your desired number of coats on.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-16

I have factory painted white steel or iron I assume is baked enamel. Does the paint need to be fully removed before applying this product or can it be etched? I also have other non-painted hardware including zinc coated & stainless. Are these ok to treat?

Asked by: JayScott
You can simply scuff the existing paint prior to application of this product. Stainless and zinc hardware is perfectly fine to use as well.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-16

Hi, I wanted to ask you if this product might work to paint golf clubs, I am trying to restore a putter and also some a few wedges, thanks!

Asked by: Mario
While we have never tested our paints on golf clubs I would say this is probably going to be the best bet of what we have since it is a durable 2 part catalyzed paint.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-16

Will this hold up on a knife blade? I know the edge will be silver and that is fine.

Asked by: TommyBoy
Since we have never tested our products on knives all we can say is when applied to a properly prepped metal it is a very durable catalyzed product.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-09-16

Hi, How safe is this after it's dry? Forexample, if it was to be used for blackening an outdoor knife which was also used for cutting food, vegetables, salami and so on.

Asked by: tnuis
none of our products are FDA approved.
Answered by: Kelly H
Date published: 2020-09-26

Is this product durable enough to be used for brass or silver jewelry (rings) without it wearing off?

Asked by: RMCII
This product has never been tested for long term durability on any jewelry. It has also not been tested for constant exposure to skin.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2020-09-26

Looking to refinish my Scotty cameron 303 stainless steel putter. Like the look of the black on my style of putter.  Will you product hold up to 18 hole?

Asked by: Jonburton
I applied it to a scotty Cameron Newport 2.0 303 stainless  I end up doing the head and shaft. Came out really well. also did a second scotty I bought that one came out well. But end up with a chip in the coating from the concrete when adding the grip. So duribility wise might not be as good as I hoped. Will have to watch club hitting it and put the head cover on. 
Answered by: Jburton88ca
Date published: 2018-09-16

How do you mix the solution

Asked by: frank58
This can be mixed in the glass jar that is included in the kit.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-08-18

Hi, I wonder if the product can be used in brass, and if it causes allergy with the skin. Thank you

Asked by: Felipe Frazão
This product can certainly be used on brass and should be kept off skin by wearing gloves.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2019-01-01

How well does this work on metals like titanium? I been looking for a blacking solution that doesn't rub off and durable, an example would be if this was applied to a titanium ring. 

Asked by: Cmb1934
When applied to properly prepped and scuffed titanium it will adhere very well and be durable as it is a catalyzed product.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-07-10

Hi. What is the coverage of one kit? Could you coat a motor cycle engine and gear box with one kit? Sorry two questions. Thanks

Asked by: Lotus
This kit will cover about 6 sq ft. You will have to use this to figure out how much on your job one kit will cover.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-05-09

Will this product Metal Blackening System from Eastwood work on stainless steel like 17-4?

Asked by: Tulman
This kit will work with iron, steel, stainless, and aluminum.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-03-07

Will this product work on chrome plastic motorcycle parts?

Asked by: Jonsey
This will work on plastic motorcycle parts. Just properly prep the surface and you are good to go.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-04-07

Will this work on brass fixtures such as door or window hardware? I'm restoring a circa 1920 home. Most hardware is iron or steel with the occasional brass part that is non removable. If not what product do you recommend. Thank you.

Asked by: Carmen G
As long as you prep the items correctly yes it can be used on those metals
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-07-08

Can this product be applied over chrome?  If not, what if the chrome is lightly bead blasted to provide better surface adhesion?

Asked by: KevB
You will need to abrade the surface for the product to stick to the chrome
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2018-04-08

Are the 2-part components available separately as individual refill items?

Asked by: VintageAmerican
At this time unfortunately we do not sell them as individuals
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-20

what is the pot life of mixed components?

Asked by: Anonymous
Pot life is 6-8 hours depending on ambient temperature.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-01-16

How thick are the spray coatings?

Asked by: wts1
.25-1.5 mils thick
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-08

Could this coating be used on a Rochester carburetor in an E85 application? You say it will work with gasoline, but I'm curious about whether it's resistant to ethanol.

Asked by: jdubs
Yes it can be used and is resistant to ethanol
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-19

Hi there, I'm looking to blackout anodized aluminum trim. Will this product work or do you recommend another product? thanks,

Asked by: Judah
SEM trim black would be an acceptable product to use over top of the anodized coating.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-12-19

Will this product work with cast magnesium, such as motorcycle cases?

Asked by: speedbump49
Yes, it can be applied over magnesium with no issues.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2014-12-18
  • y_2023, m_1, d_31, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_15357Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 149.32ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
We found other products you might like!
Eastwood Metal Blackening System
$91.99
In Stock