Item # 11797 BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood Throatless Shear

Quick, clean cuts in metal: straight, curved or more intricate
Quick, clean cuts in metal: straight, curved or more intricate
Eastwood Throatless Shear is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 45.
  • y_2022, m_5, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_11797, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 89.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$254.99
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Quick, clean cuts in metal: straight, curved or more intricate

1 year Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood Throatless Shear

Product Overview:

Description

The Eastwood Throatless Metal Shear Features:

Throatless Bench Shear makes quick, clean, cuts in metal—straight, curved, or more intricate

  • Rack and pinion gearing, plus extended handle, improve your leverage
  • Tool steel blades slice thru 14 gauge mild steel, 14 gauge aluminum, 18 gauge stainless
  • Throatless shear is crafted of rugged cast iron

This is not your typical metal cutter. Our rugged, cast iron throatless shear allows you to make straight, intricately curved and irregular cuts in metal with ease and accuracy.

Eastwood Throatless Shear

Throatless hand shear design amplifies leverage with rack and pinion gearing and an extended handle, so you’ll easily slice through 14-ga. mild steel, 14-ga. aluminum and 18-ga. stainless. Tool steel blades (adjustable for wear) provide burr-free cuts. Metal cutter’s base has three holes for mounting this throatless hand shear on your workbench or our 13162 Tool Stand.

Warranty

1 Year

Specifications

Maximum Cutting Thickness:
  • 14 Gauge Mild Steel
  • 14 Gauge Aluminum
  • 18 Gauge Stainless Steel

In the Box

Contents

  • (1) 4” Metal Shear
  • (1) 17” Handle

Guides & Accessories

Instructions

Safety Information

Thoroughly read and understand this manual before using.

This tool has EXTREMELY SHARP cutting blades with amplified leverage on the upper blade which can quickly cause severe injury or loss of fingers! Keep fingers and hands away from moving parts when operating.

Click here to see safety products

Accessories

13162 Tool Stand lets you work at a comfortable 30-1/2" height.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fair value I can see why a person may be frustrated with this product when it arrives. It cannot be immediately used right out of the box, at least mine wasn't useable. It had to be tightened up. The bed blade had to be ground for proper clearance and the handle was very loose and needed to be shimmed. It now works very well.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent tool My boss bought one of these cutters for the shop. We used it for just over a year with no problems, once it was setup it took a little adjustment to the blade and had to tighten the pivot bolt everyonce in awhile. I liked it enough im going to purchase one for my own shop.
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice tool to have if you do a lot of fabrication Just got done raising the transmission tunnel up 3 inches and had to fab up a cover on the rear. The shear worked great. Got a nice moon shaped cutout with a 5 inch diameter. Distortion was mild, flattend the piece out with a couple of two by fours and welded it into place.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good tool for the price I cannot complain about the price or the quick delivery. But the buyer needs to be aware that when it comes out of the box it may need to be adjusted before it is totally operational, as was mine. However, the instruction book is pretty clear as to how to do it, and once done it works fine for light to medium work. You are not buying a $600+ Beverly Shear and if you are going to be working at the outer limits of this shear's capability you might consider an alternative. But for $159.00 it is a great tool for the individual "do it yourselfer".
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good for handy man in his garage I have put a 100,000 miles on it already. I made up a two and half foot pedestal and bolted it to the cement floor. The cuts are straight and clean with no sharp edges on the stainless I am using.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't cut 14 ga unless it's really soft The product description says it cuts 14 ga mild steel. I could not get it to do it. It would just push the sheet metal out. It cuts 18 ga fine though. Before attempting to cut each thickness of metal, I adjusted the blade clearance with a feeler gage, like the instructions state (in multiple locations along the blade), so my only conclusion is the the shear is not capable of anything thicker than 16 ga. Eastwood should change the item description to say that.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cutter blade The cutter blade is not smooth and a bit rough on one end, left the face of the cut with a 90 degree lip about 1/32". I am not happy!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unable to perform When my shear arived, I first had to partially disasemble and reassemble it because of several loose parts. Once I had fixed it, I noticed one of the screws that adjusts the blade was broken and stuck in place. This must have happened while it was being initially assembled, because the paint had been applied over the broken screw, making it even more stuck. This prevented me from being able to adjust the blade. When I tried to cut a sample piece of 18 gauge mild steel sheet, the blade warped after cutting only a half inch into the sheet and was totally ruined. I immediately returned the shear and won't be buying from Eastwood again.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice piece! Great asset to metalworking. Smooth cuts, easily handles much thicker metal than expected
Date published: 2018-05-17
  • y_2022, m_5, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_11797, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 34.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82.96ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
Eastwood Throatless Shear
$254.99
In Stock