Item # 19017 BRAND: Eastwood

Spotweld Drill 3/8in Pro M2 Steel

3/8" cutter drills-out spot welds, with minimal grinding to finish
3/8" cutter drills-out spot welds, with minimal grinding to finish
Spotweld Drill 3/8in Pro M2 Steel is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2021, m_12, d_8, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_19017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 90.56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$34.99
Loading...
Save for Later
3/8" cutter drills-out spot welds, with minimal grinding to finish
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
Spotweld Drill 3/8in Pro M2 Steel

Description

Solid steel Pro Spotweld Cutter effortlessly drills-out spot welds 1-piece cutter makes clean cuts through spot welds, without damaging the bottom panel.
  • 3/8" (10mm) diameter
  • Solid, 1-pc. M2 steel
  • Self-centering
  • Over 300 cuts without sharpening

Contents

One 3/8" (10mm) Pro Spotweld Cutter

Accessories

Eastwood 3/8 in. Spotweld Drill Pro M2 Steel Spotweld Professional Grade Cutter Finish Spotweld Bit Tool Cutter Drills-Out Spot Welds

Application Tips

Piece Cutter Makes Clean Cuts Through Spot Welds, Without Damaging The Bottom Panel

Safety Information

Always follow all instructions and warnings and wear proper eye, ear, skin and respiratory protection.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for the job!! I had one previously that seemed to be getting dull after maybe 25-30 cuts. Couldn't find it for this job (DOH!!), as it's been a few years, so I ordered another. Agree with others that it could be longer. BUT....nonetheless, it's the tool for the job!!
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good cutter I have three of these and they work great .I use a 20v battery drill med. speed , punch first . And use a nonsilicone lube . Sharpen lightly with diamond stone .
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does removes spot welds Bought to remove floor pans in resto project. Clean surface and try to center as close as possible. Use center punch. Hard to tell how deep to drill and it's easy to drill all the way through. Practice on scrap to get the feel.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This bit takes out spot welds with great accuracy and seems to hold the cutting edges well. It definitely needs to have a 1" longer shank, however, for tight spot welds.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works Tool works well, and seems to be made well. Wish the shank was a little longer though.
Date published: 2010-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tool The drill does an excellent job cutting away the upper spot of the weld. The weld separates easily once the upper panel is drilled. The only downfall I experienced was the short length of about 1-3/4" inches. Once in the chuck it was difficult to have 1" of bit extending from the drill. Several times in close areas the drill chuck was too close to get the weld cutter onto the spot. The drill needs to be perfectly straight to drill. A length of 2-1/2" or longer would be nice.
Date published: 2010-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The double ended style works better for me. I am rebuilding the rockers on my '72 MGB-GT so have lots of spot welds to drill out. I tried both this bit and the double ended cutter and find that the latter works much better for me. This one moves around unless you use a punch or small drill bit to make a pilot mark first, it required a lot of pressure, and tended to slip in the chuck. It just didn't end up being worth the cost for me.
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pricey for level of quality The spot weld cutter works but does not come with a usage sheet to guide you for correct speed (it was on the Eastwood spot weld cutter page) the bit did slip in my chuck a bit and this is a 6 month old DeWalt 20 Volt cordless. The shank could use either a tri-flat or hex shank to avoid slippage, the tip is a little too short for repeated sharpening. I would change the shank and tip design and reduce the price by $8 to $10 dollars.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting The tool was nicely made, but requires too much force to use with a hand drill. I'm sure it would work fine with a magnetic base drill press or in a vertical mill. The other problem is that the centering point drills through the underlaying sheet that you are trying to save. I ended up drilling a 3/16 pilot and then using a step drill.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Pleased, Won't Start Cutting Not sure if I'm doing something wrong (yes, it is spinning the correct direction), but the tool won't even start cutting. The point prevent walking, particularly after using a punch to mark the center, but the point won't cut anything to allow the outer teeth to cut the weld. I've gone back to the hole saw type.
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good This tool cuts the spot weld well. I found that the tool walked when trying to start the cut. I overcame this by first making a small start hole with a #3 center drill. I found that some recessed places could not be reached and a longer shank would have helped. The steel and heat treating quality seems very good. I have only made about 25 cuts and the toll seems to be staying sharp.
Date published: 2010-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works okay Bought about a month ago to remove the spot welds on a dashboard. Completely rusted in the package. Removed 26 spot welds. Definitely now needs point sharpened. Went slow and used a lot of cutting oil. Expected more for the price.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality After four spot welds it was too dull to cut any more welds.
Date published: 2019-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality. Didn't live up to expectations. I purchased two of the 3/8" spot weld cutters. I've used both for a total 30 cuts and they're both dull. I still have 15 cuts to make and will probably have to buy an additional cutter from a local vendor that will have replaceable blades. These cutters were a waste of money.
Date published: 2015-01-09
  • y_2021, m_12, d_8, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_19017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 38.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 153.03ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
We found other products you might like!
Spotweld Drill 3/8in Pro M2 Steel
$34.99
In Stock